Skip to content

A Hike With A Side Of Tater Lovin

August 26, 2010

Yesterday, Chris and I took Erin’s advice and spent the afternoon hiking around Brown Bridge Pond. Thanks for the suggestion Erin as we thoroughly enjoyed our 4.2 mile walk through the woods! The forest was so quiet and serene, and the only other people we encountered were a few kayakers floating down the water.

IMG_5776.JPG IMG_5772.JPG

IMG_5771.JPG

After our hike, CD made us an early dinner of his almond butter chili as we can’t seem to get enough of it. So good. Have you tried it yet?

IMG_5777.JPG

Later in the evening, I baked myself a HUGE sweet potato in the oven, mashed it up, and ate it from a waning Trader Joe’s crunchy almond butter jar. There were several spoonfuls of nut butter still left in the jar…way more than I thought. Love that! Also love that CD finally remembers to save those last few bites of nut butter for my jar concoctions. Thanks CD…it only took me about a year to train him. πŸ˜‰

IMG_5779.JPG

Why do people feel the need to cover their sweet potatoes in brown sugar? I promise that if you bake them in the oven (for about an hour at 425Β°), the sweet potato will get ooey gooey & sweet all on its own.

This morning, I incorporated the rest of my potato into a breakfast sandwich…and it was amazing.

IMG_5780.JPG

Warmed Great Harvest Extreme Cinnamon bread with mashed sweet potato and Naturally Nutty Pepita Sun Seed Butter.

IMG_5781.JPG

Speaking of ooey gooey, check out the center of this bread. It’s like a big cinnamon roll. YUM!

What’s your favorite breakfast sandwich?

The blog may be down for a few hours today as I begin the server switch. Please don’t forget to resubscribe to HEAB if my posts stop showing up in Google Reader, but hopefully everything will transfer smoothly. Thanks so much for all of your continued support of my blog! πŸ™‚

81 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2010 6:05 am

    That extreme GH bread looks awesome. My GH has cinnamon chip but it doesn’t look like that!

  2. August 26, 2010 6:05 am

    Oooh mine is so filled with bacon and eggs. And cheese. Typical breakfast sandwich! πŸ™‚

  3. August 26, 2010 6:15 am

    My new favorite breakfast sandwich is a wafflewich – 2 Clean Eating Brownie Waffles with peanut butter and banana . Soooo good!

  4. August 26, 2010 6:16 am

    Your breakfast concoction looks amazing!!
    It’s hard to pick just one favorite morning sandwich… I have to admit that the avocado-almond butter-banana combo is definitely on top of the list, as is the classic egg-peanut butter.
    Enjoy your day πŸ™‚

  5. August 26, 2010 6:20 am

    Marisa, I must know more about these brownie waffles! πŸ™‚

  6. August 26, 2010 6:21 am

    Vivanie, I love that you consider the egg/pb combo “classic”…you are a girl after my own heart. πŸ™‚

  7. Kirsty Girl permalink
    August 26, 2010 6:23 am

    My favorite breakfast sandwich will always be PBJ with peanut butter and banana as a close second.

  8. August 26, 2010 6:27 am

    Ooooh that bread looks divine!! My fave sandwich would have to be almond butter, honey, cinnamon, and banana served open faced. The cinnamon makes it off the chain πŸ˜€

  9. August 26, 2010 6:33 am

    Ahh! That cinnamon bread sandwich looks AMAZING!! Come cook for me…and rub my sore leggos. Or maybe I’ll make a trip to come hold the HEABlet instead:). Have a fab day dear one.

  10. August 26, 2010 6:40 am

    Jillian, Yes! Please come visit us in Nashville one day soon. πŸ™‚

  11. August 26, 2010 6:44 am

    That bread…YUM! I know right, why put all that sugar on it. I think you are really missing out on the flavor of sweet potato when you cover it in sugar. I think my new favorite breakfast sandwich is a waffle sandwich with egg and mustard! Enjoy your day Heather!

  12. Amanda @ HopeHasAPlace permalink
    August 26, 2010 6:55 am

    My breakfast sandwiches are simple: open faced cream cheese & jam, or plain ol’ pb&j (in which I kid myself that it’s more breakfast-y, because I toast the two pieces of bread). πŸ˜‰

  13. August 26, 2010 7:00 am

    Heather, here’s the link to my Brownie Wafflewich:
    http://www.loserforlife.com/2010/08/all-the-time-in-the-world/

    The waffle recipe is from The Gracious Pantry. They are amazing!
    http://www.thegraciouspantry.com/clean-eating-brownie-waffles/

  14. August 26, 2010 7:01 am

    Okay, I really need to try the almond butter chilli. I’m so in the mood for fall already…can you tell? It’s my favorite time of year!!!

  15. August 26, 2010 7:02 am

    Amanda, Toast = “breakfast-y”. I concur. πŸ™‚

  16. August 26, 2010 7:03 am

    Puppy Dog Tales, Me too…however, I did wake up to 40 degree temps this morning…so wishing I had a sweater and scarf here in Michigan. Thank goodness I brought a fleece!

  17. August 26, 2010 7:09 am

    Marisa, Thanks so much for the link to your waffle recipe. They look and sound delicious! I tried to comment on your post, but I couldn’t find the comment field. Just wanted to let you know that I still have plenty of “doubtful moments” myself. It’s hard not to when trying to break the calorie counting habit. Trust me, you’re not alone. πŸ™‚

  18. August 26, 2010 7:12 am

    Yum I wish I lived closer to a Great Harvest.

  19. Scott in Ohio permalink
    August 26, 2010 7:14 am

    Dang! That sandwich looks awesome. The lunch version (with avocado) is on the menu for me tomorrow. πŸ™‚

    Hopefully the new favorite breakfast sandwich is what we have on tap for the weekend. Homemade Italian sausage (grass-fed beef) patties on papusas (thank you, HEAB!) with Ani Phyo’s cashew pizza “cheese” (made with lots of fresh local basil) as a spread.

    Please post when you HEABify Marisa’s recipe for brownie waffles. YUM! πŸ™‚

  20. August 26, 2010 7:17 am

    Scott, How far are you from northern Michigan?!? Would love to stop by for breakfast this weekend! πŸ˜‰

  21. thedelicateplace permalink
    August 26, 2010 7:19 am

    just drooled on the keyboard. cinna-heaven. i’m going on a hike with the dear husband this weekend! cannot wait!

  22. August 26, 2010 7:25 am

    Good luck with the blog changes.

    I totally agree about sweet potatoes — I usually just bake them and add some cinnamon or a little maple syrup.

    My fave breakfast sandwich: I’m not ashamed, the sausage biscuit sandwich from McD! πŸ™‚

  23. August 26, 2010 7:26 am

    Couchpotato, I cannot tell a lie…those Mickey D’s sausage biscuits are really good! πŸ™‚

  24. Sarah R permalink
    August 26, 2010 7:31 am

    Oh gosh, I wish we had a Great Harvest near by. I love a good egg on my breakfast sandwiches most of the time. With a nice flavorful cheese. Mmm, might have to make one for lunch!

  25. Christina permalink
    August 26, 2010 7:37 am

    ::drool::

    OMG that sandwich looks amazing! Must.make.soon.

    I like my sweet potatoes with a sprinkle of salt and sometimes a tsp of oil. Cooking them in the oven is the only way to go – nice and sweet!

  26. Maren permalink
    August 26, 2010 7:46 am

    Wow that breakfast sandwich looks like coffee cake! YUMMM!!! I guess I don’t really eat sandwiches in the morning…ever, so I’m not sure what my fav is!

    by the way, I was going to e-mail you and ask specifically how you make your sweet potatoes because, well, I’m new to cooking and have never made them…and then you told me in your post! that’s gotta be fate… πŸ™‚ Before you cook them though, are you supposed to keep them in the fridge or not?

  27. August 26, 2010 7:46 am

    egg with peanut butter????? I have never heard such a thing. No wonder I get so bored with my food choices. That chili looks amazing.
    My favorite breakfast sandwich is an egg and pepper omelette rolled up in whole wheat tortilla with fresh salsa.

  28. August 26, 2010 7:51 am

    Wow, that’s quite a breakfast! I haven’t had cinnamon bread/rolls in quite awhile. Looks delicious!

  29. August 26, 2010 8:11 am

    Maren, Nope, no need to refrigerate. Just make sure to wash the potatoes and dry off with a paper towel. I never even pierce mine and usually just cook on a piece of foil, flipping them over after about 30 minutes. I eat the skins too – yum! Medium sweet potatoes take about an hour in a 425 degree oven, but you may need to adjust the cooking time depending on size. Enjoy! πŸ™‚

  30. August 26, 2010 8:11 am

    Jennifer, Your favorite breakfast doesn’t sound all that boring to me! πŸ™‚

  31. August 26, 2010 8:13 am

    Hey! Breakfast looks fantastic! So, here’s a question I’ve been pondering lately. How is it that your hair always looks so awesome?! I’m sure you’ll say that you only wash and let air dry…but on the off chance you use something or do something, I want to know!!! The picture of you sitting on the pot at 2 am with shiny, gorgeous hair forced me to ask! : D

  32. August 26, 2010 8:14 am

    Anne, It was, although it was really sweet. More like a dessert!

  33. August 26, 2010 8:19 am

    Thanks Amber! I keep my hair routine pretty simple. I wash it with Costco brand shampoo and conditioner, but only 2 or 3 times a week. After washing, I comb in some Giovanni Leave-In conditionerand then scrunch it with Kiss My Face Grapefruit styling gel. I then air dry and then never brush or comb it until I wash it again.

  34. August 26, 2010 8:19 am

    That sandwich needs to be in my belly, right now!

  35. August 26, 2010 8:33 am

    I like my breakfast sandwiches with egg, avocado, and hot sauce! It’s been far too long since I’ve made one and there’s a lonely avocado half in my fridge. I might just have to make one tomorrow!

  36. August 26, 2010 8:38 am

    favorite breakfast sandwich? pb, j & bananas.

    OR if I’m in a more savory mood I’d say everything bagel with egg, tomato and hot sauce.

    πŸ˜€

  37. August 26, 2010 8:40 am

    that’s how you know you got a keeper πŸ˜‰ when he saves the last spoonfuls of nut butter JUST for you πŸ™‚ LOVE IT!

    i’m totes in the mood for a big honkin sweet potater now!

  38. August 26, 2010 8:50 am

    Emily, Sounds like it would make an excellent lunch or dinner as well. πŸ˜‰

  39. Michelle permalink
    August 26, 2010 9:05 am

    That is such an amazing breakfast sandwich. I like to recreate the McMuffin if I make a breakfast sandwich. An egg puff between two sandwich thins with hot sauce and dijon mustard! It’s the healthy McMuffin.

  40. August 26, 2010 9:09 am

    oh my goodness – I need some of the GH cinnamon bread in my life! there used to be a Great Harvest in Dallas but it closed. total bummer!

  41. August 26, 2010 9:19 am

    Hmmm, I think my favorite breakfast sandwich for a long time coming (meaning this summer, hehe) is a sandwich with 2 whole wheat bread slices (I want to make my own soon because whole wheat bread in NYC can get very expensive!), a splat of cottage cheese and some apple butter, yum! But sometimes, I like to reunite with my lover (mustard) and I’ll just squeeze it all over a piece of plain whole wheat bread and MAYBE put 1 small slice of lettuce. After all, I like to have some crunch in my breakfast! ;D

  42. August 26, 2010 9:45 am

    oh my. That looks right up my alley. Breakfast sandwich concoctions are the best. My favorite right now is poached egg, ketchup, and goat cheese and toast.

  43. Amiee permalink
    August 26, 2010 10:03 am

    I made the almond butter chili last week and it was amazing! My mouth is watering just thinking about it…think I know what’s for dinner tonight. πŸ™‚

  44. August 26, 2010 10:11 am

    Wow! Is that dark color the seed butter? I thought it was jam!! Sweet potatoes in sandwiches – that is such a great idea. I love Butternut squash in salads with goat cheese.

    I always find the nut butter at the bottom of the jar is hard…?? Is yours that way??

  45. August 26, 2010 10:32 am

    I’m not a big sandwich lover, but give me eggs with hummus and mustard, and I’m a happy girl.

  46. August 26, 2010 10:48 am

    I love regular ham and cheese sandwiches for breakfast.
    I haven’t had one for breakfast in a long time, but sometimes, I crave something savory, and it usually keeps me going for a few hours.
    Your breakfast sandwich looks so great. I adore cinnamon

  47. August 26, 2010 10:53 am

    i love any breakfast sandwich with sausage or bacon…mmmmmm, pork πŸ™‚

  48. August 26, 2010 11:23 am

    totally agree with you on the sweet potatoes…I rarely use any brown sugar now bc it’s so good on its own!

  49. August 26, 2010 12:42 pm

    That bread looks like dessert and I like it! My favorite breakfast sandwich always involves a bagel. Preferably sesame. Plus a runny egg and cheese and (sometimes) bacon. I don’t eat bfast sandwiches that often so when I do, I go all out.

  50. August 26, 2010 12:58 pm

    “the center of this bread. It’s like a big cinnamon roll. YUM!”–hell yeah that looks amazing! and i DID do a double take, i thought it was a cinny roll, then I thought it was a PB & J…then I realize, it’s pepita sun butter! I have a jar of that. When we moved from Phx to San Diego June 1 I packed ALL my nut butters, like 20 of them and some of them really gourmet in a box. And I can’t find that box…I have torn apart my kitchen like 200 times and have no idea where. And I am anal and unpacked everything the FIRST day. I hope it didnt end up in a storage cubby hole in our garage,but i digress…I need to find my pepita too!

    A 4.25 mile hike? Girl. When I was at your stage, I was having such bad braxton hicks that if I so much as got my heart rate over about 70 I would have contractions. I was walking around effaced and dilated for weeks so took things realllll easy. Real.Easy. If I sneezed I had a contraction πŸ™‚ But I did go to Aruba for a month. I guess I was hoping Skylar would come out on foreign soil. But she waited til we were back home. Darn.Would have had dual citizenship πŸ™‚

    Good luck w/ the bloggie updates!

  51. August 26, 2010 1:01 pm

    That cinnamon bread looks like the best thing on earth right now. That plus sweet potato plus seed butter = something mighty fantastic, I’m sure! Cinnamon rolls are a relic from my childhood that probably don’t even taste as good as I remember they do (not sure I’d even want something SO sugary first thing in the morning these days, ya know?) but a good cinnamon BREAD… now that could be seriously considered.

    My favorite breakfast sandwich is so simple: peanut butter + raspberry jam + banana, on a cinnamon raisin English muffin. It’s very oldschool; I ate those every day on the way to preschool!! πŸ™‚

  52. August 26, 2010 1:29 pm

    GREAT looking bfast sandweech! πŸ™‚ i prefer mine on english muffins with some kind of preserves and either cottage cheese or egg whites….not much for a savory combo. i’m a sweets girl all the way!

  53. August 26, 2010 1:29 pm

    granted, i’ve never had marshmallows or brown sugar topped on my sweet potato, but sweet potatoes are so sweet that i’ve never had to feel like i needed to add more forms of sweetness!

    and that sammie looks yummy!

  54. August 26, 2010 2:04 pm

    Wow, I have to try sweet potato on a sandwich – brilliant!

    Love your creations!

  55. August 26, 2010 2:19 pm

    YES TO THAT BREAKFAST SANDWICH. pepita butter, cinnamon raisin bread and sweet potato. genius heabs, pure genius.

  56. August 26, 2010 2:27 pm

    Good luck with the blog change-over. I agree, sweet potatoes are so amazing, I don’t add anything. I just eat them straight up in their sweet potato-y goodness. I am the same way with fresh corn on the cob. I joke around that people ruin sweet corn by dousing it in butter.

  57. August 26, 2010 3:20 pm

    I don’t understand the sweet potato/brown sugar thing either! They are SO sweet. Now butter I understand… πŸ˜‰

    Love the looks of the “cinnamon roll” bfast, yum!

    xo

    Kris

  58. August 26, 2010 3:50 pm

    My favourite breakfast sandwhich (that I don’t have near often enough!) Peanutbutter, bacon, and maple on toast…..I’m dying just thinking about that. πŸ™‚

    Eating a sweet potato out of an (almost) empty nut butter jar is such a great idea! I also agree with the no-brown sugar. I can’t imagine how sweet that would be.

  59. August 26, 2010 4:00 pm

    I definitely can’t wait to have an almost-empty nut butter jar so I can eat it with some sweet potato now. So simple but so genius. πŸ™‚

  60. August 26, 2010 4:17 pm

    I miss going on walks! I’m loving being able to swim right now but am also looking forward to lower than 105 degree temps so I can enjoy being outside again without needing to be underwater for it.
    Also, I NEED that bread, it looks even better than a cinnamon roll! Where is it sold?

  61. August 26, 2010 5:25 pm

    Mary, I often just go ahead and empty my nut butter into another jar. I call it playing musical jars: http://heathereatsalmondbutter.com/2009/07/31/musical-jars/. Really no need to wait! πŸ˜‰

  62. August 26, 2010 5:35 pm

    Michelle, Healthy McMuffin? I like it! πŸ™‚

  63. August 26, 2010 5:38 pm

    Averie, I remember you unpacked everything right away…and had all your window treatments hung the next day. You’re amazing. That being said, I would be devastated over my missing box of nut butters! Hope you find them soon. πŸ™‚

  64. August 26, 2010 5:39 pm

    Heather, Pork = mmmmm. I concur. πŸ™‚

  65. Jenny R. permalink
    August 26, 2010 6:20 pm

    omg that bread looks like cake!

  66. August 26, 2010 6:37 pm

    That bread looks phenom!!
    This might sound odd, but I really love to make a sandwich out of apple butter, pumpkin, wheat germ, & PB. Slather it on some bread and enjoy:)

  67. August 26, 2010 7:04 pm

    Gaby, The bread is from Great Harvest: http://www.greatharvest.com/. Hope you have a location near you…also hope it cools off soon!

  68. August 26, 2010 7:08 pm

    Thanks Monica – and yes, you must try sweet potato on a sandwich. So good!

  69. August 26, 2010 7:13 pm

    Justine, YES, I love nut butter paired with bacon. Such an amazing sweet/savory combo!

  70. August 26, 2010 7:17 pm

    Meghan, Agreed. Corn needs nothing! Have you ever tried raw corn? I love cutting it straight from the cob uncooked and adding it to salads – such a sweet delicious crunch!

  71. August 26, 2010 7:21 pm

    Holly, I like to think so. πŸ™‚

  72. August 26, 2010 7:21 pm

    Lindsay, I love hearing from fellow ketchup + egg lovers. I grew up on that combo, and Chris thinks it’s disgusting. His loss, right?

  73. August 26, 2010 7:28 pm

    Dorry, I’m very sad for you right now. 😦

  74. August 26, 2010 7:28 pm

    Lifeisgood, I did not know mustard was your lover…he’s totally cheating on me…Bastard! πŸ˜‰

  75. Bridget permalink
    August 26, 2010 7:31 pm

    Doesn’t almond butter taste good on everything? And I love the trader joes brand – so gooood!

  76. August 26, 2010 7:32 pm

    Eatmovelove, The dark color in the bread is the cinnamon swirl, and sounds like you need to stir your nut butters more. I stir and stir when I first open them and then again every time I eat from them. Keeps the oil well distributed…although, I do love those dry big chunks of nut butter at the end of the jar when they do happen…especially melted underneath some warm oats!

  77. August 26, 2010 7:33 pm

    40apples, Yes, I could not imagine eating a big frosted cinnamon roll early in the AM…that bread is almost too sweet…*ALMOST*, but not quite. πŸ™‚

  78. August 26, 2010 7:38 pm

    Amiee, So glad you enjoyed – I’ll be sure to tell Chris. πŸ™‚

  79. August 26, 2010 8:05 pm

    Jenny, Yeah, tastes like cake as well. πŸ™‚

  80. August 26, 2010 9:27 pm

    Bridget, Yes, it does. πŸ™‚

  81. Karen permalink
    October 8, 2015 9:25 pm

    I was going to respond to your post about changing the site but was unable to do so. As a result I’m posting here. I’m all for more regular posts but please, don’t go crazy. Two a day is too much for those of us who work. Just sayin’. Thanks for the great ideas on snacks and meals. You often remind me of something I used to do and haven’t in a while. Like you, I’m a huge fan of sweet potatos. Honestly, roasted with a bit of coconut oil, salt, and pepper…..who needs anything more? Ok, maybe some rosemary but yeah, perfect. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

