Skip to content

Something Old, Something New

August 19, 2010

I’ve been loving the classic combo of nut butter + strawberry jelly lately. It just never gets old, right BroccoliHut? 🙂

IMG_5686.JPG

Great Harvest raisin walnut toast. One slice topped with Naturally Nutty cinnamon vanilla sunflower butter and the other with butter and Trader Joe’s reduced strawberry preserves.

This morning I woke up hoping to take the dogs on a long walk on the snowmobile trails, but it’s raining. However, I can’t complain as we’ve had sunshine almost everyday since arriving in Michigan. So, instead of our walk, I fixed myself a hearty and delicious breakfast inspired by Gena’s Peacefood Cafe sandwich.  I wanted more raisin walnut toast, but I also had half a leftover sweet potato that I wanted to eat, which lead to the following…

IMG_5692.JPG

Sweet potato + mashed avocado + herbed goat cheese on raisin walnut toast. Now, that’s my kind of sandwich!

Want to know where the other half of that baked sweet potato went?????

IMG_5690.JPG

Straight into the waning sunflower butter jar for a little evening snack last night. YUM!

It’s still raining and so no walk, at least for now. I lifted weights yesterday, and perhaps the weather is telling me I need a day off…however, I think the pups disagree.

Hope you enjoy your Thursday. I’m off to Traverse City for 2 special meet-ups today. One of them might involve some nut butter for my HEABers. 😉

P.S. HEAB is undergoing some changes over the next couple of weeks. Stay tuned, and if the blog goes down, please know that it will be back soon. Also, I still plan to blog everyday. So, if all of a sudden, my posts are no longer showing up in Google Reader, please re-subscribe as I would be sad to lose any of you!

71 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 6:18 am

    Ahhh your sammie looks awesome! I don’t know if you remember but last year I made a kabocha squash+PB+Apple on Ezekiel bread sandwich and sent you the pic…this sandwich reminds me of that! I never thought to mix avocado with sweet potato–I’m all about it!
    Sorry your walk is being taken over by poopie rain…I’m sure you’ll make it a good day anyway 🙂

  2. thedelicateplace permalink
    August 19, 2010 6:23 am

    yum i love anything vanilla and cinnamon, i should pick that up online! have a blast on those meet ups!

  3. August 19, 2010 6:28 am

    Sweet tater + avocado + goat cheese sounds amazing!

  4. August 19, 2010 6:30 am

    Can’t wait to see the blog changes!

  5. August 19, 2010 6:44 am

    I have never tried sweet potato on a sandwich, but that sounds so good! I must be channeling you…I have been loving some strawberry preserves on my oats with peaches! So good! Have a great one!

  6. August 19, 2010 6:48 am

    Nicole, I think I vaguely remember that sandwich…yes, it’s coming back to me…how could I forget something like that?!? 😉

  7. Brooke [onehealthycookie] permalink
    August 19, 2010 7:06 am

    I need some Naturally Nutty in my life!

  8. August 19, 2010 7:07 am

    Sweet potato with avocado and goat cheese? wow, heavenly combination!
    I really have to try it.
    Seriously, your combinations are the best in the world!

  9. August 19, 2010 7:09 am

    That sandwich looks delicious! I haven’t tried sweet potato + avocado, but it sounds and looks amazing.

    Good luck with the blog changes, I’m sure it will look great!

  10. August 19, 2010 7:10 am

    Brooke, Yes, yes you do! 🙂

  11. Sylvia permalink
    August 19, 2010 7:11 am

    Oh wow, that sandwich combo sounds amazing! I must definitely try it when I get home today! As the above poster just said, your combinations really ARE the best in the world!<3

  12. August 19, 2010 7:11 am

    Marina, Try it – it was delicious!

  13. August 19, 2010 7:14 am

    That sandwich looks delicious. I can’t believe that it took me so long to fall in love with sweet potato

  14. August 19, 2010 7:17 am

    Leanne, I HATED sweet potatoes growing up…did not fall in love with them myself until my early 20’s. I think I’m still making up for lost time! 😉

  15. August 19, 2010 7:17 am

    Thanks Sylvia. 🙂

  16. August 19, 2010 7:35 am

    Yum…I’m still stalking the Naturally Nutty website as I still can’t find it near me. I just need to order it online already! You’d think I lived in the middle of no where…oh wait….apparently I do!

  17. August 19, 2010 7:37 am

    Pumpkinscales, We don’t have NN in Nashville either. Going to stock up while I’m here!

  18. August 19, 2010 7:42 am

    Love the nut butter + fruit spread combo – can’t be beat! Such complementary flavors. Hope you have a great day!

  19. Michelle permalink
    August 19, 2010 8:04 am

    I have been craving the Butter and Jelly combo so much recently. Maybe its because the weather has been a bit foul recently.

  20. August 19, 2010 8:26 am

    Whoa that sandwich sounds incredible! So many wonderful flavors!

  21. August 19, 2010 8:32 am

    Tyler, It was. 🙂

  22. Jennifer permalink
    August 19, 2010 8:32 am

    yum I need to try that combo!! HEAB are you a 3 kind of a meal day girl or do you ever snack?

  23. August 19, 2010 8:36 am

    Jennifer, I’m a 3 meal a day girl, but if I get hungry in the afternoon, I’ll usually snack on a few squares of dark chocolate. Plus, I always eat some carbs like oats or a baked sweet potato before going to bed. Helps me sleep.

  24. August 19, 2010 8:40 am

    Mmm. You just can’t go wrong with classes nut butter and jam.

  25. August 19, 2010 8:40 am

    They have Great Harvest Bread on Groupon for our area today. I was ecstatic when I opened it up and saw the deal. I must get some to try. It always sounds so good. I love those hearty, grainy breads.

  26. August 19, 2010 8:41 am

    That sandwich sounds so interesting. Sweet potato + goat cheese + avocado? Why didn’t I think of that??? lol.

  27. August 19, 2010 8:43 am

    Tina, The cinnamon raisin walnut is my favorite thus far. So many walnuts. Love it!

  28. August 19, 2010 8:43 am

    Lindsay, I was thinking the same thing – glad someone else came up with it. Such a good combo! 🙂

  29. August 19, 2010 8:55 am

    What a creative sandwich! So inspiring! Now i’m craving sweet potatoes. 🙂

  30. August 19, 2010 8:56 am

    That sandwich looks delish!

  31. August 19, 2010 9:06 am

    That sammie looks so good. After reading you proclaim the wonders of Naturally Nutty, I’m going to have to check the stores around here. It sounds divine, and I love little more than variations on the PB&J. Yum.

  32. August 19, 2010 9:22 am

    Now that’s what I call comfort food! (times two!)

  33. August 19, 2010 9:28 am

    for some reason i NEVER have avocado? evertime i’m at the grocery store/farmers market i stock up on everything BUT. i think it intimidates me for some reason??? not sure why, but i think i need to tattoo it on my forehead so i don’t forget to pick some up next time! oh, and pb & orange veggies make the absolute BEST combo…next to banana in my opinion…oh yeah…and there’s chocolate 😀

  34. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    August 19, 2010 9:46 am

    Pb and J’s are my favorite! I craved them all year long when I had to pack a lunch….I love Peanut butter 🙂

  35. August 19, 2010 9:52 am

    Oh my Goodness HEAB – can I just say that it is such a PLEASURE to come here? Because it is. So, yeah, I said it.

    That sandwich just stole my heart 🙂 Never would have thought of a Sweet-Potato sandwich. And I love that you eat JAM!!! So many blogs talk about nut butters…but what about the J of that PB&J part?!! 😉

    Okay – so now inquiring minds reallllly want to know…what are the changes?!! A Blog re-vamp?? Heab and HEABLET?

  36. August 19, 2010 10:02 am

    Oh yeah, and I love how you debate between what you want to eat too. I am so BAD for that…hence, my infamous “MOOKIES” (as I call them) – a cross between a Cookie and a Muffin ;)…

    Do you think I could tag that one and become a millionaire…? 🙂 NOT LIKELY lol.

  37. August 19, 2010 10:20 am

    That sandwich looks fantastic. I adore the combo of avocado & goat cheese already- the creamy dream team! And paired with sweet potato? That just might be my own personal sandwich heaven. Yum!

    xo
    Kris

  38. August 19, 2010 10:30 am

    Definitely recreating that sandwich, it looks fantastic!

  39. Lena permalink
    August 19, 2010 10:36 am

    Change is good! I would defintely look forward to see your new blog! (:

  40. August 19, 2010 10:43 am

    Hmm I was going to use the end of my current almond butter jar for some oats in a jar but your sweet potato in a jar may have won me over:) enjoy your rainy day!

  41. August 19, 2010 11:13 am

    The fond memories of my childhood is warm jam and butter on english muffins. Talk about gluten and dairy and sugar in one fell swoop which is why I had a belly ache my entire childhood but it all tasted damn good goin’ down! LOL

    As for the blog changes/maintenance…girl is there nothing more annoying that site maintenance and management issues?! If you are like me, the are wrought with white knuckle moments, scary stuff, losing data and info, nearly deleting your really important code..then again, you probably pay someone to do this for you and I should but have always done everything 100% myself. Anyway good luck on it!

    Enjoy the rain/hunker down mode…that can be a good thing too 🙂

  42. August 19, 2010 11:58 am

    For me it’s nut butter and raspberry jam, but yes – never ever gets old!

    Delicious looking sweet po sandwich. (I should really try Peacefood, it being in my city and all!)

  43. August 19, 2010 11:59 am

    That sandwich looks amazing!

    I really need to put PB or AB on my next sweet potato! I am shocked that I never thought of the combo before, but it sounds so good!

  44. August 19, 2010 12:12 pm

    Alright. Your constant consuming of nut butter with sweet taters has me intrigued. I’ve gotta get my hands on a sweet potato!!

  45. August 19, 2010 12:41 pm

    Ah yes, PB&J always hits the spot:)
    I am a huge fan of SP and avocado together, so I can only imagine how magical it would be to make a sandwich out of the two…

  46. August 19, 2010 1:16 pm

    I love to see meals incorporating sweet potatoes. I think they are the best! I usually go through a bag in a week or two. But, I cannot get the husband-to-be to eat them—I just keep telling him he is missing out….maybe if I make it into a yummy sandwich like you did……..

  47. August 19, 2010 1:26 pm

    My dog never seems to agree with my rest days either! He just wants to go go go.

  48. August 19, 2010 1:27 pm

    What a lovely, and unique looking breakfast! xx

  49. August 19, 2010 1:46 pm

    I love that sandwich so much. It looks so deelish – and you have no idea how much I LOVE great harvest. I am always so sad that I can’t eat it anymore due to gluten allergies. But that said – I am going to get some for hubs now. You got me going:)

  50. Leada permalink
    August 19, 2010 1:51 pm

    Your post on chia seeds was linked on reddit. Thought you might want to know.

    http://www.reddit.com/r/Fitness/comments/d2w4i/til_that_chia_seeds_are_a_helluva_source_of/

    Also, Naturally Nutty looks so yummy. Can’t wait to try some.

  51. August 19, 2010 2:06 pm

    What about a sweet potato and nut butter sandwich…now that is heaven.

    Sometimes I love when it rains and gives me an excuse to sit on the couch and read a good book.

  52. August 19, 2010 2:50 pm

    That sandwich looks HEAVENLY, Heather! And I was just catching up on your posts – you look so amazing with that belly, seriously, you are one HOT mama! 😀 I can’t wait to see the little HEAB’s adorable little face 🙂 Life is so sweet!

    Enjoy your meetup and I hope the rain doesn’t put a damper on your day! Whenever I go out with my pup in the rain I’ve gotta bring a towel along with me cause she ALWAYS likes to walk in the mud, and tries to track it all over the house. Maybe your pups disagree cause they wanna play in the mud, too 😉

    Meg

  53. August 19, 2010 3:05 pm

    O I adore sweet taters in stuff you usually dont find them in! I’m working on developing a PB and sweet potato ice cream cause its finally getting warm in LA! I’m excited for the changes, changes are good, right?

  54. August 19, 2010 3:06 pm

    Major swoonage over your sandwich, talk about an all star combo. I’ve been seeing a lot of sweet potatoes incorporated into sandwiches and wraps lately, I’ve got to give it a try.

  55. August 19, 2010 3:11 pm

    Ohhh craving sweet potato now! Good thing there’s two of em waiting to be cooked up!

  56. August 19, 2010 5:20 pm

    I have been LOVING polaner all fruit black cherry preserves lately! Yummy with sunbutter 8)

  57. August 19, 2010 5:47 pm

    Sweetie, the sammie looks absolutely terrific! So glad you were inspired — it is indeed one of my favorite combinations, too.

  58. August 19, 2010 5:48 pm

    Freckled Foodie, I am the same way – I ALWAYS forget the avocados…but they are so good when I remember!! 🙂

  59. August 19, 2010 5:49 pm

    Edeneats, Yes, changes are good, especially when they involve PB and sweet potato ice-cream. I MUST have that recipe!!!!

  60. August 19, 2010 5:50 pm

    Meg, A muddy kitchen is now part of my daily routine. Someday, I will live in a house with a mudroom…someday. 🙂

  61. August 19, 2010 5:52 pm

    40apples, What are you waiting for?!? I’ve only heard great things about the Peacefood – any place that has kabocha on the menu gets two thumbs up from me! Enjoy – wish I could join you. 🙂

  62. August 19, 2010 5:55 pm

    Averie, Yeah, I’m switching to self-hosting. I’ve been blogging free at WordPress ever since I started blogging, and it’s time to move on. 😦 However, new adventures await, and there is no way I could figure out all the technical stuff myself. I hired Zesty Cook. Can’t wait for it all to be done, but I know it will turn out great!

  63. August 19, 2010 5:57 pm

    eatmovelove, Mookie…I think you might be onto something with that one. 🙂 As far as the blog goes, just switching from WordPress to self-hosting. Format and posts will be staying the same.

  64. August 19, 2010 7:26 pm

    Sweet potato sandwich!!! Come on, Heather, you’re making my “Sandwiches to Try Immediately” list just grow and grow. I think I saw you write about this before (?), but right now, it’s straight jealousy. :-p

    Oooo, carbs before bedtime = sweet dreams. I don’t think I realized until you said it that I think it works for me, too. I’ve been having trouble going to sleep recently. Like I really needed another reason for a bowl of dessert oatmeal.

    One last thing, promise! Just a note for Freckled Foodie, from someone crazy for avocados… The first time I tried them, I didn’t know how soft they should be to be ripe. In high school, the taste of my first attempted guacamole left me scarred, apparently, and I refused to touch the stuff for something like 7 years. Soft! (I realize this is probably obvious to everyone else, but I understand the intimidation factor.)

  65. August 19, 2010 7:37 pm

    yum! sweet potato + avo!

  66. August 19, 2010 7:51 pm

    Hi! I’m Sarah 🙂

    I’m so glad you are enjoying Michigan! I live here, and it’s always awesome when people vacation here and realize it’s not as bad as it’s economy and crime rate make it out to be, lol!

    I definitely have to keep a look out for those nut butters! They sound amazing!

    If you happen to stop at a Costco while you are are here, you absolutely HAVE to try the Strawberry Cherry Kiwi flavor jam by E.D. Smith that most MI Costco’s carry. It is to die for and makes the best PB&J sandwiches 🙂

  67. August 19, 2010 8:34 pm

    Kristen, Yes, evening carbs work wonders for my sleep. I never bought into that *no eating before bed stuff* as I CANNOT sleep if I’m hungry, and ewww, I’ve tried to eat an unripe avocado before. Yes, very scary experience! 😦

  68. August 19, 2010 8:36 pm

    Ariteofpassage. LOVE Michigan! I was wondering if you had any Costco’s here as that is our go-to place for groceries. However, all I’ve seen up in this area is Sam’s which does not even compare in my opinion. Will be on the lookout for Costco and the E.D. Smith jam. Sounds divine. 🙂

  69. August 20, 2010 6:23 am

    Thanks Leada, I noticed that I was getting a lot of hits from that site yesterday. Off to check out the link!

  70. August 20, 2010 2:46 pm

    sunflower seed butter and sweet potatoes are probably one of my favorite food duos of all time!

Trackbacks

  1. Happy birthday, little blogy | Peace of Mind

Leave a Reply

