Skip to content

I Really Do Eat More Than Just Chocolate

July 28, 2010

This week is a little crazy as Chris and I leave town Saturday, and I’m still trying to get some projects finished up around the house before we go. I’m in major nesting mode, and I want everything to be perfect for when the HEABlet arrives in November. Ahhh, so much to do before then, but I know everything will fall into place. Plus, our families have been a tremendous help. Many thanks to both my parents and Chris’s parents for all that you have done. You have no idea how much stress you have taken off of me, and I love you guys!

So, in-between waiting for the granite guys, the electrician, the painter, and the hardwood floor guy, doing some yoga, trying to get outside and walk before the heat of the day sets in, and eating lots of chocolate and peanut butter, I wanted to share some savory meals that I’ve been enjoying lately…

IMG_5524.JPG

Steak salad with wilted spinach, crumbled goat cheese, cherry tomatoes, bell peppers, and Annie’s Honey Mustard Vinaigrette.

My iron levels are still low, and so I try to eat red meat several times a week. I am loving these grass fed finished ranch steaks we buy from a local farm, seasoned and grilled on the George Foreman for 9 minutes. Perfect!

In an attempt to clean out our cabinets before we leave, I have been enjoying lots of canned wild salmon…

IMG_5525.JPG

Wild salmon salad: canned salmon, hummus, mustard, and pickles served over sliced cucumbers.

See, I don’t just live on chocolate and peanut butter…but speaking of the world’s best combo, I do have one treat to share with you. Why I have never made this before I have no idea as it was so good…like gave me warm fuzzies, I want to eat this everyday for the rest of my life kind of good. πŸ™‚

IMG_5527.JPG

Chocolate Coconut Oil Protein Popcorn with Peanuts

Inspired by Beeks, my favorite culinary student, I finally got around to making Averie’s popcorn. Please click here for the recipe. Trust me, it’s a keeper and totally reminded me of one of my favorite combos when I was little: popcorn mixed with peanut M & M’s. Did you ever eat that?

OK, time go to. So much to do, but again, it will all get done. Happy Wednesday…it is Wednesday, right? πŸ˜‰

84 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2010 8:56 am

    But today is National Milk Chocolate Day! Don’t stop now! πŸ˜€

  2. July 28, 2010 8:57 am

    I only very recently heard about putting relish or pickles into salmon/tuna/chicken/any kind of salad and I looove the way it tastes! That salmon salad looks delish!

  3. July 28, 2010 8:57 am

    I DO live on chocolate and peanut butter… everyday! πŸ™‚

  4. July 28, 2010 9:00 am

    VeggieGirl, Good thing I had some chocolate almond milk with breakfast! πŸ™‚

  5. July 28, 2010 9:10 am

    The popcorn looks awesome! Glad you are working on getting your iron levels up! Have you ever tried taking kids chewable vitamins with iron? I find them to be easier on my stomach and although they don’t have the RDI for iron, they add a bit of extra.

  6. July 28, 2010 9:10 am

    One of my favorite college treats was either M&Ms or Reeses Pieces in popcorn. Wow that brings back memories of some good times!

  7. July 28, 2010 9:12 am

    that salmon salad looks delicious and perfect for summertime. and the popcorn – well, there aren’t really words for that popcorn! yum.

  8. July 28, 2010 9:13 am

    I’ve been on that same kick….wild salmon, cucumber, pickles. You got it, so refreshing!

  9. July 28, 2010 9:18 am

    Run Sarah, Yes, the only vitamins my stomach can handle these days are children’s chewables. I take the Flintstone’s complete which do contain iron, and I’m taking 2 iron supplements on top of that. Can’t seem to get my numbers up! 😦 PS – I love the grape Flintstone’s! Hehe. πŸ™‚

  10. July 28, 2010 9:18 am

    Not just chocolate and peanut butter?! I don’t know if I can read your blog anymore, Heather, you just aren’t the blogger I thought you were.

    πŸ˜‰

    Your real food looks yummy!

  11. July 28, 2010 9:19 am

    Danielle, So sorry – I promise to never give up the chocolate and PB! πŸ˜‰

  12. July 28, 2010 9:21 am

    Good luck getting everything finished and packed up by the weekend! I hope you have an amazing babymoon! πŸ™‚ Your tuna salad today looks amazing. I’ve been searching for a tuna salad recipe that doesn’t involve mayo, and I will be trying yours out very soon. You always have such creative ideas!

  13. July 28, 2010 9:30 am

    The popcorn combo looks so yum!!!!

    I am loving the salad, I love Annie’s Dressings, they are the best and my fave is the honey mustard all the way!

    I have had low iron levels as well, I started taking FLinstones Kids Vitamins with added Iron , and have been feeling a big difference!

    Have a great day! xoxo

  14. July 28, 2010 9:33 am

    That popcorn does look yummy! I love popcorn but I hate cleaning out our popcorn maker. Do you make yours on the stove top, microwave, and with an air popper?

  15. July 28, 2010 9:37 am

    Sorry to hear about your iron levels. I go back to the doctor soon to see about my vita D levels. Good luck with your to do list πŸ™‚ I am sure you will get it all done!

  16. July 28, 2010 9:38 am

    Rachael, Microwave. I avoided that appliance for years but have become reacquainted with it lately. Loving my micro!

  17. July 28, 2010 9:43 am

    chocolate + PB is the best. ever. hands down.

  18. July 28, 2010 9:46 am

    That protein popcorn sounds amazing!!! I’m definitely going to try this. Chocolate and Peanut Butter was a match made in heaven!

  19. July 28, 2010 9:47 am

    I love steak salad! And salmon salad! And popcorn!

    …I want to eat meals with you.

    Thank goodness for loved ones to be there for us when we need their help πŸ™‚

  20. July 28, 2010 9:48 am

    Sagan, You’re welcome at our table anytime. Think how much fun we would have together in my kitchen…and Nashville winters are much warmer than yours! πŸ˜‰

  21. July 28, 2010 10:00 am

    Nothing wrong with chocolate and PB (OK, besides the sugar and bit o’ fat), and I’m not even pregnant! The popcorn sounds delish. I love popcorn and M&Ms (ultimate sweet/salty combo), so this also sounds like a winner.

  22. July 28, 2010 10:19 am

    Just had to say the title of this post gave me a little chuckle. πŸ™‚

    I used to eat canned tuna over cucumbers, onions, and tomatoes (with feta) all the time.

  23. July 28, 2010 10:22 am

    I LOVE popcorn! It is another addiction of mine. As for the steak, is the texture different from non grass fed steaks? I was considering getting that for Tony and the boys, but I have heard others say that it is tough. We have really just stayed away from beef all together. Oh and George is one of my best friends in the kitchen…we have a secret love affair.

  24. July 28, 2010 10:33 am

    I’m not pregnant but I go through nesting phases too. I have days where I spend the entire day organizing and putting everything in its place. Only to have it go to H3ll 3 days later…heck that some night some days.

  25. July 28, 2010 10:42 am

    girl, if i could find a reason to eat steak 3 times a week i would! love that stuff πŸ™‚ i never tried popcorn with peanut M&Ms, but it sounds amazing!

  26. July 28, 2010 10:43 am

    Everything will fall into place! No worries πŸ™‚

    I was never much of a popcorn person when I was younger. When we went to the movies, I’d opt for the cookie dough bites. Or the sour patch kids.

    Have a great day!

  27. July 28, 2010 10:45 am

    I hope this doesn’t churn your sensitive tummy, but I made canned salmon with plain greek yogurt last week and I swear I couldn’t tell the difference between that and mayo. It was so good I’ve been recommending it to everyone!

  28. July 28, 2010 10:46 am

    Sarena, We “borrowed” my mom’s George last year, and honestly, I don’t know how we ever lived without it! Grass fed beef is leaner than meat from cows stuffed with corn and other grains, and so the cooking time is much shorter. I’m a medium well girl, but with grass fed, it’s better to eat it more rare. Otherwise, it does get tough. It just takes some trial and error learning to cook it just long enough, and it’s so much better for you!

  29. July 28, 2010 10:47 am

    Olivia, I’ve done that before, and you’re right: yogurt always makes a great sub for mayo. It’s good in deviled eggs too. πŸ™‚

  30. July 28, 2010 10:51 am

    I know during my first trimester (and even sometimes now) I hated how it seemed I only ate junkier food choices. I still love my healthy foods and eat them up…just for some reason the other stuff gets featured on my blog since I don’t post every day’s meals. I know you are one healthy momma to be.

  31. July 28, 2010 10:55 am

    Thanks for understanding Tina – I’m trying. πŸ™‚

  32. July 28, 2010 10:56 am

    I have 2 HUGE cucumbers and will def make your salmon salad on top of cukes! What a great idea!

    I loved eating popcorn with chocolate. There is a theater by my house that serves bacon/chocolate popcorn — its called hog corn. Maybe one day I’ll try it, but I’m not brave enough!

  33. July 28, 2010 11:18 am

    I don’t eat just chocolate and peanut butter either; I also eat red meat πŸ˜€ It’s so easy to fall into a food rut with foods like that that are so so good.

  34. July 28, 2010 11:24 am

    I LOVE popcorn, that looks awesome! My husband makes awesome spicy popcorn with this paprika paste we got in Hungary.

  35. July 28, 2010 11:36 am

    Ahh I cant believe you’re due so soon. Well not too soon but November is right around the corner! That’s so exciting.

    Awesome foods. I love eating canned tuna with cucumber slices. Of course yours isn’t canned but I do what I can πŸ™‚

  36. July 28, 2010 11:47 am

    salmon if my fav fish

  37. Stephanie@ avocado nation permalink
    July 28, 2010 11:49 am

    That popcorn looks delicious. I need to make that ASAP.

  38. July 28, 2010 11:55 am

    Oh girl – how do you DO IT? You make everything look so delcious. Now I might have to get some beef! and love the salad with wild salmon. I might be up for that tomorrow. You know I love me some salad!

  39. July 28, 2010 12:05 pm

    Hi Heather! Thanks for the linky love on my popcorn combo but more importantly, so happy you’ve been making it and enjoying it! You know you can do no wrong with a bunch of coconut oil, nooch, and chocolate on a anything πŸ™‚ haha!

    Salmon (and here’s the vegan in me saying this..ha!) has so many beneficial fatty acids, DHA, good fats, etc that it’s a phenomenal boost for your body which is working so hard to grow a human, grow milk ductwork, sustain the placenta…and sustain yourself. Great choice there mama πŸ™‚

    I know that you’re probably in overwhelment mode right about now…I can sense that loud and clear from all that you have going on, but just promise to enjoy, relax, and savor your time away once you get there…it will be the best and I know you’ll make the most of it!

    Hugs & Love!
    xoxo

  40. July 28, 2010 12:27 pm

    Couchpotato, Hog corn? Brilliant! πŸ˜‰

  41. July 28, 2010 12:27 pm

    Averie, I promise. πŸ™‚

  42. July 28, 2010 12:28 pm

    Jessica, It was canned – canned salmon. Love it!

  43. July 28, 2010 12:41 pm

    I love that popcorn recipe! Any way to sneak in protein is good in my book, that looks just downright delicious. πŸ˜€

  44. July 28, 2010 12:46 pm

    Ya’ll have so much going on over there! But all so exciting πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see the finished product of all the house work (we get pictures, right??). Great job on pushing to get your iron up. I’m sure the heablet is enjoying the local beef. And I have been wanting to try averie’s popcorn forever now (she is one creative lady). Have a good day Heather

  45. July 28, 2010 12:52 pm

    Erica – Hi! How are you? I think about you and Josh often. Sorry I’ve been so out of touch – it’s a little crazy around these parts. Before and after pictures – yes, I’ll have to do that, and you MUST try Averie’s popcorn ASAP. I think you would love it. πŸ™‚

  46. July 28, 2010 1:11 pm

    Ok…dumb question…how do you make stove-top popcorn without killing the pan or burning it? I want to make my own because I dislike the bagged kind. But Averie’s popcorn recipes have been making me DROOL!

  47. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    July 28, 2010 1:19 pm

    Yes! Thanks you! I have been looking for some other topping for my popcorn-this sounds good!

  48. July 28, 2010 1:22 pm

    Popcorn looks amazing xx

  49. July 28, 2010 1:24 pm

    You are definitely earning your babymoon. I know I am always way more relaxed on vacation when I know that things at home are in their place.

    When I read your title, my firts thought was “But, why?” πŸ˜€

  50. July 28, 2010 2:56 pm

    It definitely doesnt feel like a Wednesday! Have you thought about taking iron pills? You may not like to take pills, I’m not sure..but my iron levels used to be low until I found some pills to supplement my diet with. You only have t otake one a day and they’ve helped tremendously!

  51. July 28, 2010 2:59 pm

    Mimi, I have no idea – I used microwave popcorn. However, I found this video for you: http://www.danispies.com/archives/howto_video/stove-top_popcorn_-_video.php. May have to try it myself! πŸ™‚

  52. July 28, 2010 3:01 pm

    Mary, I take a multi-vitamin, a liquid iron supplement, and iron pills. I’m getting a lot…but the HEABlet seems to be needing a lot! πŸ™‚

  53. July 28, 2010 3:01 pm

    Katie, Haha – I kind of thought the same thing. πŸ™‚

  54. July 28, 2010 3:18 pm

    If chocolate is wrong, I’m never gonna be right. Congrats on eating outside the box, but come back and visit us there soon, OK? πŸ˜‰

  55. July 28, 2010 3:21 pm

    S, Haha – will do! πŸ™‚

  56. July 28, 2010 3:31 pm

    I love canned salmon and tuna but am completely disgusted with the idea of canned chicken or pork. I’ve no idea why but I’ve just always been like that. The hummus sounds like a terrific addition to the salmon by the way!

  57. July 28, 2010 4:29 pm

    bahahaha! I’m glad to see you eat other things besides chocolate and peanut butter πŸ˜‰ That popcorn looked amazing! I think I might try that πŸ™‚ If I had my way, I would eat chocolate for breakfast. Wait, what’s stopping me? Oh yeah, it’s my 3 kids watching me do that. I’d have to become a closet chocolate breakfast eater!

  58. July 28, 2010 4:30 pm

    Justine, I’m the same way. Canned chicken is nasty.

  59. July 28, 2010 4:43 pm

    Yayy Heather! Always glad to inspire some eats for HEAB.

    The popcorn is good, right?! When you get into a groove with protein powder, I never want to step outside the box, but I’m glad I did.. this will be super easy in my dorm room too.

  60. eatmovewrite permalink
    July 28, 2010 4:45 pm

    That popcorn may be the most amazing thing I’ve ever seen. Holy yum. I don’t even like popcorn, either.

  61. July 28, 2010 5:45 pm

    Nesting mode, already? I would act on it as much as possible now, because later on, you’ll just feel like laying around and eating chocolate…I never really grew out of that phase, come to think of it.

  62. July 28, 2010 6:04 pm

    Beeks, Loved the popcorn! πŸ™‚

  63. July 28, 2010 6:20 pm

    Lovely eats as always. Beek always has the best recipes, no?

    Maggie

    Mybreakfastblog.com

  64. July 28, 2010 6:37 pm

    Maggie, Yes! Love my Beeks. πŸ™‚

  65. nicole permalink
    July 28, 2010 7:20 pm

    Hi Heather! I LOVE your blog and get such inspiration from your savory meals. I look forward to the email each day. Ok, so I’m trying to lose some weight (70 pounds) that I’ve accumulated in the last 5 years. I’ve been eating a ton more raw veggies throughout the day and was thinking about trying some almond butter to help fill me up with the veggies. Did you eat AB while losing the weight? How much did you eat on a daily basis? Is almond butter one of the fats that gets digested better or something and not stored as fat as easily? I just don’ t want to sabotage my weight loss efforts by consuming something too fattening on a daily basis. I do know I need good fats in my diet. I was just wondering about your thoughts on the topic. Have a great babymoon!!!!!

  66. July 28, 2010 7:22 pm

    The coconut oil popcorn really is good. One time Averie posted a recipe with coconut oil, chocolate, cinnamon, and nutritional yeast. I was really skeptical but somehow…it works!

  67. July 28, 2010 8:09 pm

    Yay for savory (though I think you’ve convinced me to pick up a jar of chocolate pb soon)! I dunno if spicy is up your alley, but one of my new FAVE sammich creations has been spicy thai chili tuna w/ a little dollop of something creamy (sour cream, ranch, whatever is around), diced onions and cilantro mixed in, with sliced of cucumbers on sprouted grain bread. Sounds SUPER weird but it’s great…

  68. July 28, 2010 11:48 pm

    Hey, there’s nothing wrong with eating only chocolate. πŸ™‚

  69. July 29, 2010 6:41 am

    i thought of you this morning! i’m not usually a savory breakfast kind of person, but for some reason i was craving bolani that i just ordered and received, so spinach bolani with cucumber garlic tzatziki, it was! πŸ™‚ hope you and the heablet are getting ready to enjoy a relaxing babymoon with the mister! xo.

  70. July 29, 2010 7:39 am

    Hi Nicole, Thanks so much for reading my blog. Did you ever see this post regarding fat: http://heathereatsalmondbutter.com/2010/01/28/fat-is-our-friend/? I think you might find it helpful. Yes, I ate fat during my weight loss, and before getting pregnant, it usually made up about 55% of my daily calories (I’m eating a bit more carbs these days). Fat will not make you fat. Our bodies need it. It helps keep me satiated, and I notice that when I don’t get enough, my hands and hair tend to get really dry. I’m a fan of all fats except for trans fats. I eat both plant and animal fats, and I don’t fear the saturated stuff. Our ancestors have been eating it for 1000’s and 1000’s of years.

    I’m not sure how much almond butter I ate while losing weight – at least a couple of TBSP a day, and I’ve been known to eat much more. Just keep your calories in check, and I think you’ll notice a big difference if you add some fat. We were not meant to live on veggies alone. πŸ™‚

    Best of luck with your weight loss and please let me know if you have any other questions. -Heather

  71. July 29, 2010 7:39 am

    That steak salad looks so fresh. I’ve always wondered what Averie’s popcorn was like…

  72. July 29, 2010 7:40 am

    Freckled Foodie, Sounds like a yummy breakfast to me! πŸ™‚

  73. July 29, 2010 7:41 am

    Quix, No, doesn’t sound super weird to me. Sounds quite good actually. πŸ™‚

  74. Carolyn permalink
    July 29, 2010 7:45 am

    You can’t fool us.. i know that’s a brownie cut up in that “steak” salad… πŸ™‚

  75. July 29, 2010 7:51 am

    Carolyn, No worries – I loved on some brownie chunks later in the day. πŸ˜‰

  76. July 29, 2010 8:37 am

    Holy yum, popcorn!!!!!!!!!!

  77. July 29, 2010 9:02 am

    Ohmygoodness Averie’s coconut popcorn is one of my fave treats ever! I wish I’d known about it when I was preggers! And hey, even if you are eating chocolate for every meal I’d just love you the more for it:) But that cucumber salmon salad looks divine – I think I just found lunch!

  78. July 29, 2010 9:54 am

    i love the updated popcorn version! that looks really good!!!

    i have a hard time having salmon salads without pickles, its always the perfect addition ❀

    mmm chocolate tho, im not sure i could ever substitute it, altho i its good to balance it out with nourishing food lol

    xoxo

  79. Nina permalink
    July 30, 2010 12:17 am

    Hi heather, my iron levels are low too so besides supplements I did some research on food and thought I’d let you know that some boiled clams are twice as high in iron as red meat. I found canned ones at whole foods and a 1\3 cup serving of crown prince natural clams is 110% dv of iron. I’d check them out if I were you. They are pretty tasteless but a great way to get iron- I’ve been feeling a difference in energy for sure! Good luck πŸ™‚

  80. July 30, 2010 10:01 am

    Nina, Yes, I know about the clams, but I never think to buy them. Thanks so much for the reminder…I think I see some clam sauce in my near future. Good luck with your own levels, and I hope you get them back up to speed soon. πŸ™‚

  81. July 30, 2010 7:10 pm

    Hey Heather! I’ve wanted to try the hummus/mustard dressing on canned salmon or tuna fish for a while now, but I’ve been hesitant for some reason. Do you find the the tastes of the hummus and mustard overwhelm the fish, or are they subtler than I’m likely thinking?

  82. July 30, 2010 7:16 pm

    Kaitlin, try it – the hummus and mustard add wonderful flavor. Definitely not too overpowering. I usually use about 2 TBSP hummus and a few squirts of mustard.

Trackbacks

  1. Holistic Freedom
  2. Making Banana Pancakes « Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

