Skip to content

An Early Start

April 28, 2010

Morning kiddos. I have been wide awake since 3 AM. Although I think of myself as a pretty laid back person, sometimes I just can’t shut down. Yes, I’m the girl that keeps a pad of paper and pen next to her bed in case I need to add something to my to-do list in the middle of the night. Come on, I know there are others of you out there. Anyway, our AC unit broke, and the crew is due to arrive at 6:30 AM this morning to install a new one. It’s going to be a 2-day project, and I guess I’m just a bit stressed. However, I know I will be grateful for that cool air in another month or so.

This morning I woke up craving cereal, which I ate at 5 AM. ‘Twas yummy. However, yesterday, I was in the mood for an early morning plate of veggies. That ever happened to you? I know The Fitnessista is a fan of salad for breakfast. πŸ™‚ I opened the fridge and pulled out a random assortment of goodies and ended up with a plate of roasted kale and a cheesy baked potato…

IMG_4906.JPG

Pretty random, no? I was starving by the time my potato finished baking, but after removing it from the oven, I decided it needed just a little something more. Ahhh, shredded goat cheese from Trader Joe’s – perfect! Thanks to my readers who informed me of this wonderful product. I sprinkled some of the cheese on my tater and put it back in oven until the cheese was all melted and gooey. I then threw a bit more cheese on top of my roasted kale along with some Annie’s Honey Mustard Vinaigrette and pepper all over the whole plate. Many people ask how I roast my kale, and I always recommend Kath’s Kale Chip recipe. To all kale haters, this recipe will convert you. I promise!

Anyway, my breakfast was delicious. What is the most unconventional breakfast you’ve ever prepared for yourself? Cold pizza leftover from the night before does not count! πŸ˜‰

In and around the blogosphere: I was honored when Meghan Telpner invited me to be a part of her Love in the Kitchen Podcast Series, and you click here to listen (please ignore all my ums and likes). Also, be sure to stop by Smoothie Girl for some…um…interesting photos of myself and other bloggers. πŸ™‚

In closing, I leave you with CD’s Random Comment of the Day…I know you’ve missed them.

I often joke about hiding food from Chris, but sometimes, even he requests that I stash certain goodies. In fact, our conversation last night went something like this…

CD: Heather Pie, please hide those cookies from Trader Joe’s.

Me: Why? How many did you eat? I just bought them yesterday.

CD: Just a handful…

IMG_4903.JPG

Me: Wow CD, you’ve got some pretty big hands. πŸ˜‰

Gotta go – AC guys are here. Bye!

73 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2010 6:08 am

    I love breakfast foods so much so I don’t usually crave anything weird besides oatmeal, waffles, or pancakes. I am way more likely to have breakfast for dinner than a non-breakfast food first thing in the AM!

  2. April 28, 2010 6:09 am

    I’ll ignore your “ums” if you ignore that I start almost every other thing I say with “so”. Thank you so much for doing this! Will be available in itunes any minute now too! Was delightful to chat with you and seriously- think about joining the cocoa dance next year. We don’t do yoga in a yurt but yoga in a copra house (where they used to dry out coconuts in order to make the coconut oil) is pretty amazing.

  3. April 28, 2010 6:34 am

    I was having trouble sleeping too this night.
    Hm, salad for breakfast. Maybe a fruit one, but savory, no no. I adore my oats for breakfast too much πŸ™‚

  4. April 28, 2010 6:43 am

    Hey girl, 3am is pushing it. 4am feels like morning over here, but 3am is still night, non?? Thankfully I tend to sleep through till 4…..then I am on fire! xo

  5. April 28, 2010 6:46 am

    I’ve had burrito leftovers for breakfast… Very random!

  6. April 28, 2010 7:09 am

    I totally understand wanting veggies in the morning! I pretty much vita-mixed a salad for breakfast this morning (carrots, spinach, berries, sesame seeds).

    Love CD’s comment about the cookies! My mom brought cookies over yesterday and this morning my husband told me he had a cookie hangover and accused my mom of being “an enabler.” πŸ™‚

  7. April 28, 2010 7:15 am

    Haha so funny about the cookies!!
    Wow, that breakfast looks so good but it’s so bizarre to me. Not in a bad way haha I just can’t imagine eating something like that for breakfast! but I mean, who says you can’t have veggies for breakfast?!

  8. April 28, 2010 7:27 am

    Weirdest breakfast? Hmm… I really love cereal and oats, so it’s rare that I crave something other than that. I have made breakfast bulgur wheat before, but that’s about as far as I can stretch it!

  9. April 28, 2010 7:28 am

    I love CD’s handful! Lol. Think he must have similar hands to my Phil’s!

    Breakfast looks gooood!! Good but odd! πŸ™‚

    Jess πŸ™‚

  10. April 28, 2010 8:12 am

    haha i can picture u standing there hungry waiting for the potato to finish baking. i would be checking the oven every 10 deconds saying “are u done yet are u done yet?” lol

    what a neat idea.. salad for brekkie.. that would make the body think “what the?” but im sure it would be pretty good.

    haha LOVED the commentary on u and CD’s convo.. hahaha this made me smile/laugh so hard! .. guess he trump michael jordan on his hands πŸ™‚

  11. gina (fitnessista) permalink
    April 28, 2010 8:17 am

    salad for breakfast! i haven’t done that in way too long.. thanks for the reminder, heaby and the shout out! ❀
    haha "a handful". that's like me with those trader joes cat cookies.. i love those things!
    have a great day ❀
    xoxo

  12. April 28, 2010 8:21 am

    Breakfast salad:

    2 poached eggs on a bed of arugula and spinach with a dash of salt, pepper, and balsamic vinegar. Mmmmm

  13. April 28, 2010 8:21 am

    Hahaha my husband came home from TJs with those cookies last week – gone in 24 hours!

  14. April 28, 2010 8:25 am

    Enjoy those cookies for me πŸ˜€

    Good luck with the AC guys!

  15. April 28, 2010 8:25 am

    Sorry you’re not sleeping, hon. Yes, I have a pad by my bedside too but I’ve also known to get up, go upstairs and hit the computer.

    Sign me up for the cocoa house – whatever that is!

    Good luck with the AC!

  16. Danielle permalink
    April 28, 2010 8:27 am

    I love the idea of veggies for breakfast πŸ˜€ I think the strangest thing I’ve ever had in the morning was grilled eggplant? Yeah…that tops the list.

    And I totally have a piece of paper + pen lying on my desk when I go to sleep. I can’t sleep soundly unless my “to-do list” is laid out for tomorrow. Perhaps it’s a type A thing? πŸ™‚

  17. Sarah R permalink
    April 28, 2010 8:32 am

    I love breakfast too much that I typically don’t crave anything too unconventional. I do love veggies in my eggs which my husband thinks is crazy, but he’s the crazy one. I love CD’s random comment. I’d forgotten that you had done that!

  18. April 28, 2010 8:33 am

    Hahaha, oh CD! My boyfriend is the same way. I’m really glad you posted this because I was having a pretty lousy day and that cheered me up tremendously!

    Colleen

  19. April 28, 2010 8:39 am

    i love breakfast food more than any other type of food, to the point where I could eat breakfast for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and completely satisfied (although would be a bit hard to get the veggies in…) so I rarely sacrifice oatmeal/pancakes/eggs/cereal/yogurt for unconventional foods. I have eaten cake for breakfast… that was regrettable.

    Also I think this is the first time I am commenting on your blog but I am a long time reader so I just want to say I am a big fan. Good luck with the AC!

  20. April 28, 2010 8:45 am

    Hello cheese and potato for breakfast. You’re making me drool! That’s too exciting that you’re on that podcast. I literally JUST found Meghan’s blog a couple weeks ago and she’s a local for me!

  21. April 28, 2010 8:55 am

    Well, you know what they say about a guy with big hands . . . πŸ˜‰

  22. Michelle permalink
    April 28, 2010 8:57 am

    I was going to say, “Ah! It’s called male-portion-blindness” but then remembered I used to be the same way (and still can be at times)! lol

  23. April 28, 2010 9:02 am

    hahahhahahhahahahah- love the CD comment of the day. CD takes big handfuls and Josh takes big “sips”. I never let him have a sip of my coffee…or it will be half gone πŸ™‚ I crave veggies for breakfast randomly- especially carrots. Hope the AC is fixed QUICK!

  24. April 28, 2010 9:21 am

    I love kale chips. I used to have kale recipes that were good…pasta with kale and garlic, stir-fried kale, Indian kale and potatoes.

    Then I discovered kale chips. And I can’t bring myself to eat kale any other way. My kale chips are similar to Kath’s, except I use kale and olive oil. Bake (same temp, slightly less time). I salt at the end. Haven’t ever tried cheese. Boy.

    Also, I grew up eating SOS too…same name. hee hee!

  25. April 28, 2010 9:25 am

    3 a.m? what time do you go to bed? yipes. interesting breakfast combo…i guess mine doesn’t count…cause it’s definitely been cold pizza and kraft dinner…yeah, after a night out on the town anything goes πŸ˜‰

  26. April 28, 2010 9:40 am

    Haha, my bf totally eats things in riddic quantities too! Even more than me!

    Salad for breakfast? That’s a new one for me… HMMM…. πŸ˜€

  27. April 28, 2010 9:50 am

    I love breakfast foods so I guess my stangest eats would be salad along with corn cakes. It’s amazing how good you can feel by starting off with fresh greens in the morning.

  28. Abbey permalink
    April 28, 2010 9:54 am

    Sure, why not have taters and veggies for breakfast? Yum.
    Random Q for you HEAB’s…do you ever eat seafood? I’m just curious
    because I sure do and you of all people would definitely have some creative recipes to share πŸ™‚ I especially LOVE sea bass and scallops.
    Gawd. Sooooo good!

    (still chuckling about the cookies – my hubs does the same thing)

  29. April 28, 2010 10:02 am

    Oh man. The thought of a lot of veggies or salad for breakfast makes me feel ill…. but then again, that is probably because of this one incidence last year. Me and a couple team mates from school were in Texas for the collegiate triathlon nationals. We had gone to the one and only healthy restaurant in Lubbock and had loaded up on stuff for the week. And I personally despise wasting anything that is edible. The morning after the race, the day we were leaving, we were up at 5am to catch a plane back to Cali. I had salad left over in the hotel fridge. However, the craptastic fridge was too cold and had partially frozen the salad. Since I am hungry when I wake up, and that was the only thing that was there, I ate the partially frozen, nastya$$ salad anyway. Minutes later I was ill, and it did not make for a pleasant flight back to school… Ughghhghgh

  30. April 28, 2010 10:53 am

    haha…MAN HANDS!!! Poor CD he is probably in a sugar comma today! πŸ™‚

  31. April 28, 2010 10:55 am

    What? That looks like a handful to me. (But, I do have man hands as well.)

  32. April 28, 2010 11:05 am

    I love cold salmon and veggies in the morning. Not the best with coffee but hits the spot, hehe!

  33. April 28, 2010 11:19 am

    Oh I am definitely that girl with the pen & paper by the bed, too πŸ˜‰ Though since getting an iPhone it’s been worse, because I can just type it in the notes section. So much easier, but bad for my list addiction.

    A cheesy baked potato sounds so delicious right now! I have a salad packed for lunch, but it’s a cold and rainy day here in San Fran 😦

  34. April 28, 2010 11:28 am

    hahah my dad has this habit of getting a bag of some snack food out and eating ALL the food besides the last handful or crumbs then he folds it up and puts it back like someone is gonna actually finish his leftover one cracker or crumb…he wont “finish it” he just eats up will the last bite…haha

    ps- love kale chips

  35. April 28, 2010 11:28 am

    I’ve eaten roasted broccoli, leftover peanut stir fry, salad (I actually ordered it at 9 am at a restaurant). I like my veggies, what can I say?

  36. April 28, 2010 11:33 am

    I eat lunch/dinner foods for breakfast all the time! πŸ™‚ The food police hasn’t busted me yet, LOL. πŸ˜‰

    Jenn

  37. Jennifer R. permalink
    April 28, 2010 11:53 am

    Great job on the podcast! Nice to put a voice with the face πŸ™‚
    You’ll love the cocoa plantation in St. Lucia… just sayin’…
    Hope you get some sleep tonight.

  38. April 28, 2010 12:02 pm

    Ahaha! CD is funny- my boyf is like that too. “Hey Nick, where did the tortilla chips go?” “I ate them.” “ALL of them? There was half a bag left!” hah.

    And nothing wrong with veggies for breakfast!!

    xo
    K

  39. April 28, 2010 12:13 pm

    I made kale chips last night! They are so fabulous. And I’ve been eating veggies for breakfast more often lately because of you! I usually heat up some edamame and mixed frozen (organic) veggies on the stovetop, season them with S&P, cumin, and paprika and top it all with brewer’s yeast. I have that with either 2 fried or hard-boiled eggs and it’s SO filling!
    Funny story about CD πŸ™‚

  40. April 28, 2010 12:18 pm

    Guys ideas of a “handful” are usually quite large haha.

  41. April 28, 2010 1:12 pm

    Samantha, Perfect AM salad! πŸ™‚

  42. April 28, 2010 1:15 pm

    Malpaz, Ha ha, CD & his dad do both do the exact same thing! I kid you not – one time, he actually left 2 chocolate chips in the bag and put it back in the cabinet. Really CD?!?

  43. April 28, 2010 1:22 pm

    Abbey, I love seafood, but I rarely prepare fresh fish myself besides just baking salmon. I have a recipe for tahini baked salmon here: http://heathereatsalmondbutter.com/2009/10/02/savory-tahini-meals-for-everyone/, and here is another one for white fish with banana salsa: http://heathereatsalmondbutter.com/2009/10/13/slow-down-you-move-too-fast/. I also love throwing shrimp in a veggie stir-fry or in eggs: http://heathereatsalmondbutter.com/2010/01/12/smaller-meals-success/. I love scallops too…crab cakes especially, but usually only eat them when I go out to eat – I leave those dishes to the professionals. πŸ™‚

  44. April 28, 2010 1:24 pm

    Most unconventional brekkie? Garlicky sauteed kale with raw mushrooms and pakora pancakes.

    (Pakora pancakes are just Indian spices in chickpea flour and water, cooked up on the skillet. It’s a lot like the chickpea bread that you and Telpner make up, with less ingredients.)

    I wonder if that “to do” list by the bed is a chick thing. At yoga today, we were all laughing about how we’ll be trying to focus mid-asana, and we’ll start drift away and start making grocery lists! After all, we are biological caretakers. Maybe that’s why? Anyway, I’m so there with ya. πŸ™‚

    Have you ever tried ginko tea? Ever since I gave up caffeine, it’s been my savior! It really helps on those early risings.

  45. April 28, 2010 1:30 pm

    Eatmovelove, I like to be in bed by 9 PM. Definitely not a night owl – much more of a morning person.

  46. April 28, 2010 1:32 pm

    Courtney, Glad you delurked and thanks for reading. πŸ™‚ I’ve had cake for breakfast as well…leftover TCBY frozen yogurt cake. Ahhh, fond memories. Sadly, all of our TCBY’s have closed. 😦

  47. April 28, 2010 1:35 pm

    that cookie conversation sounds mighty familiar…perhaps because it was had in my house recently. as in this morning… πŸ™‚

  48. Jenny R. permalink
    April 28, 2010 1:35 pm

    Ugh I can’t listen to that podcast b/c it keeps freezing my computer. Sooo amazing that you and Meghan did that though!! You need to come to our neighbourhood now…pack up your hubby and doggies and make the trip girl! UMM I think pizza should count when you make it yourself ;P It’s one of my favourite things to eat in the morning.

  49. April 28, 2010 1:36 pm

    Farty, I haven’t tried Ginko tea – where do you buy it? Oh, and I’ve totally planned out my grocery list during Savasana. Can’t help it as Trader Joe’s is directly across the street from my yoga studio. πŸ˜‰

  50. April 28, 2010 1:37 pm

    Jenny, Yes, homemade pizza totally counts, and I’ll talk to CD about the road trip. πŸ™‚

  51. Carolyn permalink
    April 28, 2010 1:39 pm

    most recently…Chicken Primavera Lean Cuisine with a side of… 10 oz baby bella’s steamed and topped with melted TJ’s cheese…darn good…

  52. April 28, 2010 1:48 pm

    Ugh, you cannot disrupt my sleep for anything. I wasn’t always like that but since taking up running? I sleep like a baby. And we just had AC/Heat folks in to install a new system. Expensive, but totally worth it.

    I do the same thing as CD – if it’s out on the counter or visible in the pantry, there are some things that I’ll munch on incessantly and have to tuck away a little better. And as for breakfast, I’ve been known to eat some soup or a salad or cheese and fruit and toast or a sandwich if I don’t have a protein bar handy. I’m not a huge fan of healthy type breakfast foods and I’ll save the pancake/hashbrown/bacon/sausage feast for once every few months. And usually for dinner, hehe.

  53. April 28, 2010 2:27 pm

    I crave mac and cheese in the morning every once in a while. Sometimes from scratch, sometimes good ol’ Kraft. Nutritious, I know…lol!

  54. April 28, 2010 2:46 pm

    I will check those links out! I saw you were up early, that stinks especially when you really want to sleep just a little longer. I can never sleep when I know I have to get up for something. Our AC has been out for a month now. Fun stuff…especially when you work from home! Hopefully your evening will be relaxing. Oh and you must be one lucky girl to have a man with such big hands! Haha…

  55. April 28, 2010 2:56 pm

    My favorite breakfast is totally soup – always has been and one of my sisters’ favorites is beef stew another likes cheeseburgers (my mother would make us all these things before school – she was a saint)

  56. April 28, 2010 3:03 pm

    Joy, Wow, your mom must have been up at 3 AM *EVERY* morning. πŸ™‚

  57. April 28, 2010 3:56 pm

    I keep pads of paper everywhere. My mind is always going and unless I write it down, I feel like I can’t get peace.

  58. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    April 28, 2010 6:09 pm

    mmmm trader joes cookies are great. try their “cats cookies for people”! they have the best ginger-snap flavored ones!
    Katherine

  59. April 28, 2010 6:43 pm

    LOL my husband has to hide those “crack cookies” from me all the time! He just puts them in tall places…. like the cabinet over the fridge. I would have to get a chair to get to the counter and then still barely make it… at that point it’s just not worth the dang cookie! LOL

    Love the idea of salad for breakfast!

  60. April 28, 2010 7:06 pm

    I’ll be honest-I never crave salads in the morning. If I do eat veggies, it’s usually with some eggs (I love breakfast burritos or huevos rancheros) but greens? I’ve forced myself to drink green smoothies just for the nutritional goodness, but I don’t love them.
    What I do love was CD’s comment of the day. I’ve been there…lol

    Oh and the pen and paper — that’s my cell phone. If I decide I need to remember something – middle of the night or not – I put it in my cell phone’s notes section or in my calendar. Same concept right?

    ❀

  61. April 28, 2010 8:00 pm

    Hahaha…love CD’s comment!

    and I suggested to my roomie she try a salad for bfast since she’s getting tired of her smoothies with eggs on the side!

  62. healthnuttxo permalink
    April 28, 2010 8:14 pm

    hahah thats funny with the cookies. the other day i told my mom when she buys potatoes/yams/sweet potatoes to buy them the size of a fist, as thats the average serving size. (she tends to buy the HUGEEE ones that are def 3 servings to a potatoe!)
    so she comes home with, yet again, HUGE potatoes. I was like, mom , whats up with the big taters? and shes like, well my fist is BIGGER than yours!
    so she bought a HUGE one for herself and a tiny one for me. haha. i guess i lose either way!!

  63. April 28, 2010 8:30 pm

    Loved that you enjoyed a salad for breakfast! Hope you get your AC back soon. We have yet to turn ours on.

    Those must be some pretty good cookies CD?? haha

  64. April 28, 2010 9:17 pm

    kale plus baked potato seems like a great way to start the day…even if its not “breakfasty” – who makes those rules anyway!

    Thanks for your comment about my running for chocolate pic.

    I have to give you props too bc the Heab crotch shot is hilarious!

  65. April 28, 2010 10:28 pm

    Teehee, I think CD and my hubs have similar sized hands – but mine doesn’t requst me to hide food. He is over the whole guilt thing πŸ™‚

    I definitely have never craved greens before say, um 11 or so, but potatoes, winter squash and broccoli – you bet!

  66. April 29, 2010 1:53 am

    The breakfast thing happens to me all the time. Just the other day I had romaine wraps with eggplant, chicken breast and guacamole, with a side of blueberries, for breakfast. Yummy πŸ™‚

    Love the CD comment!

  67. April 29, 2010 7:41 am

    healthnuttxo, I know what you mean – most potatoes in the grocery stores are much bigger than 1 serving size, especially the sweet potatoes. They all seem extra large lately.

  68. Marla permalink
    April 29, 2010 10:13 am

    Love your blog?

    Any exciting personal news coming?(sorry,my ESP acting up!)

    Enjoying your eats-like how original they are πŸ™‚

  69. Marla permalink
    April 29, 2010 10:14 am

    Oops that should be love your blog exclamation point,not question mark-sheesh!

  70. April 29, 2010 10:28 am

    Thanks Marla, and I’ll be sure to keep y’all posted on any news. πŸ™‚

  71. April 29, 2010 2:22 pm

    I must say – I never crave veggies in the morning! Although, a baked potato doesn’t sound bad… When I was in highschool, I ate my mom’s leftover spaghetti and chili ALL the time before school. I’ve always had a crazy appetite first thing in the morning, and it was perfect at satisfying my teenage belly πŸ˜‰

  72. April 29, 2010 11:57 pm

    I used to eat supper for breakfast all the time! Rice, feta cheese and salsa lol. I haven’t done anything CRAAZY like that for a long time though. Cheesy baked potato? SIGN ME UP πŸ™‚

    I love that CD had “just a handful” of cookies hahaha

Trackbacks

  1. BLT Deconstructed « Heather Eats Almond Butter

Leave a Reply

