Skip to content

Another HEABified Favorite

April 27, 2010

Growing up, one of my family’s favorite recipes was SOS , or creamed beef on toast. My dad ate it all the time while serving in the army and would often request SOS for dinner after my parents were married. It was a dish we all grew to love it, but what does SOS stand for you ask? Why Shit On A Shingle of course…I kid you not. My mom always referred to it simply as SOS, but I for one thought it was hilarious to announce that we would be dining on shit for dinner. Classy, huh?

Anyway, over the weekend, my mom made a big batch of SOS, and just for me, she used almond milk rather than cow’s milk and swapped the beef with some bison. It was delicious served atop 2 pieces of buttered whole wheat toast. Really mom, that was some tasty shit. πŸ˜‰

IMG_4886.JPG

I brought the leftovers home and since i had no bread, I just kept picking at it all day with a fork. For dinner, I decided to finish off the remainder of my creamed bison, but what to eat it with? Hmm, how about these?

IMG_4900.JPG

Evan introduced me to these amazing baked hummus chips. Oh my gosh, have you tried them? Highly addictive…just make sure to have your toothbrush handy as the garlic seasoning is STRONG. So, yeah, who doesn’t love a bowl of creamed bison with hummus chips?

IMG_4901.JPG

Random, I know, and that is precisely why you guys don’t see everything I eat. My meals are not always very pretty, but trust me, this totally hit the spot.

Ever tried SOS? I think you should and, you could easily veganize the recipe with some crumbled roasted tempeh and nut milk. Yum!

100 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2010 8:13 am

    Hmm never tried it or even heard of it but gotta love the name!

  2. April 27, 2010 8:23 am

    I think I have tried this waaaaay back when – I didn’t know it was called SOS. My grandma made this when I was little!

  3. April 27, 2010 8:24 am

    Mmmm, yes, we had SOS dinners when I was growing up, too. So good!

  4. April 27, 2010 8:26 am

    Even though I’ve never eaten it, I knew exactly what “SOS” stood for even before you said it! Honestly, even if I was a meat eater I don’t think I could eat it, because it just looks…icky. I don’t even think I’d eat the vegan version of it. BUT, I’m very, VERY glad you got to eat it! And I wanted to tell you: Last night I bought a cereal (Barbara’s Vanilla Shredded Oats) that has 15 grams of sugar per serving. And I ate some. Oh yes I did. With a banana, lol!

  5. April 27, 2010 8:26 am

    I used to serve it to old PA Dutchies, when I was a waitress and college student out in Mennonite country. The first time I heard it was from the lispy, broken-teethed mouth of an eighty year old woman. She had to repeat it about three times before I got what she was saying. I went to my manager and said, “I think that lady just asked me to bring her shit.”

    What a great idea to use tempeh to veganize it. This is something that’s very traditional to my area so I’d love to try it! Thanks for posting!

  6. April 27, 2010 8:28 am

    Farty, That is hilarious. Let me know if you try the tempeh version. I think I shall make it soon!

  7. Erika permalink
    April 27, 2010 8:28 am

    Hahaha, heather!! My grandfather told us that he used to love ‘Shit on a Shingle’!

    Cool way to HEABify if!

  8. April 27, 2010 8:28 am

    OMG i love comfort food like this! I haven’t had that in years…but I’m pretty sure it wasn’t called SOS in our house. My mom made something similar and called it “hodge podge” πŸ™‚

  9. April 27, 2010 8:28 am

    Jentrinque, I know, the creamed beef is not too pretty. I bet your vanilla shredded oats look much more appetizing. πŸ™‚

  10. Scott in Ohio permalink
    April 27, 2010 8:31 am

    Wow! Haven’t seen that in years.

    Brought a smile to my face, for sure. πŸ™‚

  11. April 27, 2010 8:33 am

    Wow. that would be really good made with vegetarian “beef” crumbles. Yum! May have to try that!

  12. April 27, 2010 8:36 am

    this reminds me of a great dish we used to have as kids too! it’s corned beef hash with gravy…HOLY YUM. we use to have ours on toast too!

  13. April 27, 2010 8:36 am

    I ‘ve never heard of SOS but in my bf’s family they thoroughly enjoy creamed peas on toast .

    Hummus chips look amazing

  14. April 27, 2010 8:37 am

    I am COMPLETELY intrigued by S.O.S!
    And by those hummus chips. I’m cool with garlic breath. I’m Greek. I think I was born with it.

  15. April 27, 2010 8:37 am

    Heather, this made me laugh because our family’s version of SOS are actually a holiday staple!! My aunt makes them on dark pumpernickel bread with spicy sausage and some form of cheddar cheese. We only get them at Christmas time but, despite finding out the name (not until my teen years), I always thought of them as a bit fancy πŸ™‚

    I will have to give your version a try since I am now dairy-free and in need of a bit of nostalgia πŸ™‚

  16. April 27, 2010 8:38 am

    I think I need to start eating more shit, because that shit sounds GOOD. And lucky me I just picked up 3/4 lb of grass fed beef to use up

  17. Holly permalink
    April 27, 2010 8:44 am

    I used to *adore* SOS! I was actually thinking about it longingly the other day! Thank you so much for the HEABified version!

  18. elise permalink
    April 27, 2010 8:46 am

    i LOVE humbles!! i got them as a gift from a dear reader, and have never seen them since. hmmm….must get on that.

  19. erintakescontrol permalink
    April 27, 2010 8:47 am

    Mom used to make SOS for us all the time! It’s definitely something that raises eyebrows from people who’ve never heard of it. My Grampa was in the Army during WWII, and after he married my Gramma, they had 8 kids. Pretty easy to make a big batch of SOS to feed their own army!

    Those hummus chips look addictive, for sure!!

  20. Sandy permalink
    April 27, 2010 8:57 am

    My dad served in WWII and we often had this when I was growing up. I know that my mom did not call it that but I’ve heard the term so I’m thinking they probably even served it as school lunch back when I was a kid.

  21. amsterwill83 permalink
    April 27, 2010 9:01 am

    We had this ALL THE TIME growing up, and my dad also called it shit on a shingle!! Too funny. My mom used the really thin deli beef (“chipped beef”?) instead of ground and I was always in charge of making the mountain of toast that went along with it. What a great flashback post!

    Amanda (WannaBe Chef)

  22. Megan W permalink
    April 27, 2010 9:16 am

    I had the same experience as you! My dad was in the Army Reserves during Vietman. So, we had SOS growing up but he didn’t tell us the name until we were older. This must have been one of the meals the soldiers liked. My dad would dip his in ketchup. I’m craving some now! Thanks HEAB!

  23. April 27, 2010 9:22 am

    I’ve never even heard of that – how funny! Honestly it looks a little unappetizing to me, but that’s not to say I wouldn’t try it if it wasn’t handed to me! I love how you HEABify your fave childhood meals, that’s such a good idea πŸ™‚

  24. April 27, 2010 9:25 am

    oh chip beef gravy!!!!!!!!!!! this is what that reminds me of!!! STUFF IS SOOOOOOOO GOOOOODDDD. i had forgotten ALL about this stuff until your post. i havent had chip beef gravy in like… YEARS… so making this TONIGHT. the craving has set in!

  25. April 27, 2010 9:26 am

    Haha, Heather I am often stumped at your unusual food combinations, but this one actually sounds good to me! I can imagine all those flavors working very well together!

    My family never served SOS, but my boyfriend’s did — does it have something to do with having military background?

  26. Michelle permalink
    April 27, 2010 9:28 am

    That used to be one of our fave breakfasts growing up! We called it SOS or Army Food and my mom used canned chipped beef. Sometimes I have her make it for me with no meat (parents are vegan now) and it still tastes just as good!

    Thanks for bringing back a great food memory for me πŸ™‚

  27. April 27, 2010 9:29 am

    Elise, Yes, the Humbles are amazing! It took me a while to find them at Whole Foods – they were hidden in the chip aisle, ACROSS from all the chips next to Stacy’s pita chips. I will be buying lots more!

  28. April 27, 2010 9:31 am

    Coco, Yes, SOS seems to be a popular dish among military families. From what I understand, it was a cheap and easy way to feed “an army”.

  29. April 27, 2010 9:43 am

    SOS is my favorite day after Thanksgiving meal – use leftover turkey and gravy – so tasty. We gave the terminology a milder flavor – poop on a shingle.

    I could just see mushrooms being a delicious vegan substitute.

    Thanks for the flashback down memory lane…I may have to relive it sometime soon.

  30. April 27, 2010 9:48 am

    SOS…lol. Never heard of it, but it actually looks really tasty! I’d love to make a vegetarian version!

  31. April 27, 2010 9:53 am

    Messy Chef Yes, mushrooms. What a great idea!

  32. April 27, 2010 10:06 am

    creamed bison!!!!! my mouth is watering!!! ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh YUM! ❀ xoxo

  33. April 27, 2010 10:10 am

    Looks pretty to me – pretty TASTY πŸ™‚

  34. April 27, 2010 10:20 am

    Never tried SOS before but I think Jacob would really like it!

  35. April 27, 2010 10:23 am

    Heather that. is. hilarious. Yeah you’re right so classy. πŸ˜‰ ha ha ha!

  36. April 27, 2010 10:43 am

    Yum. Beef on toast πŸ™‚ Hummus chips?!! No way – gah – I need to move to the States already…

  37. April 27, 2010 10:53 am

    My grandma used to make Shit on a Shingle all of the time. My brother would run around the house screaming it just because he could.

    Thank you again for the awesome package! I am so very grateful!!!

  38. April 27, 2010 11:00 am

    BOOKMARKED. This looks like the ultimate comfort food. I’ll probably do the almond/bison version. I luuurve bison.

    I think I saw hummus chips at the store the other day. I think. It could have been a dream πŸ˜‰

  39. April 27, 2010 11:00 am

    SOB = shit on bread

    I haven’t had creamed beef in ages….

    I’m SO making it this week now!

  40. April 27, 2010 11:01 am

    Creamed beef is great! Have you ever tried it on waffles?

  41. Kendall permalink
    April 27, 2010 11:03 am

    Oh man, I’ve tried those Humbles before. They are so awesome! You know what is another thing I wonder if you’d like? Not sure about you but I’m simply a potato chip whore, to be blunt. Kettle to be exact. I definitely have to watch it or I’ll eat the entire bag. I once tried some potato chips (can’t remember the brand name) that were fried in Avocado oil. They were really good.

  42. April 27, 2010 11:04 am

    Kathryn, No, but I’m sure I’d love it. Hilarious that they recommend it for a candlelit dinner on Valentine’s Day. πŸ™‚

  43. April 27, 2010 11:06 am

    Kendall, I love kettle chips – all chips actually. I’ve seen the avocado oil chips but never bought them. Trust me, I’ve studied almost every bag in the chip aisle! πŸ™‚

  44. Kendall permalink
    April 27, 2010 11:18 am

    Oh and not sure why I seem to think avocado is a proper noun πŸ™‚

  45. April 27, 2010 11:25 am

    SOS…amusing name! I can imagine it would taste amazing veganized!

  46. April 27, 2010 11:46 am

    I seriously need to try the Humbles, everyone seems to love them!

  47. Nadine permalink
    April 27, 2010 11:47 am

    Yes, SOS was on our table too, along with the army stories! But back to the fudge/brownies….I just folllowed the suggestion on the NoPudge brownie mix box (from Whole Foods). They suggested 2 tablespoons brownie mix, 1 tablespoon yogurt, microwave 1 minute for single serving yum. I used canned pumpkin instead of the yogurt. OMG! What a treat! a fluffy warm personal brownie! What brownie mix, do you think may be better? This one is mostly pure cane sugar.

  48. April 27, 2010 11:54 am

    My dad is military too and would always eat SOS. That stuff grossed me out. But I’m glad you found a healthier way to eat it.

  49. April 27, 2010 11:56 am

    Nadine, I’ve examined every box, and unfortunately, they’re all mostly cane sugar. 😦

  50. April 27, 2010 12:00 pm

    Haha My mom was just telling me about this meal. My Grandpa used to make this a lot when she was growing up. She didn’t like it =(

  51. April 27, 2010 12:04 pm

    I’ve never tried it or heard of it. Interesting!

  52. April 27, 2010 12:07 pm

    I posted on this about a year ago too. We made it for Memorial day on honor of soldiers. My husband absolutely loves it! I need to make it gluten free now for him! Childhood favorites are fun to make over grown up style. The chips sound tasty…I have to find some!

  53. April 27, 2010 12:08 pm

    I had never heard of this until I met my Husband. I guess he ate it growing up all the time. I tried it for the first time when we visited his parents last October, can’t say I was a fan.

    That version sounds better.

  54. April 27, 2010 12:12 pm

    heather! your SOS looks so delicious i’m going to make myself some for dinner tonight! and for a side i’m going to try my hand at sauteed swiss chard. do you eat chard or kale ever? what’s your favorite way to prepare them?

  55. April 27, 2010 12:12 pm

    I’ve never tried SOS, but it sounds interesting!!

    xo
    K

  56. April 27, 2010 12:19 pm

    JJ, So funny you ask as I just had kale for lunch. My favorite way to eat kale is in the form of kale chips: http://www.katheats.com/?page_id=2544, and I love this recipe for swiss chard (at bottom of post): http://heathereatsalmondbutter.com/2010/02/15/cant-do-cruciferous/. Hope you enjoy your dinner.

  57. April 27, 2010 12:29 pm

    My dad was in the military, so I remember SOS too. I also think I was the only kid who had instant meals ( I think they are called MRI’s but that doesn’t sound quite right) in her earthquake kit.

  58. nikkionlunch permalink
    April 27, 2010 1:08 pm

    I definitely have had something similar to it, but it’s been awhile. Your version sounds very tastey! Btw, LOVE your blog! It’s inspiring and just plain fun to read. You remind me a lot of my best friend.

    Kudos to HEAB!

  59. April 27, 2010 1:10 pm

    Thanks Nikkionlunch. πŸ™‚

  60. healthnuttxo permalink
    April 27, 2010 1:32 pm

    hey! just found your blog! looks great πŸ™‚
    as for SOS- i remember my mom saying that too when i was little. that and when i asked what was for dinner, she always said “posion pie”- haha!

    ill be checking back more- your page looks great!

  61. April 27, 2010 1:41 pm

    do you have any ideas for spices to use in a veganized version? i love the idea of crumbled tempeh!

    have a lovely day!
    xox

  62. April 27, 2010 2:11 pm

    I think you’re so, so great! πŸ™‚

    We didn’t have this growing up, but we had chipped beef and gravy on biscuits.

  63. April 27, 2010 2:21 pm

    Mandiee, I always soak my tempeh in Braggs and then roast it in a 400 degree oven until crispy (about 15 to 20 mins). For the SOS, I would allow tempeh to cool and crumble in my food processor or you could just chop by hand. You could sub Earth Balance for the butter, unsweetened almond or rice milk for the milk, and I’d probably throw in a few splashes of vegan Worcestershire sauce: http://www.edwardandsons.com/thewizards_info.itml. My mouth is watering. πŸ™‚

  64. April 27, 2010 2:22 pm

    healthnuttxo, Glad you found me. πŸ™‚

  65. April 27, 2010 2:25 pm

    OMG, the name made me crack up. πŸ™‚ Never had it before, doesn’t look THAT appetizing but I do love just about anything with (96% lean grass fed) ground beef so I might have to try it…

    Those hummus chips though? I will be searching those out this weekend… I love anything garlic!

  66. April 27, 2010 2:26 pm

    a popular diner near me has SOS on the menu and i NEVER knew what it was! i swear, i learn something from you every time i click on your blog. love ya!

  67. Samantha permalink
    April 27, 2010 2:43 pm

    We had this a lot in our house growing up too…it was s on a slab for us. πŸ™‚ Goooood stuff, haven’t had it in years.

  68. April 27, 2010 3:28 pm

    I agree, Humbles are pretty awesome–have you tried the roasted red pepper flavor?

  69. April 27, 2010 3:28 pm

    I heard a story on NPR about SOS about a year ago. It is common in military families because it was the most basic food served in WWII to the soldiers. It was easy to make, had ffew ingredients, served a ton of people and was made with dried beef.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chipped_beef

    I also just found a recipe for a vegan version using seitan that looks pretty great – http://www.vegan-food.net/recipe/1188/Elvis-Army-Days-Shit-on-a-Shingle/

  70. April 27, 2010 3:30 pm

    Oh, boy. Lookie what I just learned:

    In the American Navy, they called Creamed Chipped Beef “Creamed Foreskins on Toast” (aka CFSOT, pronounced “sif-sot”) or just “Foreskins on Toast (aka “FOT.”)

    http://www.practicallyedible.com/edible.nsf/pages/shitonashingle#ixzz0mL2wzOFA

  71. Carolyn permalink
    April 27, 2010 3:49 pm

    CFSOT…euuuuuwww…hehe

  72. April 27, 2010 3:52 pm

    I think my mom used to say we were having Shit on a Shingle when I would ask a million times what was for dinner – luckily it never was! Ive never tried anything like that but if it includes bison it has to be tasty!

  73. April 27, 2010 3:54 pm

    i have never ever heard of that…i can’t believe your dad still likes it! my mom says that when my grandfather was in the army they made them eat spam all the time…and after? he banned it from ever entering his house; my mom didn’t even know what it was until years after he passed away!

  74. April 27, 2010 3:58 pm

    BroccoliHut, I have not, but it’s next on the list!

  75. April 27, 2010 3:59 pm

    Hilarious Katie…yet gross at the same time. πŸ™‚

  76. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    April 27, 2010 4:44 pm

    I’ve always wanted to try humbles! the name is so cute!

  77. April 27, 2010 4:49 pm

    Those hummus chips look awesome! And what better way to eat them then with shit! πŸ™‚

  78. Kathy permalink
    April 27, 2010 4:50 pm

    actually, it’s made with a jar of dried beef with a white gravy. you’d have to rinse the beef in warm water to get rid of the salt, cut it into small squares (hence making chips) then brown in butter. add some flour and brown that then add milk to make the gravy. I haven’t made this in years cuz it’s getting hard to find the dried beef, sometimes I would use ham lunchmeat. I’m diabetic now so won’t make it, either, but your version sounds great!

  79. April 27, 2010 4:51 pm

    Rebecca, Agreed! πŸ™‚

  80. April 27, 2010 4:53 pm

    Kathy, Yes, my mom told me the original version was made with chipped beef…I’m glad she went with bison.

  81. Tenaya Roberts permalink
    April 27, 2010 5:46 pm

    Wow! This brought back so many memories of my childhood. My mom fixed creamed chipped beef on toast every Thursday for breakfast. My dad was in the navy reserves and S.O.S. was something he had often. I am sure we did not call it S.O.S. because my mom was very prude and did not use bad language EVER. It was one of my all time favorite breakfasts. In fact, I would eat seconds because I loved it so much. I have not fixed it since Taylor and Bekah were very young. Thank you for showing us the healthy options. I will have to try it again.
    Blessings!
    Tenaya

  82. April 27, 2010 6:35 pm

    SOS sounds like one of my mom’s phrases πŸ˜‰ Her dad always had very colorful sayings and sometimes I get to hear them.

  83. gina (fitnessista) permalink
    April 27, 2010 6:55 pm

    i used to love SOS in the meat-eating days..and biscuits and gravy. mmm mmm!
    that looks like the ultimate “from madre” comfort meal
    ❀

  84. April 27, 2010 7:16 pm

    Ha ha! I love SOS. The first time I ordered it at one of my favorite Irish pubs, my father was agast. Having served in the Navy it was not a food he had fond memories of. Of course, I fell in love at first bite. My fav way to eat it- with very little of the cream sauce and horseradish aioli instead. Yum!

  85. April 27, 2010 7:46 pm

    OMG! I grew up w/SOS, too!! A good friend of mine introduced it to me years ago : ) Awesome “slop” for sure!! Thanks for bringing it back, cuz I now need to introduce it to my kids : ) : ) Sunday’s family dinner this week – I think so!!
    And, since I LOVE hummus, I truly need to locate some hummus chips : )

  86. April 27, 2010 8:35 pm

    I had no idea that term was so popular! SOS is one of my mom’s favorite – in her unhealthier days, she would use it to judge some restaurant’s worthiness! I’d love to throw your version together for her to help her revisit some good, comforting times.

  87. April 27, 2010 8:53 pm

    SOS….my parents loved (and still do love) the Stouffer’s version. I have never had any other than the frozen mess, but (no offense to Stouffer’s) but they really give that nickname some meaning. I wasn’t ever much of a fan of the stuff. The hummus chips, however, I could love instantly….

  88. April 27, 2010 10:14 pm

    Honestly, no, I’ve never heard of this. But my dad used to make us something very similar, but with tuna and mushrooms in a creamy sauce over toast. Hmm, may have to try this!

  89. April 27, 2010 10:55 pm

    Hello! I still urge you to try those Falafel Chips! I’m sure they would send you samples. They are life changing! As is this… I HAD to share the amazing beauty of this with you!
    http://www.wimp.com/elephantseal/

  90. April 28, 2010 2:44 am

    Graygrrrl, Oh my gosh, that sounds amazing…Arby’s Horsey sauce was a favorite growing up. Do you make your own aioli?

  91. April 28, 2010 2:48 am

    Barbara, I’m waiting for the video to streamline – my Internet is so slow right now. Which company makes the falafel chips again?

  92. April 28, 2010 6:43 am

    Creamed bison with hummus chips? Dear Lord.

  93. April 28, 2010 10:04 am

    I’ve actually never had SOS or creamed beef. I’m not a huge fan of the smell or texture of it. I’m just not a huge fan for some reason. I’ve actually never had bison either…what does it taste like?

  94. April 28, 2010 10:25 am

    @Heather Eats Almond Butter- I usually make my own aioli so I can control the fat content (though Arby’s Horsey Sauce is the greatest condiment in the world!). You can find easy recipes online to make your own, but I often cheat by adding garlic powder, kosher horseradish, and pepper to my Veganaise. Mix and enjoy!

  95. April 28, 2010 1:08 pm

    Lauren, To me, bison tastes just like beef. Keep in mind, I’m used to eating lean beef. I like to spice both up with spices and sauces before cooking.

  96. April 28, 2010 1:09 pm

    Thanks Graygrrrl. Sounds divine. πŸ™‚

  97. April 29, 2010 12:28 pm

    oh my goodness, its soo weird because i can smell this dish, as well as taste it, but i can’t remember where we used to eat it as a kid! I can’t remember if it was my mom who made it for when we were reaaaally little (before the health kick) or if we ate it at family’s house or whatnot.

    awesome memory inducing post heather!

  98. April 29, 2010 12:37 pm

    Beeks, Yes, your mom told me that her mom used to make it for her. So perhaps you ate it at your grandmother’s house? πŸ™‚

  99. April 30, 2010 8:31 pm

    I used to love what we called “cream chipped beef” in our house!!

  100. Margie permalink
    May 1, 2010 6:45 pm

    My dad was in the army and he called it SOS too. We used to have it every Sunday. Some days we used the beef, but it is also good with corned beef.

Leave a Reply

