Skip to content

Goat Lovin

April 23, 2010

Yesterday for lunch I ate a burger with cheesy nachos followed by a sundae for dessert. No, really, I did. 😉

First up, we have an oven roasted Garden Herb Sunshine Burger (A quick letter: Dear Sunshine Burger people, please sell your burgers in bulk as I can easily go through an entire box in 1 day. Only 3 burgers to a box? That’s just wrong. Thank you. Sincerely, Heather) with Garden of Eatin tortilla chips and melted goat cheese.

IMG_4867.JPG

Some of you have asked me which brand of goat cheese I use. It’s sliced goat cheese from Trader Joe’s, contains no cow’s milk, and I have to admit I’m slightly obsessed…

IMG_4868.JPG

And my sundae

IMG_4866.JPG

Into my hazy wine glass went 1 container of plain goat milk yogurt, sliced kiwi, frozen cherries, and ground flax seed. A lovely little lunch, no? 🙂

Some exciting news to share with you…

1) If you get a chance, please check out my guest post over at Choosing Raw. I was honored when Gena invited me to post on her amazing blog, one I’ve admired for a while now.

2) Alisa, my non-dairy guru has started a great new blog called Dairy Free & Fit. It was Alisa’s book, Go Dairy Free, that served as the catalyst behind my decision to cut back on dairy and changed my life for the better. So, please stop by Dairy Free & Fit if you get a chance, and just so you know Alisa is giving away a 30-day supply of Amazing Grass superfood products. Although I’m not a fan, I know a lot of you love the stuff. Click here for your chance to win.

3) Don’t forget, you have until May 9 to Make A Pledge for Better Health for your chance to win a $20 gift certificate to Whole Foods. To those of you that have already made your pledge, how is it going? I’m feeling really good about my own pledge, but more about that in an upcoming post.

Happy Friday! 🙂

69 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2010 7:00 am

    Do you find that the goats milk cheese tastes different than cows milk cheese?

  2. April 23, 2010 7:02 am

    I have never thought to melt goat cheese, especially over nachos! Brilliant. I’m going to check out Alisa’s blog, even though I eat dairy I like hearing ideas! I’m also hosting an Amazing Grass Giveaway this week. Head on over to http://www.pickleypear.com and enter!

  3. April 23, 2010 7:02 am

    Beth, Yes, it does have a slightly different taste, but personally I love it. I’m not sure how to describe the difference – the goat is a bit more tangy maybe? I’ve never been a fan of store bought goat milk, but I LOVE the yogurt and cheese.

  4. April 23, 2010 7:10 am

    I lovd your guest post! And your wedding cake could not have been cuter

  5. robyn jones clark permalink
    April 23, 2010 7:18 am

    oh no.. sliced goat cheese??? never seen it.. but i don’t have a lot of options around here… but totally going to look for it.. i love goat cheese!

  6. April 23, 2010 7:30 am

    I’ve tried Goat’s cheese before. It’s saltier to me – I liked it 😉 but I like all cheeses…
    I’ll check out your Guest Post and the free ‘swag’ later – thanks for the notice 🙂

  7. kim puente permalink
    April 23, 2010 7:34 am

    Hi Heather!

    We have the shredded goat cheese at our TD’s. I used it a couple times on pizza for Bella. It does have a slightly diff. taste. However, when asked I always reply ” nope, its the same cheese”. I think it is good and great alternative for us with sensitive tummies! Looks good. Off to WF today to try your burgers, YUM!

  8. April 23, 2010 7:37 am

    Loved your guest post! You know I could not agree with you more on one thing does not work for everyone. I think my husband knew deep down that his body could not tolerate wheat (he has celiac) a long time ago when he thought carbs were the enemy for him. Well, now we know not all carbs, but definitely wheaty ones! I love that you listen to your body. I am learning more and more about mine everyday…in part to you! Thanks HEAB!

  9. April 23, 2010 7:44 am

    Sarena, So glad to hear. Thanks for your constant support. 🙂

  10. April 23, 2010 7:51 am

    I TOTALLY agree about the Sunshine Burger 3 pack!! My daughter and I were just talking about that the other day. Hope they listen to you 🙂
    XOXO
    Kimberly

  11. Abbey permalink
    April 23, 2010 8:21 am

    Heather, I completely understand the obsession with veggie burgers as I am a big fan of Amy’s brand burgers. I just wanted to ask you what makes the sunshine so good(if you can compare)? I have never bought any because I thought the protein was really low compared to Amy’s. Not judging at all(!), just curious what makes you love em 🙂
    Do you use Trader Joe’s ketchup ever? It’s the freaking best!

    Pledge is going better than expected actually, so that’s great.
    Glad yours is going well too 🙂

  12. April 23, 2010 8:31 am

    I must go find that sliced goat cheese now!

  13. April 23, 2010 9:07 am

    Hey Heather, my pledge for better health is also going very well. I challenged myself to more healthy eating and increase in cardio exercise/yoga. Things are going really well and I feel great! Thanks for starting the pledge!

    And I love your blog! Thanks for sharing!

    On a side note. I really want to start making some nut butters. Do you have a suggestion for a good food processor or machine to ground nuts, like almonds? Let me know! Thanks!

  14. April 23, 2010 9:25 am

    i LOVE goat milk… i have goat milk kefir, goat yogurt(i strain it and eat it), raw goat feat and raw goat milkd cheddar… yummmm…..

    are you a kefir user? if so, im lookin for new ways to use it!!! ill search your blog… haha

    yummm…. cheese… workin on making my digestive system tolerate it better with the kefir and enzymes/bacteria… hopefully this time i wont get bloated and break out 🙂

  15. April 23, 2010 9:38 am

    oh yay, i’ll check out gena’s blog to see ur guest post!! have a great day lovlie!!

  16. April 23, 2010 9:58 am

    GAH! I was at TJ’s yesterday. Wish I’d known about the goat milk cheese. I want to go to there. Thanks for the heads up!

    If you want to send that letter to the Sunshine peeps for real, can you add my name to the end? Better yet, let’s start a petition! Y’know what else would ROCK? A variety pack! Original, garden, and southwestern all in ONE BOX. The voice of the people can make it happen. HAHA!!!

    Have a great weekend, HEABs!!!

  17. April 23, 2010 10:11 am

    Abbey, Because I eat meat, I don’t really pay attention to the protein content of veggie burgers. I go by taste and ingredient list. Therefore, I love Sunshine burgers despite their lack of protein. Honestly, it’s been so long since I’ve had an Amy’s burger, I can’t really compare. She makes one without soy, right (I try and avoid soy protein)? I’ll have to try it and see if Amy measures up to my beloved Sunshines. 🙂

    And yes, we currently have 1 bottle of TJ’s ketchup in our fridge, and a back-up bottle in the cabinet. Love it. 🙂

  18. April 23, 2010 10:13 am

    Farty, Post your thoughts on Sunshine Burger’s Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Sunshine-Burger/191354357990?ref=ts. Hopefully they will listen. 🙂

  19. April 23, 2010 10:16 am

    malpaz, I do like kefir but haven’t tried the goat milk kefir due to the cost. It’s around $7 at our Whole Foods. Can’t swing it. I love putting kefir in smoothies or using in place of “milk” in any recipe and big bowls of cereal. 🙂

  20. April 23, 2010 10:18 am

    mkluesner, So happy to hear your pledge is going well, and thanks for your kind words regarding my blog. 🙂

    As far as homemade nut butters go, I would recommend a Cuisinart or KitchenAid food processor. Here is the method I use: http://heathereatsalmondbutter.com/recipes/homemade-nut-butter/

  21. April 23, 2010 10:22 am

    Slightly off topic but the photo of you with your mom looking so happy made me miss mine. I am so happy for you that you have such an awesome mom!!!! 🙂

    Also, I bought that no dairy book when you mentioned it last year! it is so awesome! thanks for sharing!

  22. April 23, 2010 10:29 am

    Thanks RhodyGirl. 🙂

  23. Lexi permalink
    April 23, 2010 10:55 am

    Hi Heather,
    I’m looking for your recipe for “broccamole” on here but I can’t seem to find it. Could you let me know where it is??
    Thanks!

  24. April 23, 2010 11:03 am

    I have never seen that cheese at TJ’s. Must find!

  25. April 23, 2010 11:07 am

    I don’t do dairy myself, but my hub occasionally does, and I wish I could get him to do the goat stuff. maybe I should just buy some for him? …loved your guest post! two of my favorite blogs united 🙂

  26. April 23, 2010 11:11 am

    Mm, I love goats milk cheese! Have you ever had a salad with herb and bread crumb-encrusted chevre? To die for.

  27. April 23, 2010 11:12 am

    I love sunshine burgers! Have you tried the new Falafel one? They’re pretty good! But 3 to a package is not really a deal, wish they had a big ‘ol variety pack.

  28. April 23, 2010 11:16 am

    Thanks for alerting us to your guest post – I loved reading it!

  29. *Andrea* permalink
    April 23, 2010 11:17 am

    i’ve never heard of sliced goat cheese!! what a great idea! must try it 🙂
    i love those burgers too but why do they have to be so pricey and insuch small boxes!!?!?

  30. April 23, 2010 11:19 am

    I’ve recently started drinking water and eating desserts out of my wine glasses. I love the feel and look of it!

  31. April 23, 2010 11:34 am

    I just tried my first Sunshine Burger yesterday…the BBQ flavor. I bought them after reading a scary article about non-organic veggie burgers (even Amy’s!) dipped in Nexane? I’ve gotta say, I didn’t think they compared to Amy’s taste-wise, but maybe I need to try another flavor. Is the Garden Herb your favorite?

  32. April 23, 2010 11:35 am

    Operagirlcooks, Yes and YUM. 🙂

  33. April 23, 2010 11:36 am

    Lara, Love the Garden Herb and falafel, but never tried the other flavors. Out of the two, the Herb is my fav. 🙂

  34. April 23, 2010 11:36 am

    Andrea, My complaint too. 😦

  35. April 23, 2010 11:38 am

    Lindsay, Love the Falafel. Write your suggestion on Sunshine Burger’s Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Sunshine-Burger/191354357990?ref=ts

  36. April 23, 2010 12:06 pm

    happy friday back at’cha!
    i’ve been dying to try Sunshine Burgers, but needed some confirmation they were worth the $$.
    yay! i will most def be getting me some of this pronto!

  37. April 23, 2010 12:23 pm

    I LOVE those kind of burgers & nachos! Goat cheese and Sunshine burgers are the best! Too bad the burgers are suuuper expensive here in Toronto. =(

    xo
    K

  38. April 23, 2010 12:23 pm

    Where can I get that burger? It look delish!

  39. April 23, 2010 12:24 pm

    runnerforever, I buy my Sunshine Burgers in the freezer section at Whole Foods.

  40. April 23, 2010 12:25 pm

    Kristin, Yeah, they’re not too cheap down here in Nashville either. 😉

  41. April 23, 2010 12:32 pm

    What a beautiful sundae! I have a boat load of wine glasses in my cabinets, but since I don’t drink wine, they never see the light of day. I should really pull them out for things like this. It makes even the most simple desert seem extravagant!

  42. April 23, 2010 12:36 pm

    You are so sweet, thanks for the shout HEAB!

    Thank you also for the Sunshine Burger note. I have been dying to try them, but everytime I see them on sale I am reminded of the only 3 patties per box thing, and just can’t bring myself to buy them! I don’t know why, but it just sounds like so little and not worth the gamble – especially since I am sure I would love them. Would love to see them sell bigger packages!

  43. April 23, 2010 12:56 pm

    I looooove goat dairy, so creamy and delicious, yet i’ve never used it in nachos! Why did I not think of this earlier?! Mmm…

  44. Michelle permalink
    April 23, 2010 12:59 pm

    Love the simplicity of your lunch. Simple yet so so appealing … 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  45. April 23, 2010 1:27 pm

    My local farmers market sells goat camembert which tastes amazing. My favorite is goat feta as I like the salty cheeses.

  46. Tabitha permalink
    April 23, 2010 1:41 pm

    Phew I thought you had lost your mind there!

  47. April 23, 2010 2:00 pm

    Haha, I just had a “burger and fries” meal the other day–with a veggie burger, sweet potato fries, and a smoothie (aka “shake”). ‘Twas glorious, but probably not as delicious as your meal:)

  48. April 23, 2010 2:30 pm

    You can sign my name to the end of that letter as well!!!! I hate it that there are only three burgers to a box!!

  49. April 23, 2010 3:23 pm

    I am happy for you that you aren’t being ruled by your rules when eating out as of late!

    Here is a link to my pledge and thank you for hosting!

    http://www.bhg.com/healthpledge

  50. April 23, 2010 3:33 pm

    I saw that goat cheese at TJ’s last weekend and thought of you! I’m off to read your guest post…have a great weekend!

  51. April 23, 2010 3:53 pm

    Your Sundae looks so good! Have a great weekend.

  52. April 23, 2010 3:59 pm

    Oh.mygosh! I just found out the Sunshine Burger company is like 11 miles from my house!
    How cool is that. I had absolutely no idea. May take a trip to visit 😉

  53. April 23, 2010 4:06 pm

    Heather, So jealous – Road trip! 😉

  54. Christina permalink
    April 23, 2010 5:51 pm

    mmmm…I love TJ’s shredded goat cheese on pizza! Never thought about looking for slices – that will be on my to-do list now 🙂 Scott just bought some raw goat “cheddar” cheese from our co-op and it’s wonderful too. SO happy I can tolerate goat cheese!!! xoxo

  55. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    April 23, 2010 5:51 pm

    that sundae just put a smile on my face; love the presentation!
    Katherine

  56. April 23, 2010 7:44 pm

    I knew your meal was a “heabified” version as soon as I read the first sentence! hehehe I always like the heab’s version a lot better 🙂 I need to try sunshine burgers! Veggie burgers are hard to find over here, the other day I went with my bf to a place that announced they served “vegetarian burgers” and I asked for one, expecting a soy-pattie or something, only to find out their so called “veggie burger” was CHEESE!

  57. April 23, 2010 7:56 pm

    Ok first, Love Alisa and she is such an amazing woman. I love her! Love her book, her spirit, just such a great human being.
    Guest Post…off to read it and can I just say that I am even more humbled and flattered by Gena for the guest post I did on her site about Yoga for Digestion earlier in the week, now knowing that I am in the company of you and Diana…wow.
    Off to read that one…
    xo

  58. Rosa permalink
    April 23, 2010 10:04 pm

    ooh~ I think I need to try goat milk cheese. I tried it a lonnng time ago but HATED it (probably because I thought it was mozzarella… and they do not taste the same… haha). I can’t remember having it recently, but I’ve grown to love all cheeses!

  59. Kate permalink
    April 24, 2010 6:36 am

    i am currently enjoying a bowl of goat milk yogurt. it was on sale at the WF and thought i’d give it a whirl after seeing it on your blog. SO GOOD! thank you! i already was a huge goat cheese fan so i figured i’d like this stuff too. i can’t really describe how it is different but there is a little something that makes it oh so enjoyable!

    and i totally agree on the sunshine bugers. have you tried the falfel? so addictive!

  60. April 24, 2010 7:00 am

    Kate, Yes, LOVE the falafel, and so glad you’re enjoying your goat milk yogurt. I stocked up when I saw it on sale. 🙂

  61. April 24, 2010 7:18 am

    Goat cheese has been a godsend for clients of mine who don’t want to go vegan, but can’t handle bovine dairy. Glad that it has been great for you, too!

    It was such an honor to have your voice on CR. xoxo

  62. April 24, 2010 9:10 am

    OK I’m convinced…I have to try the goat cheese!
    Also, last night after dinner I was craving ice cream. Bad. But the thing is, I don’t really like store bought ice cream. I like going out to an ice cream place to get it. (I love soft serve)
    I attempted to scoop some of our Breyers Vanilla into a cup when I thought, “You know-why eat this if I’m not going to be happy about it?” So instead I thought of this post–and sliced up half a banana and mixed it with 1/4 Greek yogurt, a little bit of soy milk to water it down a bit, a scoop of PB and some cinnamon….SO much better than the ice cream sundae I was going to eat.
    Oh and then this morning I had oats in a jar. I went and got the GF oats (thank you so much for reminding me that they exist!!!) I had been saving this jar for a while so I was so happy to finally use it! I love being able to HEABify my life!! ❤

  63. April 24, 2010 10:08 am

    Nicole, Glad you enjoyed your HEABified eats. 🙂

  64. April 25, 2010 1:06 am

    I love Sunshine burgers! The short ingredients list is outstanding to boot. 😀

    Jenn

  65. April 25, 2010 11:30 pm

    I TOTally feel the same way about Sunshine burgs. They are thee best veggie burgers in the world and totally should at least come in an 8-pak!!! I’ve been eating the Southwest lately. YUM. Haven’t found a flavor that I don’t like!

  66. April 28, 2010 6:52 am

    Good morning, Heather and HEAB readers!
    First, Heather, congratulations on the excellent work you are doing with your blog. It is a pleasure to observe not only your efforts but also the thoughtful responses.
    Second, thanks for the candor about the Sunshine Burger pack size. We know the 3 pack is, yes, a little odd, and we do talk about changing it. Any change is way more complicated for us than might be imagined. There are the limitations of our current box former, the expense of a new former, the expense of introducing any new item into distribution, and so on. It all adds up very quickly for a small company. So we carry on with a quirky legacy package which dates back nearly three decades when Carol Debberman first started making Sunshine Burgers (incidentally, long before the other guys started offering either the now standard four packs or the big club packs). All that said, we are seriously considering other options. I welcome you to visit Sunshine’s Facebook page. I will even start a discussion on our pack size and encourage you all to chime in. Please be patient though: even if we had everything in place right now (which we do not) it would take many months for a new pack size to appear in the market (as a practical matter, think next year for an item presented now). And thanks very much for the enthusiasm for Sunshine Burgers inside the funny little box. We are committed to making great tasting organic, whole food, vegan products free of wheat and soy, and we are always thrilled (and humbled) by the positive responses we receive from our fans.
    Sincerely,
    Cole Jones
    General Manager
    Sunshine Burger

  67. April 28, 2010 7:00 am

    Wow Cole, thanks for your response, and no worries, whatever size package your burgers come in, I will ALWAYS buy them! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. BLT Deconstructed « Heather Eats Almond Butter

Leave a Reply

