Skip to content

So Delicious Winner and Reason #243 Why I love My Food Processor

April 20, 2010

First off, Turtle Mountain reached 3,500 followers on Facebook yesterday, and so my product coupon giveaway has officially come to an end. The winner is…

Picture 1.png

Congrats Tyrah! You and a friend will both receive 5 coupons each. Please email me with your information.

Now, onto some yummy eats. I’m still loving on my yogurt/flax/fruit bowls in the morning. Today, it was goat milk yogurt with a naval orange.

IMG_4846.JPG

So good, and doesn’t my orange kind of look like a star? I’m eating more fruit than I normally do, but my body is craving it now that spring is here. So, I’m just going with it. πŸ™‚

Yesterday, I noticed some ready to eat grilled chicken strips from Trader Joe’s sitting in our fridge that needed to be used. I wasn’t in the mood for plain jane chicken, and so I whipped up a delicious chicken salad in about 3 minutes flat.

Into the food processor went the chicken, a squirt of mustard, Cornichon pickles (my fav!), and Tzatziki sauce (about 2 TBSP).

IMG_4836.JPG

IMG_4833.JPG

All together now…

IMG_4834.JPG

Turn food processor on, and 30 seconds later, voila…instant chicken salad.

IMG_4835.JPG

Stuff into toasted whole wheat pita with melted goat cheese and eat alongside 2 sliced kiwis (yes, I eat my kiwis skin and all).

IMG_4837.JPG

Perfect. In fact, I think I might just eat the exact same thing for lunch today. Readers always ask what kind of food processor I own. Honestly, I have no idea as it was a gift from a friend who imports prototype appliances. If it ever breaks, I will cry many tears. Love that thing!

What’s your favorite kitchen appliance? Honestly, I can’t choose between my food processor and my Vita-Mix. I couldn’t live without either.

Don’t forget to enter my iHerb $50 shopping spree giveaway. I’ll announce the winner tomorrow. Have a good day!

56 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 8:43 am

    My favorite kitchen appliance is a tie between my food processor and my blender… both get a lot of use and will be quickly replaced if either one gives out!

  2. April 20, 2010 8:46 am

    YUM! That looks delicious! I’ve been craving egg salad like SO BAD lately! But I love chicken salad too!
    I wish I had a good food processor, mine is dead 😦 So my favorite kitchen appliance would be my coffee maker or my blender.

  3. April 20, 2010 8:58 am

    I love my food processor too. It is an old but reliable Cuisinart workhorse that was given too me. Good idea putting chicken salad in the processor.

  4. April 20, 2010 9:22 am

    I ADORE my food processor. It is by far my most favorite kitchen appliance.

  5. April 20, 2010 9:23 am

    I don’t have a vita mix, but I want one…I do LOVE my food processor! It is like magic!

  6. robyn jones clark permalink
    April 20, 2010 9:24 am

    i want a vita mix…. soon.. very soon.

  7. April 20, 2010 9:26 am

    great idea for chicken salad! it looks amazing and just made my stomach growl…

  8. April 20, 2010 9:29 am

    Are you actually counting the reasons?! Haha – is that a valid number?

  9. April 20, 2010 9:31 am

    Eatmovelove, Nope, but I bet it could be if I put some thought into it. πŸ˜‰

  10. April 20, 2010 9:39 am

    i have a brand-new food processor but am too lazy to use it most days! shame. i have a shoddy little blender that i love.

  11. April 20, 2010 10:15 am

    My fave appliance is my little strainer. πŸ˜› It’s the size of a cereal bowl, and I love to drain canned black beans, fresh raspberries, and the little macaroni’s when I make mac n cheese. Such a cute little yellow strainer from Target. I know, a strainer is NOT an appliance. : )

    XOXO

  12. April 20, 2010 10:29 am

    I dont have a vita mix or a food processor but Ive been thinking about it for ages! So for the moment my favorite appliance is my coffee maker. It gets me through the day, every day πŸ™‚

  13. April 20, 2010 10:30 am

    Holy crap, I’m so excited I won!
    Thanks HEAB =)

    I’m the same with a tie btw. my vita-mix and my food processor, although my chef’s knife might make it a three way tie.

    I’ve always wondered it I could just eat the kiwi skin, thanks for letting us know.

  14. April 20, 2010 10:33 am

    You are making me SO hungry right now. I love that you love pitas πŸ™‚

  15. April 20, 2010 10:34 am

    Delicious lookin’ pita! I like to stuff mine with falafel, tomatoes, cucumber, lettuce, and Trader Joe’s tahini sauce.

  16. April 20, 2010 10:36 am

    Seriously delicious! I always make them with hard boiled eggs and random veggies with hummus!

    xoxo
    Maggie

  17. April 20, 2010 10:38 am

    I absolutely LOVE my stick blender. I make so much with it!! Love the chicken salad idea, though, weirdo that I am, can’t stand cornichon 😦

  18. April 20, 2010 10:43 am

    Polly, Your strainer totally counts. πŸ™‚

  19. April 20, 2010 10:47 am

    is it fate that i am reading this post while eating cornichons pickles? yes, yes it is.

    all hail the pickle.

  20. April 20, 2010 10:48 am

    I eat my kiwis with the skin also! Yah, I’m not the only weirdo. I need a vita-mix. My blender is broken 😦

  21. April 20, 2010 10:57 am

    I don’t have a food processor 😦

  22. April 20, 2010 11:22 am

    My favorite kitchen took has got to be my apple corer and peeler gadget–it looks like it was invented in the 1800s. It is one of those tools I use rarely but It is so much fun that I plan recipes around it. The peel comes off in one big, long piece!

  23. April 20, 2010 11:24 am

    chicken salad sounds DELISH! i should try this. it looks easy! πŸ˜€

  24. Vanessa permalink
    April 20, 2010 11:25 am

    While I do love my blender and food processor my juicer has to be my favorite in the kitchen. You can’t beat fresh carrot apple juice!

  25. Justine permalink
    April 20, 2010 11:28 am

    I love tzatziki! Any excuse to eat yogurt though is OK in my book.

  26. April 20, 2010 11:29 am

    I love tzatziki! Any excuse to eat yogurt though is OK in my book

  27. April 20, 2010 11:36 am

    u ought to break out some overnight oats!

  28. Claire permalink
    April 20, 2010 11:39 am

    That’s so funny…I’ve been staying away from fruit as well.Lately,I just have to have an apple everyday.I’ve also been craving berries.The past couple days I’ve made either a tuna or chicken salad with pickles.Love that crunch!
    I think my favorite appliance is my George Foreman Grill…LOVE it!I use that baby at least once a day:-) cc

  29. Sarah R permalink
    April 20, 2010 11:41 am

    I think my favorite appliance is my food processor as well. Don’t know how I lived without that thing for so long.

  30. April 20, 2010 12:16 pm

    My vitamix is my favorite, for sure. I don’t have a food processor anymore because I busted it trying to make almond butter. Oops.

    Have you seen the I Love Trader Joe’s cookbook? Your recipe should be in there!

  31. April 20, 2010 12:20 pm

    I want a food processor sooooo bad!

  32. April 20, 2010 12:30 pm

    mmm yummmmm. cornichons hehe.

    i love capers in my chicken or tuna salad. have u ever tried? they taste like little pickle nubbins. ❀

  33. April 20, 2010 12:30 pm

    Katie, No, I didn’t know such a cookbook existed. I must find it! πŸ™‚

  34. April 20, 2010 12:31 pm

    Kelsey, I’ve made salmon salad with capers, and yes, it was good. Thanks for the reminder. I should try them in chicken salad.

  35. Jordan permalink
    April 20, 2010 12:34 pm

    LOVE cornichons! MMM- I wish I had a Vitamix, but love my Viking immersion blender with mini food processor attachment , it gets used all the time!

    Have you seen this blog? http://blog.cookingwithtraderjoes.com/
    I love TJ’s too! πŸ™‚

  36. April 20, 2010 12:37 pm

    Jordan, I have not seen that blog. Will check it out for sure. πŸ™‚

  37. Michelle permalink
    April 20, 2010 1:22 pm

    Chicken salad looks great – never thought to blend up the chicken – great idea!

    Definitely fave appliance is my Kitchen Aid blender. I use it every single day. My hubby bought it for me for Christmas (didn’t ask for it as I thought my Walgreen’s $19.99 blender was just fine) and it turned out to be the best gift ever!

  38. April 20, 2010 1:26 pm

    What a fast and healthy lunch idea! And no mayo!! That’s one of my biggest reasons for NOT eating chicken salad! Any alternatives to the dip idea? I don’t have a trader joe’s in my area (which is incredibly sad and unfortunate I know… but what do ya do..)….

    But I would like to try this! Have a great day!

  39. April 20, 2010 1:29 pm

    VeggieLady4Life, I love making the chicken salad with hummus OR hummus + BBQ sauce. So yummy.

  40. Carolyn permalink
    April 20, 2010 1:54 pm

    My microwave (she said proudly holding her radiated head high)

    …and my teeny mini spoonulas from Willams Sonoma which aren’t an appliance but assist me greatly with the food processor and Vitamix… And leave no speck of food in the bowl when i eat with them…

  41. April 20, 2010 1:56 pm

    I’ve never tried tzatziki sauce, is it good? And I haven’t tried pickles or mustard in my chicken salad yet! My usual chicken salad is made with chicken, chopped apple, peas, carrots, jalapeΓ±os and a little bit of mayo or sour cream. Is good!

  42. April 20, 2010 1:59 pm

    Lola, I love Tzatziki sauce – so light and refreshing, Makes a wonderful dip, sandwich condiment, or salad dressing.

  43. Danielle permalink
    April 20, 2010 3:17 pm

    My favorite appliance would have to be my vitamix! …I can hear my parents in the background saying “that better be it, cuz it was freakin’ expensive” πŸ™‚

  44. April 20, 2010 3:52 pm

    I totally second that!! When my husband and I were regestering for gifts my mother-in-law was INSISTENT that we register for a food processor and I remember thinking WHY?!?! I will never use that thing…haha…mother-in-law KNEW her stuff! I think I use it almost every day! haha!

  45. April 20, 2010 3:55 pm

    My favorite gadget is definitely my immersion blender. When my old one broke after one too many batches of hummus, I felt like I lost a part of my soul…but it gave me an excuse to buy a new one:)

  46. April 20, 2010 6:07 pm

    I have been a lot of fruit lately too!! I think it is the warmer weather ; ) Your fruit bowl with goat yogurt, YUM!

  47. April 20, 2010 7:41 pm

    Definitely my spice grinder – but I have never owned a food processor. I am in the market for a good one though – any recommendations?

  48. April 20, 2010 9:06 pm

    Can you believe I dont have a food proc? I only have a Vita. I love it. I also have a Blendtec which goes ahem, un-used. No where near the beast that my Vita is.

  49. April 20, 2010 9:12 pm

    That chicken salad makes me want to make chix, tuna or egg salad. Ive been craving it.

    My fave appliance? Let’s just say that I’ve been taking care of my Dad since last week and the Vitamix has gone home and to Dad’s back and forth back and forth at least 10 times. What if I get a craving for protein ice cream all of a sudden.

    Hugs.
    D

  50. nellieshaul permalink
    April 20, 2010 9:25 pm

    Hmm…I wouldn’t have thought to put chicken in the food processor…it’s definitely my fav (and most $$ saving) appliance! It’s funny because I’ve actually even had to lug it to my lab for some experiments…I’m a chemist…

    Question…I’ve seen you reference ‘paleo’ sites like Mark’s Daily Apple, but I notice that you still eat grains, like today’s wheat pita…do you just try to limit them?

  51. April 21, 2010 5:33 am

    I think Deb is my twin and you are my soul sister. Seriously, we keep making the same foods. I just made greek yogurt with caramelized oranges (in erythritol syrup). Delicious.

    You are my Cuisinart and Deb is my Vita-Mix – can’t live without either! πŸ˜‰

  52. April 21, 2010 6:30 am

    mmmm! best looking chicken salad i think i’ve ever seen!

  53. April 21, 2010 7:07 am

    Alisa, I hear really good things about both the KitchenAid and Cusinart brands. I think Costco sells the Cuisinart.

  54. April 21, 2010 7:12 am

    Nellieshaul, I go through my grain phases. Sometimes I avoid them, and other days, I eat them. The whole paleo thing makes sense to me, but *MY* body seems to do okay with whole grains, and to be honest, I’ve done the low carb thing and felt awful. As long as I stay away from a lot of sugar, I’m able to maintain my weight loss. So, when I want pita bread, and I eat it, and also I’ve decided life is definitely too short to go without oatmeal or the occasional bowl of cold crunchy cereal! πŸ™‚

  55. April 21, 2010 7:18 am

    That looks like THE perfect pita to me! Love all those things! Adding cornichons to my grocery list. I only just started getting into pickles, so I’m still a newbie to all the types!

    Fave appliance is my belgian waffle iron, obvi.

  56. April 22, 2010 4:51 am

    I think you should write a cook book called “Things I’ve Made In My Food Processor”. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

