Skip to content

When The HEAB Version Just Won’t Do

April 7, 2010
tags:

Remember last week when I freaked out and skipped all my veggies? Weird, huh? Anyway, I just want y’all to know that the veggies are back, but I’ll get to that in a minute.

Over the past few months, I’ve been trying to make healthy low-cal pizzas to satisfy that Italian pie craving I often get which I blame on my former waitressing job here.

Let’s see, there was the pita pizza

IMG_4695.JPG

Good, but not quite as tasty as my Mae inspired tortilla pizza

IMG_4301.JPG

Then, earlier this week, with my pizza craving still intact, I stopped by Whole Foods for some almond milk and goat milk yogurt when suddenly I found myself in the frozen pizza section. Really, I don’t know how that happened. 😉 Anyway, I quickly grabbed a 365 brand roasted vegetable no-cheese pizza. In our 4+ years together, CD and I have never once ordered from a pizza delivery place, nor have I ever bought us a frozen one. However, sometimes, you just gotta go with what you want! So, yesterday, I baked my pizza with the intention of eating half for lunch and saving the rest for dinner. Yeah right, I ate the whole thing. It was just too good, and 2 pieces did not do much to satiate my hunger. Have you ever tried a cheeseless pizza? Honestly, once you throw a bunch of flavorful toppings on, I promise you won’t really miss the cheese. See, I told you the veggies were back. 🙂

IMG_4754.JPG

Who makes your favorite pizza? Growing up, we used to order pizza from Papa John’s every Friday night, but I think the best pizza I’ve ever eaten was when CD and I were on our honeymoon in Italy. We were starving after a 14 mile hike in Cinque Terre, and I ordered a pesto pizza from some little restaurant near our pensione. I think it was nothing but crust and pesto sauce, but pizza had never tasted so good!

81 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 8:34 am

    I used to love taco chicken Panago pizza. Now I just cant handle pizza cheese (except Mae’s, of course!) so the best I’ve had lately would be at CPK on WW, crispy crust with tons of veggies, avocado, and no cheese!

  2. April 7, 2010 8:34 am

    Our favorite right now is homemade! I make a whole wheat crust that gets crispy and nutty. We really can’t find anywhere else that we like more at the moment! I’m sure that will change. 🙂

  3. April 7, 2010 8:35 am

    Hmmm, I rarely eat pizza. I do love it but since my parents don’t really like it, I just tend to skip it altogether too.
    Maybe I should try making it at home sometime. Definitely better than ordering greasy pizza from the usual places. I’ve never had cheeseless pizza though, I’m curious!

  4. April 7, 2010 8:36 am

    We always keep a few of those cheese-less frozen pizzas on hand, they are great when we are out of everything else and/or have no time. We even ate one the night we got engaged:)

  5. pesia permalink
    April 7, 2010 8:36 am

    Heather,

    I have tried the Whole Foods 365 roasted vegetable pizza. It is good and I absolutely do not miss the cheese!

  6. April 7, 2010 8:39 am

    I like the Amy’s Organics cheeseless pizza – I will have to keep my eyes peeled for the 365 version.

    I LURVES me some pizza. I have it but a few times a year when I am craving it, so when I have it, I go for the real deal. The best pizza to ever hit my lips is Anthony’s Coal Fired. They are throughout Florida. My second favorite is Mack and Manco (not sure if I am spelling that right) in Ocean City, NJ.

  7. April 7, 2010 8:39 am

    Cheeseless pizza because I’m lactose intolerant 😦

    Dominos are really good about putting extra veggies on though at no extra cost 😀

  8. Melissa permalink
    April 7, 2010 8:40 am

    best pizza I ever had was in a little trattoria in Rome…very simple with fresh tomatoes, some basil and an egg right in the middle. So delicious!

  9. April 7, 2010 8:40 am

    I’m a pizza addict and I’m always looking for healthy alternatives. I buy a lot of frozen healthy pizzas (best I’ve found are the organic whole wheat Target brand ones) but I do wish they had more veggies! I am planning on making some of my own frozen pizzas soon…

    I ate a lot of Papa John’s growing up too!

  10. April 7, 2010 8:40 am

    I can’t believe you guys have never ordered pizza!!!!!

    Last night we tried to go out for our favorite pizza, Oreganoes in Phoenix, but the wait was too long for our kiddos. We’ll definately go there before we go home though. I LOVE it!!!!

  11. April 7, 2010 8:41 am

    mmmm love a good homemade pizza. Either using 101 cookbooks pizza dough or pita. Lots of sauce and veggies on top. Happy Wednesday Heather!

  12. April 7, 2010 8:41 am

    Mmmm that sounds delicious!!! Sometimes you just gotta go with what you are craving, like you said!!! The best pizza to me is always at places that make it there, with real ingredients. Yumm!

  13. April 7, 2010 8:42 am

    My mom makes my favorite pizza – she’s quite the chef 🙂

  14. April 7, 2010 8:48 am

    Honestly, we make the best pizza here now! For me, veggies make the pizza! Growing up, we were pizza hut people and we did the Friday night pizzas too.

  15. April 7, 2010 8:50 am

    I love pizza, but only when it has a super thin crust.

  16. April 7, 2010 8:51 am

    favorite NOW is homemade since I’ve perfected the crust.

    favorite local place is the Palisades for pizza. SO good and they have tons of toppings.

  17. Yasmin permalink
    April 7, 2010 8:52 am

    That second pizza there looks delicious and Amy’s pizzas are greatness.I prefer making my own though 🙂

  18. April 7, 2010 8:55 am

    That’s funny that you were a waitress at DaVinci’s because my absolute favorite pizza is their veggie pizza! It is so good, but I can’t go often because I will eat half of a large pizza myself!

  19. April 7, 2010 8:56 am

    Jenn, I’ve heard Oreganoes is incredible, and I hope to go there the next time we visit CD’s parents!

  20. Mandy A permalink
    April 7, 2010 8:56 am

    Hey girl! You know me and JR… we’re all about some Mellow Mushroom!! 🙂

  21. Jeff permalink
    April 7, 2010 8:57 am

    Great question! I lived in Naples, Italy for three years when I was stationed in the Navy in the 1980s. Loved Italy and Italians.

    I remember buying pizza cooked in a wood burning oven… usually a simple Pizza Margherita, with cheese, tomato sauce and basil. Also a Pizza Ripena, which was a folded over pizza like a calzone, before I ever hear of a calzone. Probably the most unusual pizza I ate in Italy was a seafood one, with squid. Sounds weird but was actually pretty good.

  22. April 7, 2010 9:03 am

    yep, sometimes you gotta have the real thing! my favorite pizza was definitely the ones i ate in italy! xoxo

  23. April 7, 2010 9:13 am

    I don’t think it’s healthy to say never or no to any food. It’s all about balance and believe me the Italians and the French don’t swear off any of the “bad” foods we do and they are healthier, happier and live longer.

  24. April 7, 2010 9:18 am

    I love making pizza at home too! Cheeseless of course too!! I also order from Panago, I always ask them to sub extra veg for the cheese… so I get a veggie pizza loaded to the brim… yum!!

  25. April 7, 2010 9:28 am

    I ❤ pizza!! Andrew and I make a mean gluten free Buffalo BBQ chicken pizza. That is my favorite pizza! 🙂

  26. Sarah R permalink
    April 7, 2010 9:32 am

    I love using pesto as the sauce on my pizzas. I’ve been making a buffalo chicken on lately that’s really good too though.

    PS–Saw this recipe and thought of you: http://thefoodblog.com.au/2010/04/pistachio-and-almond-milk-ice-cream-recipe.html

  27. abbey permalink
    April 7, 2010 9:37 am

    That pizza may just bring me back into pizza eating mode!
    So will you tell me, what is the deal with nutritional yeast?
    When you mix it with the hummus for the pizza sauce, does it add a distinct flavor/texture or is it just for the nutritional benefits?

    Thanks so much!

  28. April 7, 2010 9:42 am

    Ooh, I didn’t know 365 made a cheeseless, going to have to find that! I agree, you don’t miss the cheese. I think the best I have had (since going cheeseless) so far was at Dewey’s, a place I went with my husband in Northern Kentucky. I know some people frown upon this, but I’m posting the link so you can see it: http://seesaraheat.wordpress.com/2010/01/02/deweys-pizza/

  29. Lara permalink
    April 7, 2010 10:06 am

    There is an Italian restaurant near me that has a pizza with tomato sauce, mozzarella, spinach, ricotta, organic fried egg and truffle oil. The yolk is all runny and just oozes out over the pizza. I used to eat cheese-less pizza during my vegan/uber restrictive dieting days and while it can be tasty just not the same without some melty cheese on top IMO.

  30. April 7, 2010 10:24 am

    i mean, i don’t know of a lot of “bad” pizzas! i do love papa john’s dipping sauce, but one of my favorite pizzas is Old Chicago’s Classic pizza on deep dish. it’s spicy, garlicky, buttery goodness!

  31. erintakescontrol permalink
    April 7, 2010 10:24 am

    I’m still stuck on tortilla pizzas! No need for cheese when you have enough veggies!

  32. Danielle permalink
    April 7, 2010 10:27 am

    If you liked that pizza then you have GOT to try the Amy’s no-cheese veggie pizza. It’s the best pizza I’ve ever tasted!

  33. April 7, 2010 10:28 am

    I used to love Pizza Hut’s greasy, gross pizza. I haven’t had it in years but I can almost still taste how delicious it was!

  34. April 7, 2010 10:33 am

    Your pizzas look delicious! I love to make a big batch of whole wheat pizza dough and freeze it in individual portions. I just take out what I need, and I can have homemade pizza in twenty minutes!

  35. April 7, 2010 10:51 am

    The best pizza I ever had in my life was at two different places in Wash DC. It’s where I really grew my appreciation for cheese pizza. (Growing up, I thought plain cheese pizza without pepperoni ws the weirdest thing I’d ever heard of) There’s a place in Tacoma my uncle took us this summer and the pizza crust is more like fried cheese. I had it on my birthday. Good thing it’s an hours’ drive away.

  36. April 7, 2010 11:02 am

    OMG. Papa John’s. Because every food you eat should come with a side of garlic butter sauce for dipping.

    I’ve seen those pizzas and contemplated buying one myself. Of course, I’d jazz it up with extra veggies and Mae’s pizza cheese too!

  37. April 7, 2010 11:23 am

    There was definitely a year or so when my family would eat Papa John’s every Friday night too, on the floor, in the living room, watching something from Blockbuster. It was great.
    I think my favorite was found in Florence, but there’s a restaurant in Atlanta called Fritti that comes pretty close!

  38. April 7, 2010 11:23 am

    I have to say I’m a sucka for some Papa John’s! But in a Clean Eating issue, there are recipes for pizza which I’m dying to try!

  39. April 7, 2010 11:30 am

    My favorite food hands-on. I love all kinds – takeout, homemade and frozen…I’ve never had cheeseless pizza – love cheese…but I’ve seen that Amy’s has a cheeseless one (I think?). Yours looks delish!! Wish I had TJ’s…oh and the poster above is correct…Dominoe’s is good -lots of veggies :)…and you can ask for the amount of sauce and cheese usually (which is lots and “normal” usually for me).

    I’m doing a giveaway if anyone wants in on it by the way 🙂

  40. April 7, 2010 11:31 am

    I love the Trader Joes personal size pizza with mushrooms and garlic.

  41. April 7, 2010 11:45 am

    I am a huge fan of tortilla pizzas!! I’ll sauté up a toooon of veggies, then add it to a slightly oven toasted Ezekiel wrap slathered up in hummus, and toss it in the oven to broil for a few minutes. Holy mackerel, you’ll never miss the cheese, and it’s simply divine!! Occasionally I’ll toss a few olives, or a sprinkle of feta, or some kidney beans on top. Anyway you do it, it’s delish 🙂

  42. April 7, 2010 11:47 am

    Satchel’s makes my favorite pizza- white cheese with pesto on whole wheat!

  43. April 7, 2010 11:50 am

    Thanks for the recipe Sarah R. Definitely sounds like a recipe I would love. 🙂 P.S. – Pesto sauce is my favorite pizza topping!

  44. April 7, 2010 11:53 am

    Abbey, I don’t use nutritional yeast for the nutritional benefits although there are several, including lots of B vitamins. I used it for the nutty, cheesy taste. 🙂

  45. April 7, 2010 11:54 am

    have you tried the amy’s roasted veggie cheeseless pizza? it’s AMAZING. im really not a pizza person (i legitimately like pita/tortilla pizzas better–and not in a “i convince myself because it’s healthier” way haha) but i ADORE (and devour) that pizza. i wonder if the 365 brand is similar/the same?

    if don’t know what your stance on dairy is, but i’ve been making “white cheese-esque” pizzas with cottage cheese + garlic as a base and they’re AMAZING!

    i know realize i’m incapable of using the word amazing sans capitalization hahaha

    have a great day!

  46. April 7, 2010 12:02 pm

    Foodie Diaries, I’ve had the Amy’s Cheeseless, but it’s been a few years. Need to revisit as several other have recommended it. I try and stay away from cheese as I’m allergic to whey and casein, the proteins found in dairy products. 😦

  47. April 7, 2010 12:06 pm

    Too funny! Last night I was feeling pizza too (and I NEVER eat pizza). I went to Papa Murphy’s (take and bake) and got their thin wheat crust topped with double tomato sauce and their “gourmet” veggie blend. No cheese. And it was DELISH. Artichoke hearts, fresh tomatoes and spinach say you can’t go wrong;)

  48. maren permalink
    April 7, 2010 12:16 pm

    my boyfriend makes amazing pizza, and we have it alllll the time. he makes his own crust with masa flour, giving it really great flavor (a lil more exciting sometimes than regular). he also makes his own sauce. and our typical toppings include mushrooms, onion, spinach, pears, and goat cheese! so yum

  49. April 7, 2010 12:19 pm

    I love the Amy’s cheeseless pizza, but my favorite pizza from a restaurant is the Berkely vegan from Z Pizza. It’s made with Daiya cheese, “beef” crumbles and tons of veggies. I only have it once year though, because there’s not one around here, so I have to wait for our annual trip to Austin.

  50. April 7, 2010 12:40 pm

    Oh man, there is a neighborhood place near my apt. in Brooklyn that makes a pizza I’m currently obsessed with: tomato sauce, pesto, fresh mozzarella and goat cheese. I get it on whole wheat crust. Heaven.

  51. April 7, 2010 1:26 pm

    Pizza is a splurge for me, so I either go super deep dish pan full of meat and cheese and the works, or I’ll get one slice and a salad from a woodfired pizza place (there are a few around work that offer this as a lunch special).

    At home, I usually use a tortilla, feta, turkey pepperoni, and then load it up with veggies – it kills the pizza craving often, but sometimes you just have to have the real thing.

  52. April 7, 2010 1:37 pm

    Best pizza ever is this place in Austin called Brick Oven! OMG…I am such a pizza snob that I won’t even eat pizza unless it is from there…I figure if I am going to eat pizza then I am going to make it worth every single greasy cheesy yummy fatty bite! haha! 🙂

  53. April 7, 2010 1:51 pm

    You should try making a pizza on whole wheat naan, it’s my favorite alternate pizza crust. Crispy on the bottom, doughy on the inside, so so good.

  54. April 7, 2010 1:57 pm

    Oh goodness, NYC has the best pizza ever, but I try to not eat it all the time. My favorite NYC pizza place in Grimaldis. I`ve tried a few whole wheat and GF pizza pies here but have yet to find my favorite.

    I like making my own homemade pizza and out of frozen pizzas I haven`t really tried that many, but I like the Kashi ones I`ve had.

  55. April 7, 2010 2:27 pm

    Did I know you went to Italy for your honeymoon? I must have. That sounds like an amazing pizza.

    I actually got that same 365 pizza the other month – pretty good, I thought. I’ve tried a few of their others too but I think that was my favorite.

  56. April 7, 2010 4:32 pm

    My family always went to Pizza Hut while I was growing up…hence the threat to go to “Broccoli Hut” instead…and hence the naming of my blog:)

  57. April 7, 2010 4:42 pm

    I grew up on pizza but I eat it so rarely now that I never even crave it. I was into the pita pizzas a while back, loaded with veggies, but I would cut the pita in half and top both with veggies. And, yes, eat them both. I worked at a bagel shop in high school, and my favorite lunch was the pizza bagel – a plain bagel sliced in half topped with pizza sauce and LOTS of cheese. Not the healthiest, no…

  58. Samantha permalink
    April 7, 2010 5:16 pm

    I’m with you girl on cheeseless pizza. I enjoy cheese, but I really love a veggie pizza where I can TASTE the veggies and enjoy their textures without biting through greasy, slimy cheese.

    When we lived in NC we used to go to Pieworks all the time and get hot dog pizza!

  59. Gina permalink
    April 7, 2010 5:35 pm

    Agreed Janna, Grimaldi’s in Brooklyn serves the best pizza ever! **drool**

    Healthier options we make at home are good too but nothing like Grimaldi’s. Fortunately I don’t live there – my brother does – so only when I’m visiting him do I indulge!~

  60. Devon permalink
    April 7, 2010 6:17 pm

    My husband and I just happen to be on sans-cheese pizza kick this week when I read your post! We’ve been baking the crust with Bob’s Redmill gluten free pizza dough mix – super good and really easy. We like to grease the pan with coconut oil, and load it up with tomato sauce and veggies…I like adding diced jalepenos. Instead of cheese I’ve been dipping my slices in hummus, and we sprinkle almond flour on top as mock parmesan. I can’t eat dairy and he can’t eat gluten but we’re never at a lack for delicious eats.

    I love your blog, by the way…so many great ideas!

  61. April 7, 2010 7:31 pm

    Thanks Devon, Love that you dip your pizza in hummus. 🙂

  62. April 7, 2010 7:39 pm

    OOH!!! i am going to italy in june and have not yet planned my trip! any tips/things to do??? 🙂

  63. April 7, 2010 7:42 pm

    Didn’t I tell you I am the President of the Cheeseless Pizza Fan Club? I bring in new members one tasty bite at a time 🙂

  64. April 7, 2010 7:45 pm

    Shannon, Italy is one of my favorite places on earth – I’ve been 5 times I think. You of course have to see Rome and Florence while you’re there, but honestly, my favorite places are the smaller villages located throughout Tuscany, and northern Italy – loved hiking all through the Italian alps.

  65. April 7, 2010 7:45 pm

    Alisa, Can I be your VP? 😉

  66. April 7, 2010 8:05 pm

    Major pizza craving now!!!!! I love making homemade pizza, especially with TONS of veggies!!

    -emily

  67. April 7, 2010 8:20 pm

    I just ordered my first cheeseless pizza at a restaurant for the first time this past weekend. I totally agree with you…you don’t even miss the cheese! I can’t believe I never realized that before. And the more veggies the better of course! My favorite is bell pepper, onion and mushroom. yum!

  68. April 7, 2010 9:08 pm

    If we’re talking delivery it’s probably Papa Johns. Gah, sounds so good since I’ve not had it in almost a year! But, if we’re talking store bought I like Great Value brand’s Cheddar Bacon Ranch pizza. Yum!

  69. April 7, 2010 9:58 pm

    Wow! The pizza looks amazing. The pizza looks really good and healthy.. I wouldn’t feel bad about buying at all! Go with what you’re feeling, for sure.

    We used to order Pizza Hut. Soooo greasy! But they had Book-it, and I loved their personal pan pizzas.

  70. April 7, 2010 10:12 pm

    I’m going to Cinque Terre this summer! Mmm that made me excited for all the delicious food. I must try this cheeseless pizza too though

  71. April 7, 2010 10:14 pm

    I love a good veggie filled pizza! After 2 years of no dairy I think I”ve lost my taste for cheese. Even vegan cheese on pizza gets tiring after a while. I love a good quality crust and piles of roasted veggies with fresh marinara, I usually get a whole one to myself too!
    Of course nothing compares to authentic pizza in Italy, mmmmmmm I’m craving Italian carbs now!
    I’ve also tried the whole foods vegan Mediterranean to go slices from the hot foods deli counter, it’s pizza spread with hummus, olives, artichokes, and caramelized onions. It was a total spontaneous moment for me too since I usually just go load up from the salad bar, but when you have the impulse you should just go for it. I wasn’t dissapointed.

  72. Kendall permalink
    April 7, 2010 10:15 pm

    Ok have I got something for you. So I like the Amy’s cheese-less roasted veggie (it looks like similar flavors to your WF pizza.) Trader Joes makes an exact replica for several $ cheaper. I like to get that and then smear a coating of kalamata olive tapende (also available at TJs) and then decorate with roasted red peppers. Sometimes more artichoke hearts too. I pack it with veggies so every bite is thick and veggie filled and therefore more filling! But I always stuff myself anyway- it’s really very good 🙂

  73. April 7, 2010 11:50 pm

    Pizza = wonderful…all versions

  74. April 8, 2010 1:19 am

    love all those toppings, the toppings, not the cheese, MAKE the pizza! 🙂

  75. April 8, 2010 1:46 am

    Looks delicious! Now I want to snag some pizza!

  76. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    April 8, 2010 6:06 am

    Did you know that when you order online, you can track pizza delivery now? The kids I sit for would rather press refresh on the computer for the 30 min-hour that it takes and wait for the status of pizza process to change than do anything else.
    1. Much easier than your pizza making
    2. Entertainment
    3. America’s next generation at its finest.
    ((not so healthy))

    Katherine
    whataboutsummer

  77. April 8, 2010 7:17 am

    I love cheese-less pizza. If I DO have cheese on my pizza, I only like a very little bit… I like there to be a HINT of cheese, not smothering the whole pizza.

  78. April 8, 2010 7:48 am

    Thanks Kendall, I looked for a cheeseless pizza at TJ’s yesterday, but couldn’t find one. Too bad too since I already have a jar of their olive tapenade. I’ll have to ask them if they carry the pizza.

  79. April 8, 2010 12:33 pm

    Wow, that looks great. 😀

    I lived in NY for the first 11 years of my life. The pizza there–at ANY pizzeria–is to die for. Ever since my family moved to VA, and then to TX, we’ve never found a pizza that compares. Before I had to go off grains, I made a mean homemade pizza that was 99.9% “THE REAL THING.” The pizzas don’t come out as delicious with nut flours, but I’m workin’ on it. 😀

  80. April 8, 2010 2:43 pm

    I have to agree that any pizza in the cinque terre would win hands down. 🙂

  81. April 12, 2010 11:19 am

    Oh my. Your comment about your pesto pizza in cinque terre reminds me of this pizza-gasm I experienced in Siena. Matt and I were walking around for HOURS and because of the heat, just didn’t feel like eating (if you can believe that). Finally we realized we should eat something and we found this random pizza cart on some side street that, to this day, is the best pizza I have ever had 🙂

Leave a Reply

