Skip to content

Boo Berry Pancakes

March 28, 2010
tags:

Remember the Monster Cereals? Boo Berry was my favorite and was the inspiration behind this morning’s pancakes.

Picture 3.png

I made Allie’s low-carb blackberry pancakes. I glanced at the recipe last night and thought I remembered all the details when preparing my breakfast this morning. However, now that I see the recipe again, looks like I forgot the nut milk, salt, and I only used 1/4 tsp baking powder. Allie, I was wondering why mine didn’t turn out as fluffy as yours. Oh well, they were still delicious. Many thanks for this simple recipe! Oh, and obviously I subbed blueberries for blackberries and added no sweetener.

IMG_4683.JPG

For some reason, I just wanted to eat them plain, although I think they would have tasted amazing with a big blob of Greek yogurt…ya know, if I ate that stuff. πŸ˜‰

Happy Pancake Sunday! Which was your favorite Monster Cereal?

55 Comments leave one →
  1. From Party To Hearty permalink
    March 28, 2010 10:18 am

    Haha I have never even seen that cereal before!

  2. Holly permalink
    March 28, 2010 10:23 am

    Count Chocula, hands down! I love these sort of retrospective/reminiscent posts lately. I, too, have found myself thinking back to a lot of the crazy predicaments I used to get myself in (you know, like, yesterday ;))!

  3. March 28, 2010 10:25 am

    those pancakes look amazing! I love the coloring– purply on the sides and toasted on the top & bottom πŸ™‚

    I’ve never seen that cereal, either!

  4. Lauren permalink
    March 28, 2010 10:42 am

    I had blueberry pancakes for breakfast too! topped with ground flax seed and warm maple syrup :]and now I’m waiting for my breakfast pizza to be done in the oven..I topped it with an egg and crumbled BACON! made me think of you ^^

  5. March 28, 2010 10:56 am

    I totally celebrated today! I LOVE pancakes!!! Franken Berry was my favorite. Probably because they were pink. Have a great Sunday!

  6. March 28, 2010 11:28 am

    Oh YUM!!! I LOVE blueberry pancakes! If you don’t have coconut flour, what can you sub for that?
    My favorite was Count Chocula!

  7. March 28, 2010 11:55 am

    processofhealing, Any other flour will work in place of the coconut flour or just use 1/3 cup rolled oats. πŸ™‚

  8. March 28, 2010 12:01 pm

    you’re so nostalgic lately! πŸ™‚ I never tried those cereals, but when I was growing up, all I ate as Banana nut crunch, cherrios and rice crispies. THose aren’t just the only cereal I ate, they’re the only FOOD I ate! haha

    I wanted to make pancakes so bad this morning. How do you get that crispy crust on top?

  9. March 28, 2010 12:11 pm

    Mae, I don’t know why my pancakes always crisp up like that. I cook them on a griddle over really low heat and never grease the griddle. Maybe that’s it?

  10. March 28, 2010 12:57 pm

    I loved those cereals! I was a total sugar cereal freak – I remember eating a half a box of Peanut butter Cap’n Crunch for dinner in middle school. My mouth was torn to shreds, but it was so good.

    I was really excited to make some pancakes for breakfast, but I ended up going out, and there were no gluten free cakes on the menu. Looks like it’ll be breakfast for dinner!

  11. March 28, 2010 1:06 pm

    I’ve never seen those cereals! But I’m sure I would have loved them… my fav growing up? Frosted flakes….

    By the way… your pancakes look amazing… it’s been a long time since I made homemade pancakes… I’ve been living on cereal… (which I do love!)… but you’re inspiring me to break out my own griddle…

    Have a good one!

  12. March 28, 2010 1:35 pm

    I believe the name of my favorite was count chocula? Now I’ve traded up for chocolate cheerios, they’re just a bit healthier:)

  13. March 28, 2010 1:37 pm

    Count Chocula, Boo Berry, Franken Berry… loved them all πŸ˜€

  14. March 28, 2010 1:40 pm

    I’ve never heard of that cereal! Weird.

    I like eating pancakes plain too. I tend to do that with everything – I like eating things separately and enjoying each individual taste. Guess that’s another one of my food oddities.

  15. March 28, 2010 1:49 pm

    I don’t think I ever had a monster cereal; was I deprived? I loved reeses puffs

  16. March 28, 2010 1:50 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever SEEN Boo Berry before but I lived for Count Chocula. My parents weren’t too fond of sugary cereals so I usually got to get a box when we were on vacation. Fabuuuuulous (in a singing voice).

  17. fitandfortysomething permalink
    March 28, 2010 2:20 pm

    I don’t eat yogurt either. But sometimes I wish I did. Yum for the pancakes:) I would sayCount Cocolate wAs my fav!

  18. March 28, 2010 2:24 pm

    I had blueberry pancakes for breakfast as well. Seems to be the trend today! πŸ™‚

  19. March 28, 2010 2:49 pm

    Frankenberry! My bro always wanted Count Chocula, but I had one goal and one goal alone: PINK MILK!

  20. March 28, 2010 2:57 pm

    I always liked the *idea* of the monster cereals…I’m not sure if I ever actually ate any of ’em…but most commercial cereals just aren’t my thing. The sugar is too much for me, way too sweet I can’t taste anything, and just tastes so artificial. :K I love the graphics though haha.

  21. March 28, 2010 3:01 pm

    I’ve never had the monster cereals, but I’ll have to keep an eye out of them. Your blueberry pancakes look delicious! I may have to have breakfast for dinner now:)

  22. March 28, 2010 3:08 pm

    Not surprisingly, I’ve NEVER had a Monster cereal. We weren’t allowed to have it growing up, and now it’s only around at Halloween… oh well, I always thought FrankenBerry was the cutest because well, the box is pink πŸ™‚

  23. March 28, 2010 3:19 pm

    Dennis loves FrankenBerry and every fall, we walk the aisles to stock up on them. Apparently they are sold year round in Florida (where his sister lives) so every so often we’ll get a package from her with 10 boxes or so. Imagine that-a grown man getting boxes of Frankenberries sent to him. Boys will be boys I guess!

  24. Samantha permalink
    March 28, 2010 3:26 pm

    So glad I chose to read blogs BEFORE doing a 10 miler and a 2nd shorter run later. I was planning on a green monster to refuel but instead, methinks these pancakes , slightly scaled down, will be perfect.

    Love all your food posts HEABS!

  25. Danielle permalink
    March 28, 2010 3:32 pm

    I remember the monster cereals! My fav. was Count Chocula by far πŸ˜‰

    You’re bringing up all these memories from my childhood lol. Waffle Crisp was another good cereal πŸ˜€

  26. March 28, 2010 3:38 pm

    I had plain old buttermilk pancakes this AM, and they were fabulous! Your blueberry inspiration looks amazing. Why have I never heard of Monster cereal? As a kid, I wasn’t allowed sugary cereals – only Cinnamon Toast Crunch on occasion!

  27. March 28, 2010 4:00 pm

    I didn’t have any sugary cereals when I was a kid! lol 😦

    Those pancakes look divine!!

    Jenn

  28. March 28, 2010 4:10 pm

    I liked Count Chocula, but for marshmallowy goodness really liked Alpha-Bits.

  29. Ashlei permalink
    March 28, 2010 4:14 pm

    I’ve never had any of those cereals before! What a cool inspiration though. I love the blue color of the pancakes πŸ™‚

  30. Cat permalink
    March 28, 2010 4:24 pm

    Boo Berry was both mine and my brother’s favorite! Now I am allergic to blue dye…go figure? Ha! Your pancakes look amazing! I think you should do a tutorial video! I need to learn more about alternative flours stat!

  31. March 28, 2010 4:30 pm

    Those pancakes are seriously amaaazing. Must make. I’m thinking tomorrow’s breakfast is allll set.

    I honestly don’t think I ever tried ANY of those Monster cereals. Was my childhood incomplete?! I don’t think we got any of them in Canada!

  32. March 28, 2010 4:57 pm

    Heather those pancakes look awesome! I love blueberries in anything! They are still kinda pricey here but another month or so i should be all set πŸ™‚

    Monster cereals…even as a kid I preferred plain cheerios and whole grain stuff. Can’t imagine feeding those HFCS ones to Skylar…yikes!

  33. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    March 28, 2010 5:41 pm

    Monster cereal is still available at Target!!!! please go get some haha I’d smile for a week
    Katherine
    whataboutsummer.wordpress.com

  34. Patty permalink
    March 28, 2010 6:16 pm

    I had a very similar breakfast. After running 8+miles on a nice and chilly morning, I wanted pancakes and so I made blueberry pancakes. I took fresh blueberries from Costco 1/2 cup or so in my bullet with oats, 2 egg whites, TJ’s roasted flaxseed w/dried blueberries (really good), and b/powder. I, also, threw some whole berries while cooking. Top with greek yogurt mixed with blueberry perserves……..and of course, TJ ‘s AB w/flaxseed. I was satisfied for hours

  35. March 28, 2010 6:39 pm

    I’ve never had any of those cereals! I don’t think I was allowed to have them growing up haha.

  36. March 28, 2010 6:49 pm

    More and more I think we’re married to similar guys. Ben is clueless as to how to put things in tupperware?! I don’t get it.

  37. March 28, 2010 7:06 pm

    I think your pancakes look nearly as good as ALlies- I think she must shoot them with the ‘Roids if the truth be known. Or GH or something. Crazy bodybuilder! πŸ˜‰

  38. March 28, 2010 7:07 pm

    PS Wasn’t into the scary cereals. Apple Jacks are terrifying enough.

  39. March 28, 2010 7:22 pm

    Looks YUM !

  40. March 28, 2010 8:54 pm

    Awwwwwwwwwwwww!
    I wanna try these NOW!
    πŸ˜€
    Have a great week, Heather!
    Brazilian XOXOΒ΄s,
    Gabriela

  41. March 28, 2010 9:01 pm

    I love blueberry pancakes! My Dad used to make them for us and serve them with real whip cream….To die for!!

  42. March 29, 2010 6:08 am

    I love vintage cereals!

  43. March 29, 2010 6:34 am

    move over boo berry! New Cracklin Oat Flakes has Ecstasy!

    http://www.visit4info.com/advert/New-Cracklin-Oat-Flakes-With-Ecstasy-None/29078

  44. Laura permalink
    March 29, 2010 6:34 am

    I think in the good ole days you all had a lot more interesting cereals for kids in America than in the U.K-… although I do remember Coco pops- chocolate milk! and Rice Krispies- snap crackle and pop! By far my favourite was one with little crispy thingies filled with nutella that we could only get from one shop- but then they got discontinued ;( Btw Heather, you know you are a little suspicious about microwaves- well they must be giving off something powerful because my laptop cannot pick up my broadband when my microwave is on… hmmm seems I am being zapped by rays πŸ˜‰

  45. March 29, 2010 7:17 am

    This is going to be a stupid question…but I stir in the oil that settles on the top of the Almond (nut) butter jars – right?…I have a friend that actually drains it off…and then the butter is really “chunky” – but she is obese and trying to lose weight – by not stirring in the oil as much and trying to drain the bit that accumulates – is the butter lower in fat then??!

    πŸ˜‰ sorry don’t laugh!

  46. Sarah permalink
    March 29, 2010 7:41 am

    count chocula was the best!!

  47. March 29, 2010 7:55 am

    Hahaa I love the blue peeking out the side of the pancakes! I don’t think I ever had any of the monster cereals- oh no, what was I missing?!! πŸ™‚

  48. March 29, 2010 8:02 am

    Eatmovelove, Not laughing. Yes, removing the oil would make the entire fat content of the jar less. However, the almond butter would be way too dry for me. I say stir it in – makes it so much better!

  49. March 29, 2010 8:02 am

    Laura, Really? That’s scary. 😦

  50. March 29, 2010 8:19 am

    Yes – I DO stir it in …it’s the best part πŸ™‚

  51. March 29, 2010 8:38 am

    Mmmm I love pancakes. I totally eat mine plain, too. I also like topping them with some nut butter. Mmmmm nut butter πŸ˜€

  52. March 29, 2010 8:41 am

    I was NOT allowed to have those cereals, but I remember visiting my grandma’s house and eating the Count Chocula! I loved that the milk turned chocolate. Oh, how I’ve changed. Also, we had a Subway next to our movie theater, too, and I’d get a footlong veggie with tons of mayo and cheese on it, which completely grosses me out now! I didn’t even get wheat bread. Now I hardly ever go there, but if I do I get the six inch veggie on honey wheat with mustard, all the veggies, and may cheese, but probably not.

  53. March 29, 2010 12:36 pm

    so.. marshall still buys booberry on the regular. i ate some just the other weekend. i can’t resist that damn ghost.

  54. March 29, 2010 8:39 pm

    Jeez Heather, I loved these pancakes when Allie made them and I love them now! So yummy (looking).
    My cereal was Mud & Bugs- not a monster cereal, but definitely a sugary children’s cereal. It was chocolatey and turned the milk into sludge, with colored marshmallows. How was I such a skinny kid? Ha ha

Trackbacks

  1. Black beans and cilantro, again? « WannaBe Chef

Leave a Reply

