Skip to content

A Blast From The Past

March 26, 2010

My mom used to always make me and my brothers toasted English muffins for breakfast. I texted both both brothers this morning to see if they remembered mom’s 2 favorite toppings, and they did: honey and peanut butter. Scottie, you scored extra points for remembering the yogurt and strawberry jam English muffins. I had forgotten about those. Such a good combo!

Anyway, for some reason, I threw some Ezekiel English muffins in my shopping cart yesterday. I had not bought any in years. Not sure why as I have nothing against them. They’re just never something I think to buy. Um, yeah, I think they need to be a regular item on our grocery list from now on as I so loved this morning’s breakfast.

IMG_4676.JPG

I covered 1 muffin half in cream cheese and the other in butter and apple butter. The muffins toasted up all crunchy. Really, it was perfect. Mom, you always did know best. 🙂

What about you? What was your favorite breakfast growing up made by your mom or dad? My mom also used to make the best oatmeal. She was the only one who could get the water to milk ratio just right. Love you mom!

89 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 8:28 am

    Toast with butter and cinnamon sugar! My grandma always had this for us when we were little. She had a funny looking cinnamon shaker, too. 🙂 I have been eating a similar combo to yours, just having goat cheese. So yummy.

  2. March 26, 2010 8:28 am

    mmmmm…that looks so good! i LOVED blueberry bagels with just butter on them. SO warm and yummy, and my mom was the only one who knew exactly how i liked mine toasted 🙂 they also were both really good with pancakes (still are) and waffles too!

  3. Tracy permalink
    March 26, 2010 8:39 am

    My mom made awesome oatmeal, too! My grandma made the BEST “soft boiled eggs and toast squares in a cup”. Gooey runny yolk coated the toast,,,so good! Glad you made me think back to that! I need to try to recreate ASAP!

  4. March 26, 2010 8:46 am

    My mom always had English muffins with butter for breakfast! I had forgotten!

    I love English muffins, but at college all that’s available are the white bread kind, so I’ll have to wait until I get home!

  5. chau permalink
    March 26, 2010 8:46 am

    absolutely love ezekiel anything. but my favorites is the english muffin, then bread. feels guilty eating that muffin but it tastes so good – the texture really keeps me going back to it, and the uh, cost keeps me away

  6. Heather permalink
    March 26, 2010 8:47 am

    I love Ezekiel’s cinnamon raisin English muffins! Lately, I’ve been taken a half, topping it with ricotta cheese mixed with honey and cinnamon… Mmmm… Toasted with PB & J is also great.

    I also like to make “Egg McMuffins” with Ezekiel’s original muffins, using spinach, cheese and egg or just egg whites seasoned with salt/garlic salt, pepper and paprika. Mmmm x 2!

  7. March 26, 2010 8:47 am

    My mom used to make oatmeal and cook it with the raisins in so they got plump and juicy and then added brown sugar… yuuum. but now it seems oatmeal has come SO far from that and I’m still trying to catch up! 🙂

  8. March 26, 2010 8:58 am

    oh man, I thought you were calling to ask because you were making me some. 😦

  9. March 26, 2010 9:00 am

    My dad was the king of omelets. We also loved doing huevos rancheros if we had Mexican food the night before.

  10. Morgan permalink
    March 26, 2010 9:02 am

    My mom has and will always make the best “Donald Duck Eggs” or eggs in a hole as most people call it and my father makes the best hash browns to this day he makes sure to cut the potatoes into perfect bite size pieces!

  11. jacobc permalink
    March 26, 2010 9:05 am

    I grew up on a farm … waaaaay out in the sticks, we raised our food and grandmom had 3 hot meals a day on the table.
    Breakfast was usually biscuits, bacon and sausage, eggs, and grits w/cheese and butter.. while sitting in front of the tv watching seasame street and tom and jerry.. haha, those were the days!

  12. March 26, 2010 9:06 am

    My mom used to make my sister and I quick things in the mornings. Like instant oats or toast. To this day my mom still gets the toast perfect! Maybe I need a new toaster though…?

  13. Michelle permalink
    March 26, 2010 9:20 am

    My mom makes this concoction and it is soooooo delish:

    One Ezekiel Cinn Raisin English Muffin toasted and topped with tofutti cream cheese (or regular), a drizzle of honey and some chopped walnuts. It tastes like a cheese Danish 🙂

    Fave breakfast growing up was my Grandma’s pancake sandwich (Bisquick pancakes) with a fried, runny egg in the middle.

    Have a great week!

  14. March 26, 2010 9:23 am

    haha wow…gotta think…mom made breakfast EVERY morning for us before we were “allowed” to go to the schoolbus… big glass of milk, fruit cut up in a bowl and usually some sort of egg-thing. never had a toaster so no bready stuff, none of us liked oatmeal or grits, sometimes got homemade biscuits with a sausage patty…but i remember having eggs a lot and always a big glass of milk!

  15. Lindsey permalink
    March 26, 2010 9:34 am

    My mom used to make my dad and I Matzo Brie on the Weekends. My dad liked it just plain, but my mom and I always topped ours with cinnamon sugar. So declicious! That’s the one breakfast i miss having as a celiac. Malt-o-Meal also used to be a regular for breakfasts 😀

  16. March 26, 2010 9:41 am

    Yum, I love apple butter.
    My favourite breakfast I remember were my mom’s homemade pancakes – so good! Sometimes we would be spoiled with waffles too (with whipped cream and strawberries….oh so good)!

  17. March 26, 2010 9:44 am

    Mmmm….that looks so good. English muffins remind me of my grandparents. They eat them every morning.

    I loved French toast growing up. It’s still my fav breakfast but now I just use Ezekiel bread.

  18. Carolyn permalink
    March 26, 2010 9:56 am

    Glazed dougnuts warmed in the oven… We were Krispy Kreme cool before out time…!

  19. March 26, 2010 10:01 am

    My favorite breakfast growing up was supereggs. Basically a skillet full of potatoes, onion, ham or bacon, mushrooms, eggs and cheese. I still make that or a variation of it to this day. So satisfying.

  20. March 26, 2010 10:06 am

    Ezekial english muffins are the best!! I used to hate breakfast as a kid, but never turned down a donut… 😉

  21. March 26, 2010 10:06 am

    I’ve never tried their english muffins, but they do look great.

    My mom’s breakfast specialty was ALWAYS french toast. Yum. I never even used syrup on her french toast – I only wanted to taste that eggy bread.

    My dad’s was scrambled eggs + bacon. Still is 🙂

  22. Chris Hill permalink
    March 26, 2010 10:07 am

    Mmmmm. Good stuff Heather! 🙂

  23. March 26, 2010 10:07 am

    YUM! What a great breakfast. Sadly, my favorite breakfast growing up was Captain Crunch! My mom wouldn’t buy it for us (thank goodness), so I only had it when we went to my grandma’s house

  24. March 26, 2010 10:09 am

    I just baked up some english muffins actually!
    Check out my pictures
    http://gamereviewwiki.com/bikinibirthday/2010/03/15/day-48/

  25. March 26, 2010 10:11 am

    yum. simple and delicious. have a fabulous weekend, heabs 🙂

  26. March 26, 2010 10:15 am

    Looks delicious! My mom used to make popovers! They are so fun 🙂

  27. Sheryl PIzzadili permalink
    March 26, 2010 10:16 am

    I kind of grew up in the kitchen of an Italian deli. My granmother, Lucy, made her own Italian sausage, both sweet and hot. ONe of my fondest memories of her was helping her at the sausage machine while she made the links. Her sausage was so HOT, that it could have taken a gallon of milk and a loaf of bread to kill the HOT. IT be became a family tradition to cook good Italian sauasge for breakfast on holidays. I still do today. Even though some sauasage company kind of stole her recipe, they never had my granmothers touch.

  28. March 26, 2010 10:17 am

    we ate a lot of oatmeal, cooked with plump raisins, topped with organic yogurt, butter, and pure maple syrup.
    also scrambled or fried home grown eggs seasoned with tamari!
    every sunday my dad made a big batch of blue corn pancakes and we always “frosted” them with organic yogurt and maple syrup…mmmm

  29. March 26, 2010 10:18 am

    I saw those Ezek. muffins at the store the other day and they are actually on my list. I’m glad to know they were such a hit. My mom would buy donuts on special occasions and cut each donut up into like eight pieces and hand us fondue forks and let us sample all the different kinds. What fun!

  30. From Party To Hearty permalink
    March 26, 2010 10:18 am

    Moms are the best 🙂 My mom always made us a huge breakfast on Sundays growing up and it was a great time!

  31. March 26, 2010 10:19 am

    Those English Muffins look so good. My favorite breakfast growing up was going to my grandparents- they always had cinnamon raisin bread for toasting, sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. Mmmm.

  32. March 26, 2010 10:19 am

    For us it was toasted english muffins with cottage cheese and jam…grandma called them “cottage cheese pancakes”.

  33. March 26, 2010 10:19 am

    Mum made the best boiled eggs and soilders (do you have soldiers in the States? it’s basically just toast cut into fingers that you can dip in the yolk). To this day I haven’t had a boiled egg as good as mum’s 🙂

  34. March 26, 2010 10:20 am

    Yes! I started buying the Ezekiel English muffins a few months ago (I like the 7 grain ones), and I’m upset it took me so long to try them! I spread a bit of cream cheese on both halves and top them with jam.

  35. March 26, 2010 10:23 am

    I was a big fan of Sunday brunch- my mom’s way of making bacon was just magical! But then again, bacon is magic any way you make it…

  36. Ashlei permalink
    March 26, 2010 10:26 am

    My mom used to make the best fried eggs!!!

  37. Danielle permalink
    March 26, 2010 10:26 am

    I’m not sure why I don’t buy english muffins that often either?? Especially the Ezekiel cinnamon raisin- they’re good!

    I remember my dad making “Peanut Butter Fingers” which was just PB on toast but cut into strips. I loved it 😀

  38. March 26, 2010 10:27 am

    Favorite childhood breakfast = Mickey cinnamon toast (toasted whole grain bread with cinnamon sugar, made in a Mickey Mouse panini press).

  39. March 26, 2010 10:39 am

    Yes!! Honey on an English muffin is the BEST, because it gets in all the little crevices and pockets. Yummmmmm.

    My mom makes a mean cinnamon toast when we’re on vacation…we never had it any other time, but we loved it! Lol, it’s like having dessert for breakfast.

  40. Sandi permalink
    March 26, 2010 10:44 am

    Everyday breakfasts were cereal with skim milk. I always ate cheerios and my brother ate kix. On weekends we sometimes had pancakes with applesauce. I seriously never knew that applesauce was not like, the default pancake topping for everyone until I was like 12.
    Cream cheese and apple butter is SUCH a good combination!!

  41. March 26, 2010 11:04 am

    I looooove Ezekial muffins!!! Yum!! The cinnamon raisin ones are out. of. this. world.

    I used to eat sugary cereals, instant oatmeal, and instant grits (hello south) when I was little 🙂

  42. March 26, 2010 11:15 am

    I loved pancakes and fruit, it was always a Sunday morning ritual!

  43. March 26, 2010 11:18 am

    I haven’t had English muffins in forever…I need to get some now! I love the combination of cream cheese and apple butter! YUM! Favorite breakfast as a kid was monkey bread. It was always a treat and so yummy. I still make it for my little ones…they love it!

  44. March 26, 2010 11:19 am

    I used to love my mom’s breakfast for dinner! Pancakes galore! Funny that now I just really don’t love pancakes!

  45. March 26, 2010 11:21 am

    i need to look out for those english muffins. i hear the cinnamon-raisin are good.

  46. courtney permalink
    March 26, 2010 11:21 am

    O wow, memories of childhood! On weekends my dad would make the BEST pancakes (yeah, it was Bisquick, but when you’re a kid that stuff is awesome) or he would make crepes and we’d fill them with delicious butter and jam (insert drool here). And my mom was the queen of bagels with butter and tea with half milk half water. I think maybe I just loved butter… I need to have some this weekend!! Have a great day HEAB 🙂

  47. March 26, 2010 11:46 am

    Dad’s french toast or pancakes on the weekends. Dipped in molasses. The best part was when he’d fry up the leftover french toast eggs and give it to me and not my sisters 😛 He made breakfast during the week too – but that was usually toast or muffins. Mom was always still asleep when we got up for school 😉

  48. March 26, 2010 12:15 pm

    My childhood favorite was “Egg on cheese toast”

    My mother would take whole wheat bread and toast it in the oven with slices of cheddar cheese on top. She would then soft boil an egg and spoon the egg over the toast. season with salt and pepper and voila!

    Sadly no more dairy or grains for me so this is out 😦

    maybe on a whim I might try some vegan cheese and get some ezekiel toast and make it 😉 With my pastured eggs of course!

  49. March 26, 2010 12:22 pm

    My dad almost never made me breakfast, but when he did, he could do the most killer cinnamon toast. Probably because of the copious butter and brown sugar! My mom made my breakfasts for the longest time, even when it was just cereal and milk. But when I attempted the stuff like chocolate chip waffles, it was never the same as when she did it. She also had this mysterious concoction she’d do with leftover rice, milk, cinnamon and sugar…I don’t know if I could replicate it if I tried!

  50. Caroline permalink
    March 26, 2010 12:24 pm

    Mmm English Muffins!

    My dad was usually the breakfast pro when he wasn’t working.. but no one could hold a candle to my mom’s french toast with hot applesauce. Just perfect 🙂

  51. March 26, 2010 12:26 pm

    I just bought some of those too!
    My dad always made the best toast. He would melt the butter in the micro and then spoon it onto the toast. Its so good I cant even tell you.

    My Meme is famous for her apple butter! Glad you like it too.

  52. pippapatchwork permalink
    March 26, 2010 12:51 pm

    Oatmeal, for sure! She sprinkled it with colorful sugar so we’d actually eat it. Funny thing is, I didn’t really like it at first, but it grew on me and to this day 90% of my breakfasts are oatmeal.

  53. March 26, 2010 12:52 pm

    my dad used to make the best sweet morning burritos w/ apples, honey and cinnamon. tasty!

  54. March 26, 2010 12:56 pm

    Love english muffins. Never tried Ezekiel kind, but I’ve had their tortillas and bread. Good stuff. Apple butter is Good! I LOVE jam…I eat it out of the jar with a spoon pretty much – dunk in , then the nut jar, then the bread…trouble.

    My dad used to make French toast -but I didn’t like the taste – so would drown it in syrup – I always thought it was a “weird” concept..maybe it was the eggs I didn’t like then? Love it now though.

    Oh – and Fried Potatoes(!) with mini Vienna Sausages and buttered toast…

  55. March 26, 2010 1:30 pm

    My mom was always in a hurry before work and school so when she forced me eat breakfast it was usually toast or and english muffin like yours. Now I love them and have had one for breakfast all week.

  56. March 26, 2010 1:44 pm

    Rachel, Nope, never heard of “soldiers”. Good idea!

  57. March 26, 2010 2:01 pm

    English muffins are the sheeeit. Trader Joe’s has wonderfully puffy gluten-free ones that make the best mini pizzas. Yours look good too. 🙂

    My favorite breakfast was made by my grandpop on summer vacations. He used to make pancakes in different shapes… I’m not talking squares or stars or anything… I’m talkin’ he used to make pancakes that looked like the Eiffel Tower. No lie. And then he’d put them on our plate and have us guess what the shapes were. He covered them in jimmies (sprinkles) and maple syrup. Best Breakfast Ever.

    Then there’s cereal. Cereal is a big comfort food for me. Cheerios and Golden Grahams and Life and Chex and Mr. T cereal… I think of them and I can still taste them and remember how they CRUNCHHHHHH in my mouth!!!

    Consequently, I’ve been fighting the urge to buy the new Barbara’s MultiGrain Gluten Free Puffins cereal!!!

    Which means, I’ll have it by next week!

  58. March 26, 2010 2:02 pm

    Hands down favorite childhood breakfast was pancakes!!!

  59. March 26, 2010 2:05 pm

    Oh yum! I have never tried those, but do like English Muffins and all things hearty, so it sounds like a win.

    Cinnamon toast. No one knows how to put just the right amount of cinnamon and sugar on like mom 🙂

  60. March 26, 2010 2:23 pm

    Cinnamon toast was always good. But I always requested pancakes! She made them with a mix, but it was so good!

  61. March 26, 2010 3:18 pm

    Ooh YUM! So simple and delicious.

    I loved english muffins, but what I loved more were CRUMPETS. They sell ’em at most markets and definitely at TJs. I loved the way the butter and the jam melted into the fluffy crevices. They were like pancakes on steriods.

    have a wonderful weekend, lovely lady 🙂

  62. March 26, 2010 3:33 pm

    both of my favorites are eggs, my mom’s hobo eggs and my dad’s omelettes. also my moms waffles and my dad’s french toast. mmmm…

  63. March 26, 2010 4:19 pm

    I always requested Cream of Wheat from my mom:)

  64. March 26, 2010 4:44 pm

    Toast with a little butter and cinnamon sugar broiled in the oven – still reminds me of home.

  65. March 26, 2010 5:14 pm

    Though most of it was from precooked packaging and mixes and what not, my parents used to make biscuits and gravy on occasion for breakfast and it was divine!

    I also recall my Mom introducing me to Pop-Tarts fresh out of the toaster with butter on the backsides.

    My grandma and I used to have frozen hashbrown patties with melted cheese and salt on Saturday mornings.

    And my Mom was also a cook at a restaurant (George Webb’s anyone?) so I’d get the sausage, egg, cheese on an english muffin combo thing made by her.

    This was all before I stopped eating horrible foods like that but as a [younger] kid, that’s the tasty stuff I grew up on. ^_^

  66. fitandfortysomething permalink
    March 26, 2010 5:21 pm

    bagel and cream cheese with bacon on the side-yum!

  67. Gina permalink
    March 26, 2010 5:44 pm

    My dad was the cook rather than my mom, and he made (and still does) the best french toast you ever had, with thick, thick slices of sourdough bread which he soaks in a mixture of eggs, cinnamon, dash of nutmeg, light cream & lots of vanilla. He also makes incredible potato latkes, which we have exactly once a year every Christmas morning. Dear lord, my mouth is watering while writing this post!

  68. March 26, 2010 6:12 pm

    My mom always made homemade waffles. Every time my family gets together the waffle maker is on. And like you-my mom made the best oatmeal. I have never been able to get it to be so perfect!

    My grandmother–she makes this breakfast custard called “Crema” in Spanish. It’s egg yolks, evaporated milk, sugar and cinnamon sticks. It’s SO BAD for you but SO GOOD at the same time…and I request it every time I see her. She’s 90 and now living in an assisted living home so she can’t cook anymore unless she is at our house so every time she makes it is very special to me!

  69. Gina G permalink
    March 26, 2010 6:36 pm

    ahh there was so many that i used to love! my dad used make me and my brother a “emeril”, thats what we called it at least haha, it was a grilled sandwich with ham, cheese, and a fried runny egg, it was soooo good! and i know you said breakfast, but i will always remember my mom making me mayo,salami, and mustard on pumperknickel bread, pretty healthy huh? haha but i loved it!

  70. Gina G permalink
    March 26, 2010 6:42 pm

    oh and i just wanted to say after reading about rachel’s soldiers, my mom used to do the same thing, only she would put them in a shot glas and cut the tops off for us to dip the toast sticks in, delicioussss, but its been forever since ive had it!

  71. March 26, 2010 7:13 pm

    My dad made the BEST cinnamon toast for breakfast.. and french toast too.. YUMMO.. we put jelly on our french toast when I was a kid.. not syrup. Ahhhhh I need to tell my dad how many good memories that stirs in my mind… he’s 80 now and recovering from a stroke… love the people in your life and never miss an opportunity to tell them.. because life is SHORT.. “the days are long but the years are short”…

  72. March 26, 2010 7:33 pm

    I heard that if you toast Ezekial bread it removes the gluten? Ever heard anything like that? Looks super yummy and comforting. 🙂

  73. March 26, 2010 7:38 pm

    Love that your family ate PB and honey… my family is a big fan of that combo too, and it always surprises me how many people have never even tried it before!

  74. March 26, 2010 8:04 pm

    I love Ezekiel English muffins!!

    Sadly, I didn’t eat breakfast very often growing up. 😦 Very bad habit! I usually ate cold cereal when I did eat, but I was never a breakfast person. Now I wake up ravenous so I can’t wait to eat, but I got in the terrible habit of not eating all day and then overdoing it later on. Lesson learned yearssssssssss later lol.

    Jenn

  75. March 26, 2010 8:26 pm

    Hair in my coffee, Nope, never heard that, but I wish it were true! 🙂

  76. March 26, 2010 8:58 pm

    Heather, I loved this post! My grandmother lived with us and essentially raised me. She was a lover of literature (and had several master’s degrees) and was basically the coolest Nani ever. She also used to make these amazing “bread crumbs”. She would take a piece of white bread, cut it into little cubes and then just toast it in a pan with some mustard seeds, curry leaves, salt and a pinch of sugar. This is the defining dish of my childhood. It was something I relished and though it’s been years since I ate any kind of white bread, I would happily eat it again just to evoke the wonderful memories of being with her. I loved reading the comments on this post.. such a cool idea!

  77. March 26, 2010 10:42 pm

    I am to Ezekiel English Muffins as You are to Kabocha Squash. Love of my LIFE!

  78. March 27, 2010 6:59 am

    Love ‘zeke muffins! Tasty, grainy, comforting. 🙂

  79. Susan permalink
    March 27, 2010 7:36 am

    Love this post! Every Sunday my mom used to make pancakes using this whole wheat pepperidge farm mix – that they discontinued! Since then, we’ve been unable to find anything that holds a candle to them – even pancakes from scratch. But we are determined to keep trying.

  80. March 27, 2010 9:01 am

    I heart Ezekiel products – all of them!

    My granny used to always make me cinnamon toast when I was little – mmm!

  81. March 27, 2010 9:28 am

    I love seeing how many Dad’s stepped up to the plate (doh!) and made brekkie once in a while. My Dad would make “Egg-In-The-Hole” = eggs in a basket and to this day his tastes way better than the ones I make. I think it’s the special Dad-magic.

    Have a great weekend!

  82. March 27, 2010 10:13 am

    YUM!!! I was always a bagel girl growing up. I pretty much hated everything else, and would ONLY eat bagels. Or nothing!!! Or french bread toast 🙂

    My Mom has this cornbread with carrots and poppyseeds that she used to make on the weekends, and we would always top it with butter and honey!! And my Dad has his own secret recipe pancakes that he has made for years!!!

    English muffins sound great! I still havent tried the Ezekiel ones!!

  83. March 27, 2010 10:18 am

    Yum those toppings look so good. I got some english muffins on my last grocery run – must eat soon.

  84. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    March 27, 2010 10:38 am

    Do you have a ton of Ezekiels in your freezer or did you make a special trip to go get them? My favorite jam is apricot- what is yours?

  85. Hanna M. permalink
    March 27, 2010 10:52 am

    You inspired me to have my whole family over for a big Sunday breakfast tomorrow 🙂

  86. March 27, 2010 10:58 am

    Katherine, I usually keep a loaf of Ezekiel bread in the freezer for the occasional toast craving, but this is the first time I’ve ever bought the Ezekiel English muffins. Favorite jam? Strawberry – the real stuff with nothing but spreadable fruit. 🙂

  87. March 27, 2010 11:19 am

    Ah peanut butter and honey! Love that, because really, my mom is the one who made me pb and honey, and that’s why I love it so much.

    In TX.. I lived off the ezekiel english muffins! I didn’t think I’d enjoy them so much either, because they don’t seem as filling, or lengthy (in terms of eating) as oatmeal, kabocha, eggs, etc… BUT, surprisingly, I loved them. And they do take kind of a long while to eat, especially if you’re reading while eating. 🙂

    Love the picture heabie.

  88. March 29, 2010 8:39 am

    my dad would rarely cook but when he did, he would make sunday breakfast of homemade biscuits and sausage gravy. we ALWAYS looked forward to it.

  89. Josie permalink
    March 30, 2010 6:37 pm

    my fave breakfasts were always from my grandma. she would make us biscuits with gravy that was so dark it was like a roux. it was the best gravy i’ve ever had.
    and then there were her huge flour pancakes. and oatmeal with plump raisins.
    nothing compares to that.

Leave a Reply

