Skip to content

Corn Cake McGriddle

March 14, 2010

Happy Pancake Sunday!

Mae was the inspiration behind this morning’s pancake extravaganza. I followed her recipe for Corn Cakes but tweaked it just a bit. I didn’t have oat bran flour, and instead used 3 TBSP of oat bran ground up in the Magic Bullet. I used blue corn meal and added a few drops of maple extract to the batter, skipping the stevia/sugar…how many more days of Lent?!? πŸ˜‰

I love the concept of a McDonald’s McGriddle, that savory/sweet combo of bacon, egg, and maple syrup reminds me of the big family breakfasts my dad used to make every Sunday morning. So, I present to you a HEAB-style McGriddle…

IMG_4616.JPG

1 corn cake topped with a smear of butter, 2 slices of bacon, 1 fried egg, and a drizzle of maple syrup…10 x’s better than McDonald’s if you ask me. πŸ™‚

What kind of pancakes did you make this morning?

55 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 9:08 am

    That looks sooooo much better than anything mcdonalds could make! Congrats on another kitchen success:)

  2. March 14, 2010 9:20 am

    McGriddles are bangin’!!!! I used to make them with Trader Joe’s cheddar soy cheese and tofu – which I know would bother your tum. But yeah, I’m totally feelin’ you with the salty/sweet combination of the McG’s.

    Also – great idea to mix corn and oat bran in the pancake! Oat bran adds a lovely bulk and fluffiness to pancakes, but it would be nice to have it more ground in and part of the flour. Corn is such a sweet flour. I can see it all coming together very well. πŸ™‚ Good one!

  3. March 14, 2010 9:35 am

    wow, that look amazing. Wish I had stopped by right when it was finished! πŸ™‚

    hairinmycoffee.com

  4. March 14, 2010 9:37 am

    that looks A M A Z I N G I am totally with you on the McGriddle idea… savory and sweet… yes please!!

  5. balancejoyanddelicias permalink
    March 14, 2010 9:52 am

    can I come over for breakfast? I want to make pancakes too but my hunger or anxiety always win in the morning, so I chose something that can be ready in <5min.

  6. March 14, 2010 9:59 am

    This looks amazing Heather!! I love sweet/savory ocmbinations, and the maple extract in the batter is genius. I love eggs on anything, I bet they’re amazing on corn cakes. I can’t wait to try this! (with sour cherry spread ;-))

  7. March 14, 2010 10:28 am

    Looks delish I think I gotta try this, I love quinoa and my new favorite is buckwheat grots they make a mean protein bar! x

  8. foodcents permalink
    March 14, 2010 10:38 am

    I can not reall do sweet in the morning, just doesn’t mesh with my body well.

    We often to Sunday Night Pancake dinners, which are a good way to end the weekend.

  9. March 14, 2010 10:49 am

    YUM what a great breakfast!
    I’m doing blueberry oat pancakes this a.m…. well, its more like brunch than breakfast…

  10. March 14, 2010 11:18 am

    I wish I had pancakes this morning but it just seemed like too involved of a project to take on. I had a bowl of cereal instead!

  11. March 14, 2010 11:23 am

    What a fabulous Sunday morning breakfast! Little savory little sweet. We went out to brunch (our new Sunday am tradition). Josh got multigrain pancakes and I had an apple, yogurt & granola parfait! Hope the rest of your day goes well.

  12. March 14, 2010 11:31 am

    OOHHhhhhhh!! That looks great!! I made mcgriddle pancake roll ups for Katie’s contest a few weeks ago. Your’s looks way better!! Yum!! πŸ™‚

  13. March 14, 2010 11:32 am

    This is one of my favorite pictures ever ever ever ever! Gaahhhh I love it! Sunny side up.
    I didn’t make pancakes this morning but I had pumpkin protein powder puree! (Closest thing to kabocha protein custard. 😦 ) Boo. I’ve seen kabocha in the store room (the HUGE food refrigerator where all the food is kept) and I’m pretty sure you can order from there. I am working on it!

  14. March 14, 2010 11:36 am

    YUM!! That looks so good!!

  15. March 14, 2010 11:41 am

    This looks amazing, I love everything with corn in it πŸ™‚

  16. March 14, 2010 11:53 am

    That breakfast looks ridiculously amazing! Corn cakes are now on my to do list for today!

  17. Claire permalink
    March 14, 2010 12:03 pm

    Holy Moly!I wish I saw this before I had breakfast.Dinner perhaps.hehe…

  18. March 14, 2010 12:47 pm

    That looks amazing!

  19. March 14, 2010 1:13 pm

    All along I’ve thought oat bran flour just IS oat bran grounded up?! Is there really an oat bran flour? We had regular ole’ pancakes today. πŸ™‚

  20. March 14, 2010 1:27 pm

    Yum, I am thinking of having pancakes for dinner tonight. Sounds like it would really hit the spot on this rainy evening!

  21. March 14, 2010 1:32 pm

    yessss! I’m lovin’ it πŸ˜‰ (pun intended….haha I’m such a dork). That seriously looks unreal. YUM!

  22. March 14, 2010 1:52 pm

    Looks wonderful Heather. I need me some bacon. Now. And sadly, I made no pancakes this morning — too lazy. Although I did have an amazing bowl of oats with banana, almond butter, and chocolate chips!

  23. March 14, 2010 1:59 pm

    Jessica, Apparently, there really is.

  24. March 14, 2010 2:11 pm

    I made Trader Joes buttermilk for Justin :). I had a tiny bite and they were yummy!

    ❀
    Justine

  25. March 14, 2010 2:24 pm

    sadly there were no pancakes for me this morning 😦 was running a little behind and did a bagel with cream cheese instead. pancakes for dinner perhaps? i think so! (p.s. i am doing a Lent countdown right now…all I want is a slab of meat and can’t have any!)

  26. March 14, 2010 3:19 pm

    When I was growing up I used to get pancakes, eggs and bacon everytime we went out for breakfast, and I’d douse my entire plate in maple syrup. I think I may have to have this for dinner today!

  27. Carolyn permalink
    March 14, 2010 4:55 pm

    no cakea, but a darn fine bowl of oat bran topped with honey roasted sunflower seed buttah…

  28. March 14, 2010 5:28 pm

    Now thats a meal worth getting up earlier for! I bet it’d go well with tahini too….yum!

  29. March 14, 2010 5:54 pm

    Delicious! I might have to try this with tempeh bacon:)

  30. A Different Evan permalink
    March 14, 2010 6:04 pm

    You’re making me love you again HEAB. Every time I log on, it’s like you’re reading my mind. I’ve been on a pancake tear recently for my kids. They want chocloate chip pancakes, but I feel guilty being the only one in the family eating right. Whole wheat, Flax-filled pancake mix was a bust. Then, trying to spike the (smoother) Quaker Oatmeal pancake mix with soy flour was another bust. Now I spike it with “sweet dairy whey” powder, just to up the protein, I sweeten with apple sauce, use mini chocolate chips instead of the standard Toll House size, and the kids love them. I feel like we’ve reached a balance. When the box of mix runs out, I’m going to start mixing my own flours and leaveners.

    In other news, I’ve eaten coconut butter twice a day all this week. It mixed delightfully with wasabi and teriyaki sauce, though the “sauce” was pasty. How to loosen?

    Can’t wait to try your McGriddle.

  31. March 14, 2010 6:11 pm

    Evan, Did you stop ever stop loving me? πŸ˜‰

    So happy to hear you’ve found a balance with your kids and pancakes. I’m sure you’ll have fun experimenting making them from scratch. It’s so easy and gives you much more control over the ingredients.

    I love that you added wasabi and teriyaki sauce to your coconut butter – that would taste amazing on some chicken! To make less you butter less pasty, put it in your blender for a few minutes. Apparently, the smaller blades in a blender will smooth out the butter after it comes out of the food processor, or you could try adding a little coconut oil.

  32. Melissa permalink
    March 14, 2010 7:33 pm

    Delicious!!!

  33. March 14, 2010 7:45 pm

    wow. wow wow wow. that is seriously one of the yummiest food pics i’ve seen on a blog. EVER.

  34. March 14, 2010 7:58 pm

    Creative. So how is your Lent going anyways? Are you missing your Stevia &/or sugar (not that you ate much of it anyways!)…if you decide to continue with it, feel free to send all such containing products to me ;)…

    Oh -and with regards to yesterday about the Gluten Free Diet and how it can be a “negative” thing for those who don’t have severe intolerances/Celiac’s – > as I mentioned it’s related to decreasing healthy bacteria in the gut- namely probiotics…below is something I copied:

    “The Spanish National Research council has concluded individuals who follow a gluten-free diet are more likely to experience a decrease in gastrointestinal health.

    Although a recent study of 10 people was a small sampling, these otherwise health individuals experienced a decrease in Bifidobacterium and Lactobacillus; these naturally-occuring bacteria have been linked to gastrointestinal health and increased immunity. The declining presence of these bacteria could lead to a decrease in the individual’s overall immunity and digestive disorders.”

    So yeah another study explained that essentially it may have to do with probiotics – certain – being more dominant in polysaccharides – of which G-Free products are limited in…

    Anyways!! I’m no researcher or whatever – nor am I concerned!! Just found it interesting that’s all!! And of course studies are small.

    I think just do what works for you. I just caution against people who think this is an answer to problems when it really isn’t – alot of people use it as a method to cover restrictive issues when they really don’t need to – that’s all.

    As for me – I like it all -….so what do I care haha πŸ™‚

    Oh – and do you think you could sell these McGriddles to MickeyD’s?? πŸ˜‰

  35. March 14, 2010 8:12 pm

    Eatmovelove, Thanks for the info. I am missing my stevia sweetened protein powder but other than that, not so much. Plus, my cravings for sweets have gone WAY down.

  36. March 14, 2010 8:35 pm

    I brought up your site, looked at the pic, and was like whoaaaa! Instant hungry! That looks FANTASTIC! I gave my kids pancakes in the shape of the sun with molds from Williams Sonoma. They were 7 grain…but booooring compared to yours, LOL!

  37. March 14, 2010 8:41 pm

    YUM!!! I love anything savory and sweet so I bet that is fabulous!!

  38. March 14, 2010 10:29 pm

    I love corn cakes! I made one with smashed banana and oats a couple days ago. Heavenly, oh so heavenly

  39. March 14, 2010 11:00 pm

    I’ve never tried a mc griddle but I adore sweet/savory together so I may have to try something like this! Thanks!

  40. March 15, 2010 12:07 am

    Oh sweetie you just made my day! I LOVE sweet-and-savory breakfasts…but when the sweet and savory are really strong. VIVE LE BACON!

  41. March 15, 2010 12:38 am

    McHeabs looks wonderful!

  42. March 15, 2010 2:51 am

    Wow that looks great! Look how crispy the bacon looks! I want.

  43. Kendall permalink
    March 15, 2010 4:03 am

    Ok Heather, are you ready for this? Given your love of coconut I suggest you try these. I’ve noticed that you’ve been to Heidi’s blog before- she’s wonderful. And her cookbook is really great. http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/coconut-macaroon-pancakes-recipe.html These have been a real hit with friends. For these I think classic maple syrup is the best topping however I also like them with apple butter- my topping of choice for my favorite pancakes: pumpkin-walnut with spelt flour. Apple (or pear) butter atop pancakes is really great! Yikes- I’ve inundated you with mega-long comments tonight!

  44. March 15, 2010 6:44 am

    Kendall, I love your comments and thanks for the recipe. Still laughing at the image of you busting into some Newman’s pretzels before leaving the store to try your new mustard. Haha – I love it.

  45. fitandfortysomething permalink
    March 15, 2010 7:14 am

    oh gosh those look so good! no pancakes we were at a mt. bike race super early in the morn. maybe next sunday is i am lucky!
    have to tell you….my sis has lost 80 pounds the “right” way-eating whole, nutritious foods and i turned her on to kabocha-because of how much you love it and she loves it! can’t live without it πŸ™‚

  46. Cherie permalink
    March 15, 2010 7:45 am

    That actually looks really yummy!!

  47. March 15, 2010 8:04 am

    I’m crazy/kookoo for corn cakes. Yum!

  48. Jennifer Trigo permalink
    March 15, 2010 8:30 am

    EEK. I am allergic to corn…and wheat…:( everything is made of corn these days…and wheat…

  49. March 15, 2010 8:36 am

    Oh – I forgot to mention – @ that “hole-in-the-wall” tiny expensive store that I can get to once a blue moon?…I found Coconut Mango Butter!! Who knew? Haven’t tried it yet though…

    and still waiting for your recipe books πŸ˜‰

  50. March 15, 2010 9:21 am

    that looks a gazillion times better than mcdonalds, in fact mcdonalds never looked good to me, but these, ohhhh these πŸ™‚

  51. March 15, 2010 9:23 am

    Heather, did you know that one of the biggest recent high-end dessert trends has been the maple/bacon combo? I’ve seen a lot of maple bacon ice cream, brittle, and I even got a bacon dark chocolate bar a few weeks ago! So, I think that you’re on to something with the sweet/salty combo πŸ™‚

  52. March 15, 2010 9:44 am

    i’m lovin’ it.

  53. March 15, 2010 9:56 am

    Jennifer, Not everything! Plenty of corn and gluten free pancake recipes on my recipe page: http://heathereatsalmondbutter.com/recipes/ πŸ™‚

  54. March 15, 2010 9:57 am

    Jaya, Was it the Vosges bar? I tried it a couple of years ago – sounded so good in theory, but I thought it tasted a bit funky. However, I would love to try maple bacon ice-cream. Hmm, might be time to get out my ice-cream maker again. πŸ™‚

  55. March 15, 2010 12:54 pm

    I agree – the McGriddle idea seems like a good one. I just don’t want McDonald’s making my food! Your version is 10x better without even having tasted it. I didn’t make pancakes this weekend – I had a diner do it for me. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

