Skip to content

Still Stuffy

March 6, 2010

Still feeling the cold. Gosh, I haven’t been sick in about 2 years, and this is my 2nd cold of 2010 already. Grrrr.

Oh well, still loving my Vita Coco popsicles and ate an entire tray of Peach Mango cubes yesterday.

IMG_4566.JPG

I also comforted myself with a really good breakfast.

IMG_4565.JPG

Cabbage and spinach stir-fried with 2 slices of bacon and topped with one avocado blended with Don Sabrosa’s Blueberries Peaches & Honey salsa. Since giving up stevia for Lent, my cravings for sugar have gone way down. I never wake up craving oats or sweet breakfasts anymore. All I want is savory. So weird for me.

Last night’s dinner was nothing but comfort in a bowl…

IMG_4568.JPG

Soaked & cooked teff (Soaked for 12 hours. Any longer, and teff gets a little too ripe for my liking), bathed in homemade coconut milk kefir and topped with Trader Joe’s Almond Flaxseed butter and cinnamon….followed by lots of popsicles. πŸ™‚

For all my local readers, my brother is giving a talk today at PodCamp Nashville, Nashville’s top event for sharing expertise about new media creation, distribution and promotionβ€”an opportunity to find your digital voice. The conference is open to the public, and a must attend for anyone interested in social media.

And for those of you interested in sports, my brother-in-law will be in town as he is the play-by-play announcer for the University of South Carolina’s basketball program. USC is playing Vanderbilt at 1 PM today. Should be a good game!

So much brotherly love. πŸ™‚

Enjoy your weekend!



42 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2010 8:00 am

    Your dinner sounds… interesting πŸ˜€ I never knew teff was something you could/would want to eat straight? I always thought you had to put it in something, but apparently not! I know where to find Bob’s Red Mill’s

  2. March 6, 2010 8:01 am

    I’m gonna pick up some coconut water today because now I am sick! Sore throat = me making those popsicles!

  3. March 6, 2010 8:19 am

    Sorry to hear you are still stuffy. 😦 Mmmmm….peach mango.

  4. March 6, 2010 9:00 am

    Evan, Yep, cooked teff makes a wonderful hot cereal. Yum.

  5. fitandfortysomething permalink
    March 6, 2010 9:46 am

    Sorry you don’t feel so good. It has been a rough year for sicknesses! Funny about your b-fast-it looks great but i would rather have it for dinner!
    Get better…….

  6. March 6, 2010 9:48 am

    I have never heard of teff before…I agree with Evan that this looks interesting! I learn something new everytime I check your blog. πŸ™‚

    I hope you feel better Heather!

  7. March 6, 2010 9:49 am

    Feel better soon! Your breakfast looks a lot like what I’m having for breakfast πŸ™‚

  8. March 6, 2010 9:49 am

    Boo for being sick 😦
    Just have to say I love all your pics of the ginormous salads you make……totally inspiring.
    I’m an aspiring vegan, so the pics of your salads and other veggie based meals keep me right on track.

  9. March 6, 2010 9:55 am

    Bummer….feel better Heather!

  10. March 6, 2010 9:55 am

    I understand that even having a cold can just knock you out. A headache or stomachache will do the same thing for me!

    Savory hot cereal has been my recent favorite, no doubt about it.

    Does Don Sabrosa make any onion-free salsa? I love onions, but I am intolerant. 😦

  11. March 6, 2010 10:04 am

    EE, Nope, all three flavors contain dried onion. 😦

  12. March 6, 2010 10:05 am

    That’s OK — more motivation to create my own! πŸ™‚

  13. elleneatsbeats permalink
    March 6, 2010 10:11 am

    Popsicles are my favorite!! I never make homemade ones, but you’ve totally inspired me!

  14. March 6, 2010 10:28 am

    You totally inspire me to come up with some rocking savory breakfasts. Now I just need some bacon!
    Happy weekend HEAB!

  15. March 6, 2010 10:33 am

    OK really? No cravings for sweets? Hmm. May have to try it one day esp now that my new acupuncturist thinks I should cut back on the already miniscule amounts of sugar I ingest. Must ask him about stevia. Can’t imagine he’d be a fan.

    Feel better Heabie!

  16. March 6, 2010 10:39 am

    Savory breakfasts for me too! Hope you feel better soon!

  17. March 6, 2010 10:40 am

    Hahaha, loved your unique breakfast πŸ™‚
    I hope you get over this cold soon!
    πŸ˜€
    Have a great Saturday, anyhow!
    xoxo
    Gabriela

  18. March 6, 2010 12:04 pm

    Hope you feel better soon!! Your popsicle idea is brilliant. Well, all your ideas are brilliant! πŸ˜‰ I will have to try that out with some POM juice!! πŸ™‚ That breakfast really looks GOOD!! πŸ™‚ Great for a volume eater like me!!

  19. March 6, 2010 12:49 pm

    Your Lent is interesting to read about! How do you find your energy levels though? And do you eat the whole avocodo for one?
    Feel better! Sending vibes.

  20. Katie permalink
    March 6, 2010 12:59 pm

    Your breakfast makes me want to eat again. Like now.

  21. March 6, 2010 1:17 pm

    I always learn something new when I read your blog – teff – interesting! Making your own “medicine” popsicles for a cold is such a great idea! I’ll remember that next time I have one – which hopefully will be no time soon! Hope you feel better!

  22. March 6, 2010 1:21 pm

    i LOVE savory breakfasts…the problem is i usually crave sweets after i eat them! but if i eat a sweeter breakfast (banana oats or a smoothie or something) my sweet craving are GONE. yes, i’m weird, i know πŸ™‚

  23. March 6, 2010 1:35 pm

    I hope you feel better soon! Maybe the reason you don’t crave the sweet breakfasts is bc you satisfy that craving at dinner!

    I think I’ll get some teff soon πŸ™‚ Just got back from Chinatown where I picked up 2 big kabochas. My shopping partner (a blogger) said, “well, I guess they last a while” and I said, “what?? these will be gone in 2 days”. Hehehe.

    Happy Saturday!

  24. eaternotarunner permalink
    March 6, 2010 2:57 pm

    Never tried teff, might have to be on my list!!

    FEEL BETTER!

  25. Melissa permalink
    March 6, 2010 3:35 pm

    My mom called me when I had the flu and said..”Love, what can I get you? You can have anything you want!” So I said this:

    Hopefully it helps you too πŸ™‚
    Feel better!!!

  26. March 6, 2010 4:22 pm

    Sorry to hear that you are not feeling well, sending you hugs! πŸ™‚ Oh my girl does that cabbage spinach stir fry looks amazing! So colorful, love that!

  27. March 6, 2010 4:53 pm

    Eatmovelove, Energy is good, and yes, I often eat the whole avocado…all for me. πŸ™‚

  28. March 6, 2010 4:54 pm

    Ha ha, thanks Melissa. πŸ™‚

  29. March 6, 2010 5:09 pm

    Get better soon! That breakfast looks so good!!! So weird how your cravings for sweet have gone so much that you don’t crave oats in the am!

  30. March 6, 2010 5:45 pm

    Breakfast looks delicious! I hope you feel better soon! Sorry it is taking so long!

  31. March 6, 2010 7:15 pm

    hey heather, check out these brussel sprout recipes:
    http://bitten.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/02/05/the-great-brussels-sprouts-taste-off/
    the lemon poppy seed one is amazing

  32. March 6, 2010 7:16 pm

    Lida, Thanks so much. I will!

  33. March 6, 2010 9:00 pm

    Wow! your breakfast looks really good! who says we have to eat cereal or oatmeal or eggs for breakfast? why not cabbage or spinach or salad? πŸ˜‰
    I love that your cravings went away after you stopped with the stevia. I was on a roll without sugar for like 8 weeks or so and no cravings! alas, I got “weak” and am eating that stuff again and it seems I can’t stop..erk. tha. cravingssss.
    well I am sorry you’re sick but I’m glad you’re taking care of yourself! hope you feel better soon πŸ™‚ Have a great night~

  34. March 6, 2010 9:39 pm

    I just found some coconut milk kefir today (SUPER excited!!!!)! So cool that you make it homemade. How do you like to use it?

  35. March 6, 2010 9:43 pm

    theprocessofhealing, It’s great stirred into oats after cooking or added to smoothies. Sometimes, I just drink it straight up. Also makes a good chia pudding. It’s kind of thick and so can be subbed for yogurt. I never cook it though – like to keep it raw. Enjoy!

  36. March 6, 2010 9:59 pm

    Hope you feel better soon, Heather! Getting sick = no fun 😦 I agree about the sweets…when I stop eating sweets, my sugar cravings go way down. All I have to do is eat 1 sweet thing and I start craving…it’s a vicious cycle!

  37. March 6, 2010 10:02 pm

    So interesting about how cutting out all sweeteners has made you crave less sweets. Okay, now that I’ve typed that out it seems like a big DUH but I think you may have just inspired me to try a similar experiment (boy howdy do I use a lot of Stevia!).

  38. March 6, 2010 10:05 pm

    I love your breakfast creation, I would have never thought to put cabbage, avocado and salsa together-love it.

    We get the USC games on sometimes or when I am driving through SC, I will have to listen for him!

  39. Michelle permalink
    March 6, 2010 10:15 pm

    Sorry to hear you are on your second cold of the year. Hopefully this will be it for another two years!

    Ok, almond butter and bacon combo? I will have to try that one. Very interesting!

    Love your stir-fry topped with avocado! Yum!

    I have a total sweet-tooth and often wonder if I gave up my artificial sweeteners, my sweet cravings would not be so intense? I will be following along your journey to see if you continue to stay “savory” … πŸ™‚

  40. March 7, 2010 8:32 am

    I’ve never heard of teff?

    I’m trying to eat less sweets!! It is definitely true that you crave them less the less you eat them. I often crave saltyness though like canned tuna salad and cheese. HA.

    sorry you arent feeling weel! Hope you get some rest and recover quickly!!!

    I missed you!

  41. March 7, 2010 8:39 am

    Missed you too GC. Welcome home!!!!

  42. March 7, 2010 2:29 pm

    I’ve got your cold, turned sinus infection! Aaaargh. I had a similar breakfast of a soy/cranberry variation. Comfort “I have a cold” porridge.

Leave a Reply

