Skip to content

Poach ‘Em

February 11, 2010

Wow, your response from yesterday’s post was overwhelming. Ether you guys really wanted some chia seeds or you all have screwy hormones like me. πŸ™‚ No, but seriously, please know the human body can be a tricky thing, but I truly believe when given the proper nutrition, it can often get back in balance and heal itself.

First off, the winner of the 2 lb. bag of chia seeds from ChiaSeedsDirect is…

Picture 1.png

Congrats Erica! Please email me with your address.

Guess who I met up with yesterday??? Our long lost Justine. Just because she’s not blogging much anymore doesn’t mean she doesn’t still eat. πŸ™‚

IMG_4415.JPG

We dined at California Pizza Kitchen where I ordered one of my most favorite salads in the entire world, the Grilled Vegetable Salad. Do you know how difficult it is to find salads not drenched in dairy? Plus, I love that it’s served warm with huge chunks of avocado. I always order the full, and it’s huge. So good!

IMG_4414.JPG

When I got home, the Nut Butter Fairy had paid me another visit…Nut Butter Fairy, I β™₯ you!!!

IMG_4417.JPG

A big thank you to Jenn from Eating Bender for my Justin’s Nut Butters and chocolate, and to Tiffany from Carbzilla for my Marilyn’s Nut Butter. It’s dark chocolate hazelnut butter, and Tiffany, it tastes amazing. Thanks for sending me one of your local nut butters to try. Very cool! CD thanks you both as well. πŸ™‚

I made a new breakfast this morning. Ever since reading Animal, Vegetable, Miracle over a year ago, I’ve been wanting to make Eggs In A Nest. Finally…

IMG_4419.JPG

This was super easy and took about the same amount of time as stove-top oats. Into my skillet went 2 slices of chopped bacon, I sauteed them until cooked and then threw in some chopped sun dried tomatoes with a little water to soften them up a bit. Next up came 3 huge handfuls of spinach, and once that was cooked down, I made 2 small holes in the middle of the cooked greens and dropped in my eggs. I then covered the skillet and allowed the eggs to poach for 3 and 1/2 minutes. They came out perfect. Such a tasty brekkie.

OK, time for a little Peanut Butter Flow and a dog walk before my workday begins. Adios!

85 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashlei permalink
    February 11, 2010 10:01 am

    I’ve never had poached eggs before. They look really yummy!

  2. Jaki permalink
    February 11, 2010 10:06 am

    omggg CPK! i haven’t been there in a while. yummm. that is probably my fav salad in the world actually too. just wanted to let u kno heather that i am off to whole foods to buy my 2nd ever jar of almond butter and will be eating my oatmeal today in the leftover jar of my first ever almond butter. all thanks to you! keep up the amazing blog πŸ™‚

  3. February 11, 2010 10:07 am

    What an amazing-looking salad! I know what you mean about having a hard time finding salads not drenched in dairy. I also have the problem of finding salads not covered in chicken. Seems like every restaurant around here wants to throw chicken on top of every salad in sight! 😦

  4. nutmeg86 permalink
    February 11, 2010 10:32 am

    wow, that salad looks sooo good! I’ll have to try it the next time I’m at CPK!

  5. claire permalink
    February 11, 2010 10:34 am

    That salad looks so delicious!!cc

  6. February 11, 2010 10:41 am

    I love poached eggs but I have never had the courage to try making them. This looks like a great first step into it! The brekkie looks delish.

  7. February 11, 2010 10:42 am

    that ensalada looks INSANE! i looove grilled veggies in salads. actually, my grilled veggie to lettuce ratio sort of makes the whole “salad” label a little questionable. im going to the cpk website to find the description so i can re-create that haha

  8. February 11, 2010 10:44 am

    I wish I had a nut butter fairy! Can I borrow yours?! πŸ˜‰

  9. February 11, 2010 10:44 am

    I just was discussing poached eggs this weekend with my mom. I think its time for me to try them!

  10. February 11, 2010 10:46 am

    I agree that it’s so hard to find salads without dairy! WHAT is with that? CPK is so yummy though, and I’m glad you could find something that looks great!

    Poached eggs are delicious, I need to make those more often πŸ™‚

  11. February 11, 2010 10:49 am

    Ooo, I need a nut butter fairy of my very own

  12. February 11, 2010 10:52 am

    OMG that salad looks amazing …is that chickpeas or lentils in with it?? Yum.

    And how does one get a visit from this Nut Butter Fairy??!!!!- …I’m out of pulling baby teeth..hmmm.

    Do you mostly stick with bacon now? Or do you still do chicken, beef, etc.

    I like how everyone has different styles. I know I do NOT eat like you and other bloggers, but it’s interesting to see what works for you πŸ™‚

  13. February 11, 2010 10:52 am

    I have Animal, Vegetable, Miracle right next to me…I borrowed it from the library and can’t wait to read it. Especially now that I saw your great breakfast!

  14. February 11, 2010 10:57 am

    I kid you not, last night why I was making dinner, I thought, “I wonder if HEABs and Justine still hang out even though Justine’s not blogging anymore???”

    FREAKY! I am going to go solve the mystery of LOST now.

  15. Juliet permalink
    February 11, 2010 10:58 am

    Question–with that salad and salads out in general, do you use the normal dressing? Or do you have it on the side? Are you as into olive oil and dressing types of fat as you are animal fat nowadays? Just curious πŸ™‚ thanks! ps–your blog inspired me to eat bacon for the first time in years! mmm!

  16. February 11, 2010 11:07 am

    Eatmovelove, No chickpeas or lentils included in the salad. That was grilled corn. I eat all kinds of meat, but I’m aiming for more dietary fat. So bacon fits the bill. I’m not eating much grilled chicken these days, but I do love me some grass fed finished beef or bison.

  17. February 11, 2010 11:12 am

    Juliet, So happy to hear you enjoyed some bacon. πŸ™‚ I never usually purchase dressings – CD and I usually make our own since I’m not a fan of canola or soy bean oil. However, when dining out, I often order my dressings on the side, but never the low fat dressings. Yesterday’s salad was tossed in a Dijon balsamic vinaigrette, and I ate as is. πŸ™‚

  18. February 11, 2010 11:12 am

    Yay…congrats to Erica! Okay this is totally random but those are the CUTEST pants you had on yesterday!! πŸ™‚

  19. Kate permalink
    February 11, 2010 11:12 am

    i love that salad too! my brother, who considers salsas his favorite vegetable, will actually order that when we go to the CPK too!

  20. February 11, 2010 11:13 am

    that nut butter fairy was good to you πŸ™‚ i love that you love bacon…it’s so amazing and versatile!

  21. February 11, 2010 11:13 am

    Thanks Kelly. I bought them at Anthropologie 4 years ago. Love them. πŸ™‚

  22. February 11, 2010 11:14 am

    I loved Animal, Vegetable, Miracle! My hub and I listened to it on tape on one of our lonnnnng car rides home.

    Your eggs in a nest look beautiful! And tasty πŸ˜‰

  23. skinnyrunner permalink
    February 11, 2010 11:15 am

    ive never had that cpk salad before but now im pretty much determined to. looks so good!

  24. February 11, 2010 11:17 am

    I realise i get through 400grams of peanut butter in 2 weeks!! It seems like a lot but i love it soooo much!

  25. February 11, 2010 11:25 am

    Eggs in a nest: it’s what’s for lunch. Thanks for the inspiration!

  26. February 11, 2010 11:35 am

    Oh wow!! The last time I went to CPK I didn’t even look at the salads…well I wouldn’t have cared about them then. That salad sounds perfect–grilled eggplant (!!!!).

  27. February 11, 2010 11:37 am

    Eggs in a cute little green nest. What could be better? You never fail to inspire me with your breakfast creations HEAB!

  28. February 11, 2010 11:53 am

    A) that salad looks AMAZING and

    B) I HAVE TO MAKE those eggs in a nest that is SOOOOO my kinda food.

    I am fancying your blog girl!

  29. Metta permalink
    February 11, 2010 11:54 am

    Wow, thank you for the pic and link for that salad. I might actually be able to eat it (w/o the dressing)! I went to a gluten-free/vegan restaurant Saturday and couldn’t find anything to eat b/c of so many food intolerances. Who knew CPK would be a choice?

  30. February 11, 2010 12:02 pm

    I love many of CPK’s salads. I don’t usually get the roasted veggies anymore because I don’t like the way they cook the eggplant. Still a yummy salad though!

  31. February 11, 2010 12:25 pm

    That salad looks divine. I love when a salad is the way I want right off the menu without having to make a ton of changes.

  32. February 11, 2010 12:27 pm

    OMG OMG OMG. That salad! It’s not often that a salad makes me drool, but DAMN! Yum.

  33. February 11, 2010 12:44 pm

    day late and a dollar short on the chia seeds post!

    I know you have watched protein and fat in your diet, do you ever watch carbs? I know mark at the daily apple talks about this, so I’ve been trying to decide how I think it would work for me.

  34. Jenny R. permalink
    February 11, 2010 12:47 pm

    omg Heather can you please tell me what’s in that salad so I can attempt to recreate it as I must have stared at it a million times now. I don’t know what a california pizza kitchen is so I’m assumining it doesn’t exist in canada.

  35. February 11, 2010 1:02 pm

    I think Animal, Vegetable, Miracle is my favorite book – love Barbara Kingsolver! Have you read any of her other books? The Poisonwood Bible is great! I’ll put the eggs in a nest on my “must make” list. Thanks for the inspiration πŸ™‚

  36. February 11, 2010 1:05 pm

    YUUUM!
    YouΒ΄re pics look amazing, specially your salad πŸ™‚
    Have a great day!
    Brazilian XOXOΒ΄s,
    Gabriela

  37. February 11, 2010 1:28 pm

    For a chain place, CPK is super accommodating to “odd” diets (like my own)!! That salad looks fabulous πŸ™‚

  38. February 11, 2010 1:28 pm

    I didn’t know the California pizza kitchen offer such amazing salad…gotta try it out and replicate at home! it seems to be a really healthy one instead of those “fake salad” plates that actually contains thousands of calories !

    The poached egg looks really cute , they are in the very environmental friendly nest!

  39. February 11, 2010 1:34 pm

    I want that salad! Haha, it looks so dang good! Oh, and you will love that Almond Dark Chocolate Bar. It’s yummmmmyyyyy. πŸ™‚

  40. February 11, 2010 1:37 pm

    Hi Heather. I know you’ve mentioned this before but I can’t find it now. Where do you buy your guar gum? I saw it on Amazon but I don’t need 8 bags since I don’t even know if I’ll like it and I couldn’t find it in my local WF. Any suggestions?

    Also, how is maca powder? Can you really taste it or do you add it for added nutritional impact? Thanks! πŸ™‚

  41. February 11, 2010 1:37 pm

    Oh and I totally need to recreate your breakfast now πŸ™‚

  42. February 11, 2010 1:38 pm

    That is the best salad at CPK! Also love this pizza they do that has eggplant and goat cheese and red peppers I think…with the ww crust…like they might as well have spelled out “Diana” on it in eggplant strips.

  43. Amy permalink
    February 11, 2010 1:38 pm

    I LOVE bacon and miss it sooooo much. Your breakfast today is making me swoon!

  44. February 11, 2010 1:43 pm

    I didn’t comment yesterday but i’m having hormone and other problems. Because i’m normal size, eat healthy and workout is the reason??? WTF??? Doctors suck! So if I ate cheeseburgers, sat on my butt and weighed 150 lbs what would the good excuse be?

  45. Tyler permalink
    February 11, 2010 1:43 pm

    I haven’t been to California Pizza Kitchen in forever! I used to like their chicken waldorf salad.

    Your breakfast looks delicious! My breakfast had similar ingredients this morning, but in omelet form…well, attempted omelet form. came out more liked scrambled eggs πŸ™‚

  46. February 11, 2010 1:45 pm

    April, So sorry, but believe me, I feel your pain and all your frustrations. Doctors have been very little to help to me – this is something I’ve had to figure out mostly with my own research. Never hesitate to email me if you ever have any questions.

  47. February 11, 2010 1:50 pm

    Elina, I’ve never used the NOW brand, but other bloggers seem to like it: http://www.amazon.com/Guar-Gum-Powder-oz/dp/B000JNAMKG/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&s=miscellaneous&qid=1265917621&sr=8-4. I use the Bob Red’s Mill brand. You can order a bag of it from their site( http://www.bobsredmill.com) for about $6.00. I received mine from Smoothie Girl Deb, and haven’t had to order more yet. I will have to soon though as I can’t find it in Nashville.

    I’ve heard that maca is good for female hormone imbalance and for energy. I love it – tastes kink of like burnt caramel? I usually just add it to smoothies or squash purees.

  48. February 11, 2010 1:51 pm

    Megan, I’ve had the Poisonwood Bible forever. It’s just sitting on my bookshelf waiting to be read. I’ll get to it someday. πŸ™‚

  49. February 11, 2010 1:57 pm

    RunToTheFinish, I don’t really watch my carb intake per say, but I really don’t eat a lot of them – well, not as many as most. My carbs come from veggies (starchy ones too like squash and sweet potatoes), and some grains. I love my oatmeal, but I rarely eat bread, pasta, or rice. Oh, and I love whole grain tortillas. So, yes, I eat carbs, but they usually only make up about 30% or so of my daily caloric intake. Some days more, some days less. I’ll put it this way – I never make carbs the star of the show. πŸ™‚

  50. February 11, 2010 1:59 pm

    Jenny R, you can read what’s in the salad here: http://www.cpk.com/menu/salads/. Hope you can recreate it. It always taste so yummy!

  51. February 11, 2010 2:03 pm

    Wow-that salad looks incredible! I’ve been eating eggs so much lately. They seem to be really comforting when it’s cold out. I’ve been having them for breakfast lunch and dinner. So good!

  52. February 11, 2010 2:55 pm

    That salad looks awesome! I went to CPK in Hawaii and loved their whole wheat crust pizzas.

  53. February 11, 2010 3:11 pm

    will you do a hard double blink and send a nut butter fairy my way!?!?

    YUM

  54. February 11, 2010 3:13 pm

    That salad look so good!! We have a CPK near us, but I’ve never been!! I will have to order it if we ever go!!

    And those eggs in a nest look great. I am definitely trying them out soon!!

    Hope you’re having a great day, HEAB!! πŸ™‚

  55. February 11, 2010 3:32 pm

    That salad looks amazing! x x

  56. February 11, 2010 3:44 pm

    That is one delish looking salad!!

  57. February 11, 2010 4:35 pm

    I used to LOVE that salad when I lived in L.A. and CPK was everywhere! I honestly forgot about it, and that there is a CPK in Green Hills! I can’t wait to have my long lost salad again! I’m so excited I can’t stop ending my sentences in exclamation points! πŸ˜‰

  58. February 11, 2010 4:42 pm

    Animal, Vegetable, Miracle is such a great book. I drooled when she talked about starting every dish with a grizzle of olive oil and garlic. Mm-MMM!

  59. February 11, 2010 5:02 pm

    I always order that same salad–you better believe I get the full size too, and eat ALL of it:)

  60. February 11, 2010 5:35 pm

    Ohhhh I want that fairy to come visit me too! πŸ™‚ Looks sooo yummy! i just recently learned how to poach an egg.

    -emily http://www.emilyeatsclean.wordpress.com

  61. February 11, 2010 5:51 pm

    Brilliant idea with the “Eggs in a Nest”!!! I have some chard that will work just perfectly for this little creation. I love poached eggs, but never thought to make them like this…LOVE it!!!

  62. February 11, 2010 6:17 pm

    Poached eggs are the BEST! They taste fab on oatmeal and oatbran too. See, many people think cooked eggs are pure savory…despite the fact that eggs are in virtually every typical dessert. But with some salt, cinnamon, and cloves (and a dash of sweetener), it’s a super neat way to eat oats…or toast.

  63. Alyson permalink
    February 11, 2010 6:19 pm

    I love poached eggs, and although my mom often makes them for me when I go home to visit, it’s one of those things that I never really think to make on my own. I have been going sweet-crazy at breakfast lately, so maybe it’s time to mix it up with something savory. Thanks for the reminder, yum yum πŸ™‚

  64. February 11, 2010 6:25 pm

    Mimi, Yeah, I never thought of adding an egg to sweet oats. Thanks for the tip!

  65. February 11, 2010 7:41 pm

    That salad looks absolutely perfect!

    ❀ jess

  66. February 11, 2010 7:46 pm

    You are making me wish there was a CPK here….sigh. I bookmarked the photo on their website, and as soon as my grill is recovered from the depths of the snow, I will be making it!

    Weird question – where did you get that sweater? I love it!

  67. February 11, 2010 7:51 pm

    Congrats to Erica on winning the chia seeds!! πŸ˜€

    And awesomeness on the nut butter fairy – that must be such a treat to have one!! πŸ˜‰

    Poached egg? Never had one. They gross me out! LOL

    Hugs,
    Michele

  68. February 11, 2010 7:52 pm

    Katie, The sweater from J Crew…3 or 4 years ago. One of my favorites. πŸ™‚

  69. The Pancake Girl permalink
    February 11, 2010 7:58 pm

    I want the Nut Butter Fairy to visit me too! Glad you had a good day!

    http://www.joelygolightly.wordpress.com

  70. February 11, 2010 8:52 pm

    I bet that was a whole bag of spinach! I’ve never seen that recipe, but as I’m an egg freak, it’ll be making an appearance in my kitchen to be sure. I might even buy some bacon for the occasion! πŸ™‚

  71. February 11, 2010 9:20 pm

    Oh gosh that salad looks incredible. What is in it?

  72. February 11, 2010 9:25 pm

    Theprocessofhealing, You can read all about the Grilled Vegetable Salad here: http://www.cpk.com/menu/salads/.

  73. Gina G permalink
    February 11, 2010 9:48 pm

    i love CPK salads, thats all i get when i am there! my favorite is the moroccan chicken salad, it is too good for words! haha

    p.s. your eggs look amazing =)

  74. February 11, 2010 9:54 pm

    that salad looks ridiculously good!

    sigh..maybe one day i will be lucky and win chia seeds too. i feel like i’ve entered a million chia seeds giveaways too! haha.

  75. February 11, 2010 9:56 pm

    That salad looks amazing!! I may have to try to duplicate it tomorrow for lunch. I’ve never really mixed a cold salad with cooked veggies, but I’ll just have to try it now.

  76. February 11, 2010 10:16 pm

    CPK’s grilled vegetable salad is the best! I love your blog. It inspires me to eat more fats πŸ™‚ I put peanut butter on everything now. The more I eat it, the more I want it. I want to try other fats, too.

  77. February 12, 2010 9:17 am

    That salad deserves a thumbs up.

    I, too, have The Poisonwood Bible — but not the time to read it.

  78. February 12, 2010 10:52 am

    Aaahhh Heather, you’re making me crave spinach and poached eggs! This is what I miss about home- trust me, I’m having a dandy time here- I just miss simple food by stovetop!

    And cheers to animal fat regarding your last post! When at home.. (sadly my consumption is less here in NY) I probably eat at least 2 dozen eggs myself in all the varieties I eat of eggs. Perfect food.

    That salad looks amazing too. Nom.

  79. February 12, 2010 10:53 am

    p.s. you KNOW how i feel about poached eggs- and your look great! I love this idea of poaching them in the veggies.

  80. February 12, 2010 3:51 pm

    Thanks Heather!!

  81. February 12, 2010 6:22 pm

    I haven’t been to CPK in years, but that salad looks like a reason to go!

  82. hayleycepeda permalink
    February 13, 2010 10:05 am

    I know I’m weeks behind on everyone’s blog, but I just wanted to agree with you on your other post that birth control pills are NOT the answer or quick fix to hormone/period problems! When I dropped down to a really low body weight and was not having a period anymore my doctor immediately started me on the pill. I loved it because I was finally having regular “normal” periods. Fast forwarded 10 years later when I go off the pill and start trying to get pregnant and can’t because I am not having a period – again. I’m blessed and happy to say I’m pregnant now (almost a year later) but I told my husband I will NEVER go back on the pill again.

    What I’m trying to say is that I think it’s great you’re trying to figure out what works for YOU. We’re all different and we know our own bodies best – yes, even better than some doctors!!

    Big kudos to you Heather! πŸ™‚

  83. bethany Carey permalink
    February 14, 2010 11:55 am

    I used to have that sweater in college! I loved that thing—man that takes me back years!

  84. February 16, 2010 10:59 pm

    Woohoo! Sorry I’m just catching up on your posts, lovely Heather. But so glad that you enjoyed the treats and wow, that Marilyn nut butter looks fantastic as well.

    So great that you and Justine still get together and that she still enjoys eating πŸ˜‰ I miss her blog but hope that we can continue to get updates through yours! She’s a doll.

    Wow, that Eggs in a Nest looks amazing! I’ve tried them in bread before but never in greens…I know what my assignment is now!

    Have a lovely evening, Heather!!

Trackbacks

  1. The Naked Brunette « A Brunette Walks into a Bar…

Leave a Reply

