Skip to content

Blue Pancakes

January 27, 2010

Don’t forget the Online Bake Sale for Haiti today!!! Please click here to bid on my Maple Nut Oaties.

6a00e54fdaec728834012876e27356970c-500wi.jpg

OK, so anyone who thinks yoga is not a good strength training workout, I would like to inform you that you are wrong. My triceps, biceps, glutes, and hamstrings are more sore from yesterday’s yoga class then they have been all month. Lindsey had me scheduled for weights today, but my muscles said Ha ha…um, No. So, I did her 45 minute HIIT workout on the stationary bike instead. It kicked my sore booty.

IMG_4335.JPG

I had an old favorite for breakfast. πŸ™‚

IMG_4337.JPG

Reader Regina was so kind to send me some blue corn meal from Native Seeds/Search in Arizona, and I immediately thought pancakes. Above was my protein pancake recipe with 20 grams of the corn meal added to the batter. The toppings were the best part, because as we all know, pancakes are really just a vehicle for the toppings. Mine consisted of a big blob of grass fed butter and syrup. Thanks so much for the corn meal and other goodies Regina! I can’t wait to experiment.

Hey, did you guys know Ellen is a huge fan of the protein pancake? It was news to me. πŸ™‚

Now, go bid, bid, bid.

36 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2010 10:11 am

    Ah Ahh ahahha I think everyone is a fan of protein pancakes! I loved MizFit’s post, how hilarious!!!
    Good luck with the bake sale! I’m so excited to see how much is raised for the cause.

    Heather, would you mind if I did a protein ice-cream variation post? Let me know!! πŸ˜€

  2. January 27, 2010 10:15 am

    Mae, Go for it. I would love for you to spread the protein ice-cream love. πŸ™‚

  3. January 27, 2010 10:26 am

    Did Ellen go vegan, or did I make that up?

    My hometown would appreciate your blue pancakes due to the upcoming Superbowl.

    Good luck with the bake sale!

  4. January 27, 2010 10:29 am

    EE, Is Ellen a vegan? I don’t know. Just googled it – mixed stories. Hmm, maybe she likes her protein pancakes made with flax seeds instead of eggs. πŸ˜‰

  5. January 27, 2010 10:52 am

    45 minutes of HIIT!? Holy crap! I can only do 15-20, but I do 20 seconds on, 40 seconds off. I could never last 45 minutes!

  6. January 27, 2010 10:55 am

    Jessica, Warm up and cool down took 15 minutes. So, really only 30 minutes of HIIT. Still a killer workout.

  7. January 27, 2010 10:56 am

    Natural food coloration is fun! Would blue corn protein pancakes with tumeric make them green? That’s an interesting thought…

  8. January 27, 2010 10:59 am

    Ellen’s a vegan! She often has vegan chefs on the show and has talked about it a couple times. MizFit cracks me up!
    And is there anything better than pancakes with syrup that make you feel good? (I’m gonna say no!)

  9. January 27, 2010 11:03 am

    Evan, Ha ha – not sure. I’ll have to experiment. πŸ™‚

  10. January 27, 2010 11:32 am

    i love ellen, and i love that she loves the protein pancakes! so cool πŸ™‚

  11. January 27, 2010 1:12 pm

    Yup, Ellen’s a vegan! She talks about it pretty frequently…she had the “skinny bitches” on her show as guests one time, and told him how much going vegan changed her life.

    Just another reason to love her! πŸ™‚

    I bid on your treats Heather, but they’re VERY popular!!!

  12. January 27, 2010 1:13 pm

    Anna, Thanks for bidding!! πŸ™‚

  13. January 27, 2010 1:14 pm

    I’m so jealous of the blue corn meal! I see Bobby Flay use it all the time on Food Network, but I’ve never been able to find it here.

    Hope you have a great rest of your day! You pancakes always look perfect.

  14. January 27, 2010 1:15 pm

    Yum…those pancakes looks awesome. I not only want those…I NEED those! πŸ™‚

  15. January 27, 2010 1:19 pm

    These pancakes are so yummy looking! I can’t wait to try these!

  16. January 27, 2010 1:22 pm

    Grass-fed butter… Wow, I didn’t know butter ate grass!

    πŸ˜‰

    Of course I know what you mean but for some reason “grass-fed butter” made me giggle.

  17. eaternotarunner permalink
    January 27, 2010 1:23 pm

    Those look delicious!

  18. Stephanie permalink
    January 27, 2010 2:16 pm

    I’m always arguing with my BF that yoga is actually strength training too! Now I can tell him even HEAB says so too! πŸ™‚

  19. January 27, 2010 2:23 pm

    I love Ellen even more now… so cool, totally did not know she was vegan!!

    Thanks for bake sale update.. Must Go BID πŸ˜‰

  20. January 27, 2010 2:25 pm

    “anyone who thinks yoga is not a good strength training workout, I would like you to inform you that you are wrong”–
    OH how I TOTALLY AGREE!! πŸ™‚

    It’s kinda funny that I have no idea what HIIT means. I see this all the time on blogs and am totally clueless when it comes to gym lingo πŸ™‚ Google here I come…

  21. January 27, 2010 2:29 pm

    Averie, High Intensity Interval Training.

  22. January 27, 2010 3:01 pm

    Yoga is SUCH a good strength workout when done intensely πŸ™‚

  23. Sarah permalink
    January 27, 2010 3:05 pm

    I’ve been following your blog for awhile and love all of your pancake toppings. The other day I discovered cream cheese(or tofutti), almond butter, and syrup warmed together is heaven. Just thought I’d pass along the discovery πŸ™‚

  24. Samantha permalink
    January 27, 2010 3:37 pm

    You’re walking proof that yoga can make a body lean and strong! Whenever I leave a hot class I’m almost always sore for a few days after getting into poses so deep and really working my muscles. Ohhhh loving the looks of your protein pancakes…I see more bites with ice cream in my near future!

  25. January 27, 2010 3:42 pm

    Sarah, That does sound heavenly. Thanks for the tip. πŸ™‚

  26. January 27, 2010 3:56 pm

    ive NEVER done yoga. i need to give it a whirl. hey pancake queen, tomorrow is national blueberry pancake day. just a heads up πŸ™‚

  27. January 27, 2010 4:02 pm

    Thanks Janetha Bean! Will definitely have to celebrate since I screwed up National Peanut Butter Day. πŸ˜‰

  28. January 27, 2010 4:10 pm

    Thanks for the linklove (she types having emerged from under the rock where she must reside)—ID MISS THE WHOLE THING ABOUT THE BAKESALE.

    off to click.

    Carla

  29. January 27, 2010 4:28 pm

    Hahah loved mizfits post today! Totally cracked me up! Blue corn meal? I must find and try this- yum yum yum!

  30. Danielle permalink
    January 27, 2010 5:54 pm

    I’ve actually never had protein pancakes (gassppppp) πŸ™‚ I guess I should try them out!
    Yoga is DEF. a good strength training workout

  31. January 27, 2010 6:14 pm

    Although I love lots of fun protein pancake toppings, sometimes it is wonderful just to keep it simple with a little butter (or Earth balance for me!) and syrup. I call them “minimalist pancakes”–well, ok, I don’t actually call them that. But I should!

  32. January 27, 2010 7:14 pm

    I guess I take for granted that I can buy blue cornmeal everywhere, living in Arizona. It is good stuff though; I’ve used it in corncakes (savory pancakes) that are delicious. Probably very similar to your protein pancakes. And I accidently bought the hot man’s Egg white protein powder….looks like no pancakes for me on national pancake day. Sigh.

  33. January 27, 2010 7:49 pm

    Those pancakes look SO good!

  34. Rachel permalink
    January 27, 2010 8:19 pm

    Pancakes look delicious. I want them. Now.

  35. January 27, 2010 9:36 pm

    I too am missing the yoga love in my life! I am so glad that to be able to work that back in now. Love your sassy face:) And the bake sale for haiti! You are full of awesome!

  36. January 28, 2010 12:27 am

    Love the Miz/Ellen thing- hope she gets on!

Leave a Reply

