Skip to content

Retro Pancakes

November 22, 2009

Happy Sunday. 🙂

After going back and forth between several pancake options this morning, I just went with my own creation.

IMG_3794.JPG

Ingredients:

1/2 cup So Delicious plain coconut milk kefir

4 egg whites

1 scoop vanilla Sun Warrior rice protein powder

3 TBSP wheat bran

1 packet stevia

1/2 tsp maple extract

1/4 tsp baking powder

Pinch Celtic sea salt

1 ounce chopped walnuts

So the above picture doesn’t quite capture the beauty of my breakfast. The final product looked more like this…

IMG_3795.JPG

At first, I only added 1 TBSP wheat bran to the batter, and I ended up with thin crepes that I couldn’t even flip. Katie, they reminded me of your Crepe-Cakes, which I’ve been meaning to try. So, Crepe-Cakes, check. 🙂 I then added 2 more TBSP of wheat bran to the batter and got an actual pancake that I could flip. After topping them with some tahini, maple syrup, and my little crepe mishaps, I entered into a pancake abyss of joy. Add chopped nuts to your batter while it’s cooking. So fun to have a little crunch in the mix.

Where does the retro come in you ask? Well, I ate my pancakes wearing my new leg warmers…

IMG_3797.JPG
Love. 🙂
Enjoy the rest of your weekend!!!!
63 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2009 2:05 pm

    Yumm! I love Sunday morning breakfasts. I haven’t seen coconut milk kefir yet! I’ll have to keep looking because I love anything coconut flavored.

  2. November 22, 2009 2:06 pm

    OMG you are SOOOOoooo Flashdance!! What a feeling! Love it!

    PS I used to stick wheat bran in everything as a filler. To me, it tastes like sawdust, but has great stats (read lots of fiber and fluff for few calories). I should add a little here and there again.

    Have a great

  3. November 22, 2009 2:09 pm

    Well the pancakes/crepes look and sound delicious! I have hot pink legwarmers!

  4. eaternotarunner permalink
    November 22, 2009 2:11 pm

    Love the legwarmers!! And the pancakes look pretty good too 😉

  5. Beth S. permalink
    November 22, 2009 2:13 pm

    I really wish I had leg warmers…and those pancakes

  6. November 22, 2009 2:17 pm

    mmm I bet the walnuts made them awesome! How fun. LOVE the legwarmers. Its a little chilly here today- I could use some of my own 😉

  7. November 22, 2009 2:21 pm

    I love your hair like that:) Man, I need some leg warmers! I’m freezing here in Va.! I was looking forward to seeing what kind of cool pancakes you had today!

  8. November 22, 2009 2:27 pm

    Yours look way better than my crepe cakes. They have so many fun colors/textures going on.

    We both celebrated Pancake Sunday today :). Lazy Sundays are the best. Someday we’ll have to celebrate together!

  9. November 22, 2009 2:31 pm

    I love your leg warmers! You look gorgeous and so comfortable – like you are glowing. 🙂

  10. November 22, 2009 2:38 pm

    LOVE the leg warmers. I can use a full body warmer these days! I’d be happy to hop around like a vertical caterpillar as long as I was warm. (I first typed worm – LOL)

    I had mystery grains for breakfast yesterday and today – they might have been oat groats. They were in a bulk bag so I could not identify them. With PB, raisins & a touch of cranberry/apple butter, it didn’t really matter what grain it was. Just yummy!

    Happy weekend!

  11. November 22, 2009 2:42 pm

    Your pancakes sound amazing and your leg warmers look adorable. They are actually quite similar to mine, and I’m having the sudden urge to wear them today… 🙂

  12. Dawn permalink
    November 22, 2009 2:57 pm

    I think using psyllium husk could make it a gluten free
    version for the celiacs out there. YUM. Another great
    Heather recipe. Thanks! Dawn

  13. November 22, 2009 3:02 pm

    Precious Dawn, Thanks for the suggestion. Next week’s recipe will be gluten free. Expecting some almond flour in the mail this week – cannot wait to experiment!

  14. November 22, 2009 3:07 pm

    Ahh, I want some pancakes!!! Those look quite tasty and I would love to make them…but I am vegan and I don’t know what I would use as an egg white substitute. 😦 Ener-G egg replacer wouldn’t work quite right, would it?

    Oh, and I love the leg warmers! 🙂

  15. November 22, 2009 3:08 pm

    Lovin’ the ’80s look 😀

  16. November 22, 2009 3:10 pm

    We just went out to breakfast – it’s my favorite thing to do on the weekend. Those pancakes look delicious, I definitely need to come up with my own sugar-free recipe. Perhaps top with almond butter and sliced banana? Yum!

  17. November 22, 2009 3:16 pm

    Katie, Try 2 TBSP ground flax seed mixed with water. I’ve used this as egg replacement in other pancake recipes, and it usually works really well. Just allow it to thicken up a bit first.

  18. November 22, 2009 3:43 pm

    gosh i am jealous of 3 things in this post—pancakes, your arm muscles and those freaking cute leg warmers! have a wonderful sunday dear!

    xoxo
    Lo

  19. November 22, 2009 3:46 pm

    Haha!

    Love the leg warmers. So retro. I have a few pairs myself and I’ve been rocking them lately as the weather has been getting chillier.

    Leg warmers are definitely the way to go!

  20. November 22, 2009 3:51 pm

    Came across your blog and love it!!! Your pancakes looked so good, all your creations look amazing!!!! Love the legwarmers!!!! It reminds me that I need to get some!! Have a wonderful night!!!!!
    Katie xoxo

  21. November 22, 2009 3:55 pm

    Katie, Glad you found me, and yes, you need to get some leg warmers. 🙂

  22. November 22, 2009 3:56 pm

    AHH I have leg warmers in my “cold things” bin.. need to bust them out asap! 😉

  23. November 22, 2009 4:12 pm

    those ‘crepe cakes’ look delicious, lovely lady!

    p.s. such retro leg warmers 😛

    tons of love,
    becca xo

    fromheretothereinpurple.blogspot.com

  24. November 22, 2009 4:12 pm

    Leg warmers look like fun ! I totally wore PJs till 3 I did shower before that but just put them back on! Can we say laaazy Sunday?

  25. Steph permalink
    November 22, 2009 4:35 pm

    You make leg warmers look so hot!

    I had pancakes today to, but not nearly as healthy and delicious looking as yours! Pancakes and Sundays go so perfect together don’t they?!

  26. Lindsay permalink
    November 22, 2009 4:41 pm

    LOVE it. I have a pair of black legwarmers somewhere around here, you’re making me want to go find them…..

  27. November 22, 2009 4:44 pm

    I forgot it was pancake sunday. I need to hook on to that tradition.

  28. shelby permalink
    November 22, 2009 4:47 pm

    Darn, I forgot it was pancake sunday! I had oats for breakfast 🙂

    Your recipe looks fantastic! I still haven’t put protein powder in my recipes but I love the idea. Soon.

    Legwarmers = So adorable! I must get myself a pair

  29. November 22, 2009 5:36 pm

    only a select few can pull of the leg warmer look – you being one of them. I’m slightly bitter 😉

  30. November 22, 2009 5:49 pm

    i totally should have made pancakes this morning…now i want them. is it horrible for them for dinner?! hahaha!

  31. November 22, 2009 5:49 pm

    Melissa S. Pancakes for dinner? Never horrible! 🙂

  32. November 22, 2009 6:23 pm

    Ooo yummy pancakes! I was actually going to buy a pair of leg warmers yesterday and I didn’t! I’m thinking I might have my roommate knit me some!

  33. November 22, 2009 6:25 pm

    HEAB- there are a certain number of bloggers I look up to and strive to be like, but you, I think I’m already naturally like you. I love your crazy/beautiful waves and your “care free” duds of yoga pants, leg warmers and tanks. (Show off those chaturanga arms!) 😉 Basically my go to outfit for grocery shopping, lounging, yogaa, the works.

    Yummy pancakes!

  34. hotflashbang permalink
    November 22, 2009 6:33 pm

    hehe leg warmers… cool…. your breakfast looks yummyyyyyy… you should enter the 40 day breakfast challenge to win $50 gift certificate to Whole Foods.. http://keepyourdietreal.com/food/breakfastbrunch/40-day-breakfast-challenge-post-to-win/..

    Have a super week!
    Annie

  35. November 22, 2009 6:39 pm

    SO.CUTE!!! Love 😀

  36. November 22, 2009 6:41 pm

    You are too cute in your leg warmers 🙂

  37. November 22, 2009 6:47 pm

    i LOVE your hair!! you are so earthy.. its beautiful!! is your hair naturally curly?

  38. November 22, 2009 7:06 pm

    You look SO gorgeous heather!!!
    it shows in your pancakes! 😉 dang girl. you throw together fantastic foods. I need to come over for a pancake breakfast. and some HEAB tahini oats. (note to self.. must make again asap)

  39. November 22, 2009 7:25 pm

    kbwood, Thanks so much. Yep, all natural. 🙂

  40. November 22, 2009 7:40 pm

    Bekah, I live in my “care free” duds as well. Love them. 🙂

  41. November 22, 2009 7:40 pm

    Hotflashband, Thanks for the link. Will go check it out.

  42. November 22, 2009 8:53 pm

    your creations are the bomb. I love them all!! those pancakes look fantastic, and ofcourse I love the legwarmer action!!! I kinda miss them, since I totally wore them everyday while coaching and skating!!!

    Maybe I’ll have to wear them to school this week?! haha

    heatherrrrrrrrrrrrrr, please send me a picture of you in a scarf if you have one!! I’d love for you to be on the GC special edition post!!

    TAKE CARE and happy Monday!

  43. November 22, 2009 9:41 pm

    Heather you look great! Not a drop of makeup and you don’t need it. Love the legwarmers. You have to check out the supersoft styles @ http://www.babylegs.net! I have like 8 pairs between my two kids and they’re awesome for adults, too…either on arms or legs. Have a great week!

  44. November 22, 2009 9:52 pm

    I’m totally jealous of your leg warmers! You look gorgeous in that pictures! I swear, you’re always glowing 😀

    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  45. November 22, 2009 9:52 pm

    Elyse, Thanks for the leg warmer tip. 🙂

  46. November 22, 2009 10:28 pm

    leg warmers are so back! no, they never left. love too!

  47. Christopher Ian Hill permalink
    November 22, 2009 10:49 pm

    Yes, bring back the 80s! 🙂 Hey, I wear Member’s Only Jackets! 🙂 …oh were talking about food he he he….I have been eating semi-healthy! I have yet to try some of your recipes…I’ll find one eventually! 🙂

  48. November 23, 2009 12:24 am

    Leg warmers!? You are so kidding me! It has taken me decades to catch up with the last trends and now we are going back?

  49. November 23, 2009 3:45 am

    Ooooooo those pancakes look so good! You also looks so pretty in that picture, and I have to say I’m so in love with your blog, its one of my must reads everyday! x x

  50. Chelsea Ward permalink
    November 23, 2009 5:55 am

    Cute legging and yummy looking pancakes!

    What exactly is So Delicious Coconut Kefir?

  51. November 23, 2009 7:11 am

    Love, love, love those leg warmers! You are too cute! Funny, I was thinking last week that I wanted to get a hold of some! You mentioned Maple extract in this post….did you mean syrup or is there an extract out there….cause that would be a yummy Maple booster!

  52. November 23, 2009 7:16 am

    OMG!! Legwarmers totally need to make a comeback. I think you can spearhead the movement 😉

  53. November 23, 2009 7:22 am

    Heabie you totally rock those leg warmers! I think they’re definitely made for your body type–long and lean!
    I’m going to look through your archives to find a veggie mess inspiration. I nead a HEAB-inspired lunch today. Trying to stay on track for XMas.

  54. November 23, 2009 8:12 am

    Chelsea, So Delicious Coconut Milk Kefir: http://heathereatsalmondbutter.com/2009/07/10/coconut-milk-kefir/

  55. November 23, 2009 8:14 am

    Marla, I bought maple EXTRACT. Look for it in the baking aisle at Whole Foods. You’ll love it.

  56. November 23, 2009 8:17 am

    Ah your leg warmers are so cute!! Love the breakfast as well 🙂

  57. November 23, 2009 8:25 am

    Your so pretty heabers!!!

    I have been craving the heck outta some pancakes but I keep forgetting to make them!! I might need you to text me tomorrow morning and remind me. hehehe

    Love,
    Justine

  58. November 23, 2009 8:32 am

    Justine, You know, pancakes aren’t just for breakfast. 🙂

  59. Amy permalink
    November 23, 2009 8:35 am

    Only you could look soooo cute in those legwarmers! I would’ve never believed that trend would come back around…but, I should’ve known better!!

    I enjoyed your detailed posting of eats too – as soon as I can find some kabocha squash I’m all over it! Even my whole foods doesn’t carry it. Ok, silly rant ended!

  60. November 23, 2009 6:23 pm

    Love the legwarmers! So cute and look SO comfy!! (oh and yeah, those pancakes look Goooooo gooood!)

  61. November 23, 2009 8:13 pm

    Ooh, I love those leg warmers!

  62. Theorist permalink
    November 24, 2009 4:44 pm

    LOL! I SOOO hope you took some time to flashdance before or after you prepared your food!

Trackbacks

  1. Groovy Workouts « Heather Eats Almond Butter

Leave a Reply

