Skip to content

A Date With MJ

November 19, 2009

My friend Stephanie called me today to see if I wanted to go see Michael Jackson’s This Is It tonight. Without hesitation, I said “yes” as I’d been wanting to see it for a few weeks now. So after work, I flew through the house, begged CD to NOT watch The Office without me, and flew back out the door. I only got to see my husband for a total of 5 minutes today. 😦

It didn’t occur to me that I was hungry until I was already on my way to the movie. My two options were to grab something on the way or wait until I got home at 9:30 to eat. The theater is right next to Whole Foods…

IMG_3760.JPG

Sushi – never been a fan (self-proclaimed nori hater), but several people have told me that you can’t really taste the nori in Whole Foods sushi. So, I took a chance, and I’m glad I did because my brown rice crab meat California roll was quite good. I ate every last bite of the sushi and scraped all the hummus off the side of my salad bowl with a few quick bites of veggies. Katie, now that I found a sushi I actually like, I really need those chopstick lessons!

The movie was great – loved it. In fact, it took everything in me not to come home, blare my History album (which by the way I stood in line to buy at Tower records at midnight the day it was released), and dance up a storm. Would have totally done so if CD wasn’t already asleep on the couch.

Now my face is washed, my teeth are brushed AND flossed (flossing freak I am), and I’ve got my yoga clothes on for a 6 AM heated vinyasa class.

IMG_3766.JPG

Goodnight my beloved ones.

Wait, don’t forget to enter One Frugal Foodie’s giveaway for a chance to win a copy of Go Dairy Free. That book changed my life. Hurry, you have less than 2 hours left to enter!

28 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2009 10:25 pm

    I’ve never been a sushi fan either, maybe I will grab some when I am at Whole Foods!

    Glad you liked the movie!

  2. November 19, 2009 10:35 pm

    Enjoy that class. I wasn’t going to see the movie but maybe I will now!

  3. November 19, 2009 10:48 pm

    ha! Cute that you sleep in your yoga clothes. Once I went for a walk in the clothes that I had slept in because they weren’t actually PJs but rather loose yoga type pants. However the nice british family we were staying with thought I was insane and the little girl asked, “why is Deb going for a walk in her pajamas?” :-/ Bit embarrassing nonetheless.

    Good girl, flossing!

    LVOE LOVEE LOVEEEE LOOOVEEEEE sushi. Even buy nori to snack on. Surprised you dont like it!!?

  4. elise permalink
    November 19, 2009 10:49 pm

    i really wanna see that movie.

    random question, do you go to bed in the clothes you are going to wear the next AM to yoga? if so, thats brilliant.

  5. November 19, 2009 11:20 pm

    OMG OMG OMG!!!! I am so mad you didnt try the sushi with me but I am super thrilled you liked it!!!!! If Keith Urban likes eats it why not try some right?? hehehehe

    So when is our WF’s sushi date??

    Love you!
    Justine

  6. Cat permalink
    November 20, 2009 12:27 am

    The best part about Whole Foods sushi is that it is made with brown rice! You just never find that anywhere else!

  7. November 20, 2009 1:42 am

    I sleep in my workout clothes too! It saves me time in the morning 🙂 You are just absolutely gorgeous, my friend.

  8. Chelsea Ward permalink
    November 20, 2009 5:42 am

    I personally love sushi, but that brown rice version looks like a wonderful alternative for those that are nori-wary. I love that it’s made with brown rice.

    Glad you enjoyed the movie!

  9. November 20, 2009 5:44 am

    Elise, Yes, always. Live in my yoga clothes. If it weren’t a hot yoga class I was going to, I’d probably just end up wearing them to work this morning as well. 🙂

  10. November 20, 2009 5:45 am

    Soon Justine. Let’s go soon!

  11. November 20, 2009 5:53 am

    Never tried sushi–but I LOVE hot yoga:)

  12. November 20, 2009 6:12 am

    I LOVE sushi, mainly for the nori. Yum.

  13. quinnlovescali permalink
    November 20, 2009 6:13 am

    Heather, I’m so happy that you’re moving toward a GF lifestyle. I have a gluten intolerance, and I love love love your simple, whole-food recipes. I cannot wait until you share more ingenuous GF gems. Thank you!

  14. November 20, 2009 6:16 am

    Fabulous times and with fabulous company!

  15. November 20, 2009 6:39 am

    Glad you enjoyed the sushi! Hope you have a great practice this morning 🙂

  16. Melanie permalink
    November 20, 2009 6:50 am

    benefit of being a brushing/flossing freak: you (almost) never get cavities. 28 years and counting:). Hope you have a good day!!

  17. November 20, 2009 7:17 am

    I love that you sleep in your yoga clothes. I sleep in work out gear for early morning sessions too.

  18. November 20, 2009 7:39 am

    I really wanted to watch the MJ movie but I haven’t been able to yet. Maybe next week if it’s still in theatres!

  19. November 20, 2009 8:12 am

    I heard the MJ movie is really touching. HOpe you enjoy it.
    the food from WF looks very veggie-full!

  20. DiningAndDishing permalink
    November 20, 2009 8:16 am

    Those Whole Foods veggies look fantastic. Being able to grab something healthy and delicious like that is such a nice option these days. Remember when all that was available on the way to the movies was fast food?? blech.

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  21. November 20, 2009 8:21 am

    i love that you sleep in your yoga clothes 🙂

    sounds like a fun night! and I can’t use chopsticks either.

  22. November 20, 2009 8:21 am

    I really want to see the movie, glad you enjoyed it! I’m sure it would make me want to do the same thing 😉

    Hope you had a great yoga class this morning!

  23. Tiffany P. permalink
    November 20, 2009 8:27 am

  24. November 20, 2009 9:22 am

    I realize there is probably 10 times better sushi out there, but I always get mine from Whole Foods and I love it and wouldn’t have it any other way 🙂 It’s depressingly hard to find brown rice at the “authentic” places.

  25. November 20, 2009 10:06 am

    Awesome – thanks Tiffany. Will watch this when I get home from work.

  26. November 20, 2009 10:08 am

    Such a cute picture of you! What a pretty lady. Glad you enjoyed the movie and got some good food in. Josh has been on travel all week so I didn’t watch the office last night either (so I could watch it with him tonight!)

  27. November 20, 2009 11:07 am

    Have really been enjoying the full days of eats! 🙂 I also am a huge nori hater but on your recommendation I might go give those a try…

    Really cute picture too.

  28. November 20, 2009 4:13 pm

    how amazing was This is It?! When he sang “why” it took my breath away.. what incredible talent!

Leave a Reply

