Skip to content

Good Morning

October 22, 2009

Hello sweet friends. Just checking in before my crazy day begins.  I made it home super late last night. My trip to California was one of the coolest opportunities I’ve ever had, and I’ll post about the rest of my time with the POM folks soon.  All the employees we met were so passionate about their jobs at POM, and I have a great deal of respect for the company.  Can’t wait to share some of what I learned with you.  However, it’s going to have to wait as I’m back in the real world. There is unpacking, laundry, and a very full inbox to deal with, not to mention the fact that I need to get into work soon.

Before I get started on the rest of my day, I shall share with you my breakfast. Ah, it’s good to be home. 

Ezekiel toast with all my favorite toppings.

Ezekiel toast with all my favorite toppings.

One slice had soy-free Earth Balance + egg and the other was slathered with Trader Joe’s crunchy unsalted peanut butter and kabocha squash butter.  Still no almond butter yet! Soon my friends…very soon. 🙂

Look what else was waiting for me when I got home.  A wonderful Chocolate Covered package.

Fudge Babies and the sweetest homemade card.

Fudge Babies and the sweetest homemade card.

Close up. These are not going to last long.

Close up. These are not going to last long.

Thanks so much Katie. Your Fudge Babies are both healthy and indulgent, not to mention the fact that they taste amazing. The perfect combo!

If you’ve emailed me, expect a response in the near future.  I’m off to conquer my to-do list. First things first, gotta hide these Babies…just kidding CD. You can have one. 😉

P.S. I’m going to be playing around with my blog format today. So, if all of sudden everything goes crazy, that’s why.

52 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2009 9:01 am

    Welcome Back! I loved reading all the POM tour updates.

    Those fudge babies look so so so good!!

  2. October 22, 2009 9:05 am

    Welcome back – it looks like you had an awesome time in California!

  3. October 22, 2009 9:06 am

    You cracked me up with your Frisee Babies message. How vile would those be?

    Anywhoos… I’m so glad the babies arrived ok!! I’m also super-glad you had a safe and fun trip 🙂

    Love,
    Katie

  4. Brandi permalink
    October 22, 2009 9:10 am

    Glad you got home safely! Love the welcome home breakfast, even without almond butter 🙂

    Katie’s so sweet! And those fudge babies look awesome.

  5. October 22, 2009 9:12 am

    Always nice to get back home 🙂 I’m sure CD and the puppers missed you like crazy. Delicious looking bfast! Enjoy your day- good luck with the to dos

  6. October 22, 2009 9:13 am

    Ooooh I am so jealous you got some fudge babies.

  7. October 22, 2009 9:16 am

    So glad you had fun in Cali!!! Yummy looking toast and YA to Katie for passing along those amazing fudge babies 🙂

  8. October 22, 2009 9:39 am

    This is me reading your blog: “Heather’s home…good trip…breakfast….SCREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEECH!!!!!!! KABOCHA SQUASH BUTTER?!?!?!?” Then I started doing this happy dance that looked a lot like a chicken being chased by a hungry wolf.

    That is BRILLIANT.

  9. Claire permalink
    October 22, 2009 9:56 am

    I can’t wait to hear about all the stuff you learned!!cc

  10. October 22, 2009 10:09 am

    Ooo those fudge babies look yummy!

  11. October 22, 2009 10:14 am

    Welcome back!
    Those fudge babies look yummy 🙂 So does that breakfast!

    Hope your day’s going good 🙂

  12. October 22, 2009 10:19 am

    Fudge baby love!! They look so good!

  13. October 22, 2009 10:21 am

    Awesome eats & treats! 🙂

  14. October 22, 2009 10:21 am

    MmMm delish breakfast. your egg is quite stunning 😉

  15. October 22, 2009 10:45 am

    Heather i just love your blog. i’m so glad you went crazy for a night and really indulged- what are “rules” if they are not to be broken every now and then? 😉

  16. October 22, 2009 10:53 am

    Welcome back Heather! Can’t wait to hear about your trip! Have fun with blog formats… I just went through all that last weekend!

  17. October 22, 2009 10:57 am

    Those fudge babies look so good.
    All the POM posts were amazing. That’s one fruit I do not tap into enough

  18. October 22, 2009 11:04 am

    Those look Yummy!!!

  19. October 22, 2009 11:05 am

    what an amazing trip! Hmm i always seem to conveniently forego my stupid food rules when I have aaaamazing food in front of me as well 😀 I heart that. Glad u made it back safely!

  20. October 22, 2009 11:28 am

    Oooh squash butter on toast sounds amazing. I will most definitely be adding that into my morning routine. Love all your fun concoctions!

  21. peaceandpeanutbutter permalink
    October 22, 2009 11:38 am

    Yum, that Kombocha squash butter sound delicious! Speaking of Kombocha….I bought my FIRST ONE yesterday!! What should I do with it first??!!

  22. October 22, 2009 11:40 am

    hi there! i’ve been a ‘lurker’ for a little bit now, and i just have to tell ya i LOVE your blog! im working on finding balance in my eating/exercise part of life and have found your blog very inspirational! thanks! 🙂
    *alli

  23. October 22, 2009 11:42 am

    Erika,Roast it: I slice my little pumpkin in half, scoop out the seeds, and place the halves face down on a cutting board. I then slice it into strips – about 1/2″ thick and roast on parchment lined baking sheets (usually takes 2) in a 425º oven for 40 minutes. Perfect.

  24. October 22, 2009 11:43 am

    Thanks for reading Alli. 🙂

  25. October 22, 2009 11:50 am

    Just found my first kabocha squash and immediately thought of you!! I’m going to make it with some whole wheat pasta and broccoli tonight…should be good 🙂

  26. October 22, 2009 12:13 pm

    Those fudge babies look amazing!

  27. October 22, 2009 12:51 pm

    I’m glad you enjoyed your trip! Can’t wait to see what you do with the blog 🙂

  28. October 22, 2009 1:29 pm

    yum. toast with all your favorite toppings.. looks awesome.

    i wish i could conquer my fear of bread :(…

  29. October 22, 2009 1:43 pm

    Ok if it was “was one of the coolest opportunities I’ve ever had” (and I know you’ve done awesome cool things!), I really can’t wait to hear about your trip.

    But must say that Katie’s Fudge Babies look soooo good. May have to get my Vita (back) out later on 🙂

    Good luck w/ the site changes. I know they’re always a little nerve wracking to say the least.

    xoxo

  30. October 22, 2009 1:45 pm

    p.s. Do you have a place OTHER THAN WF where you get the E.B. Soy Free butter? They used to have it at TJ’s in San Diego but here only in WF and since I am kinda on a WF boycott b/c I go in for butter and come out $176 later kinda thing…I’d rather not even go in 🙂

  31. October 22, 2009 1:51 pm

    love your pics frmo your POM trip! those fudge babies look amazing!! and so cute too 🙂 enjoy them!

  32. caronae permalink
    October 22, 2009 2:58 pm

    Glad you had fun on the tour! That breakfast looks awesome. I might have to try it this weekend!

  33. October 22, 2009 3:02 pm

    Do you ever get sick from eating ezekiel bread? I’m not sure how my body would react to the soy in it so I tend to stay away. Just wondering if you noticed anything.

    Fabulous package from CCV!

  34. October 22, 2009 4:13 pm

    Love the kabocha squash butter! I’ve made it a couple times now, and it just doesn’t last very long around here!

  35. October 22, 2009 5:19 pm

    Welcome back! Glad you got home safely!

  36. October 22, 2009 5:28 pm

    Glad that you had a great time at POM> Look forward in hearing more about it. Katie’s Fudge babies look so good! Yum!!

  37. October 22, 2009 5:51 pm

    glad your trip was fun but it is always nice to come home 🙂 love the idea of your breakfast. sounds delicious!

  38. October 22, 2009 6:46 pm

    Wow, that’s cool. I just bookmarked Katie’s Fudge Babies today, to make sometime in the near future. Total awesomeness! 😀

    Glad you enjoyed your trip, Heather. Can’t wait to read all about it!

    *smiles*
    Michele

  39. October 22, 2009 8:15 pm

    I have got to make those Fudge babies! Mmm! Love your breakfast 😀

    ❤ jess

  40. October 22, 2009 8:28 pm

    Averie, I’ve never seen the soy free Earth Balance anywhere but Whole Foods. Maybe one of your smaller local health food stores carries it, or perhaps they could order for it you?

  41. October 22, 2009 8:33 pm

    Shelby,I felt a little off today, but I think it’s from some stuff I ate on my trip. My belly is not use to so much rich food. I don’t think Ezekiel bothers me, but I eat it very rarely. Sometimes I just need toast!

  42. October 22, 2009 8:34 pm

    Fit Vegan Girl,Just finished off the last of kabocha butter. So sad – I’m hoping to get more squash soon. So glad you like the recipe. Super easy, no? 🙂

  43. hayleycepeda permalink
    October 22, 2009 8:35 pm

    Oh man…I am so behind on so many blogs! I need to go back and read your old posts. This CA trip sounds awesome! Your brekky is looking really good right now. I haven’t eaten eggs in a while and that one you made looks pretty yummy!

  44. October 22, 2009 9:10 pm

    Love the chocolate….I pretty much love any chocolate – I don’t care if it’s dark, organic or a good ‘ole Reeses Pieces! 🙂

    3 days without Almond Butter?! Say it ain’t so! I feel your pain. Hope you resolve that soon…I always have a ‘stash’ of nut butters on hand in case of such an emergency. I typically get the MaraNatha Almond Butter, haven’t tried any other kind. Of course, we don’t have quite the selection as you do in the States here.

    Hope you rest up from your trip!

  45. October 22, 2009 9:11 pm

    EatMoveLove,Maranatha is one of my favorites. It’s all you need. 🙂

  46. October 22, 2009 11:06 pm

    There is nothing like a fresh egg (the ones straight from the farm are to die for…not even improved by Sirachi!)

    I just got some coffee pom and am wanting to try them out in a biscotti recipe. Thanks for the heads up about yoga…makes a big difference for me…

    Can you check out my challenge?
    http://thespecialktreatment.wordpress.com/

  47. Ellie Rae permalink
    October 23, 2009 6:27 am

    Your breakfast looks amazing! I love reading your blog but I really hope the blogroll comes back– it’s such a great resource!

  48. DiningAndDishing permalink
    October 23, 2009 6:31 am

    Jealous of those fudge babies!! Chocolate is the best food EVER :O)

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  49. October 23, 2009 6:37 am

    Ellie Rae, I’ll put the blog roll back right now. 🙂

  50. October 23, 2009 6:41 am

    Nice breakfast! I’ve been craving some eggs on toast lately.

  51. peaceandpeanutbutter permalink
    October 23, 2009 11:54 am

    Thanks for the ideas Heather. Oh Gosh, I didn’t realize just what I was missing! Kombocha is so soft and sweet and delicious! I’ve smooshed it with Laughing Cow cheese, and tried it with butter, Nunaturals + cinnamon. Heaven.

  52. October 24, 2009 6:51 am

    I always love coming home and getting to eat simple, homemade food vs. packaged and eating out when on trips!!

    So jealous of the fudge babies! =)

Leave a Reply

