Skip to content

POM Pickin

October 20, 2009
tags:

Hey HEABers, we just arrived at our hotel in Visalia, CA after touring the pomegranate orchards this morning.  Again, many thanks to the POM Wonderful folks for inviting me on the Blogger Harvest Tour. I’m learning so much, and you can expect some pomegranate recipes on HEAB in the very near future. Cannot wait to do some experimenting in my kitchen. 😉

I’m going to let the pictures do the talking…

After 30 minutes of random interval circuit training in my room, I headed downstairs to meet up with everyone for breakfast. It’s been so neat meeting all the other bloggers that are here.

Continental Hotel Breakfast done right after 30 minutes of random circuit training in the hotel room.

Continental hotel breakfast done right. Oatmeal bar = happy HEAB.

We then loaded up into vans and drove a couple of hours to POM’s orchards where 2 planes met us to do a fly over of the fields.

Me and Janel.

IMG_3350

 So excited to finally meet Roni. She is hilarious.

So excited to finally meet Roni. She is hilarious!

Coco, Eric, and me.

Me, Coco, and Eric

 Roni, Kristy, and Gina sat up front in the cockpit…she was missing her Pilot. 😦

Roni, Kristy, and Gina up in the cockpit...she was missing her Pilot. :(
The pomegranate orchards.

The pomegranate orchards.

Lunch. I ate the turkey sandwich sans cheese.

Lunch. I ate the turkey sandwich sans cheese.

I skipped the cookie, and instead tried one of the new POMx Bars.

Very chewy brownie-like texture with a hit of peanut butter.  Contains a bit of dairy in the chocolate coating and a little high in sugars, but tasted lovely.

Very chewy brownie-like texture with a hint of peanut butter. Contains a bit of dairy in the chocolate coating and a little high in sugars, but tasted lovely.

Look at the pomegranates!  I was amazed. So cool.

Look at the pomegranates! I was amazed. So cool.

Brad Paris, Vice President and General Manager for POM Wonderful’s produce business met us in the orchards to tell us all about the harvest season (October – November).  POM Wonderful cultivates 18,000 acres of land in Northern California to grow their pomegranates, almonds, and pistachios.  Was it wrong that I was almost more excited to see the almond trees?  

POM Picking 101

POM Picking 101

There is an almond in there!!!!  So exciting to pick my own almond and eat it.

There is an almond in there!!!! So excited to pick my own almond and eat it.

We got to pick pomegranates to take take back home.

We got to pick pomegranates to take back home with us.

Brad cut open for us so we could try them. The seeds are called arils. So yummy.

We also got to taste test a few. The seeds are called arils. So yummy.

 Gina, Coco, Me, and Emily enjoying our fresh picked pomegranates

Me and the girls enjoying are fresh picked pomegranates.

On tonight’s agenda is an educational Q & A session with Janel, a registered dietician and author of Dine Dish Delish followed by dinner at The Vintage Press, where the chef has prepared a special pomegranate filled dinner for us. I cannot wait.

Hope everyone is having a good week thus far!

51 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2009 7:08 pm

    Ahh fresh pomegranates straight from the tree! This looks amazing and totally fun!

  2. October 20, 2009 7:23 pm

    Oh looks like a great day! Loving that oatmeal (I think?!) with the trail mix on top – oh my! – and eggs with salsa(?!) …haha- I hope I’m looking at this right:)…I adore salsa or pasta sauce on anything and everything…it’s borderline ridiculous 🙂

  3. October 20, 2009 7:25 pm

    That’s all soooo amazing. You have to wonder how long fruit’s been out when you buy it but not when you pick it like that! I can’t wait to try the pom peanut butter bars

  4. October 20, 2009 7:29 pm

    Private planes, free trips, strolling thru pomegran vineyards, hanging out with hot chicks…dang girl, could I get in on that next time ?! 🙂

    It all looks fabulous…have a rockin time!

  5. Kristen permalink
    October 20, 2009 7:32 pm

    HEABs you are presh! Enjoy your time there!!

  6. October 20, 2009 7:35 pm

    All looks amazing! I am so happy you get to experience this! I’d be most excited by the pistachios.

  7. October 20, 2009 7:35 pm

    Sounds like a really fantastic experience so far. And how cool to meet so many other bloggers! Enjoy the rest of your adventure!

  8. October 20, 2009 7:36 pm

    This is so cool! I am thoroughly enjoying reading about everyones experience. Thanks!

  9. October 20, 2009 7:38 pm

    I would have been stoked to see almond trees too. I love the composition of your pic with the pom trees. It is awesome to see the branches go through the middle. Beautiful pic.

    And the pics of the people were nice too 🙂

  10. melruns permalink
    October 20, 2009 7:40 pm

    Did you, or did you not inspire the New York Times: http://www.nytimes.com/2009/10/20/health/nutrition/20recipehealth.html?_r=1&ref=nutrition

    I believe you did 🙂

  11. Brandi permalink
    October 20, 2009 7:41 pm

    how fun! The poms look beautiful on the trees.

  12. tosha25italia permalink
    October 20, 2009 7:47 pm

    Sounds amazing and looks amazing too – thanks for sharing!

  13. October 20, 2009 7:54 pm

    I am so glad you are having such a great time! 🙂 Looks like a great time and love that hotel breakfast!!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  14. October 20, 2009 8:06 pm

    The Pom bar looks very decadent- I can see why you chose it over the cookie! 🙂 You are so close, yet so far 😦

  15. October 20, 2009 8:19 pm

    I have never had a pomegranate before but now I may have to pick one up!
    It would be interesting to bake with one

  16. October 20, 2009 9:23 pm

    So glad you are having a blast! That one picture of the opened pomegranate is gorgeous!

  17. October 20, 2009 9:28 pm

    Looks like a lot of fun. Those pomegranates are beautiful. Love the cute little plane. Enjoy your evening!

  18. October 20, 2009 9:48 pm

    Wow all of the POM pics are beautiful! I love the shot of you in the Pom tree; you match 🙂

  19. October 20, 2009 9:58 pm

    That looks like so much fun.

  20. October 20, 2009 10:30 pm

    Heather, this is awesome! So great that you get the opportunity for this trip! And to see all of the bloggers…how fun. Big hugs your way my dear.

    I’ve been sort of MIA as I am a part of the amazing Nutrition program going on right now through CorePower Yoga (NUT for short:)). I can’t wait to share more…it has been absolutely grand! It was weekend intensive, friday night, all day sat and sunday and then night follow-ups for three tuesdays. So, from friday eve to sunday early afternoon, we did 5 yoga classes! Yes, 2 classes on both sat and sun…holy soreness batman! Monika, a teacher at CPY who you met while you were here is the lead, with other amazing coaches. Lot’s of eating for your blood-type/finding what your dominant gland is…very cool. I’ve been eating quiona, buckwheat, almond butter, lots of greens/veggies! I think of you every night when i sit down to plan my meals the next day. Ok…I am writing a lot…i will stop now. More later, off to bed. No caffine = early to bed Jillian. 🙂

  21. October 20, 2009 11:03 pm

    Too much fun! Congrats on the trip Heather!

  22. October 20, 2009 11:43 pm

    Jillian,Oh, how I would love love love to be taking that Nutrition program and doing yoga all weekend with you! Are you type A blood? Can’t wait to hear more about it. Email me when you’re done. Love, H.

  23. October 20, 2009 11:47 pm

    Eatmovelove,Good eye. Oatmeal with walnuts and raisins, and yes, eggs with salsa. Yummy brekkie.

  24. October 20, 2009 11:53 pm

    Melruns,Ha ha – yes, they must have been reading HEAB! 🙂 P.S. – Recipe sounds delicious, and I’m totally making it as soon as I get home.

  25. October 21, 2009 12:55 am

    So extremely cool. I was cracking up at the shot of Gina up in the cockpit. That crazy chick.

    I’m a little embarrassed to admit that I didn’t know that pomegranates grew on trees!

    I hope your dinner was as fabulous as your day!

  26. October 21, 2009 1:25 am

    totally jealous of the fresh pom from the tree!!!

  27. October 21, 2009 1:57 am

    Arils…who knew? Not only is your blog fun, it has also now become educational. 😉

    What an awesome experience you girls are having. And the one random almond…I love it…they knew you were coming!

  28. October 21, 2009 3:00 am

    Beautiful. That’s all I have to say 🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your time there and thanks for sharing your experience with us.

  29. October 21, 2009 4:23 am

    What an amazing experience!!!

  30. October 21, 2009 5:18 am

    FUN TIMES!! Oh and I love Em from the Sugar Plum blog – so glad you met up with her!

  31. Carolyn permalink
    October 21, 2009 6:19 am

    Hope you got a picture of yourself surrounded by almond trees! Maybe you could make a tiny one into a house plant back home…

    That broken open pom reminds me just how much fun they are to eat, as is…

    Keep having fun!

  32. October 21, 2009 6:35 am

    Such a fun experience! POM seems like a wonderful company.

  33. October 21, 2009 7:05 am

    You lucky dog! You never told me you were going to Ca! Have fun!! The almond trees were totally rad!!

    ~Justine

  34. October 21, 2009 7:19 am

    Justine,I didn’t tell you? Ahh, miss you. Really, I need to see you when I get home. Get in late tonight. Call or text me tomorrow!

  35. October 21, 2009 7:24 am

    I’m jealous of all the fun things you bloggers do!! Seriously, a once in a lifetime experience.

    I bought a container of tahini over the weekend 🙂 I had some yesterday and was reminded of how much I love it!

  36. October 21, 2009 7:26 am

    Tina, Tahini – oh how I miss it. I’m thinking tahini and pomegranates…ooh, I’m going to have fun when I get home. 🙂

  37. Melanie permalink
    October 21, 2009 7:43 am

    Hi Heather,

    I wonder if you could find this out. I love POM, but since I try to eat mostly all organic products…….POM doesn’t fall into this category.

    What I’ve always wondered is, do they treat the POM tree’s with anything? Maybe they naturally propel bugs and don’t need any pesticides. As a kid growing up in Vegas I can remember walking home from Middle school and there were Pom Trees (at least I remember them being tall – heck they were way taller than me, maybe they were vines though, lol). We’d pick them and snack on them on the way home. I know……not nice to pick things from other people’s yards……but this is what we did.

    Thanks,
    Melanie

  38. October 21, 2009 8:13 am

    Your trip looks totally rad! Thanks for keeping us posted 🙂

  39. October 21, 2009 10:23 am

    Cool! Is this a trip I would have been on if I’d chosen to talk about the free POM I got in the mail? haha. Well, I’ll tell you, my biggest reservation about it is that it’s not organic. Or is it? I mean, you’re the expert now. Spill it! 🙂

  40. October 21, 2009 10:32 am

    Okay, is it just me or is the POM guy a BABE!!! Hello?

    Yeah, in my pre-coffee mind I kept thinking you were going to see cranberries (they do have the same harvest period). I was picturing bogs in my mind, but that’s probably because a friend just went past the cranberry processor here in WA.

    Looks like a great trip!

  41. October 21, 2009 12:57 pm

    Those photos are scrumptious! I want to just chow down on those ruby gems!

  42. October 21, 2009 2:09 pm

    What beautiful fruit!

  43. October 21, 2009 7:25 pm

    what a great trip you’re having!!! so jealous of all you ladies!

  44. October 21, 2009 8:35 pm

    fresh almonds, pomegranates, and friends- looks like so much fun heather!

  45. October 21, 2009 9:21 pm

    Wow, I guessed right!! Great following you have hear Heather. Love it! I’m still posting…slowly but surely…more life stuff – and food of course – so check out my blog for any comments/advice if you have the time – you are busy ! – or if any of your readers would love to take the view. If you like, please do add me to your Blog-rolls…I’ve already added quite a few of yours 🙂

  46. October 21, 2009 10:38 pm

    Wow, what a fun trip!! So jealous! That pom bar looks super yummy! Definitely a good choice over the cookie! 🙂

    I love that you got to pick almonds, I think I might be more excited about that than the pomegranates!

  47. October 22, 2009 9:12 am

    It looks to be fun picking up pomegranates. It’s not a fruit I’m used to. Maybe I’ll buy one tonight. Your photos are great 🙂

  48. October 22, 2009 9:40 pm

    Tiffany,I read your comment to the POM people – they cracked up. Yes, the POM guy (Brad) was a cutie and very nice. 🙂

    I would actually love to go to a cranberry bog – always been intrigued by them.

  49. October 22, 2009 9:51 pm

    Michelle,The Wonderful pomegranates are not organic. Organic certification is super expensive, and organic produce usually has a much shorter shelf life. I was told they do spray the pomegranates with some pesticides but they use as little as possible. They also spray the fruit with a “sunblock” to keep the pomegranates from getting a sunburn, but they use an all natural clay. I hope to go into more detail in an upcoming post soon.

  50. October 22, 2009 9:54 pm

    Melanie,So sorry it’s taken me a few days to get back to you. Been a crazy week. In answer to your question, No, the Wonderful pomegranates are not organic. Organic certification is super expensive, and organic produce usually has a much shorter shelf life. I was told they do spray the pomegranates with some pesticides but they use as little as possible. They also spray the fruit with a “sunblock” to keep the pomegranates from getting a sunburn, but they use an all natural clay. Before the fruit is juiced, they are washed thoroughly,& covered with fungicide and a coating of wax. I’m hoping to go into more detail in an upcoming post soon.

  51. ali permalink
    November 29, 2009 9:31 am

    Dears
    Lets come to Turkey next time to visit our pomegranate orchards and grape vineyards.

    see you.

    Bye

    Ali

Leave a Reply

