Skip to content

POM Blogger Harvest Tour Begins

October 19, 2009
tags:

It’s way past my bedtime in Nashville right now, but I thought I’d squeeze in a quick post.

This morning before leaving the house at 5:30 AM, I had a small bowl of oat bran. Nothing too exciting.  I then flew to Dallas and was so happy to see Gina’s familiar Fitnessista face upon boarding my flight to California.

I never fly without packing food as I am not a fan of airport food. You never know what your options will be, and the prices are ridiculous.  So, on my way to Cali, I ate the following:

Cherry Pie Larabar, heirloom tomatoes, and red bell pepper strips.

Cherry Pie Larabar, heirloom tomatoes, and red bell pepper strips.

I wanted to save the rest of my stash to eat towards the end of the flight, but I ate it about 10 minutes later out of boredom. 

Baked sweet potato and a sickly looking avocado. Ate it all.

Baked sweet potato and a sickly looking avocado. Ate it all.

Try cutting into an avocado with a plastic knife, taking a picture of it, and then eating it with a spoon on an airplane.  Trust me, you will get some weird looks. 🙂

We made it safely to Fresno and met up with Shirley, Emily, Tina, and Caitlin.  So fun as Tina’s and Caitlin’s blogs were two of the first I ever read.

After a short walk with Coco (love her!), I came back to my room to rest up a bit. Then the POM folks then treated us to a yummy dinner at BJ’s Brewery. Thanks POM!

Gina, Me, and Caitlin

Gina, Me, and Caitlin

I followed Gina’s advice and ordered the Garden Medley Salad with blackened salmon, no cheese, and a side of steamed veggies. Gina, you’ve got good taste!

That salmon was so good! CD, you need to learn how to blacken fish. ;)

That salmon was so good! CD, you need to learn how to blacken fish. 😉

Time for bed as I’m going to get up super early and try and fit in some exercise prior to our 7 AM breakfast, and then it’s off to tour the pomegranate orchards.  I leave you with a photo of my pajamas.

Night night.

Night night.

49 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2009 12:00 am

    Heather I wish I could be there…wow what a great trip it would be to hang out with so many awesome ladies in a great city and do things like “tour the pomegranate orchards”. Just a little bit cool 🙂

    Nitey nite to you looking adorable in your Pom bedshirt. Oh and great pic of you and the girls at dinner.

    xoxo

  2. October 20, 2009 12:04 am

    Heather you are SO beautiful!

    love your POM shirt!:D
    You are going to have such a blast on this harvest tour!

  3. October 20, 2009 1:11 am

    I’ve been reading everyone’s post on this and loved picking out your smiling face from the crowd! Looks like so much fun.

    I love your plane snacks. Haha–yes, I bet you did get funny looks photographing a sweet potato and browning avocado! I get them just snapping one of a latte 😉

    And your Larabar just reminded me of the most random dream I had last night where I learned the Cherry Larabar actually had bread in it, and I nearly died when I found out. Bizarre that I just remembered!

    Hope Cali is good to you!!

  4. Hanna M. permalink
    October 20, 2009 1:55 am

    Ha ha, love that you’re not embarassed by the weird looks you get when you eat veggies brought from home rather than the expensive c**p at the airport! I know how it feels…

  5. October 20, 2009 1:56 am

    Glad you had a fun dinner!

    Have a great time tomorrow!

  6. October 20, 2009 2:26 am

    That salmon looks so good 🙂
    Have a great tuesday!

  7. October 20, 2009 3:22 am

    I always get funny looks when I’m eating in public! esp. when I’m crunching on yellow carrots. 🙂

  8. October 20, 2009 4:34 am

    Horray for blogger meet-ups! I can only hope to meet up with you someday girl, we would have so much fun!

  9. October 20, 2009 5:03 am

    I absolutely LOVE your hair! It is gorgeous!

  10. October 20, 2009 5:12 am

    Aww, love the photo of you, Gina, and Caitlin!! And you’re totally rocking that POM shirt – work it! 😀

  11. Carolyn permalink
    October 20, 2009 5:23 am

    The avocado sweet potato combo picture is making me want that for breakfast right about now… no such luck.. Have a fun day today touring. I bet they are going to treat you great…!

    And i don’t know who said it already but your hair IS looking especially wunderbar in that picture with the girls…

    Don’t be lonely CD…

  12. October 20, 2009 5:25 am

    Have I told you how jealous I am that you’re all there?? Have a blast!

  13. October 20, 2009 5:55 am

    You are all so beautiful! The food at the restaurant looks so fresh and delicious. I’m actually enamoured with that sweet potatoe believe it or not haha – I hardly eat them and now they are piquing my interest…do you eat it plain or ‘top’ it up??

  14. rhodeygirltests permalink
    October 20, 2009 6:04 am

    the tee is super cute!

  15. October 20, 2009 6:09 am

    Too funny that you’re in Fresno.. that’s my HOME TOWN! Hope you enjoy.

  16. October 20, 2009 6:27 am

    I have been on a salmon kick lately, and man does that look good. Have fun in Fresno!

  17. October 20, 2009 6:37 am

    Lara,Ha ha – I would die too. So funny. Love, Heabie

  18. October 20, 2009 6:38 am

    Yes Shelby, we HAVE to meet up some today. Perhaps if you’re in a warm and sunny place next year, I can take a little vacay. 🙂

  19. October 20, 2009 6:40 am

    Thanks Carolyn,That’s my very rare flat ironed look. Love it straight, but I usually have that funky wavy frizz thing going on. Love your new haircut by the way. 🙂

  20. October 20, 2009 6:42 am

    EatMoveLove,There is nothing I love more than a plain baked sweet potato (well, ‘cept for roasted kabocha), but the secret is cooking it in the oven. I never microwave my potatoes. 425 for one hour flipping over after 30 minutes. It bathes in its own sweet juices. No toppings necessary.

  21. October 20, 2009 6:45 am

    Glad you made it okay. Looks like you and the rest of the lovely gals are having a fun time!! Love the POM shirt…you’re totally rocking it!

  22. October 20, 2009 6:50 am

    Oo I didn’t know you too were going on the POM tour–so fun!! And I love the idea of bringing sweet potatoes on the plane–may need to try that on my next flight in November!

  23. October 20, 2009 7:08 am

    I love your PJs and I think salmon and salad were made for each other. Especially with a little bit of asian dressing…

    Ha! I love that you just ate a whole avocado…and took a picture of it before eating it w/a spoon. I don’t get why people think food bloggers are weird….? 🙂

  24. October 20, 2009 7:19 am

    Heather I LOVE your plane snacks. I totally do the same thing.. airport/plane food is scary! lol. I have learned to ignore the “Weird” looks from others.. you’re the ONE eating healthy 😉 Have a super time!

  25. October 20, 2009 8:08 am

    I love that you ate veggies on the flight!! If people understood how awesome eating like that makes you feel, they’d look at you less weird-ly, ha ha.

    I hope you have a great time in CA 🙂

  26. October 20, 2009 8:28 am

    I love that you brought an avocado on the plain, that’s just classic HEABness right there.

  27. October 20, 2009 8:35 am

    Haha I love the sweet potato and avocado on a plane! People can stare all they want–long as we get our good food 😛

  28. October 20, 2009 9:34 am

    “Try cutting into an avocado with a plastic knife, taking a picture of it, and then eating it with a spoon on an airplane. Trust me, you will get some weird looks.”

    Priceless.

    Again, I am terribly jealous of you and your gorgeous hair…uh, I mean getting to hang out with some of my favorite bloggies!!!

  29. October 20, 2009 9:37 am

    It would be so much fun what you are doing!

    Enjoy!

  30. October 20, 2009 10:36 am

    Mmmm, loved BJ’s brewery when I was back in San Diego, though what I’d order there was less than healthy. 🙂 That salad looked great though! Enjoy your day!

  31. October 20, 2009 11:29 am

    aw, what a fun time!

    Your hair is so long! and fall colors look great on you. I’m jealous 🙂 I can’t wear browns or oranges.

  32. October 20, 2009 11:32 am

    Hello heather!!! I LOVE YOUR HAIR. period.

  33. October 20, 2009 11:52 am

    You look beautious HEABs!!!! I’m sad u are in CA without me, but I live in Socal anyway so iz coo 😀 That bj’s meal sounds great! I always get the bbq chicken salad and drool over everyone’s pizza 😀

  34. October 20, 2009 12:28 pm

    Too cool, HEAB!

    So if you got up early this morning for some exercise and went running, would that make you a POMmerRANian? Ok that’s a stretch.

    Enjoy!

  35. October 20, 2009 12:29 pm

    PS Unlike others before me in this here comments section, I do not envy your time in Fresno. Half my family hails from that city, and my guess is that the pomegranate orchard will be the highlight of your trip. 😉

    I have good reasons for living in NYC!

  36. tosha25italia permalink
    October 20, 2009 12:38 pm

    oh oh I was supposed to go on this – but I have my little guy and the 6 hour flight – I was scared of it!!! Have fun!! Can’t wait to hear all about it.

  37. October 20, 2009 12:51 pm

    Me being the pomegranate lover I am quite envious of your tour of a pomegranate orchard! What fun!!!

  38. Lola permalink
    October 20, 2009 1:38 pm

    Lol I did the same thing on the plane… the guy next to me actually said “you’re eating an ENTIRE avocado?” I was like “yeah and I have another one!!”

  39. jacobc permalink
    October 20, 2009 2:14 pm

    Awesome that you scored a trip to cali!
    Looks like you are having a blast!

    And congrats to CD saturday!- ya win some, and you win some.. ha

  40. October 20, 2009 2:22 pm

    Heather, you didn’t have trouble at the airport with the food? i though you couldn’t bring food to the plain 😛
    well whatever, have a lot of fun 🙂

  41. October 20, 2009 2:29 pm

    Heather, that looks like so much fun! So many familiar faces! Hope you have an awesome time!

  42. October 20, 2009 3:53 pm

    Oh I want to be at that dinner table with all the girls too! What FUN! Hope you are having a “blasty” as Gina would say! Love the pj’s!

  43. October 20, 2009 4:31 pm

    I love all your healthy airplane eats. I hate the prices and lack of options at the airport.

    BTW blackened fish is awesome and reminds me of my time living in the south…everything is blackened down there. 🙂

  44. October 20, 2009 4:37 pm

    OMG. The image of you eating an avocado with a plastic spoon on an airplane. Laughed my ass off. In the quiet computer lab.

  45. October 20, 2009 6:15 pm

    Lola,No trouble bringing solid foods on airplanes. Just no liquids.

  46. October 20, 2009 6:16 pm

    Tosha25italia,Wish you were here!

  47. October 20, 2009 6:21 pm

    Luckytastebuds, THANK YOU. period. 🙂

  48. October 20, 2009 6:45 pm

    OMG – can’t believe you ate a whole avocado on a plane! Hilarious but so fun. Wish I were there with y’all!

  49. October 20, 2009 7:00 pm

    Kath,Wish you were here too, but sounds like you had an amazing time in Montana. So beautiful up there!

Leave a Reply

