Skip to content

Chickpea Creations

October 14, 2009

Anyone tried Crazy Camel Dessert Hummus? When Barbara sent me the link to the company’s website, I so wanted to try them. However, I’m really trying to watch my online food orders. So, like Barbara, I decided to recreate some of the recipes at home.

First up was pumpkin hummus.

IMG_3310I’ve made something like this before, but had forgotten about it. Not sure why because it’s good!  I basically mixed 1/3 cup pumpkin with 2 TBSP prepared hummus and some pumpkin pie spice. Easy. Yum.

Then I got a little ambitious…

Peanut Curry Hummus

Peanut Curry Hummus

For this one, I just started throwing ingredients in my Vita-Mix.  If I remember correctly, it was 1/2 cup canned chickpeas, 1 TBSP curry powder, 1 TBSP peanut butter, 2 tsp rice wine vinegar, 1 tsp toasted sesame oil, 1 tsp raw honey, and a sprinkle of ginger & cinnamon. After drizzling in a little water to turn my hummus into more of a sauce, it made the perfect topping for steamed broccoli.

Ready for some sweet love?

Raw tahini massaged salad with buckwheat bread and chocolate chickpea spread.

Raw tahini massaged salad with buckwheat bread and chocolate chickpea spread.

Close up of the star of the show:

Homemade buckwheat bread turns purple.  Weird.

Homemade buckwheat bread was a bit weird, but the topping made up for it.

This spread was 1/2 cup canned chickpeas, 1 TBSP cocoa powder, and 1 packet of stevia.

Last but not least, my favorite chickpea concoction…

Almond hummus atop vanilla protein oat bran.

Almond hummus atop vanilla protein oat bran.

Into the Vita-Mix went 1/3 cup canned chickpeas, 1/2 ounce raw almonds (about 10 or 11 nuts) 1/2 packet of stevia, almond milk (1/8 cup?), and a tee-tiny bit of vanilla.  I love how some of the almonds stayed chunky.  You must try this – best breakfast of my week thus far, and a shout out to Maggie for her suggestion of letting the oat bran thicken up in the freezer for a few minutes after cooking.  It gets super thick, just like I like it.

Are you going to join me in some homemade chickpea adventures?   If not, you can always order some dessert hummus for yourself. The kind folks over at Crazy Camel Dessert Hummus are now offering a free bonus tub promotional code for all blog readers.  You can get a bonus tub with every order using the promotional code bonus01tub at checkout. The offer is ongoing and does not expire.

Off to dream up more chickpea recipes. 🙂

62 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2009 9:19 am

    You know I am loving all the broccoli in this post. And with pumpkin hummus on top? mmm. I want to try this dessert hummus.

  2. October 14, 2009 9:21 am

    I want to try EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THESE. How did you become such a hummus prodigy??

  3. October 14, 2009 9:22 am

    I really want to try the pumpkin hummus!

  4. October 14, 2009 9:23 am

    I have been wanting to make my own dessert hummus since I heard about these crazy hummus’s. I still have yet to have the guts to try them though, which is odd, because normally I’m all for kitchen experimentation…I’m going to have to make some with my next can of chickpeas!

  5. October 14, 2009 9:24 am

    I have never made my own hummus before but I am planning on trying to next week (after I grocery shop this weekend)! Thanks for the inspiration…pumpkin hummus sounds fabulous!

  6. October 14, 2009 9:33 am

    I just love how creative you are with all these add-ins to chickpeas! I bet the pumpkin one was awesome!

  7. October 14, 2009 9:35 am

    so creative, as always. The almond one sounds pretty tasty!

    Happy Wednesday Heather!

  8. October 14, 2009 9:38 am

    speaking of chickpeas… your curry hummus is ready! I’ll email you to see how we can arrange for getting it to you.

  9. October 14, 2009 9:43 am

    Mmm. All that hummus looks so good. A lebanese restaurant in my neighborhood makes a dessert hummus, but I’ve yet to try it. I think I may have to soon! And your peanut curry hummus sounds amazing!

  10. October 14, 2009 10:01 am

    Yum, I think the pumpkin hummus would be my favorite! I wonder what banana would be like? Hrmm… 🙂

  11. October 14, 2009 10:01 am

    Pumpkin hummus.. wow, that’s intense. I am loving all the pumpkin goodness I am seeing on everyone’s blogs! Great ideas.. and what a super way to spruce up some plain ol pita bread. Thanks for the ideas 🙂

  12. greensandjeans permalink
    October 14, 2009 10:06 am

    Wow, I LOVE chickpeas so I can’t wait to give a couple of these recipes a whirl!

  13. October 14, 2009 10:07 am

    Do you take orders? heeheehee! Just kidding…well, not really. These look great!

  14. October 14, 2009 10:10 am

    just when I thought hummus couldn’t get any better — oh dear me!

  15. October 14, 2009 10:13 am

    Niiiice. I will definitely have to try dessert hummus. Ive been thinking of doing hummus with black beans, because I’ve made those black bean brownies before and they were great.

    Can’t wait to hear about your new kabocha adventure… I’ll have to try it if it works! I’m hoping to make a pumpkin pie this week too.

  16. October 14, 2009 10:14 am

    Yum! I love hummus and dessert hummus sounds amazing!

    I’m really digging the pumpkin hummus concoction! That looks great:)

  17. October 14, 2009 10:24 am

    I found that site not too long ago. I understand why crazy is in the name. I’m excited to give it a try 🙂

  18. October 14, 2009 10:30 am

    Ummm…that sounds crazy. Crazy good, I think. The peanut curry sounds awesome, but then the dessert hummus is so intriguing.

    I’m very jealous that you did yoga in Ben’s old house. -Sigh- I think he’s had like three or four ex-wives too, haha, but its prob the most recent. One day, I swear, I’m going to come down there and you can tell me where to stalk him.

  19. October 14, 2009 10:37 am

    Dessert and hummus are not things I would have thought up together but wow that sounds good

  20. Steph permalink
    October 14, 2009 10:47 am

    YUMMM I really love the idea of the Peanut Curry Hummus on brocolli! I definitely am trying this!

    And theres nothing better sounding then putting Dessert and Hummus together!!!

  21. October 14, 2009 10:54 am

    All of them look delish! I have a ton of Kabocha left, and I’ve heard of the elusive Maple Powder so I’m thinking those two are going to have to have a hummus marriage!

  22. October 14, 2009 10:58 am

    You’re kind of a genius, Heather! I think I might be trying that peanut curry hummus. So good.

  23. October 14, 2009 11:03 am

    I hear “hummus” and think savory but you just convinced me to try your almond chickpea spread! Sounds really yummy!

  24. October 14, 2009 11:11 am

    Thats that dessert hummus I was telling you about one time. Girl, you are so much braver than I. I would be afraid I would totally screw up a batch and have to throw it away and I HATE throwing things away!!!

    I love all your creations. You are cute :).

    Tonights the night we go to Park Cafe! I am excited about the seafood and mojitos and Justin is excited about the mac. Hope its good 🙂

    ~Justine

  25. October 14, 2009 11:21 am

    beans, beans, beans, oh how i love thee? so versatile and yummy – perfect for me. i might be inspired to make some dessert humm after this!

  26. October 14, 2009 11:22 am

    Heather,

    You eat the weirdest food ever, but it all looks so delicious! I’m so glad you share your creative, yummy recipes with us!

  27. October 14, 2009 12:11 pm

    I think I’m the only food blogger who really just has to be careful about BEANS and hummus is beans and I’m so sorry that I can’t partake more than a tablespoon like once a month. Oh well…The dessert hummus sounds rocking and I love how you’re whipping things up in the Vita. That’s the way to go! I rarely “can’t save” something I do try, every once in awhile I have to dump it, but generally speaking agave or cocoa powder (for what I make) can save it 🙂

  28. October 14, 2009 12:20 pm

    Gracious, there certainly is hummus among us today! Your chickpea creations are just so HEAB, I love it. I’ve only just gotten around to posting my love of your Asian Fusion Oats and now you hit me with all this hummus goodness! Sigh, all in a day’s work I guess. 😉

  29. October 14, 2009 12:23 pm

    Averie, How are you liking your Blendtec? My one problem with the Vita-Mix is that things often get stuck in the bottom if I’m not using enough liquid. Does this happen with the Blendtec? You could always make dessert hummus using Gena’s raw hummus recipe. 🙂 Zucchini, tahini, cocoa, agave. Yum!

  30. October 14, 2009 12:27 pm

    Justine, I now vaguely remember you telling me about the dessert hummus. You must at least try the chocolate one. Pretty hard to screw up and so good!

    Text me after dinner tonight – let me know how you guys like it. I hope you get Jim as your server. We love him!

  31. October 14, 2009 12:38 pm

    Um yum! The hummus flavors sound so good!

  32. October 14, 2009 12:55 pm

    You kind of freak me out sometimes Heather, but because we are so similar in the way we just throw things into a blender and hope for the best. I feel fear when I do that, I when I read about YOU doing it I feel the same fear. I don’t think I have ever tossed any of my mixtures out though 😉 My biggest problem is trying to remember what the heck I threw in in the first place!

  33. October 14, 2009 1:06 pm

    Chickpeas are everywhere in the blogosphere on this particular day, so I think by the power of suggestion I’m going to have to make something hummus-y for dinner!

    I am strangely scared of almond hummus… but I trust you completely, so I’m sure it’s fantastic. Maybe I’ll get the nerver to try it this week!

    Pumpkin hummus sounds AWESOME … that may have to be made TODAY!

    p.s. I have a BlendTec and I LOVE it. 🙂

  34. 24carrots permalink
    October 14, 2009 1:43 pm

    I can’t wait to get my VitaMix – only a few more months.

  35. October 14, 2009 1:53 pm

    I am intrigued by dessert hummus, especially chocolate variety! I guess I will have to break out the Vitamix and give this a try 🙂

  36. October 14, 2009 2:08 pm

    ive tried the crazy camel hummus flavors.. YOU are creative.. i love the peanut one!!!

  37. October 14, 2009 2:45 pm

    You are brave Heather!! I’ve experimented with nut butters in hummus. But I’ve never gone that far before. Obviously, I need to gather up my courage and try it out for myself!

  38. October 14, 2009 4:28 pm

    I just went on that website and just about died! Everything sounded amazing and I love your recreations! I must try some soon!

  39. October 14, 2009 5:00 pm

    Desert hummus??? Only you could pull it off heather! 🙂

  40. Grace permalink
    October 14, 2009 5:38 pm

    I’m curious about the pumpkin hummus…I’m a HUGE fan of hummus and am always experimenting and jazzing up the traditional hummus in my food processor. However, I’ve never given it a sweeter twist…hm, might be my next experiment.
    -Grace
    http://funfitnessfreshair.blogspot.com

  41. Carolyn permalink
    October 14, 2009 5:52 pm

    HIAMS (Heather is a mad scientist)

    Do you have a food proccessor? Anything i am hesitant to put in the VM becacuse of maddening clump potential i put in the Cusianart…(which is now 25 years old and running like a charm) Like nuts for butters… Wider bowl is easier to keep from clumping.. and that removable blade…

  42. October 14, 2009 5:54 pm

    Carolyn, Yes, I need to use my food processor for future chickpea experiments. Too much clumpage at the bottom of the Vita-Mix. Such a pain to clean out…my tongue is simply not long enough. 🙂

  43. caronae permalink
    October 14, 2009 6:12 pm

    Very creative and fun, although I’d be a wee bit nervous to try a chocolate hummus 🙂

  44. October 14, 2009 6:22 pm

    I’ve never made my own hummus but all of yours look great! I just checked out their website too. I want the chocolate mousse!

  45. veggiebooty permalink
    October 14, 2009 7:15 pm

    Once again, you’re a genius. I recently discovered these dessert hummuses (plural spelling?), but have not been able to bring myself to buy them. Something about limiting my (online) shopping. So I’m so psyched that you created them at home *and* shared the recipe. So generous! Thank you =)

  46. October 14, 2009 8:37 pm

    Omg….I want to try ALL OF THESE!! I haven’t had dessert hummus before and your pics have my night tomorrow planned out. I am intrigued by the peanut curry and almond….
    Thanks for the recipes 🙂

  47. October 14, 2009 10:08 pm

    I LOVE homemade hummus–I practically make a new version every week. I’m partial to broccoli hummus and mango coconut curry varieties:)

  48. October 14, 2009 10:54 pm

    I don’t have a food processor or Vita-mix 😦 Do you think this would work in my blender?

  49. October 15, 2009 6:50 am

    Crazy Camel Dessert Hummus is AMAZING!!! I was lucky enough to receive some samples to taste test. I wish it was available in stores near me. Your creations look dang good. Have a great day Heather.

  50. October 15, 2009 6:55 am

    I was drooling over tha Crazy Camel hummus–I think it would be great for Xmas gifts–but now maybe I will try creating my own thanks to you!

  51. October 15, 2009 7:26 am

    Oh man, I used to put peanut sauce on everrrything back at home, but I think I’ll have to settle for a bottled version now. Oh well. The peanut curry one looks the best!

  52. October 15, 2009 7:57 am

    I love the idea of this! I am a huge fan of hummus! I am with you though, that stuff is way too expensive! I am going to give the sweet stuff a whirl soon!

  53. Claire permalink
    October 15, 2009 8:41 am

    Ok…I must experiment this weekend.Thank you for the inspiration.I love chickpeas!! cc

  54. October 15, 2009 8:54 am

    Amazing photos, I should try some of your raw recipes!

    http://katiechangesforkatie.blogspot.com/

  55. LisaM permalink
    October 15, 2009 8:56 am

    I love thick oatbran! I actaully make mine the night before and let it sit out. This saves time before class but it also lets the oatbran get all thick and congealed. When you add the mix-ins, you get yummy little “clumps” of plain oatbran. I know it sounds wierd but it is realllllly good!

  56. October 15, 2009 9:06 am

    how did you get so creative with all your food making? I love it

  57. October 15, 2009 11:10 am

    Whole Body Love,Yes, I don’t see why not – you may just have to add more liquid. I would recommend water, vegetable/chicken broth or olive oil for the savory recipes, and almond milk for the sweeter ones.

  58. October 15, 2009 11:11 am

    RunToTheFinish,I don’t know. Hunger? Boredom? 🙂

  59. October 15, 2009 11:11 am

    LisaM,Nope, now weird at all. I love clumps! Not a fan of oat bran “soup”

  60. October 15, 2009 3:48 pm

    What interesting new ways to use chickpeas. They are one of my favorites and I can’t wait to mix it up.

  61. October 17, 2009 7:56 pm

    Love these ideas, they are great! Chickpeas are utterly delicious and the ideas of desdert hummus make me really giddy. Is that lame hehe 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Bloggies are the Best « Dancing Around the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

