Skip to content

A Girly Kind of Day

September 16, 2009

Yesterday, I had the honor of hanging out with Kimberly from Living Free.  Kimberly and her husband are in Nashville for the week, and I was able to steal her for the day while her husband attended meetings for work.  Since I didn’t have to work until later in the afternoon, Kimberly and I had several hours together for some fun girl time.

First, I took her to Sanctuary for Yoga, my favorite studio in Nashville, for a 90 minute Vinyasa class.  

Pre-yoga and ready for some Down Dogs.

Pre-yoga and ready for some Down Dogs.

Kimberly, I’m still smiling after seeing you do that perfect headstand AWAY from the wall. 🙂

Sanctuary For Yoga happens to be right across the street from two of my favorite places…

Next stop: Whole Foods for lunch.

Next stop: Whole Foods for lunch, where I consumed much hummus.

Not one raw veggie in the mix. These days, I prefer them steam, roasted, or stir-fried. I think it’s the change in seasons as all I want are warm foods.

When I learned Kimberly had NEVER been inside a Trader Joe’s, I knew what must be done…

Kimberly, do you have any chocolate edamame left? ;)

Kimberly, do you have any chocolate edamame left? 😉

Kimberly, it was so nice to meet you in person, and I had a blast hanging out with you. You must come back to Nashville next year!

This morning, I skipped out on my 6 AM hot Vinyasa class. After doing 3 90 minute classes 3 days in a row, my body was talking to me.  No yoga.  I shut my alarm off at 5 AM with plans to sleep a bit later and go on a hike.  Well, I woke up to pouring rain at 7 AM, and hit up our stationary bike for 30 minutes of Tabata Intervals instead.  No work again until late this afternoon.  No one wants massages in the morning – most of my clients need to come after work.  This is one aspect of my job I don’t like because I’m such a morning person.  It’s hard for me to go to work late in the day and work through the afternoon and into the evening hours.  What about you?  What are your hours like?  I shouldn’t complain, CD has to be in the office from 7 AM to 5 PM everyday.  Thanks for working so hard CD!

65 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2009 9:04 am

    Heather my love!

    (Well, my other love besides Jay)

    I just posted about how amazing you are 🙂
    (Although words can never do you justice)

    Love,
    Katie

  2. September 16, 2009 9:09 am

    Awww, what a great day- yoga. WF and TJs- doesn’t get much better than that! I’ll check out Kimberly’s blog too.

    I’m a TOTAL morning person. I loved my work hours when they were 7.30-4.30, but of course it made workouts impossible, so I had to either ride my bike to and from work (about 50 min each way) or a lunch time walk to “my” bench (aka a bus stop) where I ate my lunch. Nice. Relaxing. Energy just tanks after that!

    Have a great day!

  3. September 16, 2009 9:10 am

    What a fun day for you two! I am also feeling the cooked veggies these days. I am mixing them in with raw (as I did for din din last night with your INCREDIBLE marinutta sauce ;)). Hooray for the TJs trip. Enjoy your day heather!

  4. September 16, 2009 9:10 am

    what a fun day! I would like to have a TJs trip with you at some point. I’m going this weekend and am SO excited!

    I work 8-5 every day. Boo.

  5. September 16, 2009 9:16 am

    it looks like you both had such an awesome time!!
    I am a Trader Joes virgin as well. I need to get to the states, asap!

  6. September 16, 2009 9:27 am

    I’m so glad to hear you and Kimberly had such a blast! She is such a sweet lady, and so are you 😉

    I am a big time morning person too (workouts are never in the evening!), but my classes are usually in the afternoon =P

  7. September 16, 2009 9:28 am

    I’ve never been to Trader Joe’s either. I don’t think they have any in Canada. What’s it like, Whole Foodsish?

  8. September 16, 2009 9:29 am

    What a great day!!!

  9. September 16, 2009 9:36 am

    What a nice outing/meet-up!!

    Hang in there with your schedule, my dear! And kudos to CD for his hard work, for sure. Awesome dude.

  10. September 16, 2009 9:47 am

    I am a full-time working musician, so my hours are also always in the afternoon evening (and a lot of weekends!) I a a freelance musician (weddings, etc), and I teach between 20 and 25 private students each week. I like my schedule though, because I am not a morning person at all, and I usually wake up very late!

    I love Trader Joe’s too!

  11. September 16, 2009 9:49 am

    I’m totally with you on stepping away from the raw veggies in the name of fall… roasted veggies in salad=DIVINE 🙂

  12. jacobc permalink
    September 16, 2009 9:51 am

    I have headstanddeficitis also.. not gonna happen.. ha!

    CD has it made, only one job? And he can work from colorado while “vacationing/working” for 6 weeks? 😉

    I typically work (accountant) 7a-4p m-f, then if it isn’t raining mow some yards in the afternoon, and more yards on the weekend. Just thankful to have a decent job(s), soo many people have no job and much less than i do.

    Cheers, J ;o)

  13. September 16, 2009 9:56 am

    Whole Foods hot bar…Mmmm!

  14. September 16, 2009 10:00 am

    Looks like you had a great day! I’m jealous of the Trader Joe’s, I have never been to one either!!

    Good for you for listening to your body today. And with the hot veggies…I’m going through the same thing right now. The thought of raw veggies makes me shiver 😉

    Gotta love the changing of the seasons!

  15. September 16, 2009 10:12 am

    My hours are cruddy like CD’s. I work from 8-4:30 M-F, and I severely dislike my job (and am also underpaid for what I do). Basically I work in 1960 a la “Mad Men”. I gotta pay the bills though, and haven’t been able to locate anything else in the current economic environment.

    I could use a nice day of relaxation like that 😉

  16. September 16, 2009 10:14 am

    I just saw the lovely oaties you made for CCK on her bloggie and they look awesome which just further solidfies that the bookmark I made from your post yesterday with them…I need to get on those…stat.

    I’ve been enjoying Kimberly’s blog but she’s been taking a little break and now I know where she’s been….Kimberly hi if you’re reading this and glad Heather de-virginized your TJ’s situation!

    My work hours..as a mom, it’s 24/7. Just about the time you think, ahhh, I am going to get 6 straight and uninterrupted hours of sleep, a 3:22am need arises. I used to work in bars/nightclubs and for 10 years worked 8p to 4am. It was horrible. I hate working nights because it is counter to every circadian and human biorhythm. So I can totally empathize with not wanting to work nights 🙂

  17. September 16, 2009 10:20 am

    sounds like you really do have a great job. I work from 8-5 5 days a week. It gets very hard some days, theres never enough time to get things done and exercise well.

    Kimberly sounds so fun!! You both had a perfect day by the looks of it! 🙂 yoga/trader joes/whole foods = PERFECT DAY 🙂

  18. September 16, 2009 10:22 am

    Hi Heather!
    I had an AWESOME day with you! I too skipped out on yoga this morning. You will be amused to know that I am SOOO sore from the class yesterday. I do have some chocolate edamame left–but they are going FAST:) I tried calling you this morning. I wish I could hang out in Nashville a little longer:)
    Hugs!

  19. September 16, 2009 10:24 am

    Oh, I would have GLADLY come for a massage this morning!

  20. September 16, 2009 10:35 am

    Looks like you two have a GREAT time! I love the blog world especially for inspiring friendships such as this.

    You know that Whole Foods is just a gateway trip for Trader Joe’s. Now Kimberly’s gonna be hooked on the good stuff. Heather’s nothing but a Health Pimp.

    I’m NOT a morning person at all and get my second wind around 9:30 pm, but must sleep for my 8:30-5 job. Fortunately, I work with/for all women which is lovely!

    Sorry for the rain, HEAB’s, but nice save with the bike!

  21. September 16, 2009 10:35 am

    Looks like you both had a great time! 🙂
    That’s awesome that she finally got to a Trader Joe’s…I was like that with Whole Food until just recently and I fell in LOVE!

  22. Lara permalink
    September 16, 2009 10:37 am

    Are those collards I spy from the WF hot bar? I love their collards but can’t seem to replicate them at home. After a summer of eating mainly raw veggies I am wanting steamed/roasted ones now as well. Funny how our appetites change with the seasons.

  23. Evan Thomas permalink
    September 16, 2009 10:40 am

    I must try this dark chocolate coated edamame

  24. September 16, 2009 10:47 am

    Ooooh, I can’t wait for my first Whole Foods and Trader Joes experiences when I go to Michigan next month!! I will always choose cooked veggies over raw ones. It’s just more comforting to me 🙂

    I’m kind of a morning person, but I prefer working in the afternoons. I like to have a leisurely breakfast, followed by a workout, then a big lunch. Afternoons are pretty boring around the house, so I might as well be at work! 🙂

  25. September 16, 2009 10:54 am

    My work sched is 12-9 and I love/hate it. I love being able to wake up in the morning, work-out, have a leisurely breakfast and shower. But sometimes come 5PM I am jealous of those who are leaving already! I find the best solution is to make the most of my morning hours since like you, they are my most productive!

  26. September 16, 2009 11:17 am

    Sounds like a great day too me! Trader Joe’s is a must for someone who’s never been!

  27. September 16, 2009 11:23 am

    I’m more of a morning person too. I like to get up and just get to work. By the time the evening comes I just want to veg out. That’s why I try to get most of my homework, especially my english essays, done in the morning. However, this doesn’t always happen due to me working mornings and having night classes, but I do what I can! Just checked out your butternut squash ice cream recipe…looks delish!

  28. September 16, 2009 11:26 am

    wow jealous of kimberly! I would love to spend a day with you, going into trader joes for the first time ever and eating chocolate edamame o.o
    hehe 🙂
    and yoga! omg. i never even do yoga but i want to so badly. dang it!
    -muffy

  29. September 16, 2009 11:26 am

    looks like an awesome day. I can totally relate on your raw v. cooked veggies feelings. In autumn and winter, toasty warm vegetables are much better than anything with a crunch!

  30. September 16, 2009 11:30 am

    Awesome day!! Kimberly is so sweet 🙂

    I actually took a yoga break for a few days too. I want to discover a new kind of yoga-type exercise. I’m thinking tai chi 🙂

    I am definitely a morning person but I end up doing the night thing because Bobby is a night person. I like it when he has a job that makes him get up early, hehe… That way we can be on *my* schedule.

  31. September 16, 2009 11:41 am

    Poor CD! I admire him so much for holding down a demanding office-based job and still managing to be the superhuman athlete and runner that he is ~ just goes to prove that the 21st century work-based lifestyle doesn’t mean that fitness and health related goals have to be sacrificed.

    Glad you enjoyed your day 🙂 I’m definitely a morning person to…I seem to lose brain cells as the day progresses.

  32. JHunt permalink
    September 16, 2009 11:43 am

    LOVE roasted veggies AND Trader Joe’s. I am a morning person as well. I do not even like to be out of the house on ‘school-nights.’ LOL 🙂
    -Jessica
    http://howsweet.wordpress.com/

  33. hayleycepeda permalink
    September 16, 2009 11:56 am

    Awww…I LOVE seeing bloggers meet up with each other! I just read Diana’s (Soap&Chocolate) post on meeting up with Gena. You guys are so lucky! It sounds as though you guys had a great time.

    90 minute yoga classes…WOW!! I can see why your body needed a break from it. I am a morning person in that I like getting my workouts done in the morning, but I don’t really enjoy working late in the evening. Since I’m a personal trainer I have flexible hours, but my jazzercise classes are always in the evening, except Saturdays. That’s when I have to motivate myself to get out of the house and pep myself up. 🙂

  34. September 16, 2009 1:06 pm

    What a fun day with Kimberly!

    I swear, each time you talk about yoga it makes me want to do it. For real!

  35. September 16, 2009 1:48 pm

    Fun fun!

    I’m with you on the veggies and the season– I have been so over salads for the last week and I’m sure that’s why.

    I’m also a morning person– and working past 4:00 is tough for me.

  36. September 16, 2009 1:48 pm

    Oooh…Whole Foods and TJs. Could the day get any better?

  37. September 16, 2009 1:59 pm

    ohhh to have a TJ’s I’m moving states away and still won’t have one, bummer!!

    my hours have been rididculous lately with 12-16 hour days, so I just wont’ go there.

    ok question for you… so right now I can only get myself to do liek 20 minutes of yoga before I just feel…well bored. Was it something you worked in to?

  38. September 16, 2009 2:17 pm

    Woah lady – 3 days of 90 min flows in a row annnnd you are my hero! I am loving yoga (only started 3 weeks ago!) so much but my Y only offers one hour classes. I can’t imagine how heavenly 90 mins would be!

  39. September 16, 2009 2:20 pm

    Workin 9-630 at least, sometimes 7, 8pm has also been known to happen. I would LOVE your schedule! When you think about it- it’s great that you’re a morning person, because you have all that free time to be productive for yourself instead of working!

  40. Ariel permalink
    September 16, 2009 2:36 pm

    My current work hours are pretty cushy: 9-4:30. I have about an hour commute, which isn’t ideal, but I go to a gym right near my work so it’s easy to go on the way home. I try to fit in a little yogadownload.com podcast with my husband while dinner is in the oven, too.

    Do you do a full 30 minutes of the 8/12 intervals? I usually warm up for a few minutes and then after 15 minutes of intervals I am wiped! You are in fantastic shape!

  41. September 16, 2009 2:44 pm

    I love:
    1. Blogger meetups
    2. Trader Joes
    3. WF Hot/Salad Bars
    4. Your cute top!
    5. YOU!!!!

  42. September 16, 2009 2:57 pm

    awww! I am a morning person tooooooo! So much more efficient at 9am then 3pm……..or 7pm!!!

    and yes, im starting to crave the warm foods too!! def. the change of seasons! im also craving naps more 🙂

    love your girly day! yoga, whole foods, ANDDDDDDDD TJs!? i wana visit!

    TAKE CARE MY LOVELY HEAB!!!!!!!!

  43. September 16, 2009 3:15 pm

    First – I lovelovelove your hoody! Second – How jealous am I that you can do the interval bike sprints?? Soon, my friend, soon!

  44. Exa permalink
    September 16, 2009 3:40 pm

    I am definitely a morning person, which is great since I’m a teacher (or sub for now). But my boyfriend is a night person and I often stay up with him, which means I don’t get a lot of sleep! I’m working on it. That being said, I still like to do work in the early hours so that the evenings are free, even if I’m up until 1.
    I’ve been craving cooked veggies lately too–especially squash and brussel sprouts!

  45. Samantha permalink
    September 16, 2009 3:42 pm

    *pout* I soooo miss Trader Joe’s!

    Yay for girly days and having fun…sounds like a wonderful time and the beaming smiles on both your faces tell that.

    I’d like to echo your thanks to your man on doing his thing…and tell my husband thanks for all his sacrifices to take care of us, and keep us safe. Your blog is as good a place at any right now since we’re out of comms for awhile. 🙂

  46. Erin permalink
    September 16, 2009 3:48 pm

    What a lovely day. Mornings are my favorite time too.
    I love the look of that lunch…I’ve been very un-raw these days too. I just want big bowls of roasted squash and brussel sprouts!

  47. Teresa permalink
    September 16, 2009 4:29 pm

    Meeting new friends is the best!

    I hear ya about craving more warm foods as the weather starts getting cooler in the fall. All about listening to the body!

  48. homecookedem permalink
    September 16, 2009 4:35 pm

    Looks like a nice day with a nice friend!! 🙂

  49. September 16, 2009 4:40 pm

    I don’t know what I would do without Trader Joe’s! Glad you enjoyed your “girly” day. I could use one of those right about now!

  50. September 16, 2009 4:55 pm

    so jealous of meetups and yoga 🙂 I wanna come to nashville and visit!

    xoxo
    Lo

  51. traveleatlove permalink
    September 16, 2009 6:47 pm

    I wish I could work even earlier hours. I definitely think best from around 7 am -2 and feel like I have more physical running energy from 3-7. Maybe I will be self employed someday 🙂

  52. September 16, 2009 7:03 pm

    Yay for yoga with friends! Followed by WF and Trader Joes?! Wow…what a perfect day!! 😉
    ❤ jess

  53. Jules permalink
    September 16, 2009 7:43 pm

    Sounds like a great day! I’ve been eating warmer foods, too. Today it was overcast and raining off and on, but I love weather like that. I know, I’m weird 🙂

  54. September 16, 2009 8:04 pm

    My hours are pretty flexible – it’s one benefit of being a grad student 🙂

    Looks like a really fun meet up!

  55. elise permalink
    September 16, 2009 8:38 pm

    fun little date! what could be better than yoga and WF. hummus is an obvious choice, so it made me happy to see that. and i agree about the change in seasons causing me to go for steamed over raw.

    way to take away the girls TJs v-card 🙂

  56. September 16, 2009 8:51 pm

    aw, no fair. I need a girlie day, soon.

  57. September 16, 2009 9:33 pm

    i love it that you let your body tell you what it wants with the season changes…i think that is very intuitive!

  58. September 16, 2009 10:07 pm

    How fun!! I love that you introduced Kimberly to TJ’s, good work! Now I want a HUGE whole foods salad. That is seriously one of my favorite meals. I always load up on hummus to then get lots of sugar snap peas for dipping!

  59. Jessica permalink
    September 17, 2009 3:20 am

    I work a night shift, 11pm-7:30am. Everyone thinks it’s crazy but I love it because I get so much time to myself (I’m the only one in my office).

    I usually go to bed around 9am, get up around 4pm, work out and then do normal evening activities with the boyfriend, then I leave for work around 10:30pm.

    I also switch my schedule around on the weekends. I only sleep until noon on Saturday and then sleep Saturday and Sunday nights and have a nap on Monday afternoon before work. I know it’s probably hard on my body but I’ve been doing it for about 3 years now so I guess I’m adjusted.

  60. September 17, 2009 4:30 am

    What a lovely meet-up! Lately I haven’t been wanting much raw either. I’ve been trying so hard to stick with it, but I just can’t. Steamed and stir-fried veggie are so much more delicious right now!

    Horray for TJ’s!!!

  61. September 17, 2009 6:04 am

    I am definitely more of a morning person. I am much more productive in the morning. Right now I am adjusting to being a full time student again. I love not having early starts to the day when I have to actually be somewhere. But I also need to get up and start studying because my brain is worthless at night!

  62. September 17, 2009 7:16 am

    You always take in-town guests on fun excursions–wish I was coming there sometime!

  63. Scott in Ohio permalink
    September 17, 2009 9:03 am

    Tabata intervals…nice!

    I’m a 7:00 to 5:00 guy.

    Does CD run/workout in the evenings or mornings?

Trackbacks

  1. Girls just wanna have FUN! « Living Free
  2. Changes Coming? « Living Free

Leave a Reply

