Skip to content

Update From The Uniblogger Cabin

July 25, 2009

Since almond butter is $11 a jar out here in the middle of Nowhere, Colorado, I instead bought myself a jar of all natural chunky peanut butter and made some PBU

Hello peanut butter milkshake of my youth!

Hello peanut butter milkshake of my youth!

I have been eating this brilliant concoction on any and everything…

Sorry corn haters, but this was really good! Oat bran topped with raw corn and PBU.

Sorry corn haters, but this was really good! Oat bran topped with raw corn and PBU.

Grilled chicken, roasted broccoli, and blue tortilla chips with PBU.

Grilled chicken, roasted broccoli, and blue tortilla chips with PBU.

Spinach "massaged" with PBU and topped with hemp seeds.

Spinach "massaged" with PBU and topped with hemp seeds.

Emily, thank you again for creating PBU and sharing it with the world.

Looks like Contador did it…although, I don’t think we’ve seen the last of Lance.

Later Gators…I’ve got some dogs to walk. 🙂

47 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2009 1:36 pm

    I was actually about to pick up a bag of hempseeds the other day, I have yet to have raw hempseeds. Guess who have raw corn shucked and waiting to be on groats? mememe. Everything looks great & yeah Lance might be hustlin’, I’m not sure…

  2. Deb permalink
    July 25, 2009 1:38 pm

    Oh yeah $11 for a jar of AB isn’t gonna happen for me either. But can you find just almonds? You have your beloved VitaMix with you, no? Within a few minutes you could have smokin’ hot fabo fresh AB for a fraction of the price-yUMMMMMmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! Don’t get me wrong- I LOVE the PB and the PBU 🙂 Enjoy your adventures!

  3. July 25, 2009 1:48 pm

    Love the “milkshake”!! 😀

    Have fun with the pups!!

  4. July 25, 2009 1:54 pm

    Hehehe, I love the mental image of the uniblogger. 😉

  5. Olivia permalink
    July 25, 2009 2:10 pm

    having never heard of PBU, i clicked on the link you provided, and noted the recipe. it sounds great, and once i am back at my own flat in the wilds, i’m going to try this out.
    just to share an idea, i came up with something similar about a year ago, as i was looking to enjoy peanut butter (which i love) but maybe try to change it up a bit.
    i’ll combine the following:
    1 tbsp peanut butter
    1 tbsp cottage cheese
    1 tsp honey
    very liberal tsp of cinnamon (key ingredient. cinnamon and peanut butter are just as fantastic a combination as peanut butter and chocolate)
    mix them up and spread on toast. especially yummy when topped off with a sliced banana.

  6. July 25, 2009 2:13 pm

    I am so happy you went CORNY again!

    I actually am addicted to raw corn now and got grumpy…YES GRUMPY when I was out and couldn’t add it to my salad

    yeah for blogger inspiration!

    🙂

  7. hopeinpeanutbutterandoats permalink
    July 25, 2009 2:18 pm

    mmm PBU makes me weak in the knees, glad you’re enjoying it just as much as i am!

  8. July 25, 2009 2:40 pm

    PBU sounds delicious. Yours looks fabulous!!
    ❤ jess

  9. July 25, 2009 2:41 pm

    mmmmmmmmmmmmmm blue corn chips 🙂

  10. July 25, 2009 3:11 pm

    Heather!

    I love you and all of your crazy pbu concoctions.PBU rules the world. 😛

    Emily

  11. July 25, 2009 3:14 pm

    mmmm that makes me want to whip up another batch of pbu 🙂

  12. July 25, 2009 3:16 pm

    $11??? That is out of control. mmm more broc? I’m in! Hope you two are enjoying the weekend. Any special plans for tonight?

  13. July 25, 2009 3:21 pm

    wow you have been putting it on anything and everything! haha. I’ll have to make a batch some time.

  14. roseyrebecca permalink
    July 25, 2009 3:29 pm

    Almond Butter is really expensive by me too!! I buy small packets of it instead of whole jars. One day I’ll have to invest in one!!

    http://roseyrebecca.wordpress.com/

  15. jacobc permalink
    July 25, 2009 3:38 pm

    i know that isn’t corn and PB?! ;-p
    Now the chicken plate looks awesome!- I’ll have to try some pb next time i have chicken..

    Made a wrong turn in the race this morning, lost the lead and about 6-7 seconds at about mile 2.8 in a 5k,then lost the race by 2 seconds! booo.. Oh well.. he got the same water bottle i got 😉

    Cheers, Jacob

  16. July 25, 2009 3:49 pm

    Ooooo i was rooting for lance but contador is gettin it done!! Haha “nowhere” sounds like a blast, despite the pricey AB!!!

  17. July 25, 2009 4:15 pm

    AB costs more than that in NYC!

  18. July 25, 2009 4:19 pm

    I’ve rekindled my love for peanut butter lately too. So many warm memories 🙂

    Lance impressed me today, I can’t wait to see what he can do next year! I think they need to introduce an “old guy” jersey 😛

  19. July 25, 2009 4:28 pm

    Pbu rocks my world! I love your thick, luscious milkshake! It would have taken a lot for me not to just drink it straight up!

  20. July 25, 2009 4:40 pm

    Thanx for the PBU hookup… I’ve been tired of peanut butter for so long. This may just revive me!

  21. littlegirl1225 permalink
    July 25, 2009 5:58 pm

    love all these combos!!! I need to get some fresh corn to make that concostion!! 🙂

  22. hayleycepeda permalink
    July 25, 2009 6:07 pm

    $11 a jar?!? Oh man…thank God for PBU!! I’ve been trying to figure out what the “U” stands for?? Your food looks delicious as usual! I think it’s the almond butter. Goes with everything!

  23. July 25, 2009 6:32 pm

    PBU looks really awesome with the corn and oat bran 🙂 Man, $11 a jar for AB is way too much–sad!

  24. July 25, 2009 6:33 pm

    the oat bran with raw corn and pbu looks SO appetizing right now. you’re going to drop dead if i tell you how much my almond butter costs, so i’m not going to tell you! and i live in L.A….the opposite of the middle of nowhere.

    have fun walking the doggies! and i’ve never massaged spinach before. sounds pretty good!

    -JB
    http://cardiovegsular.wordpress.com

  25. July 25, 2009 6:35 pm

    before you make your PBU, do you finish off 2/3 of the jar of PB, or somehow make it and put it in another container? I don’t know how big a batch to make, or how long it will keep…

  26. July 25, 2009 6:53 pm

    Spinach massaged with Pbu? Hahaha, Heather, you never fail to entertain us! But that’s not to say that is gross or anything – in fact, I’m sure it is quite delicious – kinda like peanut sauce, you know?

  27. Carolyn permalink
    July 25, 2009 7:21 pm

    PBUniblogger 😉

  28. July 25, 2009 8:01 pm

    I hereby award you the best blog post title I have ever read. You are awesome, Heather!

  29. July 25, 2009 8:09 pm

    You are so freakin hilarious and outta control with that PBU!!!! What am I going to do with you?

    Doing like we talked about with the diet. Combo low carb. I am feeling much better now and its working great so far :). Is your butter baby gone? hehe

    ~Justine

  30. July 25, 2009 8:43 pm

    Heather! I make the weirdest concoctions ‘food-wise’ so the corn concept didn’t AT ALL seems odd or strange to me! I just got your response email- as for the poppy seeds, you can put them anywhere! Really good on breads, pizza crusts, salads, muffins, in almond butter etc. There is a fantastic dessert in Europe called Makovnik (poppy seed cake) which is to DIE for. They sell it at Polish bakeries sometimes. $11 dollars for your AB? That is so over priced!
    Have a fantastic vacation, and let me know if you found those squashes or sapote’s!
    Barbara

  31. July 25, 2009 9:21 pm

    ooo pbu on chicken and broccoli looks soooooooo delicious!!!!!!!

    gotta try that raw corn thang too!!

    HAPPY SUNDAY HEATHER!

  32. joelygolightly permalink
    July 25, 2009 9:33 pm

    $11 almond butter? That is absurd!! Least the pb looks pretty yum. 🙂

  33. July 25, 2009 11:06 pm

    I love your random corn topping for breakfast.
    If you can eat breakfast for dinner, why not switch it up a little, right?
    I know you miss TJs…can I send you some? I mean, I’m actually near a TJs for once!

  34. WholeBodyLove permalink
    July 25, 2009 11:41 pm

    Oh what would the world do without PBU? It’s becoming quite the fixture in the blog world. We need some kind of inventors award for Emily

  35. Scott in Ohio permalink
    July 26, 2009 3:53 am

    Fantastic blog title! (~:

    Corn season is in full effect here in Ohio so I might just have to give it a shot as a topping.

    Since corn is technically a grain, what do you think about corngurt? Or sourcorn bread?

  36. Michal Mymo permalink
    July 26, 2009 6:03 am

    I cant wait until i can try out the corn on my oatmeal, we just bought a bunch from the farmers market. ive been expirementing with ABU and almonb butter too! 🙂

  37. July 26, 2009 6:17 am

    Eleven dollars for almond butter stinks! I made my own raw unsweetened sunbutter yesterday! It was a little bland compared to store bought so I added a little chocolate hemp protein powder. I know you are not a fan of hemp:)but it added a little flavor.

  38. July 26, 2009 7:37 am

    I forgot to add, this was the BEST titled post of all time. I nearly fell off my computer chair laughing. Ingenius!!

  39. July 26, 2009 7:37 am

    LOVE corn, darlin’. I’m with you. Grilling some tonite…

  40. healthyhappypeachy permalink
    July 26, 2009 9:48 am

    That PBU looks perfect.

    Have fun in Colorado!

  41. July 26, 2009 2:08 pm

    I’ll have to try Pbu sometimes. I wonder what it’d be like with coconut milk. More like dessert I imagine.

    Hemp seeds is a new thing for me. Do you know whether it’s as healthy as chia seeds?

  42. elise permalink
    July 26, 2009 2:26 pm

    bet if lance were on a different team, itd be a different story…but oh well.

    pbu much? love it. maybe ill try massaging my spinach with it

  43. July 26, 2009 4:06 pm

    Bargain Mart….Almond butter $1.50.
    I’ll hook it up when you are in Woodland:).
    Can’t wait to see you!

  44. Faith permalink
    July 26, 2009 4:11 pm

    you and your pb is like how i used to be with cottage cheese :p when do you all come home?

    i’m doing a spiffy giveaway if you have time to check it out, i think you would have fun with some of their ingredients, i have loved it!!

    http://cottchz.wordpress.com/2009/07/24/get-some-power-cheap-chia-and-navita-natural-giveaway/

  45. homecookedem permalink
    July 26, 2009 5:19 pm

    That PBU is interesting! Did you mix it up in a bowl and then put it back in the jar?

  46. March 27, 2010 10:42 pm

    Do you know what the ratio is for PBU? All of the weblinks to it don’t work anymore :(. Please help because I really want some ABU (as you said, AB is getting pretty expensive…)

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  47. March 28, 2010 8:59 am

    Madinee, Here is my version of PBU made with almond butter: http://heathereatsalmondbutter.com/recipes/abu-aka-almond-butter-sauce/

Leave a Reply

