Skip to content

CD Goes 1/4 Raw

June 24, 2009

Yesterday, I did Polly’s Yummy Practice #1, and my hamstrings are sore today, especially after my 90 Vinyasa flow class on Monday.  Polly, I love your DVD!  

YOGAISYUMMY-web1

Practice #1 is 35 minutes, and Practice #2 is 15 minutes, leaving you several different options.  Short on time? Surely, you can fit in 15 minutes of yummy yoga, or combine both classes for a 50 minute practice when you want something longer.  Polly’s 1st sequence was unlike any other I’d ever done as we started off with Dragonfly and core work and did not do a single Down Dog until the end.  It’s amazing how yummy your first Downward Dog feels after your hammies are already warm.  Polly, thank you so much for sharing your love for yoga with me! Your sweet personality shined through the entire practice, and I had a smile on my face during every pose…even Dragonfly. 🙂

There is a new favorite salad in our household, and you guys have got to try it!

Creamiest bowl of greens ever.

Creamiest bowl of greens ever.

Several people inspired this bowl of yum. There was Melissa, who shared with me her favorite salad made to order at Guppy’s restaurant, a shout-out to Trilby Drew for her brilliant Lemon-Garlic-Miso dressing, and as always, many thanks to Gena over at Choosing Raw for introducing me to massaged greens.  Don’t be afraid to get your hands dirty my friends!

For the salad, I massaged spiralized zucchini squash noodles with 3 to 4 handfuls of raw spinach, juice of 1/2 lemon, 1/2 avocado, 1 heaping spoonful of miso paste, 2 cloves minced garlic, 1/2 packet of stevia, and salt and pepper to taste.  I then tossed in mushrooms, red bell pepper, and cherry tomatoes.  After sitting down with my monstrous bowl of rawness for some quality dinner conversation, CD requested a bite.  Well, the first bite turned into a second and then a third, and I finally just told him to take as much as he wanted which leads us to…

CD’s Random Comment of the Day:

Look, a Heather-style meat and three.

Roasted Brussel sprouts, curried chicken salad, raw massaged salad...and a bowl of sweet potato fries that didn't quite make it in the photo.

Roasted Brussel sprouts with parm, curried chicken salad, raw massaged salad...and a bowl of sweet potato fries that didn't quite make it in the photo.

I have a feeling this salad will be making many more appearances at our dinner table. 🙂

38 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2009 8:56 am

    Oh my!!!!!!!! That massaged salad looks exquisite!!

  2. June 24, 2009 9:05 am

    That salad looks sooooo delicious… I’m going to have to try some zucchini in my next lemon-garlic-miso dressed salad. I am so thrilled that CD liked it!

    I also love that the salad was kind of a group effort. Hehehe. It takes a village…to make a good salad.

    You make my day, Heather!

  3. Deb permalink
    June 24, 2009 9:31 am

    Woo hoo CD- it takes a REAL man to go raw and actually like it 🙂

  4. June 24, 2009 9:55 am

    that’s awesome that he took your dinner 🙂

    i can’t wait to try her DVD!

    i had another oatbran in an almond butter jar this morning – delicious.

  5. June 24, 2009 9:57 am

    Polly’s yoga DVD practice + CD’s plate (mmm, massaged salad) = wonderful! 😀

  6. June 24, 2009 10:05 am

    Polly is so cute! That salad sounds great, I’m thinking about making myself try one raw meal a week during the month of July. I’ve been so intrigued!

  7. June 24, 2009 10:06 am

    Good for CD!!! Chris has been stealing my raw donut holes, but I don’t mind. He can swipe my balls anytime. Ew.

    I MUST get that DVD! I was NOT smiling during my yoga this morning.

    Have a gorgeous day girl!

  8. joelygolightly permalink
    June 24, 2009 10:11 am

    OOh that salad looks really yummy! I love chicken salad, but I’ve never had it with curry… May need to try it!
    Have a great day!

  9. June 24, 2009 10:15 am

    Ooooh I am going to HAVE to try that salad. Looks delicious!! YUMMM!

  10. June 24, 2009 10:21 am

    That salad looks oh so creamy! I love the sounds of it 🙂

  11. June 24, 2009 10:21 am

    That little graphic of Polly is so darn cute (as is she), I just want to give it a hug! mmm loving the salad. I think its very cool that CD gave it a whirl too! Have a great Wednesday Heather and thank you again for the hilarious picture

  12. June 24, 2009 10:32 am

    That salad looks sooo delicious–must try it, especially if CD loves it 😀

  13. June 24, 2009 10:35 am

    That salad looks fantastic!
    I made raw almond butter yesterday! I really like it, it’s a LOT different than PB. I want to try different kinds/brands as well. I don’t think it could ever replace my beloved PB though 😉
    Thanks for all the tips!
    ❤ jess

  14. Michal Mymo permalink
    June 24, 2009 11:09 am

    Thanks for the review on Polly’s DVD I cannot wait until I can order it! Your massaged salad looks so good – I just love spiralized zucchini. mmmm.

    Michal (lilearthmuffin)

  15. peaceandpeanutbutter permalink
    June 24, 2009 11:10 am

    Wow that looks delicious!

    And goooo CD!!

  16. June 24, 2009 12:56 pm

    Definitely looks like a winner of a salad. Congratulations to CD for liking it too. 🙂 So when you say you massaged the zucchini with spinach, do you mean the spinach was blended into the dressing you concocted? Or was all that incorporated one at a time?

  17. June 24, 2009 1:16 pm

    This is like what happened when I made fushi – Bobby ended up taking way more than I had planned on.

    Polly has a really unique (and wonderful) yoga style. Glad you liked the dvd!

  18. June 24, 2009 1:17 pm

    That does look like a good salad!

  19. June 24, 2009 2:02 pm

    That salad looks wonderful! Polly’s DVD sounds great too!

  20. June 24, 2009 2:14 pm

    That salad looks amazingly yummy! I will have to give that a try:)Ya know, if all your food wasn’t so healthy, I would be as big as a house!

  21. June 24, 2009 2:23 pm

    i made a salad almost exatly like this and you are so right it rocked my world…but freaked out my parents

  22. June 24, 2009 2:52 pm

    HEATHER PEACH!!!!!!!!!!!

    We just got home and I am munching on a bowl of cereal (was so missing cereal with no fridge for a few days!) and say this SWEEEEEET post. First off, thank you for being so kind and lovable as always. I am so happy you enjoyed the DVD! I love down dog at the end, too… when you are all YUMMY… your dog just feels like a pig in a blanket (you know those hotdogs wrapped in crescent rolls and baked all delicious?) Yeah… like that. 🙂

    Okay….. time to unpack and get back to livin’ in the real world. I love my real world, no place like HOME. 😀 (except if my home were at the beach, o’ course) 😉

    Love you, and so happy CD loved the raw goodness!!!

    You are loved, my sweet friend!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  23. June 24, 2009 2:57 pm

    What a fantastic idea!!! Oh my head is so filled with good ones today that I don’t know what to do!! Thanks 🙂

  24. June 24, 2009 5:17 pm

    That salad looks AMAZING!!!

  25. June 24, 2009 7:50 pm

    I LOVED practice #1!!! I did it yesterday and my hammies were killing me this morning during my circuit routine. The salad looks amazing! I, too, have been on a massaged greens kick and will have to add some miso to the mix next time.

  26. June 24, 2009 8:47 pm

    That looks and sounds like it is to-die-for. In the words of lovely Gena, exquisite.

  27. June 24, 2009 10:08 pm

    That salad looks divine! Now I want a spiralizer, darnnit!

  28. June 24, 2009 10:12 pm

    I love Polly’s Yoga for Runners video. I want to do more from her.

    Those salad pics look great! The lemon garlic miso dressing especially sounds good.

  29. June 24, 2009 10:54 pm

    MANNNNNNNNNN, I am bookmarking this recipe!!! it sounds amazing!! too bad we stopped having miso in the house, since my Dad is watching his salt intake!! booo!

  30. June 25, 2009 6:24 am

    Yummy HEABS!! I have never massaged greens but I am sure that you are a natural at it :). Got an avocado that needs to be used so I might have to get to massaging today. Miss You!!!

    ~Justine

  31. Erin permalink
    June 25, 2009 7:46 am

    That looks soooo good! I need some zuchinni and it’s on my list. I have your “shake” in the freezer at the moment! 🙂

  32. June 25, 2009 9:14 am

    Amazing salad Heather! It looks delicious and makes me think I really need to find some miso paste. It comes in so handy!

    And I much prefer YOUR meat and 3 veg than the traditional variety 🙂

    Have a great day!

  33. June 25, 2009 8:04 pm

    Oooh, the salad sounds great. No wonder CD wanted more than a bite! 🙂

    Glad the yoga is going well..I’ve got my sister doing it now, and she likes it a lot.

  34. Sam permalink
    June 26, 2009 8:59 am

    Hi Heather – I just want to thank you for the wonderful salad idea. I have been doing the spiralized zucchini for awhile now, but have never really found a topping to my liking – tried raw marinara and salsa etc., but they were just ok. I tried your recipe last night and OMG – I loved it. It is now one of my favoirtes – so easy and so good. Thanks for all your wonderful posts, I love visiting your site.
    Have a great day 🙂
    Sam

  35. June 28, 2009 3:55 am

    It’s so good to read a review of Polly’s DVD 🙂 Do you think it would work for me, as a beginner, or is it more advanced? I don’t think I’m familiar with Dragonfly yet…

Trackbacks

  1. Blog Love « Life is yumbo
  2. Play With Your Food | The Hungry Yogini
  3. The Avocado Lady « Living Free

Leave a Reply

