Skip to content

Feeling The Oat Bloat?

June 23, 2009

I don’t know if it’s the warm weather, but some days the oat bran is just too heavy for me.  Problem is, a smoothie-only breakfast never seems to sustain me for more than an hour or two.  Enter The Shake:

Chocolate covered berry shake topped with ABU.

Chocolate covered berry shake topped with ABU.

One of my readers (Hey Deb!) was kind enough to share her PB & J shake recipe with me, and I was eager to try my own version as Deb swears by this filling smoothie.  I improvised a little and came up with the following:

  • 2 cups water
  • 2 TBSP soaked chia seeds
  • 3/4 scoop Jay Robb vanilla rice protein
  • 1 TBSP cocoa powder
  • 5 drops dark chocolate stevia 
  • 1 tsp maple extract
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 3.5 ounces frozen strawberries
  • 4 ounces frozen raspberries
  • 1/2 tsp Xanthan Gum (natural thickener made from fermented corn)
  • Handful of ice cubes
  • Topped with ABU (more about this later)

My smoothie contained a lot of ingredients, more than I would normally think to add.  However, if this is what it takes to make a delicious, yet filling shake, then I’m all for it.  The recipe needs a bit more tweaking as it wasn’t quite sweet enough. Maybe a little more stevia or 1/2 a banana instead of all the berries?  That being said, it was filling, but not in a brick in the belly kind of way.  Deb, it’s a winner!  Thanks again for the recipe. 

What is ABU you ask?  Well, let me tell you about this most brilliant concoction. Based on Emily’s recipe for PBU, I simply blended 1/2 cup raw almond butter with 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk and 1 stevia packet.  Emily, I love you. ‘Nuff said. 🙂

A couple hours after breakfast, still completely satisfied, I went to my favorite 90 minute Vinyasa flow yoga class.  So great to be back on the mat after a few days off.  We concentrated on our hamstrings and ended with handstand.  My core really needs some work as I cannot life my legs up into handstand gracefully to save my life.  You’d think all those 3 minute plank holds would help.  What’s the deal?  

After yoga…more ABU:

Green dipping platter.

Green dipping platter.

So, I basically ate 1/2 cup of almond butter in less than 7 hours.  Remind you of anyone? 🙂 

Speaking of Polly, look what came in the mail yesterday:

So much Polly love!

So much Polly love!

My Yoga is Yummy DVD has arrived, and I am beyond excited.  Have you ordered your’s yet?  Why not?!?  Simply click here to do so. Polly was also sweet enough to send me a few other goodies, including a huge bowl for my oats and smoothies after I told her the last ones she sent were too small. Love you P!

Before I go try out some yummy yoga, I wanted to wish my older brother HAPPY BIRTHDAY!  

Love you Chip!!!!!

Love you Chip!!!!!

This past weekend in Florida, I almost fainted when Chip told me he had never tried almond butter.  My mom and I immediately bought him a jar, and he is now a convert.  Look, he even sent me a picture of his breakfast this morning:

Toasted bagel with almond butter and strawberries.

Toasted bagel with crunchy almond butter and strawberries. Looks delicious, no?

How about you?  Have you been spreading the almond butter love? 🙂

59 Comments leave one →
  1. jacobc permalink
    June 23, 2009 9:48 am

    That is a new one! PB&J shake…mmmm

    I don’t think being able to do a handstand “gracefully” is so much core strength as it is body coordination.. just like some people don’t have the right rythem to dance (2 left feet/whatever)..
    I know my core strength is great, and i can’t even to the run/plop on the side of the wall method!

  2. June 23, 2009 9:49 am

    Your shake looks great! I have never tried a breakfast shake as I’m convinced it won’t fill me up. Polly’s DVD sounds great, I can’t wait to order it after the wedding.

  3. June 23, 2009 9:49 am

    Happy Birthday to your brother! Wow, you can hold 3 minute planks? I can hardly do one minute. How did you build up to that level?

    Love the shake idea, because oats tend to fill me up too much, but I get hungry after a smoothie as well. I should try it out :). Hope you have a fantastic day, Heather!

  4. June 23, 2009 9:51 am

    Yummy looking and sounding shake! Polly’s such a sweetie 🙂
    I plan on spreading the almond butter love after I make some today!
    ❤ jess

  5. June 23, 2009 9:51 am

    haha! Chip should blog 🙂

  6. June 23, 2009 9:52 am

    I have never heard of chia seeds. What are they and what do they do (nutritionally speaking, of course). 🙂

  7. June 23, 2009 9:53 am

    Hiiiiiiiiiiii! I love the Abu! What a great idea. I think its more than acceptable to eat 1/2 cup of AB within a couple hours 🙂 I am such a nut butter addict…I can’t remember the last day I didn’ t have any! Happy birthday to your bro- such a cute pic of you two. Can you post some pics of your puppers soon? I miss seeing their mugs

  8. June 23, 2009 9:54 am

    I too am enjoying the xanthan gum addition to my smoothies…it thickens them right up!

    I love the ABU recipe. Perfect for dippin’!

    You know you are a lovely gal,right? 😉 The pic of you and Chip is gorge.

  9. June 23, 2009 9:55 am

    I am definitely spreading the AB love…all over myself. (Whoa, that sounded dirty! haha) I don’t think I’ve made any converts recently, alas. I do like the idea of ABU/PBU – sounds delicious AND economical. The AB can be pricey, at least when the nearest TJ’s is far away!

  10. Mandy A permalink
    June 23, 2009 9:55 am

    Yeah, I don’t know about the headstand for me 🙂 I don’t think that’s going to happen… haha

    Yay for Polly’s dvd!!!!!

    And thank goodness your brother has you and your mom… no almond butter is just a crime!!!

  11. June 23, 2009 9:56 am

    I was thinking the same thing as Sarah, that is a great pic of you Heather! So beautiful.

    I used to not be a smoothie/shake breakfast girl, until I started putting spinach in them. Now I can stay full for a good 3 hours on it!

  12. June 23, 2009 9:57 am

    Great shake idea! I’ll have to give it a try, and it will be perfect because I don’t have a big sweet tooth. I have also been feeling the oat bloat! Too bad, I love me some oatmeal!

    Abu! YUM! Mmm with avocado, the best!

    Yay for Polly’s DVD, I still have to order mine =)

  13. June 23, 2009 9:58 am

    PBU is actually the first thing I’ve made out of Jenna’s e-cookbook! I went savory and doctored it up with some soy sauce, ginger, sriracha, and sesame oil, then served over shrimp stir fry with brown rice. So tasty! I’m excited to see that PBU’s inventor has a blog. 🙂

  14. June 23, 2009 10:04 am

    I completely agree about the oat bloat…I’m blaming the weather!

    I’ve introduced AB to a few people….who are now loving me/cursing me (because of the cost). Sorry, people – but we’re willin’ to pay top dollah for the good stuff!

    Happy Birthday to your brother. 🙂

  15. June 23, 2009 10:07 am

    Haha! That is so cute he took a pic of his breakfast and sent it to you!!!! I love it :). I have definitely spread the AB love. I spread it around while I was in WI. I Love you!!!! Oh question, do you think I could make PB out of redskin peanuts minus the skin?? I have a huge bag of them and I need to do something with them because they dont taste good by themselves.

    Love,
    Justine

  16. June 23, 2009 10:12 am

    That smoothie sounds fantastic! And guess what? I’ve fallen in love with almond butter! I kind of forced myself 🙂 since there are far more health benefits than that of peanut butter but now I’m so happy I did. Thanks!

  17. Rebecca permalink
    June 23, 2009 10:14 am

    Three-minute planks? I can only do half that! How long did it take you to work up to that long?

  18. joelygolightly permalink
    June 23, 2009 10:20 am

    Same thing happens to me with oats in the summer! Btw that almond butter-smothered bagel looks delish!
    PS. thanks so much for checking out my blog Heather!

  19. June 23, 2009 10:22 am

    Can’t wait to hear your review of Polly’s DVD…I am sure it will be amazing!
    My aunt and uncle are coming to visit this week and my aunt was telling me not to make a fuss, asking me if I had peanut butter, because that was all she needed. I answered, “I’ve got something better!” And now I can’t wait to have her try AB 🙂
    Glad you are back safe and sound!

  20. June 23, 2009 10:32 am

    Great smoothie!

    Happy Birthday to your brother!

  21. June 23, 2009 10:39 am

    Oh my god, I must try that shake. I’m running off to make ABU as I type. I’m pretty mulit-talented apparently.

  22. Michal Mymo permalink
    June 23, 2009 10:41 am

    A PB&J shake? Well knock me down that sounds amazing! I cant wait to hear about Polly’s DVD I just love reading her blog and really want to order it. Another question I wanted to ask you is where do you get all your almond butter from? Around here one jar of almond butter is about 20$! Thanks : )

    Michal (EarthMuffin)

  23. Deb permalink
    June 23, 2009 10:41 am

    Yay! So glad you like the smoothie. It has changed my life without question! 🙂

  24. June 23, 2009 10:45 am

    I made some Pbu yesterday…its so cool!

    My smoothies keep me full for a long time. They’re a pain to make because we just have a little mini-blender now so I have to do it in batches…but I can easily not eat for 4 hours afterwards.

  25. June 23, 2009 10:46 am

    I am always amazed when I see people doing headstands in yoga! I made my boyfriend try almond butter and he loves it! He is in love with some Barney Butter too haha.

  26. Erin permalink
    June 23, 2009 10:51 am

    Okay, I must have been living under a rock, because I hadn’t heard of PBU. I think I know what I’ll be eating for the rest of the day (my life)!!
    And, of course, I spread the AB love!!! My family loves it and can’t believe how delicious it is.
    I’ll have to look into The Shake. I like having more than just a smoothie usually, but that looks like a serious concoction.

  27. Lea permalink
    June 23, 2009 10:59 am

    3 minute planks!!! go you!!!

    sadly, i may be the only person here who doesn’t really care for almond butter or PB for that matter. gasp right??? i got a free sample of Barney Butter and was not too impressed. it tasted like rancid almonds to me. i’d rather have a handful of whole almonds.

  28. goddessgreen permalink
    June 23, 2009 11:05 am

    Hey my name is Kelsey and I love your blog. I added you to my new site
    http://goddessgreen.wordpress.com/
    feel free to check it out xo

  29. June 23, 2009 11:16 am

    i love the shake idea.

    yay for spreading almond butter love! I got my parents and in-laws and the husband in on it 🙂 But not 1/2 cup in less than 7 hours, yet. I’m working on it!!

    i haven’t ordered her DVD yet – I’m hoping someone gets it for me for my birthday this week 🙂 I put it on my list, so hopefully, my family actually listens to me.

  30. June 23, 2009 11:23 am

    Genius idea, Heather!

  31. June 23, 2009 11:50 am

    hi SWEETIE!!!!!!!!!!!

    Just taking a little break between beach and yoga and sunshine! Yin was YUMMYLICIOUS today. I so needed it, although the teacher (who is awesome) must love core work cause it was sorta like Yin-core-love. Basically I cannot feel my obligue muscles and my triceps are still sore to even touch them… but all it gooooood. 😛

    Half cup of AB in 7 hours? That is a good start, my friend. 😀

    love you! XOXO P

  32. Sweet and Fit permalink
    June 23, 2009 12:00 pm

    you are converting people to almond butter everywhere you go! now i just need to try it – I have a thing for the sweet flavors of PB&Co though, but I need to try some AB – I think its the TJ’s brand you use?

  33. June 23, 2009 12:29 pm

    I agree about oat bran being heavy and I definitely think it is the time of year, warm weather, etc.

    I have tried AB once before but I need to get some more! I’d be lucky to get my peeps to eat all natural PB so I think AB is a ways off, but we’ll see 😉

  34. June 23, 2009 12:44 pm

    I feel the same way about oat bran in the a.m. It is sitting too heavily in my tummy now that it’s summer, but smoothies having really been appealing to me for breakfast because I am afraid I’ll get hungry! A shake for breakfast…hehe I like this.

    I saw PBU on Shelby’s blog and now ABU on yours…this is confirmation that it absolutely must be tried! 🙂

  35. June 23, 2009 12:45 pm

    I love me some almond butter!! I don’t pass any judgment on eating mass quantities of it either 😉 The more, the better!

    Lately with the warm weather I can’t stomach hardly anything! I keep telling myself, ‘at least it’s not snowing!’

    Happy birthday to your brother!!

  36. June 23, 2009 12:46 pm

    ***oops, I meant “haven’t been appealing,” not “having.” That’s what I get for not proofreading!

  37. Scott in Ohio permalink
    June 23, 2009 1:28 pm

    Great looking shake! No oatgurt involved? (~:

    I think a frozen banana is the way to go to sweeten and thicken up smoothies. You might even be able to eliminate the xanthan gum.

    A little maple syrup might work, too, since the recipe calls for maple extract.

  38. June 23, 2009 1:45 pm

    Hi HEAB!

    Been enjoying your blog for a couple weeks now. Can’t eat many things you do, but enjoy the creativity. When I read you’re having some bloating, had to respond. Have you ever considered gluten as a possible problem?

    For information about gluten sensitivity, check out my blog post:
    http://aquinoclan.blogspot.com/2009/06/gluten-and-health.html

    or http://www.healthnowmedical.com/info/gluten.html

    All the best!

  39. June 23, 2009 2:20 pm

    that is so cute your bro took a photo and sent it to you! yummmm, i love the mass amounts of AB consumption in this post. that ingredient list for the smoothie IS quite lengthy.. but i am sure it tasted good, liquid PB&J?! can’t go wrong. OH so i was going to ask you the best place to order chia from online. i have searched everywhere in my town for them. multiple whole foods locations and other natural foods stores.. regular grocery stores.. costco.. sams club.. nada. i figured you are the expert!

    xo

  40. June 23, 2009 2:37 pm

    I’ve definitely been spreading the almond butter love! My dad is particularly intrigued by it. Heck, I’ve been spreading all sorts of healthy food love to my family. They love when I make vegan dinners from Veganomicon- every dish in that book is so deliciously spiced and complex, you don’t even realize that it’s vegan.

  41. Katharina permalink
    June 23, 2009 2:57 pm

    Oof I was feeling some kind of bloat all of yesterday! I think I ate something that had gone bad.. or was really close.

    Happy birthday to your brother 🙂 That’s so cute that he sent you a picture of his breakfast!!! It’s nice to know he was also thinking of you.

  42. June 23, 2009 4:51 pm

    Glad you found a shake that properly holds you over!

  43. June 23, 2009 5:59 pm

    That ‘shake’ looks really yummy! I have never tried oat bran. That’s not the same as your oatgurt is it? I have tried rice bran lately and my gut blew up like a balloon. I thought I was going to die! I do smoothies every single morning, but I have to make sure I have good fat and protein in it. Oatgurt is helping add some staying power. Your lunch also looks really good. Reading all these blogs is making want to eat all the time!:)

    I can’t do AB, but am trying to replace it with Sunbutter. Can I spread some sunbutter love?:)

  44. June 23, 2009 6:53 pm

    Sadie Nardini does a really good handstand exercise in one of her YouTube videos. You get next to the wall (facing it) and put your hands down maybe a foot away. Lift your right leg. Then each time you breath out, try to jump/lift your leg up. Then once you get in handstand hold it, and then do it with the other leg. I like coordinating the exhale with the lift bc it makes it easier. I still can’t do a handstand without the wall, but once I’m up I can balance for a while after I get my feet off the wall. I think practicing that way definitely helped.

  45. June 23, 2009 7:45 pm

    I’ve been having peanut butter every day because it is what I have here…but when I use it up, I think it is time for some almond butter and then I will be spreading the love!

  46. traveleatlove permalink
    June 23, 2009 7:49 pm

    Just about to have some AB on a multi-grain sandwich thin. Mmmmm. . . bad tv and almond butter = love

  47. June 23, 2009 8:06 pm

    I will only spread almond butter love if the love isn’t coming from my own jar!! 🙂 I’m just too selfish with it!

  48. gina (fitnessista) permalink
    June 23, 2009 8:23 pm

    ehhh i WOULD spread the almond butter love.. but since it’s rare and expensive out here, i hoard it 😉
    happy bday to chip and hooray for a cute package from polly! i should just order her dvd already
    have a wonderful night!

  49. June 23, 2009 8:33 pm

    Bloaty Blog Friend,

    I just tried MaraNatha cashew macadamia butter for the first time and my taste buds have entered nut butter heaven. I’m sure you’ve tried this one before? Hands down, favorite of all time!

    Hey, thanks for following my marathon journey! A day of torturous delight!

    And how many people can do handstands or hold 3 minute planks? Not me! Graceful or not, very impressive!

  50. June 23, 2009 10:41 pm

    Heather I am totally with you on the struggle of a filling breakfast that isn’t oats. On days it’s too hot and I just make a smoothie- I am hungry an hour or so later. I am looking forward to hearing more about your shake experiments since it sounds like a good in-between. Oats still have my heart though 🙂
    I got my DVD today too! I am SO excited to try it. We are all going to be so yummy. How cute is your bro for sending that photo? Glad he’s a convert. He’ll never go back!!

    ❤ ya

  51. Samantha permalink
    June 24, 2009 12:05 am

    Oh my…what a shake! I need to be trying one of these soon.

    I went to one of the few places I can get nut butters and behold, no more cashew butter and I busted my last jar last week making the “BU” stuff. 😦 But they had cacao bliss so I’m excited!

    Happy Birthday to your brother…and enjoy your Polly goodies!

  52. June 24, 2009 4:14 am

    That shake looks awesome!
    my husband laughs at me daily that I love me some HOT oatbran and oat meal even when it’s 100 here.

    he says the mere site of it makes him gag.

  53. Hanna M. permalink
    June 24, 2009 7:10 am

    Heather, your shake looks soo delicious! Smoothies are good, but they don’t keep me full for very long either. Avocado pudding (avocado, cocoa, baked sweet potato etc. blended) holds me longer. If one adds Mr. Sexy Hot (I have to go without, sadly), it should be even more filling. Next time I will try pudding with Abu on top, yum!
    OK, will try to spread more almond butter love, my family is next. It so cute that your brother sent you that picture 🙂

  54. June 24, 2009 7:10 am

    I bought a food processor a month or so ago (black and decker) from target and it broke already! I only used it one time and we threw away the box so I can’t even return it. 5$ a jar – that is such a good deal!! We unfortunately do not have any TJ’s around here the nearest one is i think 3 hours away. I think ill have to try making my own once I get a new food processor. Thanks for the advice and tips!

    Michal 🙂

  55. Deb permalink
    June 24, 2009 8:19 am

    LOVE LOVE LOVE Sunflower seed butter. There was one person above who shares the love- can’t remember who. TJs has a good one- so much flavor- and sweet. Spread the word.

Trackbacks

  1. Vinegar Love « Life is yumbo
  2. Out of Commission « Life is yumbo
  3. Heather Eats Almond Butter
  4. A Winner & A Loser « Heather Eats Almond Butter

Leave a Reply

