Skip to content

Raw Cereal For Breakfast

May 27, 2009

Y’all know I love to eat my brown rice like cereal, but sometimes I just need a little crunch.  So, I sprout buckwheat.

1. Soak buckwheat groats 4-6 hours. I’m lazy and just let them soak overnight. Rinse thoroughly.

2. Then comes the sprouting fun.  Both Abbie and Maggie have posted their easy methods for sprouting. Here is mine:

Once again, Costco Heat Dish to the rescue.

Once again, Costco HeatDish to the rescue.

Simply place your rinsed buckwheat groats in a colander over a large bowl.  Keep the temperature warm, at least 70 degrees, and rinse every and drain every few hours.

Look at the little sprouts starting to peek out after about 12 hours:

IMG_23283. I let mine sprout for about 24 hours.  I then dehydrate them in the oven set on the lowest temperature with the door left ajar for a couple of hours.  No, I don’t have an Excalibur dehydrator…but yes, I want one. 🙂

Look at all that sprouty goodness.

Look at all that sprouty goodness.

That’s it my friends.  I now have an entire container of raw homemade cereal. Actually, you can add your groats to any dish for a little extra crunch like salads, yogurt, ice-cream, etc.  Sometimes, I’ll drizzle a little maple syrup on the groats before dehydrating and then afterwards, add dried fruits and nuts for a raw granola. The possibilities are endless.

So, for Raw Wednesday, I present to you an all raw breakfast:

Snap, Crackle, and Pop...HEAB Style :)

Snap, Crackle, and Pop...HEAB Style

Raw buckwheat cereal with cashew milk and a banana.  Delicious!

I hope your raw meal is just as good today. 🙂

Everytime CD sees me set up the Costco HeatDish, I hear the following:

CD’s Random Comment of the Day:

That’s not going to stink, is it?  Ha ha. Apparently, I totally traumatize him with my raw cheese making mishap.

43 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2009 7:30 am

    raw cereal sounds so interesting. Thank you for the step by step instructions 🙂

  2. May 27, 2009 7:53 am

    That’s pretty neat. I liked your CD comment of the day. I think my husband was traumatized by my attempt to make vegan tofu “cheese”.

  3. May 27, 2009 8:03 am

    lol, love the CD comment.
    What a great lookin’ breakfast!

    Are you planning on anything else for Raw Wednesday?

  4. May 27, 2009 8:12 am

    awesome, heather!!! I’m so happy to hear that I can make fancy raw cereals without a dehydrator 🙂

  5. May 27, 2009 8:19 am

    Ooooh what a good idea. I need to hop on the sprouting train. I don’t even know where to begin!!!!

    Hope your day is awesome! And stink free for CD’s sake!

  6. May 27, 2009 8:19 am

    Very cool! I totally want to try this. Hahha- CD

  7. May 27, 2009 8:20 am

    Love it Heather!! You have always got something up your sleeve you sly little sucker!!! But is that going to keep you full???

    Love You!!
    Justine

  8. May 27, 2009 8:22 am

    that is so neat! but it sounds so labor intensive!!! Is it worth the taste? and what DOES it taste like? is it crunchy? chewy?

  9. May 27, 2009 8:26 am

    i really need to jump on the sprouting bandwagon – so cool!

  10. May 27, 2009 8:27 am

    Thanks for the tutorial! Raw cereal sounds really interesting, and I like that you don’t need special appliances. Haha, I love CD’s comment 😀

  11. May 27, 2009 8:40 am

    wow thanks for this little play by play lesson! i have never done something like this, but i DO in fact own a costco heat dish.. so why not??? you are so creative!!

  12. May 27, 2009 8:41 am

    what a great idea! I was wondering about the stink – I remember the cheese post 🙂

    I hope you have a beautiful day!

  13. May 27, 2009 8:43 am

    Again, twinsies, you and I.

    I do this too but have never used a heat dish, does that make them sprout faster? How low does your oven go? I want a dehydrator too and my oven won’t go any lower than 300! Lammmme.

    I have been a busy bee and have 1,000 things and emails and blogs to catch up on but just wanted to say hola lady. Happy humpday!

    Lova ya sweets!

  14. May 27, 2009 8:50 am

    HEAB you are wikkid clevah. This is fun info for those of us w/o dehydrator. And how healthy!

  15. May 27, 2009 9:32 am

    Wow, that’s pretty amazing. I’ve always wondered about sprouting – I don’t quite trust myself to do it right though. Funny how our men are so “traumatized” by our eating habits. My fiance (will be my husband on SUNDAY, eek) always gets a wary look on his face when I bring out the spinach. He thinks green smoothies are the devil. And if I even buy tofu he flips, which is why I go to the store alone now…

  16. May 27, 2009 9:40 am

    Your little sprouts are so cute! Thanks for the how to 🙂 I don’t have a dehydrator so it’s good to know that it IS possible!!

    Haha the raw cheese experiment! Sorry CD’s so traumatized!

  17. May 27, 2009 9:53 am

    Thanks for the step-by-step! A lot better than the real rice crispies 🙂

  18. May 27, 2009 10:28 am

    Man, you are handy! I haven’t tried any of the raw stuff yet but if and when I do I’ll be referring back to your site 😉

  19. May 27, 2009 10:54 am

    Totally doing this. I love it. I’m gonna try it with lentils first – I hope it tastes good!

    Also, I didn’t know you could sprout like this! I’ve only ever seen it done with the cups and cheesecloth( (or pantyhose, in my case).

    (PS – my adzukis finally sprouted, but I didn’t like them nearly as much as the lentils. They were kinda bitter tasting.)

  20. homegirlcaneat permalink
    May 27, 2009 11:01 am

    You are so creative and I can’t deal!! All your breakfast creations are so innovative and faaaabulousss!

  21. May 27, 2009 11:12 am

    Wow…I’m impressed that they can sprout that fast.
    Great way to find a homemade dehydrator. I wonder if it would work well for fruits.

  22. May 27, 2009 11:26 am

    that looks awesome, and i totally will have to try your method, as i have no excalibur either!

  23. May 27, 2009 11:33 am

    what the heck is a costco heat dish?

  24. May 27, 2009 11:35 am

    sprouting? Heat dish? Wha?? Love you, my creative friend!!

    I ROCKED the creativity today with a bowl of cold cereal from a box. 😉 hehehe

    Hope your mid-week is happy and full of CD cuteness and puppy furball love and many a glob of almond butter. I am pretty sure it will include all three of those. 🙂

    XOXO

  25. May 27, 2009 11:50 am

    Awesome breakfast!!!

    What is your lowest temp on the oven? Mine is 200 so I wasn’t sure if it would work. I keep seeing these crispies and I need to make them!

  26. May 27, 2009 1:09 pm

    that looks so good! …and i love the picture with the sprouts poking out through the strainer 🙂

  27. May 27, 2009 2:24 pm

    It looks mighty crunchy, a much more interesting and fascinating version of cereal…I’ve heard and read so much about the raw food diet…I once tried sprouting quinoa, but they seemed to smell really bad!
    I love the little tails…cute!

  28. May 27, 2009 3:33 pm

    Wow Heather, you never cease to impress me with your terrific terrific food ideas. I just read today actually that buckwheat isn’t a type of grain!! That’s really cool!! No wonder my buckwheat noodles taste so nutty. 🙂 I love your ideas with produce…now i just wonder how it tastes…heheheh

  29. May 27, 2009 3:35 pm

    How did you know I had a bag of buckwheat groats just sitting on my counter waiting for me to decide what do with it?!? I’m totally trying this. I’ve never sprouted anything before so I’m very excited:)

  30. Erin permalink
    May 27, 2009 3:40 pm

    You’re so creative Heather. This looks very good.

  31. misstiffie permalink
    May 27, 2009 4:05 pm

    oh wow that looks good 😀 ahh how fun.. makes me wanna try it out sometime!!!

  32. May 27, 2009 5:19 pm

    I had raw buckwheat granola at the Blossoming Lotus in Portland, OR a few weeks ago. SO GOOD! I wish I could have it every day!

  33. May 27, 2009 5:29 pm

    Wow, your raw cereal it’s so cool! You are so creative heather!

  34. May 27, 2009 6:15 pm

    Wow Heather, I would’ve never thought of raw cereal. Yum!

  35. May 27, 2009 7:19 pm

    Ha!! My mom has one of those Costco heat dishes….during the winter we just put that baby in front of the couch and veg out while watching movies on coldddd nights! I loveeee it!

    Your breakfast Heather…. looks very YUM!

  36. May 27, 2009 7:32 pm

    I use sprouted buckwheat for my raw granola and it is for sure one of my favourite spouted seeds- it really is the crunch. And so good mixed with creamy almond butter (but I am sure you know this!). I do have the Excalibur and it is so worth every cent! Keep checking Craigslist- can often find them discounted.

  37. May 27, 2009 7:38 pm

    are the hard like grape nuts? or crunchy? or like the consistency of beans? so curious! you are so crafty – im constantly inspired 🙂

  38. May 27, 2009 9:37 pm

    I like your sprouting method! I haven’t tried to eat the buckwheat sprouts like that, but it is a great idea. Kind of like raw Grape Nuts?!

  39. May 28, 2009 12:28 am

    You are so SMART! I never would think of all your crazy methods.

    Love the CD quote. If I had a dollar for every time my Chris came home, sniffed the air and said, “Broccoli AGAIN?!”

  40. May 28, 2009 12:34 pm

    ohh how creative are you!!

  41. flexyfare permalink
    June 22, 2009 2:19 pm

    Ahh, so this is how you sprout buckwheat :-). It does look like a good smoothie add-in. I am sprouting some mung beans now and they are turning out well. Thanks for your comment on my page! Is it possible to just leave the groats out to dry or is the oven method necessary?

  42. December 1, 2009 6:50 pm

    ok, i hope you reply because YOU are the reason i tried buckwheat in the first place and now i have a question! i bought a box of buckwheat groats and popped one in my mouth…crunchy & mild. why don’t people just eat them like that? is the nutrition better after sprouting and dehydrating them? seems like alot of work. would eating the grouts raw be wrong or weird? well, i did cook some and added to my irish oats with banana, almond butter, vanilla almond milk, and this awesome jelly i just got. i look forward to using buckwheat in other things…maybe adding to quinoa to beef it up a bit. i just don’t find much info on buckwheat online…a few recipes only. what other things do you sprout? can u direct me to some of your posts about sprouting or other sites? thanks!!!

  43. December 1, 2009 7:40 pm

    Olivia, So glad you tried buckwheat. I know some people that do eat them raw, and no that is not wrong or weird. If you like them that way, then go for it. I’ve read that sprouting releases nutrient-rich enzymes that will energize your body. You can sprout all kinds of things – most nuts, seeds, grains. Here is a great sprouting guide with more info: http://www.living-foods.com/articles/sprouting.html. Hope his helps Olivia, and please let me know if you have any other questions. Sincerely, heather

Leave a Reply

