Skip to content

Mr. Coconut, Meet Mr. Cleaver

May 20, 2009

I hope everyone is smiling after their raw meal as much I am. 🙂

First off, I received the spiralizer I won on Gena’s blog.  Thanks so much Gena!

Raw pasta just got a whole lot easier!

Raw pasta just got a whole lot easier!

So, guess what I made for lunch today?

Raw veggie pasta with almond-miso sauce.

Raw veggie pasta with almond-miso sauce.

I spiralized 1 yellow squash, 1/2 a jicama, and threw some broccoli slaw in the mix for a little color.  For the sauce I used this recipe, but subbed the last of my Living Tree Community Foods raw almond butter (sniff sniff) for the tahini. We had the dressing last night for dinner, but I thought it was way too thin. So, I stirred in 3 TBSP of chia seeds and stuck it back in the fridge. Wow, did it thicken up overnight! Before mixing it with my pasta, I gave it a good blend in the Vita-Mix. So creamy, delicious, and surprisingly filling!  However, that didn’t stop me from making a little something sweet…

Coconut, why have I always feared you so?

Coconut, why have I always feared you so?

I have not had the best luck with young coconuts, but this one was really quite easy to open.  I don’t know why I’ve had so much trouble in the past.  I followed these instructions, and voila…

Yes, that's a kitchen cleaver, and yes, it makes me feel like a total bad ass.

Yes, that's a kitchen cleaver, and yes, it makes me feel like a total bad ass.

What did I make with my fresh coconut meat you ask?

Raw chocolate ice-cream.

Raw ice-cream of course!

Into the Vita-Mix went the coconut meat, one frozen banana, 1 TBSP dark cocoa powder (I know – not raw, but I needed chocolate), and a splash of coconut water. After about an hour in the freezer, I served my ice-cream in a fun new bowl I received from my sweet friend, Polly.  And ya know what?

It was totally yummy. :)

It was totally yummy. 🙂

Happy Raw Wednesday everyone!

49 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2009 12:43 pm

    Oooh what a yummy raw adventure you had today! It all looks so delicious! I have been wanting to try to crack open a coconut but haven’t worked up the guts to do it yet. Maybe today is the day!!!

  2. The Novice Berker permalink
    May 20, 2009 12:48 pm

    YAY, spiralizer fun! And the ice cream looks a-freakin’-maaazing. Chocolatey, banana-y, fresh cleaved coconutty goodness! Mmm.

  3. May 20, 2009 12:56 pm

    i just bought a spiralizer so i hope that i’ll be able to look to you for advice and suggestions on how to use it!

  4. May 20, 2009 12:57 pm

    Now THAT looks good. What a neat idea, a spiralizer. I can’t wait to see what you produce with it! Enjoy the rest of your raw Wednesday… I’ll just have to live vicariously through you, seeing as my seafood lunch was a little less than raw!

  5. May 20, 2009 12:59 pm

    Oooh, I’m jealous of the spiralizer!! I don’t have the tools for a coconut, maybe someday soon 🙂

  6. May 20, 2009 1:05 pm

    that spiralizer definitely served you well in creating that lunch – it looks wonderful, heather!

  7. May 20, 2009 1:25 pm

    Delish! It looks wonderful – enjoy it for me.

    *Note to self – get Vita-Mix as soon as you are out of dorm living

    Emma

  8. Melanie permalink
    May 20, 2009 1:32 pm

    Man, that ice cream looks fantastic. I’m amazed at how much the consistency looks like regular ice cream. Does it have a similar consistency? I’d love to try this sometime.

  9. May 20, 2009 1:46 pm

    Ahh! Heather what an AMAZING raw meal! I cannot wait to try that dish.

    And a very big congrats on your first raw ice cream. I am SO glad that you conquered your fear of the raw coconut. Your life will never be the same 🙂

    Raw ice cream is something I have yet to make. But now you’ve inspired me.

    xoxo

  10. May 20, 2009 1:47 pm

    I so want one of those!

  11. May 20, 2009 1:50 pm

    Can you make my veggies (minus asparagus and onions and sweet potatoes) and I’ll make you almond butter in huge amounts any time you like? Deal, heabs?

    LOVE YOU and so happy you got your bowls! Do you know that after I mailed out your bowls, I received that SAME yum bowl from a sweet girl named Faith! I tell ya, this blog love is so sweet.

    Love you, my friend. I told Abbi that Heather like ketchup on stuff too. 😉

    XOXO

  12. May 20, 2009 1:51 pm

    I was totally thinking Leave It To Beaver with that post title!

    I love the raw ice cream! I was thinking of mixing up a little frozen banana, avocado, almond butter action for the girls and I myself!

  13. May 20, 2009 2:02 pm

    Your ice cream looks great! So fun that you made it yourself with a coconut! I’ve never tried opening one before!

  14. May 20, 2009 2:07 pm

    I want a spiralizer! I also want that coconut! I keep seeing them at WF’s but I never get one. I don’t even know how much they are… if they are cheap maybe I’ll pick one up.

    That bowl is adorable. I’m guessing it’s from Target? I went to Target *again* on Monday and accidentally bought many many things I did not need. Those extra long tank tops are so nice though.

    Have a lovely yummy day 🙂

  15. shelby permalink
    May 20, 2009 2:29 pm

    I can’t wait for my raw dinner. I just wish I had a spiralizer to make some noodles!

    I’ve always been afraid of coconuts too. Now I just need to find one so I can try it. That ice cream looks divine!

  16. Andrea permalink
    May 20, 2009 2:59 pm

    I need a vitamix! If only to make my own ice cream!

  17. May 20, 2009 2:59 pm

    What a fabulous meal! Totally jealous 🙂 looks absolutely yum. I hope you are having a great Wednesday

  18. May 20, 2009 3:15 pm

    Wow, that spiralized veggie pasta looks awesome, and so does that ice cream! That’s definitely the best way to eat raw 😀

  19. May 20, 2009 3:36 pm

    oooh i love this asian-influenced lunch…especially since you made that slaw all by yourself! (i know i know, you had a machine you LUCKY girl you!) but HOW CREATIVE are you to make icecream out of coconut meat?!?!?! that’ brilliant! When I used to travel to thailand, I would just scoop out the meat with a spoon and eat it just like that. It’s AMAZING!!

    I don’t know why i never noticed this, but i went to those before and after pics and saw the picture of you and the hubby. WOW you guys look so much alike!!! I love the family picture. 🙂 SO SO CUTE.

  20. May 20, 2009 3:45 pm

    look at you miz fancy pants, with your raw ice cream and fun new raw toy!

  21. May 20, 2009 4:17 pm

    Oh my goodness – both dishes sound fantastic!! Would you like to come “cook” for me?! 😉

  22. May 20, 2009 4:32 pm

    We have ESP, I swear! Raw Ice Cream rocks!! We for sure need to be neighbors someday..then I can borrow your spiralizer and Vitamix and you can use my dehydrator! Between the two of us, we would have every kitchen tool you could ever need, cleaver and all!

  23. May 20, 2009 4:40 pm

    that ice cream look divine! chocolate, coconut, and banana?!! yum 🙂

  24. May 20, 2009 5:06 pm

    I want a spiralizer so badly!!! and that ice cream looks SOOOO good.!!!!
    my mouth is watering for sure.

  25. May 20, 2009 5:09 pm

    Oooh, looks like you had spiralizer fun! My roommates and I are totally obsessed with Gena’s blog…and the spiralizer. My roommate actually tried to find one at the store without success. The raw pasta looks fantastic.

    And the raw coconut icecream? Ahh, looks so delicious and perfect for the warm weather we’ve been having in Ohio (what?!! it’s about time!).

    Have a wonderful evening, Heather!

  26. May 20, 2009 5:27 pm

    This ice cream is right up my alley!!!

    So glad you tried a coconut! ME TOO! I am waiting for my review posts to be done to put my post up about it. I LOVED IT! It’s soooo fresh and tasty. I chugged all the water too.

    I hope you are having a happy humpday! Wish you could come over and we could eat coconut ice cream together!!

    Hugs Heather! xoxox

  27. May 20, 2009 6:09 pm

    Haha, yum is right! For everything above! I commend you for your bravery with the coconut… I’m still so intimidated 🙂

  28. eatlivelovedream permalink
    May 20, 2009 6:10 pm

    So much creativity brews out of you heather?! when do you find the time to dream all this stuff up?

  29. May 20, 2009 6:42 pm

    Both the veggie past and icecream look amazing. And I love that you found a way to get some chia seeds in there too!

  30. May 20, 2009 7:04 pm

    I love that bowl! The coconut is intimidating — good for you!

  31. May 20, 2009 7:09 pm

    ooh ,fun raw day!

    looks like raw ice cream is all the rage today!

  32. May 20, 2009 7:14 pm

    Yum Heather, That icecream looks great! Your so creative! I can believe you won a spiralizer 😉 how awesome is that! Hope you had a great day!

    Loves,
    Justine

  33. May 20, 2009 7:27 pm

    OH MY GOSH! Love your raw meals!!! They look totally delicious.
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  34. May 20, 2009 8:28 pm

    Oh my gosh you are such a bad ass with that clever!!! lol. I love the ice cream!!

  35. May 20, 2009 8:46 pm

    I too have had mixed experiences with cracking open the young coconuts. Sometimes easy- sometimes I am forced to smash them on the cement outside. Either way- nothing sweeter than fresh coconut water and your ice cream looks totally amazing.

  36. May 20, 2009 9:51 pm

    Your coconut ice cream looks amazing! I have GOT to try that one!

  37. May 20, 2009 11:12 pm

    im having a hard time adequately appreciating your eats because im SO jealous! i want fun appliances, too. i could never cleaver a coconut, id end up in the emergency room…and i say that with 100% confidence.

  38. May 20, 2009 11:27 pm

    great, another kitchen appliance on my want list. thanks alot!

    hehe! do you have an ice cream machine?

  39. May 21, 2009 12:00 am

    Im excited to see all the spiralizing you come up with! 🙂 I know it will be fun!

    Your coconut ice cream looks amazing and sounds so refreshing!

  40. May 21, 2009 8:10 am

    Um, I kind of want to jump into my computer screen. And buy a coconut stat!!

  41. greenbean permalink
    May 21, 2009 8:48 am

    Heather,

    let me tell you. i had to channel you last night at dinner and i’m going to have to channel you again at lunch and probably dinner again tonight. just the way you down some of your not so successful breakfast experiments, like the 1st batch of cauliflower oats, i had to down my brocolli rabe last night. i made too big of a batch and didn’t work out the bitterness correctly. but i thought of you 🙂 and pulled through. i will not waste these good greens!

  42. May 21, 2009 8:53 am

    COVET THE SPIRALIZER! Although from the picture, it kind of looks like a fancy mandoline slicer with a crank. I have a mandoline, and I don’t even use that much, so maybe I should quiet down. 🙂 Even with your evidence to the contrary, I still fear the coconut cleaving.

  43. May 21, 2009 8:58 am

    Heather,

    Hey darlin! It’s so great to “see” your shining face this morning!

    Wowser! I love the idea of you hacking into that bad boy with a giant knife. ;P I don’t think my mother would let me come within 6 feet of that one… I have a horrible habit of accidently cutting my phalanges!

    Have a great Thursday day girlie!
    With Love,
    Emily

  44. May 21, 2009 9:46 am

    Forget the spiralizer…Check out that cleaver! Totally BA, Heather.

  45. May 21, 2009 10:07 am

    can wait to see what else you come up with!! it all looks fabbbb! and that coconut ice cream looks JUST like ice cream! wow!

  46. May 21, 2009 12:38 pm

    Wow, nice! I have yet to find a spiralizer in any store, but no prob bc the time I made a dish like that I used a veggie peeler for the noodles. Today I ate raw breakfast and lunch and thought of you!

  47. May 21, 2009 5:31 pm

    omg that ice cream is fabulous!!! you rock 🙂

  48. May 21, 2009 6:17 pm

    I want one of the spiralizers! They look so fun & an excuse to add yet another random kitchen gadget to my collection =) BTW, awesome homemade treat–screams sweet summertime!

  49. May 22, 2009 8:54 am

    i’m drooling over that ice cream! the bowl polly sent you is adorable!

Leave a Reply

