Skip to content

Yoga & Cereal

May 19, 2009

Some of you have emailed me lately about what I’ve been doing since I stopped going to hot yoga.  So, I thought I’d share. I’m still doing yoga 5 to 6 days a week. My new studio is great, but honestly I do miss the vinyasa classes at Hot Yoga Nashville.  However, my doctor told me that it could take a few weeks to get my potassium levels back to normal, and so I don’t think it would be smart to return to my 6 AM sweat sessions, at least not for a while.  Lately, my week has consisted of 1 90 minute vinyasa class and 2 60 minute power yoga classes.  Since the weather has been nicer, I’ve been taking walks outside when I can’t make it to the studio, followed by some shorter yoga videos (Thanks Polly!) or a few sequences on my own at home.  Once a week, I’ve been trying to take a Yin Yoga class, but it’s difficult for me to get to the class when it’s offered.  So, that’s what I’ve been up to yoga wise.  I’m feeling good and even dropped my gym membership since I was never going.  I’ve been a member of our local Y for over 10 years, and it felt so weird to throw away my membership card. Weird, but not sad. Can’t say I won’t ever go back, but for now, I’m not missing the treadmill or that blasted stepmill AT ALL!

A few of you have also asked me about the no dairy thing.  For any new readers, you can read all about why I decided to quit consuming dairy products here. It’s been about 3 months, and I’m happy to report that I have not had one UTI symptom.  I cannot tell you how happy this makes me!  Do I miss dairy?  Well, I do love my frozen yogurt, but besides that, I don’t really miss it…not even my beloved Greek Yogurt. I used to eat yogurt almost every afternoon with cereal, but I’ve found something that makes me just as happy:

"Cereal" HEAB Style

"Cereal" HEAB Style

That my friends is a big bowl of brown Basmati rice (1 cup maybe?) with Trader Joe’s light canned coconut milk, 1 spoonful of almond butter, and 1 spoonful of peanut butter.  Sometimes, if I need a bit more, I’ll add a chopped frozen banana or a few raisins.  Totally delicious! I really encourage all of you try canned coconut milk in your next bowl of cereal.  It’s much thicker than soy or nut milk, and it adds so much flavor.  Love it!

Speaking of coconut, make sure to visit Coconutgal for a chance to win a pint of Coconut Bliss ice-cream.  I can’t wait to try some myself!

I leave you with my phone conversation with CD from yesterday afternoon:

Heather: Are you running after work?

CD: No, I’ll be home shortly after 5.

Heather: What do you want for dinner? Which leads us to…

CD’s Random Comment of the Day:

I’ll have whatever you’re having…On second thought, I’ll have whatever you’re having with a burger on top.

44 Comments leave one →
  1. greenbean permalink
    May 19, 2009 8:49 am

    i also use brown basmati rice as cereal! i have several restrictions right now and it’s an awesome alternative. the best combo i’ve had is the rice, with chopped cinnamon baked apple, and soy milk. the tart apple gives it a shredded wheat type flavor. yum! and sometimes i’ll throw some roasted buckwheat groats on top for crunch!

  2. May 19, 2009 8:58 am

    I love your mock cereal Heather! I’m definately picking up some canned coconut soon. It’s a great idea.

    It’s also wonderful to hear you are keeping up with the yoga, and wise that you are waiting before getting back into the hot stuff too soon!

  3. May 19, 2009 9:06 am

    Good for you for listening to your body and not doin’ the hot yoga!! It can be so taxing on our bodies. Oooh and YIN YOGA! I LOVE IT!

    What a yummy rice nut butter coconutty snack! I’m gonna have to try that.

    Hope your day is fabulous Heather!

  4. May 19, 2009 9:10 am

    So glad you’re enjoying the new yoga/walking routine! And I am so happy that going dairy free has done so much for you. That is VERY exciting. hahahah CD’s comment totally cracks me up. You know Josh and I are the same way. He’ll have what I’m having with tons of meat, more carbs, less veggies 😉

  5. May 19, 2009 9:16 am

    bahhaha you and CD are so silly! i just love it!

    that treat looks so tasty. i made some coconut rice pudding the other day, which turned out to be a complete and utter failure, but it led me to coconut milk! ive never really used it in anything, but i used it for my oats the next day and it was so great!! yumyumyummmmyyyy.

    have a fab day, heather 🙂

  6. May 19, 2009 9:16 am

    CD’s comment cracked me up.

    The cereal looks great – I’ll try that as soon as I get some coconut milk!

    Have a great day!

    Emma

  7. May 19, 2009 9:18 am

    I’m glad to hear that you are enjoying yoga and not missing Mr. E Lip Tickle or the Dreadmill. Once I’m cleared for yoga, I can’t wait to really get into it!

    I love your rice/coconut milk combo. It reminds me of when I was little and my mom would have leftover rice from dinner and we’d have it for breakfast with milk, cinnamon and sugar. Mmmm!

    I wonder if CD feels pressure to be funny now. He is truly on a roll. Or maybe he is just naturally that funny?

  8. May 19, 2009 9:24 am

    I want to try that cereal kind of pudding/yogurt, it looks amazing!! 😀

  9. May 19, 2009 9:26 am

    Basmati rice is one of my favorite things EVER, but I absolutely cannot cook it without burning! I have to work on that…

  10. May 19, 2009 9:30 am

    So glad it is all going well! Love the coconut milk idea. To save some coin, you can also purchase regular coconut milk and dilute it with water, one can equals three to four cans of the light!

  11. May 19, 2009 9:31 am

    i love heather-style cereal. it’s like almond-peanut butter rice pudding. pretty much an unbeatable combo 🙂

  12. May 19, 2009 9:33 am

    Haha that comment could have come straight out of my hubby’s mouth too….except add a slice of cheese and more salt 😉 Boys are so silly 🙂 I love the rice and coconut idea! That TJ’s light coconut milk is the best I’ve ever had. I bet it would make a killer rice pudding. Yum.

  13. May 19, 2009 10:02 am

    Wow, your “cereal” brought back memories of my mom making me kind of a similar breakfast when I was little – if we had any leftover rice, she’d put some in a bowl with milk and cinnamon and sugar and what not and serve it to me warm. Holy flashback, Batman! Oh and I totally drank some vanilla coconut milk after working out this morning. DEEEElicious.

  14. May 19, 2009 10:09 am

    CD totally sounds like Bill.

    Thanks for sharing the cereal idea + coconut milk. I’ve never had coconut milk before. maybe I’ll start being more adventerous?

  15. May 19, 2009 10:57 am

    I wish there was a yoga studio near me with classes that fit my schedule. I love yoga and don’t get to do it much. I find it so hard to avoid distractions at home and do it on my own. I do so much better when I have a structured class to go to.

  16. May 19, 2009 11:03 am

    I’m so happy to hear that you are liking your new yoga….and that the warmer weather is letting you get outside more! You are resting your body, and hot yoga will be waiting for you. 🙂

    And VERY glad your body is loving being dairy-free! I hope it continues…and it’s so reassuring that you’ve been able to find things you love. WHY can’t they make dairy free fro-yo? It’s coming….I have a feeling….

  17. May 19, 2009 11:13 am

    Glad to hear the no dairy thing is working great! I realized that I officially can no longer eat chicken or cinnamon. Both have given me unbelievable stomach aches lately after giving them up for 3 months.

    Love CD’s comment, that’s the kind of relationship I have as well – “Where’s the meat?”.

  18. May 19, 2009 11:25 am

    hahah that comment is so funny!

  19. May 19, 2009 11:34 am

    great idea with the coconut milk!

    love his comment of the day – that sounds like my husband 🙂

  20. May 19, 2009 11:35 am

    Sometimes you have to switch it up. I’m just about the try my first hot yoga class and I’m hoping I will love it.

  21. May 19, 2009 11:38 am

    Hi Heabs!!

    Yay for YOGA of all kinds. 🙂 I am so happy you have found your thang 😉 and will continue to just learn and grow and enjoy! Love you! Cereal……… holy moly, the coconut milk idea sounds super yum. I cannot WAIT to try that ice cream from Emily’s blog! That coconut gal is a peach.

    Remember all the almond butter you sent me? Well um… GONE. Even my emergency stash, H! 😛

    I even made 2 homemade batches since I got yours, too. I think my family is a little almond nuts. 😉 Just made another batch and this time I left is SUPER thick, like literally a golfball when it’s on a plate. Well okay… BIGGER than a golfball, but it is so divine. I tried apricots today with it and apple slices. Been feeling better… I’ll email you about my random gluten thought… 🙂

    Happy day and massive hugs to you! Enjoy that sunshine filled walk! I hope to go back out again today to get some pink my cheeks! XOXO

  22. May 19, 2009 1:18 pm

    Hi my dear friend 🙂
    Your hubby is too funny!! Love your cereal– as you know I put coconut milk on just about everything and anything possible and think this combo sounds yumlicious!
    Just curious– do you eat gluten free? Or low gluten? Most of your cereals are rice, oats, buckwheat, etc and I don’t think I’ve seen much wheat?
    Thanks for your tip on the giveaway, I am feeling a little overwhelmed! xoxo!!

  23. May 19, 2009 2:36 pm

    hahahha…love cd’s comment.

    and i’m so glad going dairy free has worked so well for you! that is exciting to hear!

  24. May 19, 2009 2:42 pm

    Have you ever tried Dave Farmar’s podcasts? They’re free, and they’re the closest thing I’ve found to classes at my regular power studio.

    That “cereal” is awesome!

  25. May 19, 2009 3:55 pm

    Heather,

    Great idea! I love MOCK foods that are totally all natural and delish. 😀

    I’m giving out some Newman’s Organic Goodies on curlytop. You might want to stop by.

    With Love,

    Emily

  26. May 19, 2009 4:47 pm

    Genius idea with the basmati rice + coconut milk! Reminds me of of an Indian rice pudding I’ve had once before – throw in some cinnamon and raisins and I’m in heaven. I just used my last can of coconut milk for some thai soup, but when I stock up again I will definitely try this.

    CD’s comments get better and better.

  27. May 19, 2009 4:57 pm

    Yum!!! that my friend, looks like a yummier version of mexican “arroz con leche”, specially if you add raisins! love it! 🙂

  28. May 19, 2009 5:03 pm

    Oh CD!

  29. shelby permalink
    May 19, 2009 5:09 pm

    I haven’t been missing the gym either!!! The thought of running has actually been grossing me out. haha

    LOVE that “cereal”! I must try it when I get more coconut milk. How delicious.

    How is CD that funny?! I swear, every post he has something awesome to say. You must be laughing all day long =)

  30. runeatrepeat permalink
    May 19, 2009 5:20 pm

    That looks so good & it’s something the BF would eat too!

  31. May 19, 2009 6:30 pm

    I’m glad you’re so happy with yoga 🙂 Your snack looks delicious!

  32. homegirlcaneat permalink
    May 19, 2009 7:07 pm

    FABBY idea to use coconut milk! I just saw some in the cupboard..I gotta try that bad boy out!

  33. May 19, 2009 7:35 pm

    I made a batch of your maple nut oaties. So good! My fav way to eat them is frozen. Straight from the freezer!

  34. May 19, 2009 8:26 pm

    I love the comment–it made me smile…YUM!
    Thanks for the yoga updates!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  35. May 19, 2009 8:28 pm

    whoa! ive never even thought of having basmati rice with coconut milk and nut butter…why have you been holding out on me with this creation! it looks like perfection in a bowl.

  36. May 19, 2009 8:30 pm

    Ahahah. I love the CD quote. Well I love all of the CD quotes but this one takes the cake. Or perhaps the burger?

    I LOVE your “cereal”. That sounds absolutely amaaazing. I’ve never even tried coconut milk, at least not that I can remember. I’m going to have to get some.

  37. gina (fitnessista) permalink
    May 19, 2009 8:46 pm

    hahah the pilot is the same way. he’s like i don’t care what we have for dinner but mine better have some meat in there 😀
    it’s amazing that you haven’t done “gym cardio” in so long and look (AMAZING) and feel the way you do. i’m hoping that when the day comes that i don’t teach aerobics that i’ll be able to maintain. you give me hope 😀
    hope you and cd are having a great night ❤

  38. May 19, 2009 10:42 pm

    That’s such a good idea to use coconut milk in cereal! i have actually never had it plain, only used in a recipe. I should try it though!

    I’m glad youre feeling awesome out of the gym and slowly working back into yoga!

  39. May 20, 2009 9:30 am

    Heather, I love your blog! Such great ideas, including this one about the rice, coconut milk and nut butter. As for the Coconut Bliss? It is AMAZING. I’m so glad it’s becoming more widely available. My favorite so far is the mint chocolate chip.

    Take care, and happy eating : )

  40. May 20, 2009 9:57 am

    Mmmm! I’m so glad to see someone else has discovered the wonders of coconut milk atop grains. It is SOOO good 🙂 Rice with coconut milk is one of my all time favs too. I’m so glad you’re feeling better! And good for you for trying out some other yoga classes.

    I find yin yoga so beneficial. It really gets me some openings that are very useful in my normal practice 🙂

    Here is a great website about yin yoga, if you want to practice at home (because you hold the poses for so long, and you don’t do that many, I find it one of the easier styles to do at home):

    http://www.yinyoga.com/ys2_2.0_yinyoga_asanas.php

    xoxox

  41. May 20, 2009 11:52 am

    I just cancelled my gym membership too at the Y for the same reason, I didn’t go enough to justify paying for it.

    My friend at work gave me an elliptical that she never used, I have a ton of tapes, and tons of workouts on exercise TV, and a bike and I can walk/run! So that’s free!

    Congrats on your weight loss, this is my first time to your blog, I will be back again!

  42. May 21, 2009 10:09 am

    Chris’ comment is hilar. WITH A BURGER.

    i love what you do with brown rice!!!

    and I totally want to take a hot yoga class once I’ve moved! I really enjoyed it when I lived in MI and did it!

  43. May 21, 2009 5:30 pm

    love cd’s comments!!! and great idea with the rice bowl 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Raw Cereal For Breakfast « Heather Eats Almond Butter

Leave a Reply

