Skip to content

Raw Food Sure Looks Pretty

May 13, 2009

I love to see what people Google to get to my blog.  Yesterday someone did a search for Bizarre Breakfast and ended up at Heather Eats Almond Butter.  Now, do y’all think my breakfasts are bizarre?  I thought everyone ate green and purple oat bran in the morning. 🙂

This morning I woke up with extra sore quads after yesterday’s yoga class. We held Warrior 1 & Warrior 2 forever. My legs were on fire, and it hurts to walk down the stairs today.  This morning, I settled for a nice walk (3 miles) and then came home and did a few Sun Salutations and worked on my Dragonfly Pose.

In keeping with the Raw Wednesday Challenge, I’ve had 2 raw meals thus far today:

Thank God for almond butter!

Thank God for almond butter!

For breakfast, I made my sprouted buckwheat pudding using 1 cup sprouted buckwheat, 3/4 cup water, 1/4 frozen avocado, and 1 scoop of Sun Warrior vanilla rice protein powder.  I think next time, I’ll use a frozen banana instead of the protein powder as this tasted a bit chalky. Not nearly as good as I remember the recipe tasting…oh well, the Living Tree raw almond butter was this bowl’s saving grace!

Lunch:

Pizza Cheeze Pasta with Kale

Pizza Cheese Pasta with Kale & Sun Dried Tomatoes

I used this recipe for my massaged kale, and Gena’s Cashew Pizza Cheese spread served as my pasta sauce (I simply doubled all the ingredients except the cashews & blended everything on high in my Vita-mix).  For the pasta, I cut 2 yellow zucchini squash with my kitchen mandolin, added Celtic sea salt and let it sit in the fridge for a few hours.  I then stirred in 2 spoonfuls of sauce.  Before eating, I let my plate sit in the oven for a few minutes on its lowest setting with the oven door left ajar as I prefer my pasta warm. 🙂

My plate looked so beautiful, and I really wanted to like this kale, but just like my collard greens boiled with a ham hock, I think I will always prefer my kale roasted and covered with ketchup.  However, the pizza cheese pasta was delicious, and I’m so glad I have leftovers!

I’m booked solid with clients this afternoon (I’m a massage therapist for any new readers out there), and I packed this in case I get hungry later:

Raw carrot sticks and coconut water.

Raw carrot sticks and coconut water.

Einstein and Radley (our dogs) like raw snacks too…in fact, they LOVE carrot peelings:

Mom, you forgot to add the peanut butter. :)

Mom, you forgot to add the peanut butter. 🙂

Sunday, we actually ran out of dog food, and the store where I buy the pup’s food is closed on Mondays.  So for breakfast and dinner, I served them brown rice, canned wild salmon, & flax seed with a side of peanut butter.  I said, Look CD, I made the pups Heather Food. CD’s response…

CD’s Random Comment of the Day: 

No, you make yourself dog food.

50 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2009 12:22 pm

    Oh man, everything sounds AMAZING Heather!!!

    I must try that pudding and that salad. Yum.

    I made pizza cheese for lunch too =)

  2. May 13, 2009 12:22 pm

    We must have been on the same brain wave with our raw lunches 🙂

  3. May 13, 2009 12:22 pm

    Such creative meals. Your raw lunchy looks awesome. I hope your clients go well this afternoon (and tip you tons of money ;)). I love making real/healthy food for Frank. If I had more time/$$, I’d make him all of his food

  4. May 13, 2009 12:27 pm

    ha – CDs comment is hilarious 🙂

    i love seeing what people google when they find mine too! I don’t think green breakfasts are bizarre, though.

    have a good afternoon!

  5. May 13, 2009 12:28 pm

    That wacky CD!

    I’ve got some raw pizza cheese to use for lunch too. Hmm…my zukes might get pasta-sized!!!

    Have a great day, HEABS!

  6. May 13, 2009 12:33 pm

    Hehehe… I love CD’s comments.

  7. May 13, 2009 12:35 pm

    Santana loves carrots, but I never think to give her the peelings! So smart! She will thank you the next time I use carrots and she gets a special treat!

  8. May 13, 2009 12:36 pm

    HAHAHAHA Hilarious!!!
    I’m excited to shop for treats for you 🙂

  9. May 13, 2009 12:44 pm

    Aw…your doggies like healthy food too. Sweet! That pudding looks divine. I wish I had more time to eat creative breakfasts in the morning….I’m always rushed outta the house 🙂

  10. May 13, 2009 12:46 pm

    bahahah you and CD really crack me up. how many times have I said that?!

    i love when my doggies eat healthy people food. i want them to live forever, too!

  11. May 13, 2009 12:47 pm

    AAAAAAAAAAAHAHHAHAHA CD’s comment SLAYED me just now. I guess it’s all relative, right? I never think of my eats as weird until I’m around poeple I don’t see often and they’ll be like, you put VEGETABLES in OATMEAL?! At least I have the blog world to keep me company in the weird (puppy?) eats department. 🙂

  12. May 13, 2009 12:50 pm

    yummm 🙂

  13. May 13, 2009 12:51 pm

    My dog loves carrots too, it`s so cute how he chomps down on baby carrots!

  14. Lindsay permalink
    May 13, 2009 12:59 pm

    I never thought to give the dogs the peels! That is my Lily’s favorite veggie, what a good idea.

  15. Jen permalink
    May 13, 2009 1:09 pm

    Great raw meals! I’m not sure I’ll be quite as successful about Raw Wednesday today, but I’ll certainly try. 🙂

  16. May 13, 2009 1:11 pm

    Hahahahaahahah, I love CD’s comment of the day, haha, that was great.

  17. jacobc permalink
    May 13, 2009 1:21 pm

    whopee for Einstein and Radley!!
    I know they will live to be 20! 😉

  18. May 13, 2009 1:23 pm

    FIRST of all, your doggies eat well! Can I come and stay and eat their scraps?!
    Second, I’m with you in loving to see what people Google to find me! Today I had one that entered “dinners out of nothing”–I actually think that one was pretty cool.

  19. May 13, 2009 1:30 pm

    Wow, what’s the raw food wed i’m reading about all over? Fun! I love eating raw especially now that the summer is here. That pudding sounds intriguing! I’ve been soaking/dehydrating buckwheat groats to make crispies and mix with fruit in the morning.

  20. May 13, 2009 1:30 pm

    hahahaha love the CD comment. I’ve had to ban james from telling me that my food looks disgusting right before I’m going to eat it (I mean come on..he told me a date with peanut butter looked gross..that doesn’t give me a lot of wiggle room!!!)

  21. May 13, 2009 1:34 pm

    Hahahaha dog food…hilarious! Love the comment.

    I love reading the searches that come to mine too. One in the past was “yoga peep show.” Umm, I thought my blog was rated G!

    Look at you bein’ so good with the raw food challenge. Yum yum!

  22. May 13, 2009 2:24 pm

    Food looks yummy!! I am ANGRY today!!!!!!!!! AHHHH…dont know why just am!! In need of a girls lunch!!

    ~Justine

  23. May 13, 2009 2:59 pm

    love the eats, I still need to eat something RAW TODAY!!! Well I had an apple so I think that counts:)

  24. May 13, 2009 3:24 pm

    ooo kale and sundried tomatoes, what a killer combo!

  25. May 13, 2009 3:32 pm

    Haha – I love seeing the search engines that lead to my blog! Both of your raw meals look incredible. I need to try the pizza cheese!

    My dogs are so finicky with what they eat! Some veggies they’ll eat but others they chew on and then just spit out. It’s SO annoying!!

  26. May 13, 2009 4:01 pm

    that quote is funny. my husband makes fun of my food all the time too!

    have a great wednesday!

  27. May 13, 2009 4:15 pm

    Haha! CD cracks me up! Glad your raw food challenge is going so well!

  28. runeatrepeat permalink
    May 13, 2009 4:39 pm

    Those raw meals are much more impressive than my lame smoothie!

  29. May 13, 2009 4:43 pm

    wow. Im thinking I really might follow you in this for a day!!

  30. May 13, 2009 4:43 pm

    …or a week 🙂

  31. May 13, 2009 5:01 pm

    I happen to LOVE Heab’s dog food. 🙂 XOXO

  32. May 13, 2009 5:31 pm

    Best CD comment-of-the-day ever! Your raw pasta looks delicious 🙂

  33. May 13, 2009 5:32 pm

    CD keeps the one-liners coming. This one is my favorite! But I’d eat your dog food with you any day 🙂

  34. May 13, 2009 5:43 pm

    Bahaha, that’s a good one from CD! I’ve had a box of coconut water sitting in my fridge for two weeks just waiting for a special occasion… I paid $2.50 for that thing!

  35. May 13, 2009 6:20 pm

    wow your dogs eat carrots, that’s kinda cool!! i’m still working on enjoying kale

  36. May 13, 2009 6:25 pm

    “two girls next to each other” and “hot n sexy” were two of my search terms……yikes, how random is that first one?!!

    And ohhh I love CD’s quote of the day….did you end up eating the dog food? Bet it was tasty! 😉

  37. May 13, 2009 6:35 pm

    Raw just keeps getting better and better in my mind. I can’t wait to make my own transition!

  38. May 13, 2009 7:05 pm

    Oooh–all of it sounds really good! Your breakfast is gorgeous!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  39. May 13, 2009 7:41 pm

    Yay, pizza cheese!

    Sorry bout the kale!! I totally recommend using avocado as well next time…I have a recipe in my recipe tab. It will definitely mellow it out even more 🙂

  40. May 13, 2009 7:47 pm

    Super creative meals Heather! Love it

  41. May 13, 2009 8:16 pm

    hahaha…CDs comment! too funny.

    i agree. im still a newbiw to the kale thing, so for now, soggy is how ill keep them.

  42. May 13, 2009 9:56 pm

    Heather,

    I think that might just be the best CD comment yet!

    That raw pasta looks great! I’m thinking of trying that pizza cheese. Any tips before I do?

    Tomorrow’s Thursday! TGIAF!

    With Love,

    Emily

  43. May 13, 2009 10:46 pm

    lol@ your doggie food! my pup loves veggie scraps too, cucumber butts are his fave! 😉 happy thursday heather!

  44. May 13, 2009 11:08 pm

    OMG CD’s response sounds EXACTLY like something my boyfriend would say about my food. Hilarious!
    your puppy babies are so lucky to have such a healthy mom!

  45. homegirlcaneat permalink
    May 13, 2009 11:12 pm

    haha I love your bizarre breakfasts! And your raw lunches! And how you feed your doggies carrots! And CD’s comments..he must be so fun in person because his one-liners on the internet are too amusing!

  46. May 14, 2009 12:44 am

    hahaha, love the CD comment. Oh dear 🙂
    I think all of your food is lovely—the dogs are very very lucky to be taken such good care of.
    xoxo

  47. May 14, 2009 6:17 am

    That is so funny about your doggies! Their mommy treats them well. 🙂

    I have never had kale roasted w/ketchup….I do want to try. I’m lovin’ kale in my green monsters. It just takes up SO much room in the fridge. It’s startin’ to look like the produce section up in there.

  48. May 14, 2009 7:09 am

    I love seeing the google searches people use to get to my blog. They always crack the DH and I up! Because of the nature of my blog, some of the things make me kind of sad, too.

  49. May 14, 2009 7:25 pm

    HAHA do u watch Colbert? He just did a hilarious shpiel on a survey that said 6 out of 18 ppl couldn’t tell Dog Food from Pate, and then proceeded to eat fancy feast out of a glass 😀

    The weirdest google search i got for my blog was “cream colored cabana pant” hahahaha..

Trackbacks

  1. Orange Ya Glad It’s Friday « Heather Eats Almond Butter

Leave a Reply

