Skip to content

I Am Spoiled

May 7, 2009

Three words for you my friends: I LOVE ARIZONA.

Yesterday, Alice, my mother-in-law, and I spent the morning here:

img_21621I won’t go in details.  Just know there were fluffy robes involved, and now my toes look really pretty.  Thank you Alice!!!!

After our morning at the spa, I attempted to make an all raw lunch as part of Gena and Jenna’s Wednesday Raw Challenge:

I miss my Vita-Mix.

I miss my Vita-Mix.

I won’t lie. After taking this picture, I smothered my salad in Trader Joe’s sun dried tomato hummus.  Mmm, much better. 🙂 I promise to do better next week!

Later, I was still hungry, and my sweet CD took me here:

Whole Foods-Mergerto buy me this:

Crunch almond butter...I cannot live without ya!

Crunchy almond butter...I cannot live without ya!

I came home and made this:

Oat bran a la mode

Oat bran a la mode

That’s one cup cooked oat bran, 1 scoop of vanilla Rice Dream, and a big glob of crunchy almond butter.  My belly was happy. 🙂

A few things before I go…

A big thank you to Sweetie Pie for the following award:

superblogSweetie Pie and I are in kindred spirits in this crazy blog world.  We share similar stories, and I admire her so much for all that she has accomplished in life.  Sweetie Pie, I am honored that you chose me to receive this award.  Many many thanks my friend!

CD’s Random Comment of the Day:

So, it’s sunny and in the 90’s here in Phoenix, and I completely forgot to pack any shorts or a bathing suit. Chris’s response:

You didn’t pack any shorts, but I see you remembered to bring enough Jay Robb rice protein powder for an army…Come on CD, you think I’m going to go 5 days without my daily dose of Mr. Sexy Hot?  I think not. 😉

OK, I’m off to walk to this yoga studio for a flow class.

Have a wonderful Thursday!

44 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    May 7, 2009 8:37 am

    Wow, looks like you are having a great time!! Keep enjoying yourself and eating almond butter. I just had a healthy dose myself.
    And I love the CD quotes, they make me laugh everytime. Although I would so do something like that too. I never ever pack enough clothes, but food is never a problem.

  2. May 7, 2009 8:43 am

    Yayyy for the spa! I need a day filled with pampering 😉 Love that you ran out and got some almond butter….clearly nut butter is VERY necessary in day to day life. HILARIOUS that you didn’t pack a bathingsuit and shorts but brought lots of mr. sexy jay robb- you crack me up

  3. May 7, 2009 8:46 am

    what a great time! the spa sounds fabulous, and I’m jealous the WF trip! my town needs to get on the WF or TJs bandwagon soon!

  4. May 7, 2009 8:55 am

    I seriously love Rice Dream – I just finished off a box of the Vanilla Hazelnut – yummy!

  5. May 7, 2009 9:01 am

    Spa day AND Whole Foods?! I’m not going to lie…I’m very jealous!! But you deserve it, and I am so glad you are enjoying yourself…almond butter, Jay Robb, hummus and all 🙂

  6. Sandy permalink
    May 7, 2009 9:01 am

    Pictures of the family please – what does your mother-in-law do that makes you feel super welcome and pampered. My son is getting married in a month and I really want to have them enjoy coming to visit and spend time with us.

  7. May 7, 2009 9:10 am

    Haha sometimes men just don’t understand.. .. 😉

  8. May 7, 2009 9:11 am

    i’m glad you’re having a wonderful time!

  9. May 7, 2009 9:21 am

    How much fun! Nothing better than pretty toes in time for sandal season!

  10. May 7, 2009 9:22 am

    As long as something involves fluffy robes I am so IN!

  11. jacobc permalink
    May 7, 2009 9:23 am

    Sweet!! CD’s parents are awesome!-, you come and make big messes in the kitchen and she still takes you to the spa? hmm. 😉
    You should have brought CD along, i’m sure if he has the “runner feet” i have- they would charge double!
    Have you gotten a chance to find any running trails, or have we given up on running and leaving that to CD?- I’m sure you will love the yoga studio, didn’t you use it on your last visit?

    Suprised you didn’t pack the almond butter, good thing there was a whole foods to come to the rescue!

    I forgot, was it AZ that you and CD are moving to? Looks like the market is turning a little more positive, hope you get what you want for your house soon. (or maybe after august, then you can come to my house warming party ;-p)

    have fun!

  12. May 7, 2009 9:25 am

    Hooray for a soothing spa day! And what better to follow it with than greens and berries?!

    No apologies for simple eats, my dear: They are the best kind 🙂

  13. May 7, 2009 9:27 am

    Oh I’m so jealous of your spa day!!! I’m so glad you’re having a fun time, and you know, I’ve forgotten to pack shorts and bathing suits for a warm-weather trip before! I just use it as an excuse to go shopping!

  14. May 7, 2009 9:35 am

    yay for Arizona!! 🙂 XOXO

    Have fun at that flow class, sweetie! Thank the Lord for Almond butter, phew! I was so worried for you when you had none… 😉

    Love you, my Arizona sunshine!

    … will email you soon. 🙂 XOXO

  15. Sandy permalink
    May 7, 2009 9:37 am

    Thanks for the tips. it is good to know it isn’t so much about what there is on the schedule as having time to just be away. I am trying to decide if Christmas at home is more important or a ski trip to the mountains. I would be glad to do either. I guess I will just ask. Are you going to be able to rent a house in Colorado like you did last summer? We love to hike in colorado in the summer. Trying to plan a hiking trip with our going off to college daughter for this summer. We have done two Colorado trips so we are thinking of the Pacific Northwest.

  16. May 7, 2009 9:39 am

    So jealous of your spa trip!!

    I am seeing all kinds of chunky almond butter everywhere lately, guess I need to hop on the train! 🙂

  17. May 7, 2009 9:55 am

    I hope you don’t mind that I shared the glorious story of your email to me on the blog today. I think everything happens for a reason, and your friendship is a part of that!

    I love your shirt, I have a very similar one. Brown is good because it hides stains…like AB, chocolate Jay Robb, hummus etc.

    I’m really bad at the raw thing too. But hey, it’d be boring if we were too perfect, you know?!

  18. May 7, 2009 9:56 am

    I’m glad you brought Mr. Sexy Hot on vacation – he already has a bangin’ tan!

    Spa day followed by WFs?! You are having one fantastic vacation!

  19. May 7, 2009 10:13 am

    Glad you are enjoying AZ and got in some relaxing at the spa. 🙂

    I love WF! Do you like their almond butter better than TJ’s? I actually prefer smooth almond butter (and peanut butter), but I have only tried TJ’s.

    Love CD’s random comment of the day…at least you have plenty of protein powder! 🙂

  20. May 7, 2009 10:46 am

    It sounds like you are having a wonderful trip and your mother in law sounds like an amazing lady!

    That Whole Foods looks bigger than any one I have ever seen! I can just spend hours and hours walking around in there and looking at all of the fun products. It’s even better when they have samples!!

    Enjoy the rest of the time with your in-laws and a break from work and enjoy the time to relax!!! Love you HEAB!!!

  21. May 7, 2009 10:54 am

    I was hoping to say something witty, but my brain has gone all mushy after that picture of oatbran “a la mode” *drooooool*

  22. May 7, 2009 11:14 am

    good for you, heather! you deserve such serious pampering!
    haha, almond butter…I just tried my sample of barney butter and am now hooked! AB is the way to go!

  23. May 7, 2009 11:18 am

    Oh..the spa! How fun for you to be able to spend the day there! I do love Arizona! Is it deathly high heat there yet? I hope you find a swimsuit so you can enjoy the sun for reals!

  24. May 7, 2009 11:19 am

    Aww, you are very welcome! I’m so happy to have found you and your blog. 🙂

    Oat bran a la mode with nut butter? Seriously? I see that coming soon to a bowl near me!!

  25. May 7, 2009 11:19 am

    That sounds amazing. Enjoy your flow 🙂

  26. runeatrepeat permalink
    May 7, 2009 11:19 am

    Ha, it’s funny that you packed your must have foods, but not a bathing suit.

  27. Briana in Tucson permalink
    May 7, 2009 11:32 am

    Yeah for Arizona! We’d all love to have you and CD here permanently!

  28. May 7, 2009 11:44 am

    I didn’t do so well with my raw challenge either =o Oops. haha

    OH MY GOSH. That could possibly be the best bowl of oat bran I’ve even seen. Genius girl!

  29. peaceandpeanutbutter permalink
    May 7, 2009 11:58 am

    Awww so jelous of your trip! I bet it’s beautiful there!

    I love the dress you are wearing in that pick (and of course, it looks fabulous next to that crunch AB!)

    Andd I’m glad you and your mother-in-law have such a great relationship! That spa sounds dreamyyyy!

  30. May 7, 2009 12:15 pm

    Robes and pretty toes??!! I’m so jealous. My toes look….ugh. I can’t even think about it right now! I’d also go for a nice robe, though.

    LOVE your brown shirt! (Or is it a dress? Inquiring minds want to know). And that is so funny you forgot shorts and a swim suit. Hopefully you at least brought flip flops/sandals? And…maybe this will earn you a mini-shopping spree?

  31. May 7, 2009 12:23 pm

    aww, i’m glad youre having such a good time!! you deserve the spoiling, so soak it up 🙂

    i’m pretty sure that i would consider jay robb’s place in my suitcase before such things as CLOTHES. you are a girl after my own heart 😛

  32. May 7, 2009 1:31 pm

    I had no idea they had frozen Vanilla rice dream – it looks delish!

  33. May 7, 2009 4:55 pm

    ohhh the spa and that fresh fruit both look heavenly!! have tons of fun

  34. May 7, 2009 5:55 pm

    enjoy your time in arizona! it sounds lovely so far 🙂

  35. May 7, 2009 6:02 pm

    hurray for whole foods and SPA treatments…and for almond butter, and oat bran a la mode. sounds soooooooooo amazing!!!

    have a great night heatherrrrrrr!

  36. May 7, 2009 6:06 pm

    Lucky you getting all pampered. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

  37. May 7, 2009 6:52 pm

    Cute shirt! Check out the Whole Foods down in Chandler. It’s huge and has so much interesting features. Don’t forget to go to AJ’s Fine Foods while you’re in AZ. It’s fabulous.

    There’s a great chocolate shop on Scottsdale Blvd too. I’ll try to remember where exactly.

  38. May 7, 2009 7:18 pm

    You look so happy with your new almond butter! Sounds like a great trip — sorry you forgot shorts and bathingsuits, that is something I would do!

  39. May 7, 2009 8:24 pm

    what fun!! and yay for your AB!!!!

  40. broccolihut permalink
    May 7, 2009 10:45 pm

    Haha, I am the same way–I inevitably forget my PJs, but I always have a full stash of Larabars when I am travelling. I’ve got my priorities.

  41. May 7, 2009 11:54 pm

    LOL, gotta love the jay robb! i am loving mine but know it will be gone all too quickly 😦 i’m jealous of your spa time!

  42. May 8, 2009 9:12 am

    haha, CD’s comments are too funny. mostly because it reminds me of me and kyle. i forgot to pack any bras when i went home last weekend, but i had enough bars and stevia packed for a month.

    whole foods loveeeeee 🙂

    ps your moms in law is WAY hip! (chia seeds, dizam!)

  43. May 8, 2009 2:40 pm

    oooh! I love the spa! It’s such a great way to unwind!

    Love Whole Foods too!

    Have a great evening!

Trackbacks

  1. Orange Ya Glad It’s Friday « Heather Eats Almond Butter

Leave a Reply

