Skip to content

If At First You Don’t Succeed…

May 5, 2009

Cauliflower for breakfast, round 2:

Cauliflower Redeemed

Cauliflower Redeemed

If you know me at all, then you know I can be very stubborn.  That being coupled with the fact that I was determined to use up our last beautiful head of purple cauliflower before leaving town, I gave the cauliflower breakfast another try.  After yesterday’s Heat the Salmon Butt disaster, I tried a different approach this morning. Instead of using all cauliflower, I added 1 cup cooked oat bran.  So, into the Vita-Mix went the oat bran along with 1/2 head of steamed purple cauliflower, 1 scoop of Sun Warrior vanilla rice protein, and 1/2 cup water.  Blend blend blend. This made a HUGE bowl – so very filling and quite tasty if I do say so myself.  The cauliflower really bulked up my breakfast adding lots of fiber and vitamin C without a lot of extra calories.  Now, I will say that unless you are sweetening your oats with either protein powder or some other sweetener, I would not recommend adding steamed veggies to the mix.  Unlike spinach, the cauliflower did alter the taste, but thankfully, the Sun Warrior masked it.  This would be a great method to slip your kids some extra vegetables.  Besides, who doesn’t love a purple breakfast, especially when it’s topped with almond butter!

Yoga update:  So loving my new yoga studio!  The instructors are ALL wonderful. They’re just so loving and goofy…kind of like my other favorite yoga instructor who lives far away. 😦 This past Sunday night, taking both Courtney and Polly’s advice, I went to a Yin Yoga class.  All I have to say is WOW!  What a great way to bring my weekend to a close.  We held maybe 5 or 6 poses for at least 5 minutes each, including some that had to be done for each side of the body.  Honestly, I didn’t want the class to ever end, and I’m definitely looking forward to practicing more Yin!  Yesterday, I squeezed in a Vinyasa class between clients, and I’m so glad I did. I’d never taken from this particular instructor, and I think it was the best power flow class I’ve ever taken.  The transitions were so smooth, and before I knew it, we were lying in Savasana. Plus, we did Standing Split against the wall which I am loving lately.  So yummy. 🙂

Don’t forget to enter my Wild Bar Giveaway.  You have until midnight tonight (Tuesday, May 5) to leave a comment. Random side note: Can I tell you how much I love Sing For You by Tracy Chapman?  Listening to it right now…makes me so happy. 

CD’s Random Comment of the Day:

Where the hell have you been hiding all those Wild Bars?!?…Hehe, sorry CD. Don’t worry, I gave him the last Mountain Mint. 🙂

P.S. Chris and I are leaving today for Arizona to visit Chris’s parents.  We’ll be back Sunday, and until then posting and blog reading may be pretty sporadic.  Much love to you all…off to enjoy some sunshine out west!

43 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2009 8:49 am

    Yin yoga sounds right up my alley!! I love love slow flow classes and feeling the burn from holding poses for a long time (rather than the super-fast vinyasa burn). I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for mentioning it!

  2. May 5, 2009 8:52 am

    i’m so glad you are loving the yoga and the purple bfast looks great to me 🙂

    CD’s comments are too funny – i love it.

    Have a safe and fun trip!!!

  3. May 5, 2009 9:07 am

    Oh girl, you KNOW how much I just LOVE you!!!

    Yay for yummy yoga and as soon as I get my booty down to Nashville again, we are going back to our studio together! 🙂 🙂

    Have a wonderful and safe trip to MIL and FIL’s!! XOXO

    p.s. standing split against a wall is YUMMY, but not as yummy as almond butter eaten in your jammies after class. 😉

  4. May 5, 2009 9:07 am

    Yin YOga sounds awesome, I’d love to try it! Have a great trip!

  5. May 5, 2009 9:08 am

    woooooo!!! another broccoli puree breakfast!!! that’s really wild!!! I have some resistant to add veggie in my oats, but I’m working on it, I will try adding spinach soon as stage 1! 🙂

  6. May 5, 2009 9:15 am

    I am impressed that you even attempted the cauliflower experiment again after it flopped the first time. I’m glad it worked out this time, it sure sounds interesting. I love coming up with new ways (like your breakfast) to sneak more veggies into my diet!

  7. May 5, 2009 9:19 am

    I’m glad you found a way to make your brekkie bowl experiment work! What a great idea!!

    Have a great and safe trip.

    Oh, and I have a little something for you over on my site. 🙂

  8. May 5, 2009 9:29 am

    Your bfast looks so creamy and delicious- I cannot believe there is cauli in there! Glad you enjoyed it 🙂 Also, SO excited to hear that you are loving the new yoga studio. Having to make changes like that are always tough.

    Have so much fun on your trip! Get some sun and relaxing in!

  9. May 5, 2009 9:29 am

    well at least it was a better brekkie the second time around – even if you had to mask it with tons of other ingreds. i dont think the urge to add veggies to my oats will ever strike, but if it does, i feel very prepared now…

    have fun in AZ! hope the weather there is better than it is here 🙂

  10. May 5, 2009 9:35 am

    Have a safe trip!!!
    Glad your breakfast was better today… though blended up cauliflower might be a little bit beyond me!

  11. May 5, 2009 9:51 am

    Hmmm…I think I would just eat a bowl of oat bran and a side of cauliflower, but I admire your determination!

    Have a safe trip to AZ and if you get the urge to drive North…you know where to find me!

    PS I’m currently hiding Abbie’s donut holes from my Chris. He asked me for one last night and it was like he was asking me for a kidney. I might actually rather give that up!

  12. May 5, 2009 10:07 am

    I can’t believe you got cauliflower to work for breakfast! Awesome! I also love Yin Yoga and just got certified to teach in a few months ago. It’s such a great complement to my Vinyasa yoga practice.

  13. May 5, 2009 10:16 am

    Have a safe trip!

    I am glad you enjoyed yin. I have to be careful with yin because of my depression which yin can aggravate. I do find that when I am super stressful, a more yin like class does my body and mind good, though.

  14. May 5, 2009 10:18 am

    Can’t say I’ll ever try cauliflower in my breakfast bowl but I’m happy you had a successful round two!

    And thanks again for that recipe.

    -E

  15. May 5, 2009 10:23 am

    i neeeeed to try this cauliflower in breakfast right away! it’s so important to me that my breakfasts are sweet, and i think this is an idea way to get veggies and volume in at the same time. once again, heather, you’re so smart!

  16. peaceandpeanutbutter permalink
    May 5, 2009 10:45 am

    Props to the Breakfast QUEEN! You are so innovative!

    Enjoy your time out west! I’m jelous 🙂

    ~Peace, Erika

  17. peaceandpeanutbutter permalink
    May 5, 2009 10:46 am

    p.s. yin yoga sounds so intriguing! i’m glad you are lovin your new studio..i’m anxious to start a package as SOON as i’m out of school!

  18. May 5, 2009 11:29 am

    Standing splits against a wall?? Sounds….sexual? Hahaha, j/k. Maybe.

    I wish you could make my b-fasts for me! I would even eat cauliflower, if it looked like that.

    Have so much fun in AZ! I’m jeals…I’ve never been. Soak up the sun (through SPF of course) and enjoy your family time. 🙂

  19. May 5, 2009 11:30 am

    that looks like a great way to get more veggies into one’s diet. and how cute, too! kids would love the purple color!

  20. May 5, 2009 12:13 pm

    I love how you tried again with the cauliflower! You have such amazing creations.

    The yoga sounds so great, just what I need right now.

    Have fun in AZ!!! I’m so jealous =)

  21. May 5, 2009 12:20 pm

    Oooh, I’ll have to check out some Yin yoga. I love yoga that is sloooow and streeetchy 🙂 Have fun in Arizona, soak up some extra sun for me!!

  22. May 5, 2009 2:12 pm

    Have a great trip! I’m so trying your cauliflower oats. I don’t know why but that sounds really yummy to my preggo self!

  23. May 5, 2009 3:18 pm

    Have fun! And great breakfast–sounds very interesting and good all at the same time. I love cauliflower. What do you use to blend your oats?
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  24. May 5, 2009 4:32 pm

    Yeah, Heather! Show that cauliflower who’s boss!! Glad you made it work!

  25. May 5, 2009 4:49 pm

    that meal looks like a SUCCESS!! anything topped with nut butter is an instant success 🙂

    hahha. CD……..

    have fun on your trip! I shall miss you and your blendy things 🙂

  26. May 5, 2009 5:53 pm

    Can never have enough bars!! =) Thanks for the opportunity to win some!

  27. May 5, 2009 8:00 pm

    I’m glad the purple cauliflower worked well this morning. What a unique idea 🙂

    Enjoy AZ, send some sunshine my way. It’s been raining here in VA for far too many days.

  28. Samantha permalink
    May 5, 2009 8:41 pm

    I made the mashed caul with my supper last night. SO GOOD! I was really surprised. Ill have to try the bfast version. I’m almost out of vanilla whey which I’m trying to wean off of and am going to buy some rice protein powder this week.

    Looking up that song right now.

    That yoga sounds wild…I can’t imagine being in a warrior or something like that for 5 minutes but would love to try that version. Glad you’re happy there!

  29. Casey permalink
    May 5, 2009 9:27 pm

    Do you have any recommendations for yoga books? I’m going to be away doing an internship for the summer, and I don’t want to join a studio for a few months. A book with poses would be superb, but I don’t even know where to begin looking! Do you (or any of your lovely readers?) have suggestions?

    Thanks!

  30. May 5, 2009 9:29 pm

    Perhaps I ought to read your latest post before commenting and telling you how to improve a Heat the Salmon Butt recipe. I stand corrected – you’re a genius! Great idea to add the oats – I love the purple hue 🙂

    Yin yoga sounds interesting. I am so out of the yoga loop. I do want to take a bikram class this summer, though. I just think I need to do some basic yoga workouts first in order to feel confident.

    You lucky girl, going to AZ! I hope you have the BEST time. I can’t wait to see pictures!!

  31. yogiclarebear permalink
    May 5, 2009 11:43 pm

    good for you for giving it another go! i love cauli, but i think i’ll stick with steamed and salted for now. 🙂

  32. May 6, 2009 1:25 am

    thanks for your advice on my blog, i have seen chia on blogs here and there but never in stores. i will have to get some next time i am at whole foods, i am sure it is there.

    have a fun trip! it will be warm!

  33. May 6, 2009 7:01 am

    resilience!! way to keep trying on the cauliflower- sounds good with the rice protein!!

    i’ll look for these wild bars, cool!

  34. May 6, 2009 8:11 am

    I am MOST DEFINATELY trying this cauliflower blended into oats concoction! I’m always on the lookout for more things to blend into my oats – spinach is great, but surely there are other fabulous, under-utilized or over-looked vegies that could also make an appearance in my breakfast bowl. Are you going to try broccoli next? Maybe I should.. hmmm…

    In any event, I love the perserverence Heather, you gotta keep trying with everything in life (breakfast included!)

  35. Tracy permalink
    May 6, 2009 9:38 am

    Heather,

    Good choice on adding califlower to your oatbran! That’s one I haven’t tried yet!

    I have been addding powdered barley grass, which turns mine a pretty green. The veggie choices are endless when you think about it. I’ve added kale to mine too, and last week I had some left over steamed carrots that I blended in.

    It’s the best way to add in the extra veggies!

    xoxo,

    Tracy

  36. May 6, 2009 12:19 pm

    Words do not begin to describe my pleasure at seeing someone make cauliflower oats. Truly, sister: I adore you!

  37. May 6, 2009 5:12 pm

    I have to give you kudos for your perseverance. I don’t know if I would have tried cauliflower in my oat bran after the heat the salmon butt disaster. But I’m glad it worked this time around!

    Sounds like yoga is lovely and amazing there. I hope I can find somewhere to practice in St. Louie!

    Have a great vacation! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Win 12 Amazing Grass Chocolate Superfood Bars! « Nicole Raw & Awake
  2. A Jar? A Bowl? Why Not Both? « Heather Eats Almond Butter
  3. New Nut Butters « Heather Eats Almond Butter
  4. Raw Food Sure Looks Pretty « Heather Eats Almond Butter
  5. Guess That Veggie « Heather Eats Almond Butter
  6. Why Isn’t This On The Menu?!? « Heather Eats Almond Butter

Leave a Reply

