Skip to content

My Favorite Vehicle For Salt

April 30, 2009
Trader Joe's Veggie Tortilla Chips with Flax

Trader Joe's Veggie Tortilla Chips with Flax

Y’all, I love chips so much, but I rarely buy them as I cannot control myself with an opened bag in the house.  However, when I was told I needed to increase my salt intake, chips were the first thing that came to mind…so did queso, but I stopped myself at chips. 🙂

Yesterday’s lunch:

Dipping Platter

Dipping Platter

I sauteed some collard greens in cooking oil spray and salt and served them with a bell pepper, carrots, chips, hummus, and Gena’s raw cashew pizza cheese (on my second batch Gena…so good!)

This morning I went to an early yoga class called Power Latte, and it was the strangest yoga class I’ve ever attended.  It was the same class I went to Tuesday morning, but today our instructor was acting like a complete wacko.  Hilarious!  We were doing all these prep poses…things my body had never done.  There wasn’t a lot of flowing happening…I don’t know.  It was just weird.  I then continued the theme of the morning with a somewhat bizarre breakfast…I had chips. 🙂

No oats today!

No oats today!

This was a plate of wilted spinach topped with scrambled eggs, hummus, raw cashew pizza cheese and more chips.  Yum!

Gotta get back to work. Don’t forget to enter my chia seed giveaway. You have until midnight tonight (Thursday, April 30). CD, I hope you win…will ya leave a comment already?!? 🙂

36 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2009 2:42 pm

    What an awesome platter- I love all the fun bright colors.

  2. April 30, 2009 2:45 pm

    love the chips for breakfast 🙂

  3. April 30, 2009 2:47 pm

    chips are not a usual weakness of mine, but i LOVE those TJs tortilla chips!!! especially with hummus! mmmmm….

  4. April 30, 2009 2:57 pm

    Once I get going on those chips, there’s no stopping me. It’s just such a bummer that there are only 7 chips per serving!

  5. April 30, 2009 3:01 pm

    oh my gosh I loooove those chips!! I love most of the TJ tortilla chips (aka all the ones I’ve tried) and I can’t be trusted around them either. I could eat a bag. However many servings they claim are in a bag..it’s just far too many to be factual.

  6. April 30, 2009 3:13 pm

    Chips are such a weakness of mine too! I’ve been into anything crunchy lately…chips, pretzels, cereal…but all healthy of course! Well, healthier than most regular grocery store items.

    I love your breakfast creation, savory is a nice change from the usual sweet meal =)

  7. Erin permalink
    April 30, 2009 3:21 pm

    I am a chipaholic. Way worse with those things than sweets. Sweets I can have, chips I never ever buy! Inevitably, they only last a day or two before I’ve ingested the whole bag. Mmmm. My favorite junky indulgence in the whole world.

  8. April 30, 2009 3:30 pm

    those multicolor chips look so yummy~~ 😀

  9. Samantha permalink
    April 30, 2009 3:30 pm

    I LOVE those TJ chips! Living here is mostly paradise, but I miss not having places like TJ’s and WF’s that have so many awesome little treasure.

    That cheese sounds awesome.

  10. April 30, 2009 3:49 pm

    haha I love fun dip platter, interesting breakfast choice for sure!

  11. April 30, 2009 3:52 pm

    Those chips sound like a perfect way to get more salt in your diet! The doctor told you to eat chips 🙂 Love the breakfast combination!

    That yoga class sounds very interesting! Gotta love it when you have some whackadoodle instructor – makes things a little bit more fun 😉

  12. snackface permalink
    April 30, 2009 3:58 pm

    Uhh I LOVELOVELOVE chips. Come the weekend, I go chip-wild. I don’t know why. I just love them so, and I don’t keep them in the house, but I tend to go out on weekends to places that have killer tortilla chips and dips. If I keep chips around, I’ll replace actual meals with bags of chips. It kills my stomach later (TMI, I know, I tend to do that), but it seems worth it at the time.

  13. April 30, 2009 4:07 pm

    Heather,

    Sodium lovin is my specialty. The doctor told me that my electrolytes were out of wack a while ago as well and literally told me to go salt crazy for a while. I happily obeyed her command!

    You should try adding a sprinkle of GOOD kosher salt to your oat bran. The sweet/salty combo makes it taste like caramel. Fanfreakin amazing!

    Have a great day sweetie!

    With love,

    Emily

  14. April 30, 2009 4:08 pm

    I love those chips, but you NEED to see this. I hope you like. 😀

    http://www.hangrypants.com/2009/01/he-says-trader-joes-veggie-and-flaxseed-tortilla-chips-review/

  15. April 30, 2009 4:10 pm

    Mmmm those TJ’s Veggie chips are SO good. My parents had them stocked into the pantry while I was home this weekend and definitely munched on a few–with hummus–delicious.

    Great way to up the salt indeed 😉

  16. April 30, 2009 4:20 pm

    What an absolutely beautiful platter of some of my favorite foods!!! The colors just make me happy!

  17. April 30, 2009 4:48 pm

    I love chips like that! YUM! Love your breakfast 😀

    ❤ jess
    xoxo

    P.S Thanks for the comment!!

  18. April 30, 2009 5:01 pm

    So funny that you need to add chips in to get salt – I’m sure I get plenty! Those chips do look fantastic and your breakfast looked really good.

  19. April 30, 2009 5:40 pm

    yummy CHIPS!!!!!!

    Girl, I gotta hear more about that yoga class.

    CD… come on, you can comment! Sounds like Dan… those boys. 😉

    XOXO

  20. April 30, 2009 5:57 pm

    I love those chips!!! I can totally eat chips for breakfast… 🙂

  21. April 30, 2009 6:11 pm

    mmmmmmmmmmmmm those chips look AWESOME! I can’t control myself either but Josh loves them! So….I have to have them in the house and try to avoid them at all cost 😉 Glad you’re getting your salt in. BTW- just tried a froyo place in my town…..it was so bad 😦

  22. April 30, 2009 6:21 pm

    Yum, I haven’t tried those chips yet!

  23. homegirlcaneat permalink
    April 30, 2009 7:03 pm

    Chips is a genius way to incorporate salt in your diet! And I feel ya on stopping yourself on your way to the queso.. once you start you can’t stop!

  24. April 30, 2009 7:22 pm

    ohh i love salty things, especially after a run. I have been working on finding healthier options like kashi crackers and my new veggie chips

  25. Jill permalink
    April 30, 2009 9:07 pm

    Mmmm…I love chips too…and follow the same issue as you. I dream about them in my sleep. Yum. Glad you’re getting your salt though. I was SO worried about you. And, I know what you went through, as I had that happen way back in 2000 when this whole crazy running thing started. Blah. Glad you had CD and the ER…they totally saved you! Salt it 24/7.

    Will have to try the TJ’s chips though – this weekend maybe?

  26. April 30, 2009 9:39 pm

    Wow, although weird all of that food sounds delicious. I am searching for the pizza cheese recipe right… NOW!

  27. April 30, 2009 10:13 pm

    I’m such a fan of those chips, such a fan!!

    Heather, you definitely chose what I would if I needed to up the salt intake!! Chips are also one of my favorite things, ever!! Especially when dipped in salsa….but dipped in hummus is just as tasty too!

  28. eatlivelovedream permalink
    April 30, 2009 10:54 pm

    Give it up for chip lovin! I would totally look to chips for more salt anyday:)

  29. April 30, 2009 11:20 pm

    Ah I love chips! Especially with salsa or guac! Yum…

  30. May 1, 2009 6:51 am

    What lovely looking chips! Are the different colours different flavours?

    I can’t control myself with an open bag of chips either…!

  31. May 1, 2009 7:04 am

    Those chips look so great!!! I need to get my A to TJ’s.

    Your bag of chips = my bag of cookies. I have ZERO control and cannot buy them. I am hoping this will change because I love them so.

    That yoga class sounds….interesting! With a name like “Power Latte,” I would expect you’d leave the class bouncing off the walls or something.

    I’m so glad you are feeling better! 🙂

  32. Vani permalink
    May 1, 2009 7:47 am

    I LOVE those chips, and can’t keep them in the house!!!

  33. May 1, 2009 8:24 am

    I am beyond thrilled that you love it so much! I make a batch of cheeze once a week. My friends love it!!! Thank you for enjoying it so 🙂

    I would totally enter the contest, but I am just about to get some seeds from the same generous folks for a product review!!! So I would be a waste. When I get them, though, I want to try some of your great recipe ideas.

    I am having a spiralizer contest on my blog, so if you don’t have one, Heather, please join it!!! http://www.choosingraw.com/spicy-thai-salad-and-my-first-raw-giveaway/ xoxoo

  34. May 1, 2009 9:56 am

    I love foods with funky colors, so those chips are so appealing to me! I see even though you’ve given up dairy, you still are able to get your fix of “cheese”! that’s good, because I can’t imagine life without cheese!

  35. May 1, 2009 11:38 am

    Hey, nothing wrong with nachos for breakfast. We all want to eat intuitively, right? 🙂

    PS I brought my remaining oaties to dinner with a couple blogger ladies the other night and they were BEYOND excited. They have spread the love of them as well. You have a hit on your hands! SO good.

    Happy weekend!

  36. May 1, 2009 12:38 pm

    Those chips look de-lic-ious!

Leave a Reply

