Skip to content

I love Polly & VeggieGirl

April 2, 2009

Look how cute: 

My breakfast date. :)

My yoga & breakfast date. 🙂

My sweet friend Polly & her family drove to Nashville this week to visit  family friends, and I was so grateful for some time with her this morning.  Love you Polly!  We did a 90 minute yoga class at Sanctuary For Yoga & then went to my favorite bakery for cinnamon rolls veggie-filled omelets.  Seriously, I feel like I have known this girl my whole life.  We had so much to talk about, and our time together was way too short.  Before I knew it, Polly‘s husband was sitting in the parking lot waiting on us to stop talking. Fortunately, I get to see her again at church on Sunday.  

I got to meet Dan too!  Aren't they adorable?

I got to meet Dan too! Aren't they adorable?

Dan, Polly, & Abbi, PLEASE MOVE TO NASHVILLE! 

Yes, we're wearing matching shirts.  Polly bought one for each of us at the yoga studio.

Yes, we're wearing matching shirts. Polly bought one for each of us at the yoga studio. It's my new favorite - thanks Polly!

Such a fun morning, and I can’t help but smile every time I think about it. 🙂  I also can’t help but smile when I think about these…

Chocolate Chip Blondies from VeggieGirl

Chocolate Chip Blondies from VeggieGirl

I sampled one right away with some warm brown Basmati rice, almond milk, and almond butter:

Holy Yum for sure!

Holy Yum for sure!

Then I joined Chris in eating them straight from the pan: 

img_1865These tasted amazing VeggieGirl, and I know Chris will be asking me to bake them often.  

CD’s Review:  

Chris: Each bite has the perfect amount of chocolate…good texture.

Me: They’re vegan.

Chris: These are vegan?!? No (enter appropriate expletive here). In other words, he liked them. 🙂

In less than 12 hours, they’re already half gone. Yes, I will definitely be making more soon. Thanks again VeggieGirl!

Chris is going to review all the submissions for the Pasta Sauce Naming Contest tonight.  You guys are hilarious! Seriously, I laughed out loud while reading over your suggestions.  Be sure to check back tomorrow for the winner.

Oh, and be sure to check out Sarah’s blog for a Bob’s Red Mill product giveaway.  If you win, will you please send me some Teff?  I can’t find this grain anywhere in Nashville. Thanks! 🙂

53 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2009 1:15 pm

    Well I couldn’t help but smile READING THIS POST!!! What a happy morning and day!!! So cute =) Love Polly and VeggieGirl!

  2. April 2, 2009 1:16 pm

    I have yet to sample the amazingness that is the Veggie Girl blondie, but after all these raves, I may need to just suck it up and make them!!! (Unless of course VG sends me some!)
    I’m sure Adam would say the same thing if he tasted vegan baked goods…

  3. April 2, 2009 1:22 pm

    How awesome! I have seen some of Pollys yoga videos and she seems like a great woman. The blondies look fab too!

  4. April 2, 2009 1:23 pm

    yay! I’m so glad you guys got to meet and hang out 🙂 You are all so cute!

    the blondies look awesome!

  5. April 2, 2009 1:23 pm

    I LOVE YOU GUYS!!!! And I’m so glad that you’re enjoying the blondies 🙂

  6. April 2, 2009 1:27 pm

    what an amazing day! you got to meet the amazing Polly AND eat veggie girl baked goods? you must be on cloud 9 🙂 yay! so happy for you!

  7. April 2, 2009 1:38 pm

    I must admit, I am a chrinic ‘lurker’ on your blog, Heather! I just ad to comment today though, as you and Polly are such beautiful people and it is so lovely to see both of you together. So sweet!

    I completely adore the photo of you and Chris as well! So hilarious, and the conversational snippet made me laugh even more.

    I hope you are having a beautiful day x

  8. April 2, 2009 1:45 pm

    Wait…did you make those or did veggie girl send them?? They look fab!!! I need this recipe!!!! Glad you had fun with Polly. You guys look so happy!

    ~Justine

  9. April 2, 2009 1:48 pm

    YAY you guys look like you had so much fun together!

    And VG blondies are SO addictive, I know from experience.

    Love the pic of you and CD… you guys are so freakin’ cute. Seriously, this whole post just explodes with cuteness. Haha.

  10. April 2, 2009 1:57 pm

    such a great day! meeting blog friend, doing yoga, baking goodies and taking hilarious pics. 😀

  11. April 2, 2009 2:00 pm

    is that bread and co in the background??? i went there once with my sister last year after the nashville half marathon! their chicken salad = yum!

    love the pic of you and cd eating the blondies 🙂

  12. greenbean permalink
    April 2, 2009 2:00 pm

    i’ve been waiting all day to see how your time was with Polly! i totally know the happy euphoria feelings, almost chills, you feel after moments like that. like when you really connect with people or something you are meant to have in your life. i wish we all have those experiences more often.

    i had those feelings this week when allowing myself to explore what it is that i want to do with my career and i was able to connect with those people that are doing it. it’s truly peaceful.

  13. April 2, 2009 2:21 pm

    you two are too cute eating those brownies!!!

  14. April 2, 2009 2:27 pm

    BLONDIES!!! YUM!!!

  15. April 2, 2009 2:30 pm

    Heather-

    I am so excited you and Polly got to meet up! It sounds like you had a great time! It has been amazing to me the cool people I have “met” through blogging, and it is so cool you had a chance to meet up with someonein real life!

    The two of you are so stinking cute in those matching shirts! I love it!

    Veggie Girl needs to open a bakery so I can try some of her delicious baked goods! In her terms, HOLY YUM!!!

  16. anne permalink
    April 2, 2009 2:48 pm

    That Polly is so cute! I love her huge smile. Sounds like a fun girls day!

  17. April 2, 2009 2:48 pm

    Yay for Polly!

  18. April 2, 2009 3:02 pm

    OMG the amount of cuteness in this post is overwhelming. I have warm fuzzies.

  19. April 2, 2009 3:11 pm

    What a fun freaking day! You guys are absolutely adorable! I love the brownie eating right from the pan! I don’t think I’d be able to contain myself around Veggiegirl’s baking either! Ohhh my yum!

  20. April 2, 2009 3:20 pm

    too cute!!!!

    just posted another giveaway!!!!

    http://nhershoes.blogspot.com/2009/04/she-says-time-for-another-giveaway.html

  21. April 2, 2009 3:38 pm

    Blogger meet up AND VG brownies?! What a day!! Sounds like a blast!

  22. April 2, 2009 3:49 pm

    Raspberry Runner,
    Yes, that is Bread & Co. – so yummy! Are you planning on running the Country Music half this year? Such a fun race!

  23. April 2, 2009 3:50 pm

    Justine,
    VeggieGirl sent us some of her blondies. Chris requested chocolate chip, and I CANNOT stop eating them. They will be gone by tonight. I’m going to try to recreate them soon – so good! See you soon. 🙂

  24. April 2, 2009 3:51 pm

    Petra B,
    Thanks for lurking and for your kind words. Hope you have a beautiful day as well. 🙂

  25. lilveggiepatch permalink
    April 2, 2009 3:52 pm

    I love that picture!!! What a nice trip from Miss VG. Glad you had fun with your friend!

  26. April 2, 2009 3:56 pm

    Oh how I am loving those t-shirts. Cuuuuute! How fun you got to hang with the yummy yoga queen. Fun times. I would have polished off those blondies in no time 🙂 Glad the hubby is helping you…even though they are *gasp* heathy & vegan???? Ha ha. Boys are silly.

  27. April 2, 2009 4:15 pm

    VeggieGirl blondies are the BEST! I have made 2 batches so far and LOVE them! Love the pic of you and CD eating them together, haha!

    So glad you got to meet Polly and have such a good time. Blogger love :-)!

  28. April 2, 2009 4:17 pm

    Yay for you meeting Polly in real life! And omg those blondies. I want some!

  29. April 2, 2009 4:18 pm

    YOU guys are SO cute 😀 you and polly, and you and CD! Blogger love for sure, isn’t that so freakyyy how you meet someone, by reading their posts and commenting back and forth, yet you can meet them and have so much in common and literally become friends!? It still totally freaks me out, i love it!! Have a great friday and weekend Heather!

  30. April 2, 2009 5:19 pm

    I love Polly. You are 2 lucky duckies for getting to hang together. VeggieGirls baked goodies always look so yummy. You got double luck today.

  31. April 2, 2009 5:23 pm

    Heather,

    *Whines* I waaaanna meet a blogger! I have an idea-how about you both move out here to Cali? There’s tons and tons of yogis here! And maybe you could bring those VG blondies as well…

    Looks like an amazing day!

    With Love,

    Emily

  32. April 2, 2009 6:48 pm

    I have a question: what’s the benefit of wheat bran? Is it healthier than oat bran? why are u having it often?
    (sorry that this is not related to this post… just came cross my mind :D)

  33. April 2, 2009 6:52 pm

    Hey Coco,
    You’re funny. I don’t know – I saw Maggie add wheat bran to her oats one day and wanted to try it as it she said it was really filling and had a good bit of fiber. I’m always in search of filling breakfast foods. So, I tried it and really liked it mixed with my oat bran. Keeps me full for hours!

  34. April 2, 2009 6:59 pm

    so much love in this post! I love the pic of you and CD eating the blondies!!! mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm vegan blondies!! I also love the reaction, it’s so nice when people are fooled by delicious vegan treats

  35. April 2, 2009 7:31 pm

    You and Polly are so cute… Love it!
    Yeah- I thought for sure you’d seen my recipe and done like your own version of it… it is a little weird with the mint tea though, I must admit. I like oats with big blobs of almond butter as my go-to favorite. Plain and simple is best! Your story about your bad date made me laugh 😀
    We are so alike, because I too, have an unhealthy obsession with almond/nut butters… although I guess it’s not really unhealthy is it? I just like them a LOT!
    I don’t blame you for devouring VeggieGirl’s blondies! That girl needs to go into business and sell them.
    You and your hubby are cute too!

  36. April 2, 2009 7:40 pm

    when i come across teff again, i can pick some up for ya 😉 you guys are too cute (you and polly, polly and dan, you and chris!!!) happy days 🙂

  37. April 2, 2009 7:42 pm

    I love Polly! Her blog is so sweet, so genuine. Much like her, I’m guessing!
    Have a great Friday Heather 🙂

  38. April 2, 2009 7:47 pm

    What a great freaking day! Seeing Polly (and doing yoga!) and eating some of VeggieGirl’s yummy baked goods. Oh me, oh my 🙂

  39. April 2, 2009 8:05 pm

    AWWH! You guys look SO happy! I’m so glad you’ve formed so many awesome friendships through blogging.
    That shot of you and CD is hilarious. How many times did you have to try to get a good shot?

  40. gina (fitnessista) permalink
    April 2, 2009 8:11 pm

    how fun!!! so cool you got to meet polly! she is PRECIOUS- i mean, i just want to put her in my pocket and take her around with me 😀 sounds like such a great time!
    i keep begging the hubby to take me to nashville….
    i forgot to ask megan about the spiralizer tonight, but when i find a good one i will let you know!
    and i’ve gotta say, i’m a little jealous that vg sent you some treats! they look incredible and i’m glad you and christian dior are enjoying them 😉
    hope you have a wonderful night ❤

  41. April 2, 2009 8:18 pm

    Erin,
    Can you believe we got it on the first shot? 🙂

  42. April 2, 2009 8:18 pm

    TTFN,
    I would love some Teff if you find some. That would be great!

  43. April 2, 2009 8:24 pm

    hehe, i love bloggie meet ups

  44. April 2, 2009 8:28 pm

    Coconutgal,
    Plain and simple is best…Agreed! Oh, and in my opinion, a love of nut butters is never unhealthy. 🙂

  45. April 2, 2009 9:28 pm

    aww you & Polly are adorable!!! and that VeggieGirl knows how to hit the spot!
    I went to an Ethiopian restaurant recently where we used the teff injera bread to scoop up the food. SO authentic & fun! (no utensils!)

  46. April 2, 2009 9:52 pm

    Aw, you and Polly look so great together – I love those shirts! It’s so awesome that you have clicked so well and so fast. Fast friendships that feel “lifelong” are truly the best 🙂

    And holy yum VeggieGirl! I have never been lucky enough to try some of her baked goodies, but every time I see them I am super jealous. This time is no different – you and CD are hilarious! I would definitely have those babies 1/2 gone by now, too. Especially when topped with almond butter.

    I made some raw almond butter in the Vita-Mix tonight!

  47. broccolihut permalink
    April 2, 2009 11:35 pm

    This whole post is just too cute! Looks like you’ve been having fun!

  48. April 2, 2009 11:45 pm

    What a fun day! I love the happy pics of you and Pols (so jealous!) and CD too! You guys will have the most gorgeous kids if you ever decide to bless this world with little yous. Okay, the 2nd most gorgeous kids.

    I hope those Target pans are plated in gold, for what you paid, sistah!

    Happy Friday!!! Off to try my Vanilla Gorilla, aka a little Vanilla Jay Robb!

  49. April 3, 2009 2:55 am

    Awww, Polly IS so adorable. It sounds like you girls really had a nice time. I can see how you would be easy friends…with a shared interest in yoga, healthy eating, and a happy heart! I get the same happy vibes from your blogs, is what I am trying to say 😉

  50. April 3, 2009 6:34 am

    You are Polly are so adorable – and so are you and CD! What other kind of blondie eating is there besides eating straight from the pan?

    PS – I went to yoga the other night, finally. I missed it so! 🙂

  51. April 3, 2009 10:14 am

    I hope I get to try a VG blondie one day!

    I am so glad you got to meet Polly. She is like your blogging soul mate. 😀 Your blogging lobster.

  52. April 3, 2009 2:41 pm

    Souds like the perfect day! Yoga + fun date + VeggieGirl blondies… yup, just about perfect! 🙂

  53. April 4, 2009 10:43 am

    oooooh, that blondie combo sounds genius — with the basmati and almond milk, it’s like having it on top of rice pudding, YUM.

    polly’s so cute — glad you guys got to meet!

    (and thanks for the link … and sorry i’m 2 days late on the thanks!)

Leave a Reply

