Skip to content

Sun Warrior Protein Test #2

March 25, 2009

Yoga was not easy this morning.  It was another sloooow class full of long holds, much more challenging for me than a fast paced flow class.  We also did some deep stretching at the end.  Wow, do my hips feel open.  Good stuff!

I drove home dreaming of oat bran.

Vanilla Green Oats

Vanilla Green Oats

I wanted to see how my Sun Warrior vanilla rice protein would taste in oats.  I had high hopes after my protein pancake success.  This bowl contained my usual green recipe with one minor change.  On my stove-top, I cooked 1/2 cup oat bran & 1/2 cup wheat bran with 1 3/4 cups water and a pinch of salt.  After simmering for about 2 minutes, I dumped it all in my Vita-Mix with 1 handful of frozen spinach, 1 scoop of rice protein, and a dash of cinnamon. Instead of my usual frozen avocado, I added a banana.  The final product was definitely not as thick and creamy, but for those of you still scared of green oats, the banana completely masked any spinach taste. My thoughts on the protein powder: Sun Warrior is by far the best rice protein I’ve ever tasted.  It blends well, but it still has a bit of a chalky taste.  For those of you that have asked, I prefer the taste of Jay Robb’s whey protein. However, if you are looking for a vegan soy-free protein powder, then I would highly recommend Sun Warrior.  Again, listen to VeggieGirl! 🙂

Snack of the Day:

Last of my almond cashew butter

Last of my cashew almond butter

plus my last piece of German spelt bread toasted

plus my last piece of German spelt bread toasted

equals heaven in a jar. :)

equals heaven in a jar.

Tonight is date night, meaning dinner out plus Lost when we get home.  So excited…and all I’m saying is that if Chris suggests fro-yo after dinner, I’m not turning him down.  CD, are you reading?  You know I’ll ignore dairy-free month for yogurt with you any day. 🙂

Check out today’s Glamour online for tips on to how love your body.  The article includes quotes from me and some of my favorite fellow bloggers.  Love yourselves my friends.  You’ve only got one body…please treat it well.

60 Comments leave one →
  1. peaceandpeanutbutter permalink
    March 25, 2009 2:20 pm

    Great lookin oats as usual!

    And that cashew almond butter….yumm!! Is this the one you make urself?? I am a fan of both cashew butter and almond butter – the combo sounds divine!

    Have a fabulous Date-nite 🙂

    P.S.
    I received the free so-delicious coupon on the mail…gonna use it up this week!!! What do you suggest?

  2. March 25, 2009 2:23 pm

    Fro-yo and lost sounds like a great plan for tonight 🙂 Love your spinach oats!! So creative!

  3. March 25, 2009 2:30 pm

    HELL YES FOR SUN WARRIOR RICE PROTEIN!!! I use it in my nightly oatmeal snack in addition to my shakes 🙂 And thank you for the shout-out!!

    Enjoy date night!!

  4. March 25, 2009 2:30 pm

    oh, I’m SO ready for LOST tonight.

  5. March 25, 2009 2:31 pm

    Looks like we’re having identical nights – except that we might stay in for dinner due to the amt. of money we spent over the weekend. I LOVE LOST!

  6. Anna permalink
    March 25, 2009 2:34 pm

    Thanks for posting that link to the Glamour site. All of those comments and words of brilliance really made my day!

  7. Galit permalink
    March 25, 2009 2:49 pm

    Love your insight for the glamour site! If you ever want to take a break from massage- I think you should pursue a career in journalism! By the way -I am now a complete almond butter addict- thanks to you!

  8. March 25, 2009 2:52 pm

    its Date night for us too:) I think I am going to make dinner and go out for a movie, kinda the oppisite…lol

  9. March 25, 2009 3:17 pm

    I LOVE your quote on the glamour slideshow! I couldn’t agree more. Rock on.

  10. March 25, 2009 3:22 pm

    You’re famous!! I love your quote. Enjoy the fro-yo tonight (I’m sure he’ll suggest it).

  11. wholefoodswholeme permalink
    March 25, 2009 3:28 pm

    i’m thinking of using spinach in my oatbran tomorrow – i’m kind of scared! how much do you see as a “handful”? i’ll be using just 1/2cup oatbran, but i will be using banana too so hopefully i don’t need to be so scared?! not that i don’t love spinach, i adore it!!

    if you do have fro-yo, enjoy it!!

  12. March 25, 2009 3:33 pm

    Have a great date.
    I’m a poet and I know it.
    Go for the fro yo.
    Bender makes Coffee Cocoa.
    LOST is a good show.
    Splenda’s a no-go.
    We call my Grandma “Bobo.”
    This poem is so so.
    I’ve got to go, no?

  13. March 25, 2009 3:39 pm

    i really liked your quotation on the glamor website. i totally agree- if i ever feel bad about myself, i focus on how blessed i am to have a body that is strong enough to do something like running. even if i can’t pump out 5 minute miles or do ultramarathons, i still have legs, lungs and a heart strong enough to keep me going for enough time to appreciate it!

  14. March 25, 2009 3:39 pm

    Hmm, savory oats, I like the idea!

  15. March 25, 2009 3:45 pm

    Yes! I love the bread IN the jar technique!

    Great slideshow! Sometimes it’s good to stop for a second and appreciate ourselves. We don’t do it enough!!

  16. March 25, 2009 3:49 pm

    i’ve been looking for good protein and now you and veggiegirl have recommended this…so there must be something to it!

  17. Erin permalink
    March 25, 2009 4:07 pm

    We have similar sounding date nights, haha.
    I need to try the spinach oats but I’m still a little scared! You’ve never led me astray though so I’m sure I’ll get up my nerve soon 🙂

  18. March 25, 2009 4:17 pm

    Erin,
    Go for the spinach. I promise you can’t really taste it. If you do, add a banana. Bananas always make it better. 🙂

  19. March 25, 2009 4:21 pm

    Whole Foods Whole Me,
    Don’t be scared. The trick is blending well as I could not handle green chunks of veggies floating in my oats! I probably grab about a cup of loosely packed spinach, but I use 1/2 cup oat bran with 1/2 cup wheat bran. Start out small – maybe 1/4 to 1/2 cup of greens. I promise the banana will mask any spinach taste. Let me know how it turns out and if you like it.

  20. March 25, 2009 4:22 pm

    Galit,
    I’ve missed seeing you. Are you going to wig night on Friday? So glad you’re full of almond butter love. 🙂 Hope school is going well my friend!

  21. March 25, 2009 4:28 pm

    Peace & PB,
    I did make the cashew almond butter: http://heathereatsalmondbutter.com/2009/03/12/green-acres-is-the-place-for-me/. Great combo!

    So glad you got your coupon. You already tried the Coconut milk beverage and yogurt, right? I LOVED all of the ice-creams. Every flavor was delicious! Honestly, I think my favorite combo was my oat bran a la mode (oat bran with vanilla coconut milk ice-cream). What a treat. The mini ice-cream sammies were good too as well as the mini coconut almond bars. I was not a huge fan of the banana split ice-cream sandwiches. The vanilla ones were better. Basically, get any of the ice-cream products. All winners. The yogurt was too runny and sweet for me, and the beverage didn’t have enough coconut flavor for my taste. Enjoy! 🙂

  22. lilveggiepatch permalink
    March 25, 2009 4:34 pm

    SO exciting to read your blurb on Glamour.com! Great picture, too, as usual! Congrats, lady!

  23. shelby permalink
    March 25, 2009 4:49 pm

    I can’t wait to try your spinach oats =)
    Great idea with the protein powder, I need to get some soon!

    I want your snack!!!

  24. March 25, 2009 4:50 pm

    I loved your Glamour excerpt but I think they should have shown a picture of the REAL BEAUTIFUL Heather and not a stinkin model! One of these days, I will be brave enough to try green oats, but ANYDAY I will eat froyo

  25. March 25, 2009 5:28 pm

    Yum, cashew butter and bread…great combo, I am craving some now!

  26. March 25, 2009 6:22 pm

    So glad you got your oat bran! And how cool is it that you were featured on Glamour.com!

  27. March 25, 2009 6:26 pm

    oooo, so cool that you were part of that glamour thing! so fab.

    I love your oat bran. period.

  28. March 25, 2009 6:29 pm

    Hey babe! How are ya? I am in total agreement with your evaluation of the sun warrior and Jay Robb! That german spelt bread looks so good! I need to get another loaf of bread baking ASAP! Have so much fun on date night! Have lots of froyo for me!

  29. Tracy permalink
    March 25, 2009 6:41 pm

    Heather,

    Great looking breakfast, as usual!

    I really need to try added some avocado to my breakfast bowl of yumminess.

    I’ve got a ripe one ready to go!

  30. March 25, 2009 7:49 pm

    I need to make cashew butter again and roast them this time! I actually want to do pecans next though.

    I hope you get your fro yo.

  31. March 25, 2009 8:15 pm

    Heather, congrats on being on the Glamour site — that is SO cool! You’re a mini-celebrity. 🙂

    I hope you get the fro yo. With carob chips. Mmmm…

  32. March 25, 2009 8:30 pm

    yoga sounds like just the perfect way to start the day. 🙂

  33. March 25, 2009 9:10 pm

    HEATHER!!!!!!!!!!!! omg..i just clicked on Gina’s link to glamour and her quote- and saw yours too! That is SO awesome 😀 Your words are so true and inspirational…you have such kindness and compassion to share with everyone, and I’m so happy to have u as a bloggie and real friend! Haha magazine quote celeb woo!

  34. March 25, 2009 9:33 pm

    Yeah! Congrats on the mention! How Glamourous indeed.

    Thanks for the rice protein review. I’m interested to try it to see how it tastes different from whey/egg/soy, and since the Mr. Sexy Jay Robb fairy paid me a serious visit today, I am going to need to think of many ways to use all this protein!

  35. March 25, 2009 9:55 pm

    I actually had your bran/spinach concoction this morning! And it was great! Didn’t taste the spinach at all. Thanks for the great new breakfast idea.

  36. March 25, 2009 10:48 pm

    I saw your quote about body acceptance on glamour. Sooooo cool. You rock Heather. 😀

  37. March 25, 2009 11:03 pm

    Heather-

    I made your oat/wheat bran mix and it was amazing, not to mention CHEAP! It literally cost me 39 cents for 1/2 a pound of wheat bran in the bulk bin!

    It was so cool for me to see your quote on the Glamour site, they couldn’t have picked a better example! You have an amazing story and are an inspiration to us all 🙂

    Love ya to pieces Heather!

  38. March 26, 2009 1:17 am

    cashew almond butter! sounds terrific. I’ve never ever tried almond butter before, because it’s so expensive, but after reading your blog I whipped up a batch of almond butter for myself. So fast, simple, and CHEAPer!I made mine a bit differently, though. I prefer a wetter, creamier consistency so I ground my almonds with almond butter.
    I just absolutely am in love with the greenness of your oat bran bowl.

  39. March 26, 2009 1:51 am

    Have a fun date night!!! And as always, I am dreamingggg of your oat bran as well! 🙂

  40. March 26, 2009 4:15 am

    From a fellow oat bran lover: add the water and oat bran in a bowl the night before. Then the cooking time is reduced, and the bran is hydrated, meaning that it won’t dehydrate you when eaten (less brick feeling, which I personally find a bit too much). Fiber + water = belly <3!

    Just wanted to share it in case you haven’t tried! 🙂

  41. March 26, 2009 7:20 am

    that hummus looks amazzzzzzing

  42. March 26, 2009 7:24 am

    HM,
    Thanks for the tip. I have soaked oat bran in tea, but never for more than 30 minutes or so. I try overnight. Thanks for the tip my fellow oat bran lovah! 🙂

  43. March 26, 2009 7:25 am

    burpexcuzme,
    Hooray for homemade almond butter! Just whipped up a batch myself! 🙂

  44. March 26, 2009 7:27 am

    I love my Fro-Yo!! Go for it, girl. And get some sprinkles/granola/chocolate chips while you’re at it 🙂

  45. March 26, 2009 7:30 am

    Tracy,
    Doing my best to spread the love of the greeness! Are you still hiding your oats? 🙂 Try the avocado my friend. Great addition for a creamier texture!

  46. March 26, 2009 7:57 am

    I love your blog and I have nominated you for an award, please see my latest post.
    Jessie

  47. March 26, 2009 9:00 am

    Congrats on being featured on Glam’s website! I love what you said…it’s something I need to remind myself often.

    Sounds like the perfect date night to me! Okay, I don’t watch “Lost,” but I love me some fro-yo.

  48. March 26, 2009 9:09 am

    Thanks for the link to the Glamour bit. So many positive things are captured in that little slide show. Congrats on being a part of it!

    Your spelt bread looks divine! Grainy breads are so much tastier than there more refined and processed counterparts. YUM!

  49. eatlivelovedream permalink
    March 26, 2009 9:32 am

    I’m brave when it comes to trying new things, but something about spinach in my oats. I just don’t know if I would be up for it!

    Heather, I let out a HUGE laugh when I read your comment on my blog yesterday! Your just so witty! At least you and your husband were in the bar because of the healthy 10K race you just did:)

  50. March 26, 2009 9:35 am

    I have NOT yet tried walnut butter, but I bet I would LOVE it! Maybe I will experiment tonight!! Lost was so freaking good. I can’t wait to see where they take it (PS I feel like a HUGE nerd because I love Lost so much haha).

  51. March 26, 2009 12:04 pm

    Congrats on the quote in Glamour! I literally came to your blog immediately after reading it on their website!

  52. March 26, 2009 3:27 pm

    ok i HAVE to ask. how can you eat so many oats? do you not get bored? do you have to go to the bathroom constantly? i could not imagine…i’m not a huge oat person, but then again i’ve never tried the fancy kinds you make! haha!

  53. March 26, 2009 4:28 pm

    Thanks Danielle! 🙂

  54. March 26, 2009 4:29 pm

    Jennifer,
    I know! I’m in a total oat rut. In your honor, a new breakfast tomorrow. OK, well, maybe not tomorrow, but soon I promise! 🙂

  55. March 26, 2009 5:14 pm

    Love the oats! Thanks for the thorough review of Sun Warrior, once again. I’ve never tried anything but whey and egg white protein, so I think it would be interesting to sample. We’ll have to see!

    Spelt bread + cashew butter in a jar? Yes, please! I still have not tried cashew butter even though cashews are my favorite nuts. I need to get on that!

    I hope you got that fro yo 🙂 And I’m off to check out that Glamor article right now – it sounds great!

  56. March 26, 2009 5:24 pm

    Heather! Congrats on being quoted in Glamour…so exciting! You’re famous! 🙂

    I am hoping to win Jumbo Empanadas Vita-Mix contest so I can make bowls of fantastic oatbran like you! The first thing I’d do is print out all of your recipes…then try them ALL!

    Hope you had fun on date night. I never turn down fro-yo!

  57. March 27, 2009 12:04 am

    Uh oh! Today I bought Jay Robb’s egg white protein because for some reason I thought you used that one! On second thought, maybe that was Miss Bender. Have you tried the egg white protein or just the whey from Mr Robb?

    The Glamour thing is seriously exciting to me. I feel star-struck! I love that health/foodie blogs are getting so much attention lately. Congrats on contributing to something so empowering 🙂

  58. March 27, 2009 9:39 am

    great quote on Glamour.com!

  59. March 27, 2009 11:33 am

    Lara,
    I have tried the Jay Robb egg white protein. It’s okay in smoothies mixed with fruit, but it taste a bit funky on it’s own with just water or milk. If definitely DOES NOT work well in my protein pancake recipe. The whey is by far my favorite. Erica (Itzy’s Kitchen) is a fan of the egg white. Let me know what you think of it.

    Thanks again so much for referencing the Glamor article in your latest post and for your excitement. Makes me feel loved. 🙂

  60. March 30, 2009 12:26 pm

    Congrats on the write up!! Good stuff!!

Leave a Reply

