Skip to content

They’re Baaaack!

March 19, 2009

I present to you an old favorite….Protein Pancakes: 

Mmm, I missed you guys!

Mmm, I missed you guys!

OK, so here’s the deal.  I eat too much fiber…like way too much.  According to Fitday, my fiber intake was 85 grams yesterday. Honestly, I don’t see how people can possibly be below the recommended 25-30 grams a day, but I guess most people don’t eat their weight in spinach & broccoli or crave huge bowls of oat and wheat bran like me. 🙂  I’ve decided to cool it with the double bowls of oats everyday, or at least eat smaller portion sizes.   Some days, after eating my oats, I would hardly want to eat the rest of the day, and then because I under-ate that day, I totally wanted to overeat the next.  After several days of under-eating, I can tell I’ve lost some weight. Not a good cycle for me as I want to maintain my current weight, not lose any.  So, this morning, it was a protein packed breakfast of yumminess.  Oh, and don’t worry, there will be oats for dessert later tonight.  Heaven forbid I go a day without them!

Justine and I snagged this rice protein powder sample pack from Whole Foods when we met for lunch, and I was anxious to see if it would work in the pancakes:

No soy or dairy!

No soy or dairy!

It worked!  I combined the 2 packets I got with 6 egg whites and cooked my pancakes in a greased skillet on medium high heat for about 2 minutes on each side.  I then covered one with a 1/3 mashed avocado and the other with Trader Joe’s unsalted crunchy PB.  I wanted to mash my naner, but it was frozen.  So, I just sliced it up and slathered everything in maple syrup.  The banana and maple syrup were a nice touch as the rice protein powder contained no added sweetener.  In fact, the only ingredients it does contain are processed rice protein from whole grain brown rice, cocoa powder, and natural vanilla flavor.  Not bad for 57 calories, 12 grams of protein, and only 1 gram of sugar per serving.  I would highly recommended this product to those of you looking for a vegan non-dairy & soy free protein powder option.

Yoga was tough this morning.  After yesterday’s slow and challenging class, the teacher kept us moving today.  We did 15 minutes of flowing yoga poses with our breath.  Wow, my arms felt like complete jello afterwards.  Child’s Pose…please!  My yoga workshop is going so well, and I love the variation in the classes everyday.  I feel like I’ve really had some breakthroughs in my practice over the last week, and I can’t tell you how sad I’m going to be when this month is over!  Oh well, it just gets me excited to think of all the new classes I’ll have to choose from.  I’ve avoided anything but beginner classes for so long, but now I think I would do okay in something more advanced.  So exciting!

I’m off to catch up on some blog reading.  Hope you all have a wonderful fiber filled day…but don’t eat too much! 🙂

Oh, but before I got a big shout out to sweet Sophia for passing on the following award to me:

iloveyourblogaward_thumb_thumbThank you Sophia!  I’m completely honored that you chose me.  If you haven’t done so please stop by Sophia’s blog as the girl has got some very creative recipes including today’s post with barley and winter squash sushi, and she is one amazing writer!

37 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2009 1:25 pm

    good job checking to see and adjusting 🙂 those pancakes look just as good as a big bowl of oatbran!

  2. March 19, 2009 1:37 pm

    HELL YES!!

  3. March 19, 2009 1:51 pm

    Yum! The pancakes look amazing!!

  4. Erin permalink
    March 19, 2009 2:01 pm

    Wow, I thought I over fibered, but you outdo me. I don’t understand how people don’t get enough either, but too much is definitely possible. I’m curious to see how this goes, and I can barely go a day without oats either!

  5. March 19, 2009 2:13 pm

    Wowsa, thatsa lotta fibah! I’ve never tracked, but I’m guessing I’m up there too. I have no desire to cut back though, because I’ve got to keep things moving along 😉

    I made a protein pancake this morning too, and tried it just with water, in salute of our vegan friends. It worked great! You’ll see later, when you grace my blog with your gorgeous presence and when I actually post…

    Have a lovely Thurday, HEABs!

  6. March 19, 2009 2:18 pm

    Wow, that is a lot of fiber! I’m impressed at your ability to eat intuitively, even if it does mean over/under eating sometimes. I tend to eat a meal because it’s time to eat a meal, not necessarily because I’m hungry. I think Kath describes it best as a “squiggly line” where everything evens out in the end.

    I still haven’t tried protein pancakes, but maybe soon. I’m still not tired of the oats… and I’ve only been having one bowl a day 😛 Maybe I’ll switch it out and do the one bowl for my dessert.

  7. March 19, 2009 3:26 pm

    Oh that is my favorite protein! You should try the mixed berry (if you can find it) in with your oats! It is super yummy! I agree about the fiber. I track mine on fitday.com and I average over 50 grams at least! Crazy.

  8. March 19, 2009 3:57 pm

    I def need to try these protein pancakes…i’m so wonderous of them now!

    and i love the avocado on the top of the one…and maple w/ the banana? fabulous! glad you enjoyed them and the rice protein ended up working well!

  9. March 19, 2009 4:04 pm

    how can anyone stay under 30 grams of fiber??! did the site list anything about what can result from too much fiber (aside from the obvious….)?

    the protein pancakes look delicious, of course 🙂

  10. March 19, 2009 4:19 pm

    Hey Sarah,
    I’ve read that if you eat too much fiber, it starts binding to your nutrients and pulls them from the body. That and the fact that it was causing me to under-eat makes me want to cut back. Protein pancakes were good!

  11. March 19, 2009 4:56 pm

    whoa 85 grams!!!! that’s crazy! your protein pancakes look delicious! i need to go buy some avocados…

  12. March 19, 2009 5:03 pm

    I ALMOST made Protein Pancakes today for the first time. I wasn’t hungry enough for a big breakfast (up too early) but I might just be making them tomorrow!

    85g of fiber though eh?! That’s nuts. I wonder how much I’m getting.. probably nowhere near that much although on the days when I cook up squash I’m pretty sure I’m taking in quite the fiberific punch. Squash keeps me full foreeever. Like right now. I ate too much this afternoon and now I’m STILL not hungry for dinner. Ugh.

  13. March 19, 2009 5:17 pm

    Aw i’ve missed the ol’ tires 😀 YOU would be so proud of me, i made oats this morning woo!

  14. March 19, 2009 5:18 pm

    LOVE the protein pancakes. Ok…so I tried that protein tonight (just reviewed it) in milk…I know, I know vegan protein in milk. It wasn’t good 😦 I think it needs something strong to overpower it! I had it in yogurt and it wasn’t too bad. Very nice recipe and congrats on the award!!

  15. March 19, 2009 5:25 pm

    Wowser Heather! That’s a lot of fiber. I know that a while back I was getting headaches all of the time and the Doc suggested that I might be dehydrated from all the fiber and not enough water to compensate. Cutting back a bit and adding some more H20 brought me back to life.

    And 12 grams of protein for 57 calories! That’s some pretty impressive stuff. *Adds powder to mental list for next pilgrimage to LA Whole Foods*

    With Love,

    Emily

  16. cleanveggiex3 permalink
    March 19, 2009 6:09 pm

    pancakes look fabulous!
    wow – 85 grams! thats so much. Do you know if there are any negative affects of consuming too much fiber beside being full for the rest of the day?
    But I agree – I have no idea how some people don’t eat atleast 25 grams, that seems so small to me!

  17. peaceandpeanutbutter permalink
    March 19, 2009 6:46 pm

    Yum, pancakes look fabulous! Have you ever tried Spirutein protein powder? I would highly recommend it…I love cookies and cream and blueberries and cream flavors. So tastey, not chalky at all! I bet they’d be a nice addition to protein pancakes!!

  18. March 19, 2009 7:06 pm

    Okay, I totally get why you were concerned about fiber the other day. That’s a lot!! Wow!! If there was some sort of award or record, I’m sure you’d get it 😛 And protein pancakes = happiness!!

  19. March 19, 2009 7:23 pm

    Mmmm….I missed your protein pancakes too! I really need to make those.

    Ok, so maybe I should up my fiber since I want to lose weight…it would be nice to feel more full! Good for you for realizing that you were getting too much of a good thing though… 🙂

    Happy (almost) Friday, Heather!

  20. March 19, 2009 8:25 pm

    The pancakes of course look wonderful. I need to make some pancakes soon..

  21. eatlivelovedream permalink
    March 19, 2009 8:30 pm

    Heather, I switched to wordpress! Except I’m having a hard time figuring out how to make a blogroll:( How do you do it????

  22. March 19, 2009 11:08 pm

    Welcome back to the protein pancakes! They look delicious. I hope youre able to find the fiber balance you need! That is so much for one day..an impressive feat! Have a great Thursday!

  23. March 19, 2009 11:11 pm

    It’s been a while since I’ve calculated my fiber intake, but I know it’s gotten to the 100 mark before…eek!

    I have a big tub of that protein powder. In fact, I am drinking a smoothie made with it right now!

  24. March 20, 2009 12:26 am

    Holy fiber! That is awesome. Yeah, I think for people who are healthy-minded, the RDA is easy to meet, but more and more I realize that MOST people don’t think about food the way we bloggies do!

  25. March 20, 2009 5:24 am

    Heather-

    Wow, that is a lot of fiber! I’ve wondered myself about how much protein, fiber, cals, etc. I am getting each day, but have been too lazy to track it 🙂

    I have the CalorieKing program on my computer and it was great when I did use it to see the breakdown.

    I’ve also wondered how some people aren’t able to meet the fiber requirement and fiber supplements baffle me. But as you mentioned, most people don’t crave the foods we do like oats and spinach 🙂

    The protein pancake looks great, I printed it out several weeks ago and have been meaning to try it! It looks like a great way to pack in some protein and could even be made in advance and maybe taken to work with me???

    I bet it would be good used as a “tortilla” shell with some AB and Jelly!

  26. March 20, 2009 6:11 am

    dont feel bad- i totally eat too much fiber. it just happens to be in all the foods i love. and im convinced it keeps me from eating all day long- which i could totally do

  27. March 20, 2009 6:41 am

    Is it terrible that now I want to try the oatbran diet?? LOL. The protein pancake recipe looks really good too.

  28. March 20, 2009 7:03 am

    Thanks for the link to your post about tolls oats and oat bran! Those protein pancakes are an interesting way to decrease your fiber intake 🙂 So no flour… just the protein powder + egg whites? Very interesting! How did you come up with that?

  29. March 20, 2009 7:20 am

    Congratulations on the award and way to have body awareness regarding the fiber situation!

  30. March 20, 2009 9:06 am

    Sweet award! And I admire you for paying attention to your nutrients and balancing everything out so well – not many people would make the same effort! Especially if they were unintentionally losing weight! Yeah HEAB.

  31. March 20, 2009 10:06 am

    wowie!
    OMG!
    those look great!
    I would probably use my newest PB on those and swallow them up! yummy!

  32. March 20, 2009 11:40 am

    Hey Elina,
    I got the idea from Justine over at http://www.peanutbutteroats.com. Love all her recipes. Yeah, the pancakes are so easy and very high in protein. They taste kind of rubbery, but once you add some toppings, they’re pretty good. Definitely not your typical Sunday morning buttermilk fluffy pancakes for sure, but they’ll do when I’m in need of some protein. 🙂

  33. March 20, 2009 11:46 am

    Hey Abbie,
    I think the protein pancakes would make a great portable snack. Just keep in mind they’re kind of rubbery and need to be smothered with some good ingredients. AB and Jelly sound perfect…just use a lot. 🙂

  34. March 20, 2009 11:52 am

    Eat Live Love Dream,
    So glad you made the switch! For your blogroll, go to your Dashboard, and look for Links on the left of the screen, then under Links, click on edit. This should allow you to add names to your blogroll. Email me if you have any other questions. 🙂

  35. March 20, 2009 11:53 am

    Peace and PB,
    I’ve always been curious about the Spirutein powder. Does it contain soy? Anything that offers a cookies and cream flavor is a winner in my book. 🙂

  36. March 20, 2009 12:59 pm

    Protein? Pancakes? I’m sold. I love me some pancakes, but unless I have 3 or 4 (which I NEVER do…ahem), they don’t typically fill me up. Those look delicious!

    I counted my fiber yesterday and I’m right around 30…I think that is normal? WoW – 85? Holy Fiber One!

    Happy Friday! 🙂

  37. March 20, 2009 1:52 pm

    heatherrrrr, stop making such good lookin’ food!!!!

    those pancakes…..!!!

    K THANKS 🙂

Leave a Reply

