Skip to content

I Heart Yoga & A New Friend

March 16, 2009

Hello my friends.  My yoga workshop is officially over half way over as today, and I am so saddened by this fact.  I don’t want it to ever end!  I NEVER thought this crazy runner would actually enjoy a 6 AM yoga class every weekday with a 2 hour class on the weekends, but I am truly loving it.  I encourage all of you to stick with yoga for a while.  Group classes used to totally intimidate me as I thought I wasn’t flexible enough for many of the poses. However, after sticking with it for a while, I’m amazed at the improvements in my strength and flexibility. I honestly feel like I am in the best shape of my life!  In some ways, a yoga practice is a lot like training for a long race – it’s amazing what the body is capable of if you train it properly. Truly amazing!

My breakfast:

Avocado Choco-Oats

Avocado Choco-Oats

I loved this bowl made up of 1/2 cup oat bran, 1/2 wheat bran cooked on the stove-top with 2 cups water and a pinch of salt.  I then blended the oat/bran combo with 1/2 of a HUGE avocado (thank you Costco!), 1 tsp of cocoa powder, and 1 tsp of maple syrup in my Vita-Mix.  My topping of choice was Trader Joe’s crunchy unsalted peanut butter.  This bowl was huge, and I’m embarrassed to say I was not full after finishing off every last bite.  Maybe the lack of protein?  Next time, I’ll add egg whites.  

While blending my avocado oats, I just kept laughing.  If you would have told me 5 years ago that I would wake up dreaming of oat bran and avocados, I would have thought you were crazy.  Isn’t it funny how our tastes change as we grow and try new things?  My friends and family say I have healthy taste buds because half the things I think are delicious sound disgusting to them.  Hehe – just makes me love my Heather food even more.  They’re the ones totally missing out, no?

Guess who I met for lunch?

Justine, my protein pancake muse. :)

My protein pancake muse. 🙂

Justine, a fellow Nashville blogger, and I finally met up for lunch at Whole Foods today.  Justine, why did it take us so long to do this?  The food was great, but the company was ever better.  After lunch, we wandered up and down the aisles pointing out our favorite products.  It was so refreshing to spend time with someone who completely relates to my interests in healthy eats and exercise. Justine, I felt like we were old friends, and I can’t wait to hang out again.  We decided on Middle Eastern food for our next lunch together, and I’m already looking forward to it.  Be sure to check out Justine’s blog as she’s got some great recipes, and I love her Confession of the Day

Oh, here was my salad plate: 

Salad bar extravaganza

Salad bar extravaganza

I can’t even begin to remember what all was on my plate, but I can tell you it was delicious.  I did have some tempeh since fermented soy products don’t seem to bother me.  Can I just tell you how much I love the sun-dried tomatoes on the Whole Foods salad bar? I swear I would be happy with just a plateful of them alone and a spoon.

My new favorite shopping buddy :)

My new favorite shopping buddy 🙂

Tomorrow, in honor of St. Patrick’s Day I’m going green for breakfast, lunch, AND dinner.  Stay tuned for what I’m sure will be some interesting meals. 🙂

Check out the following blogs for some great giveaways:

Thinspired is giving away some English snacks from across the pond.

Check out The Health Nut for a cool reusable shopping tote.

Last but not least, Soap and Chocolate is giving one lucky commenter the chance to make his/her own granola at Mix My Granola.

Hope everyone had a great start to the week.  See ya tomorrow!

48 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2009 7:47 pm

    meeting blog friend is so fun! so glad that you did it! I’m looking forward to meet some too! 😀

  2. March 16, 2009 7:48 pm

    Yoga + Whole Foods + avocado-choco oats + meeting a fellow blogger = PURE PERFECTION.

  3. March 16, 2009 7:48 pm

    i’m so glad the yoga workshop is going well! and yay for blogger meet ups 🙂

    I would have never believed I would be eating the way I am now, either. 5-6 years ago was so different! I can’t even imagine being the same as I was then.

    I also just wanted to say thanks – you always leave the most thoughtful comments and they always make me smile! I have friends in Nashville – maybe I should find a reason soon to visit them! 🙂

  4. March 16, 2009 7:51 pm

    Brandi,
    Yes, please come visit! 🙂

  5. March 16, 2009 7:51 pm

    I’m so glad you loved your workshop! I would kill to do something like that.
    I know what you mean about the changing tastes- if I hadn’t started reading food blogs, I wouldn’t be eating half the things I eat everyday.

  6. March 16, 2009 7:55 pm

    I’m glad the yoga workshop is going so very well!! I am so jealous you got to meet a blog friend, so much fun 🙂

  7. March 16, 2009 8:00 pm

    I think I need to make yoga a part of my daily routine too. I feel like everyone that stuck with it has been transformed into a yogi. I want to be a yogi 🙂
    Oats and avocado actually sound awesome. I’m thinking of making that tomorrow!

  8. March 16, 2009 8:01 pm

    Isn’t it nuts how our taste buds change?? I completely agree with you on that one. Plain yogurt tastes great and don’t get me started on how amazing a humungous salad is!! And do my co workers look at my food and think it’s very weird and question what I’m eating on a daily basis? yes, yes they do.

  9. Matt permalink
    March 16, 2009 8:03 pm

    Maybe I should drive up to Nashville for a Whole Foods meetup!

  10. March 16, 2009 8:10 pm

    yay for yoga and friends! Love it all!

  11. March 16, 2009 8:23 pm

    I never like yoga when I try it but you make me want to give it another shot. We’ll see… I reallyyy didn’t like it the times I did it. And I too am not flexible. Your avocado choco-oats look perfect!

  12. March 16, 2009 8:33 pm

    Aww two sweet bloggers together!

  13. March 16, 2009 8:42 pm

    Glad you had a fun day!

  14. March 16, 2009 8:48 pm

    Matt, you are welcome in Nashville anytime. Forget Whole Foods. You and my husband can go on a run together, and then you can come over and make us pancakes. 🙂

  15. March 16, 2009 8:50 pm

    I love blogger meetups. I need to find more bloggie friends who live near me!

    I’m gonna second what you said about yoga – no other exercise makes me feel so good. Even when I’m doing gentle yoga I feel refreshed (I’ve actually been getting into the gentle stuff recently – but I haven’t stopped the power yoga).

  16. March 16, 2009 9:01 pm

    What a great lunch! I wish I had more CT bloggers around me! I love Whole Foods to go bar. We sometimes do that for Friday night dinner.

  17. March 16, 2009 9:02 pm

    I wish I could eat avocados, your mixes always look so good! And yay for blogger meet-ups! I’m starting yoga classes next week, y’all have convinced me 😉

  18. March 16, 2009 9:56 pm

    omgggg, jealous of this meet-up!! two of my favorite bloggers + my favorite past time (grocery shopping)= an amazing time!

  19. March 16, 2009 10:02 pm

    awww…hooray for blogger meet ups!

  20. Erin permalink
    March 16, 2009 10:07 pm

    What a delicious looking salad!
    It is funny how taste buds change. I love your “heather food” its good stuff! My Dad commented that I have highly unusual eating habits, but I just think they’re delicious.
    I look forward to seeing all your green!

  21. March 16, 2009 10:10 pm

    Mmmmm – I totally agree about yoga. Whenever I go to a lot of group classes I feel awesome physically and mentally. I’ve grown to enjoy practicing at home too, but it’s not the same.

  22. March 16, 2009 10:31 pm

    great looking salad! what a fun lunch! glad you got to meet your protein pancake muse 🙂

  23. March 16, 2009 10:33 pm

    I need to meet up with some fellow bloggers! It looks like you guys had a great time, and I love that y’all roamed the grocery store for entertainment! That’s awesome!

    I’m going to make a little batch of your raw chocolate pudding tomorrow after seeing it here and on Sarah’s site. I can’t wait to try it. You have such good ideas!!

  24. March 16, 2009 11:25 pm

    Awww…you two are so gorgeous!

    I’m going to come visit you both when I make it big on the Nashville country music circuit.

    First I’ve got to get some pink cowboy boots…and learn to play the guitar…oh, and learn to sing too. But when I make it, I’m so THERE!

  25. March 17, 2009 4:16 am

    Glad you’re enjoying your yoga! I think you will have to get another set when this one is done! What a fun lunch date too! Cute pic of you two. I want to do a blogger meet up! Maybe next time I’m out your way 😉

  26. March 17, 2009 5:13 am

    Glad you are enjoying the yoga workshop!!!

    Blogger meet ups are so fun!! Hooooray for new friends!

  27. March 17, 2009 6:33 am

    That’s so neat you were able to meet up with a fellow blogger! I don’t know anyone around me…does no one eat healthy here? 🙂

    I can’t wait to see what you eat for your “green” day. I should’ve thought of that…now I’m thinking none of my eats today have any green (yikes). Maybe I’ll do a Green Monster tonight…

    Also, I have really been thinking about taking a hot vinyasa yoga class. I love how you’ve loved yoga, and I definitely want to give it a whirl again. 🙂

  28. March 17, 2009 6:50 am

    Heather, I had a blast yesterday and I was totally talking about you to my husband like I had known you forever. He thought it was cute and could tell I had a great time! Good thing he hasnt looked at our bank statement yet. hahaha! I cant wait till Mediterranean food next week. Check out the restaurants website http://caferakka.com/default.aspx. We will have to get our financial husbands together also.

    ~Justine

  29. March 17, 2009 7:08 am

    funny how our tastes evolve 🙂 love blogger meetups 🙂

  30. March 17, 2009 8:26 am

    Holly,
    Try a hot vinyasa class. I LOVE IT! Enjoy your Green Monster. 🙂

  31. March 17, 2009 8:27 am

    Erica,
    Yes, we must meet up next time you’re visiting your in-laws in Nashville! We’ll probably still be here as we still have had NO offers on the house. Bummed, but it means I might get to meet you which makes me happy. 🙂

  32. March 17, 2009 8:28 am

    Susan,
    So glad you’re starting yoga. Let me know how it goes. Honestly, I took classes off and on for years before I began enjoying it. Now I LOVE it! Sorry about the avocados. 😦

  33. March 17, 2009 8:30 am

    Justine,
    Yes, such a great time yesterday! Oh my gosh, Cafe Rakka sounds amazing – my kind of place! What day works best for you next week? And yes, we should go out to dinner one night and get the men together. 🙂

  34. March 17, 2009 8:48 am

    Thanks for the shout-out, lady! I wish all my favorite bloggers were nearby so I could meet them in person. 🙂 I had such a good time Saturday night with the NYC ladies. I guess it’s both the beauty and the tragedy of blogging that we are scattered all over the place (and the world!).

    I had to shout out to you as well last night because I topped my oats with “chocomole” over the weekend. 😉

  35. March 17, 2009 8:48 am

    Thanks for the encouraging comment yesterday! So glad you had such a great time with Justine:) Have a wonderful Tuesday Heather! I can’t wait to see your green of choice?????

  36. March 17, 2009 9:24 am

    mmmmmmmm avo-choco oats!!! you’re my avo-choco hero :-). can’t wait to see what you come up with for today’s green food!

  37. March 17, 2009 10:01 am

    That sounds so much fun! Those oats sound fabulous. Happy St. Patrick’s Day.

    zesty

  38. March 17, 2009 10:27 am

    I am so happy to hear that you are enjoying the yoga workshop so much. I am one of those yoga skeptics who believes she just isn’t cut out for it, but you are starting to make me think that maybe I need to be more open minded. I want to be more like Heather 🙂

    So true what you said about our taste buds growing and changing. My family often thinks I’m crazy for some of my concoctions – Greek yogurt, tofu shirataki, etc. is completely foreign to them. They truly are the ones missing out!

    Such a fun meet up with Justine!! I love reading about other bloggers getting to know each other in real life. It’s so awesome. I loooove sun dried tomatoes, too! The picture of you two is great!

    I can’t wait to see all the green you’re whipping up today! Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

  39. March 17, 2009 10:56 am

    That’s so funny about eating stuff that you never would have dreamed of 5 years ago… my hubby says that everytime we eat BBQ tofu for dinner 🙂 But now he loves it.

    Lovely salad!

  40. March 17, 2009 12:14 pm

    Yes! I’d much prefer a smoothie/shake to a piece of meat! Gotta do what ya gotta do to get that protein- ya know?

  41. March 17, 2009 1:19 pm

    Heather!

    I have missed hearing from you, but figured you were just very busy! I am glad it was just a google reader issue!

    So glad you had a chance to meet up with a fellow blogger. I bet it is so nice b/c the awkward introductions are out of the way and you already know so much about each other through each others blogs. Lots to talk about I am sure 🙂

    Yes, I did order the Say Yes to Carrots online and LOVE it. The lotion is scented but not very strong and not greasy like other lotions I have tried. I really love it and the other nurses at work who I have let try mine, really like it as well!

    Have a great day lady!

    Abbie

  42. March 17, 2009 1:59 pm

    TN girls rock! gotta love nashvegas! i’m from east TN, just outside of Nashville. Go VOLS!!!!

  43. March 17, 2009 3:47 pm

    That sounds like so much fun Heather! You two are gorgeous and have such beautiful spirits! It’s just so obvious!

  44. March 17, 2009 3:49 pm

    Heather,

    I am so inspired by your love for yoga. I’ve tried a class or two and spent the entire time feeling like a lazy bum for not sweating my butt of on the treadmill… Perhaps as a former ballerina the classes were simply not challenging enough. Would the classes at an actual yoga studio be more difficult?

    With Love,

    Emily

  45. March 17, 2009 4:21 pm

    So glad you are enjoying the yoga workshop. I would really love to do something like that.

    Looks like you and Justine had a great time together. Your WF lunch looks delish!

    Thanks for the shout-out about my contest, Heather! Now that my finals are done, I am excited to catch up on the blogworld!

  46. peaceandpeanutbutter permalink
    March 17, 2009 7:07 pm

    I read the comment u left on my blog about avocado oats, and I had to come here to check out the pic!!

    OMG, this looks so great! I do love the taste of avocados, so I think I’d be down with this bowl of goodness 🙂 I must try this!!!

  47. March 17, 2009 9:01 pm

    Emily,
    The yoga studios I’ve been to are totally different from the yoga classes offered at my Y. They’re a bit more advanced, and the classes are not offered in a big cold cardio room (the main reason I DO NOT like yoga at my gym). As a former cardio addict, I was the same way with yoga. If I did take a class, I followed it up with a run or did the elliptical before class. Since Christmas, I’ve done nothing but yoga really, and I seriously feel like I’m in great shape. I will run occasionally, but nothing like what I did before. That being said, I need to feel like I’ve gotten a good work out in when I do yoga, and 60 minutes of breathing exercises and stretching doesn’t cut it for me. I’ve been doing power vinyasa flow yoga at a heated studio here in Nashville, and it is definitely a workout! I sweat up a storm, I’m starving all day long, and I’ve been needing a lot more sleep. All of these factors tell me that my body is working hard
    ! I know yoga studios aren’t cheap, but a lot of them offer a trial class for free. I encourage you to check out some local studios and see what they have to offer. Let me know if you do. It took a while for yoga to stick for me, but now it’s all I want to do. Hope this helps Emily!

  48. March 18, 2009 9:43 am

    Adorable photo of you and Justine by the flowers. You both look very happy 🙂
    Whenever I make salads at the WF salad bar people look at me like I am insane because I am so random. On my birthday I did a huge pile that included everything from blueberries to roasted red peppers. Weird, but delicious!

Leave a Reply

