Skip to content

CD Runs, Heather Eats, & Winners Announced!

March 14, 2009
tags:

Look at my cute CD…

So proud of my little speedy one. :)

My hubby post-race with his favorite water bottle girl. 🙂

Chris finished his half marathon today in 1:13:21 and placed 3rd in his age group.  It was not his fastest half, but still an amazing time.  Love you CD!

Being the supportive wife that I am, I’ve been carbo loading right along with Chris. First up was curried lentils with coconut milk:

Curried lentils with veggies and hummus

Curried lentils with veggies and hummus

The goal was a savory dish using my Turtle Mountain Original Coconut Milk Beverage, and this recipe did not disappoint.  Delicious and even better the next day…and the next.  Love leftovers!

Coconut milk ice-cream…I’m obsessed.

Heaven on a stick.

Heaven on a stick.

That right there was one amazing treat.  My advice: Get yourself to your local grocery store and purchase a box of these coconut almond bars ASAP.  Look for the box below in your local grocer’s freezer, and if they don’t carry them…make a request. Trust me, you need these in your life!

coconut_minis_almondbarMy one coconut milk product disappointment…

Coconut milk beverage in coffee = gag reflex.

Coconut milk beverage in coffee = gross brown water.

We’ve really enjoyed tasting our array of coconut milk product samples, and I have a few more recipes I still want to try.  Thanks again to the folks at Turtle Mountain for supplying Chris and I with our share of medium chain fatty acids this week!  

Now for the winners of the Turtle Mountain So Delicious Coupon Giveaway!!!

My brilliant (& super fast) husband downloaded all comments and pingbacks from my giveaway into Excel and generated 4 random numbers to pick the following winners:

Jeni

Angela

Sweet And Natural

Peace And Peanut Butter

Congrats to all winners!  I was overwhelmed by the response and so grateful for everyone who took the time to stop by my blog and say “Hi”. 🙂  

Now, even if you didn’t win, I encourage all of you to seek out some of Turtle Mountain’s So Delicious products because they truly are so delicious!

Enjoy the rest of your weekend my friends.  I’m off to have one more coconut almond bar…JUST ONE! 🙂

62 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2009 7:24 pm

    Could you guys BE any cuter? I think not.

    I must get my hands on some of those coconut bars!

  2. March 14, 2009 7:26 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS TO CHRIS!!!

    Oh my, Curried lentils with veggies & hummus??? Heather, my offer to hire you as my personal chef still stands 😀

  3. March 14, 2009 7:39 pm

    congrats to Chris and the winners!

    i need to find those ice cream bars!

  4. March 14, 2009 7:43 pm

    What a cute picture of you and your hubby! Congrats to him on the race!
    Keep enjoying those coconut almond bars:)

  5. March 14, 2009 7:55 pm

    i agree — you guys are SO cute. congrats to chris on the race — i don’t know what he would have done without your water bottle services!

    and oh man, i am j-e-a-l-o-u-s of those winners! that ice cream bar … YUM.

  6. Erin permalink
    March 14, 2009 8:11 pm

    What a cute picture!!
    Yay for carb loading, that dish sounds awesome!!

  7. March 14, 2009 8:14 pm

    Yayyyyy for CD! That is fabulous! And congrats to all the winners- I’m totally jealous 😉 Hope you two are having a good night celebrating his big finish!

  8. March 14, 2009 8:17 pm

    I am a fellow water girl for my DH!

    I must find those ice cream bars 🙂

  9. Jill permalink
    March 14, 2009 8:28 pm

    You two are for sure the CUTEST! I saw Chris during the race and yelled for him to GO, GO, GO. And…saw you guys after the race…but didn’t come say hello. Please tell him congrats for me. Was nice to see him out racing again.

    Yum…we are for sure going to try out the coconut milk products.

    By the way – being the healthy eater that you are…have you heard of Mona Vie? If so, write me off line and tell me what you know. Long story short…someone mailed me a bottle. I think it contributed to some tummy issues…so I stopped taking it. But, I thought I read before you were a big fan of acai??

    Enjoy your post half restocking the fuel evening!!

  10. March 14, 2009 9:05 pm

    YAY Congrats to you & Mr. Almond Butter 🙂 So fun!

  11. March 14, 2009 9:13 pm

    What a great day for you both. Congrats!!
    I just started reading your blog and I just love it. Thank you so much for all the healthy and yummy ideas! 🙂
    Turtle Mountain will be found in a nearby grocery very soon. 🙂

  12. March 14, 2009 9:22 pm

    Congratulations, CD! Even if it wasn’t your fastest ever, I am still super impressed. You look like the perfect water bottle girl, Heather 🙂

    That coconut milk ice cream bar absolutely looks like heaven. Congratulations to all four lucky, LUCKY winners. I can’t wait to try these products! I’ll pick ’em out one by one – but you know I’m heading for those bars first!

  13. March 14, 2009 10:00 pm

    Impressive!! Congrats to you and the hubs!

    I picked up a carton of the coconut milk (the unsweetened version) from the refrigerator case today, and I can’t wait to try it. I’ve tried a number of their products in the past, and I’m excited to try something new! They make some darn good stuff!

    The curried lentils look awesome too, by the way!

  14. March 14, 2009 10:30 pm

    You two are adorable 🙂

    Enjoy your bar!

  15. March 14, 2009 11:28 pm

    Love the couple picture. Really cute!! Congrats to Chris on his marathon. =)

  16. March 14, 2009 11:40 pm

    Congrats to CD… what a great half time! You two are too cute.

    Another congrats to the so delicious winners! The bars look right but my alley. I need those.

  17. March 14, 2009 11:47 pm

    Way to go Chris! That is awesome. Such a cute photo of you two.
    Those coconut bars sound like pure pleasure. Must find some now!

  18. peaceandpeanutbutter permalink
    March 15, 2009 12:22 am

    Aww look at your and your hubby! (and I’m so glad you’re being so supportive…carb-loading with him and everything!!! LOL. Love it!)

    I’m so excited about these coconut milk products 🙂 I don’t know what I should use my coupon on!!?? So many things to choose from!

    P.S. Those coconut almond bars – make me want to lick my screen!

  19. March 15, 2009 2:10 am

    congrats to CD and to the winners! 😀

  20. March 15, 2009 5:27 am

    Congrats to the winners!!, I am totally jealous!!

  21. March 15, 2009 5:51 am

    Ooh, those bars do sound awesome. They remind me of those good humor bars, in almond..those were always my favorite. Glad you’re enjoying the coconut explosion!

    Oh, and congrats to CD!

  22. March 15, 2009 6:22 am

    Wow, amazing run for CD!! ok, well i would think it was amazing 🙂 love the coconut goodness! enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  23. March 15, 2009 6:24 am

    Congratulations CD! You guys both have the most gorgeous blue eyes.

  24. March 15, 2009 6:25 am

    TOO CUTE!!! And I promise to go out and buy those bars (as if I need much prompting anyways! :P)

  25. March 15, 2009 6:59 am

    congrats on his run!! that is fast! and i love the pic of you too!!!

    curried lentils……DROOL!

  26. March 15, 2009 7:30 am

    M! Thanks so much for reading and for your kind words regarding my blog. Hope you enjoy some Turtle Mountain products very soon! 🙂

  27. March 15, 2009 9:05 am

    Aww, such an adorable picture! Congrats to Chris for running such a great time!
    I love the idea of hummus on veggies. I just made up a huge batch and also have an enormous stock of broccoli, so I know what I’m having for lunch, hehee.

    Those coconut almond bars look SO good. I need them. 🙂

  28. March 15, 2009 12:17 pm

    Great pic, and congrats to Chris!

    I made a delicious breakfast today, will post pics tomorrow — Lee’s Maple Glazed Pumpkin French Toast!

  29. March 15, 2009 2:18 pm

    Ah! Your husband is AMAZING! What a fantastic time!! Congrats to him 🙂 and that coconut bar looks absolutely fantastic! Have a great sunday!

  30. finkleberry permalink
    March 15, 2009 3:15 pm

    that coconut milk heaven on a stick sounds so good right now! jealous! ❤

  31. March 15, 2009 4:16 pm

    Congrats Chris! You’re lucky to have such a hottie water bottle girl.

    Congrats to the winners, although I am v. v. jealous.

  32. March 15, 2009 5:39 pm

    You and your husband are super adorable together!! =) I have never tried coconut products like that, but I think next time I’m home(since my freezer is super small at college) I will have to pick some up! Thanks for sharing the reviews.

  33. March 15, 2009 5:51 pm

    You two are soooo cute together!

    HE IS WICKED FAST! CONGRATS TO HIM!

  34. March 15, 2009 6:06 pm

    Man, I never win at these things 😦 I put those ice cream bars on my grocery list. You’re right, I think I do need them in my life! 😀

  35. March 15, 2009 6:23 pm

    Congrats to Chris – what an amazing time!

    Wow – You both have striking blue eyes – you’re a very cute couple 🙂

  36. March 15, 2009 6:42 pm

    Yay for the 1/2 marathon running-hubby!! And for coconut ice cream, those bars look and sound so good and I may just take your advice to pick some up at the local grocery(the closest one to me is Whole foods so hopefully they have em!). Also, I love the brown hair, it must be somewhat new bc the pic of you on the side is blonde.

  37. March 15, 2009 7:17 pm

    Lisaheartspizza,
    Your Whole Foods should have the coconut ice-cream bars in the freezer section as I just saw them at mine this last week. So delicious! Thanks for your sweet comments about my hair. I’m naturally blond…well used to be anyway. Now, I change things up all the time – I figure it’s just hair. If I don’t like it, I can always change it back. 🙂 Have a good week Lisa!

  38. March 15, 2009 7:33 pm

    McD… congrats to Chris.. Great job! Those ice cream bars are calling my name! Big time.

    zesty

  39. March 15, 2009 10:05 pm

    You guys are ADORABLE!!
    Congrats to Chris! And I’ll bet you made the best water bottle girl out there 🙂

  40. March 15, 2009 10:49 pm

    what a cute pic!! I was definitely feeling a lackage of Heather pics in my life 😀 Congrats to CD!!

  41. March 16, 2009 12:05 am

    So adorable. It makes me want a big bowl of veggies with hummus.

    Oh, that picture of you guys is kind of cute too 😉

    Thanks for your sweet comment. I’ve been the one that’s been MIA, but I’m back with a vengeance!

  42. For the Love of Peanut Butter permalink
    March 16, 2009 4:32 am

    You know I loveeeeee my ice cream bars. that bar sounds AMAZING. I love so delicious products-havent tried the coconut line-but someone told me they are taking away their soy yogurts and replacing them with coconut! But!? but?! but…..
    oh well, i trust your judgment 😀

  43. March 16, 2009 4:51 am

    NO.
    you two could NOT BE ANY CUTER.
    love the pics.
    and am now thinking I wanna follow suit with pics as I really liked putting a face with his name 🙂

  44. March 16, 2009 6:47 am

    You guys are such a gorgeous couple! And WOW – I am floored by his time. I would be on a stretcher after running that fast.

    I want to eat those coconut bars through the screen! I will keep a look out for them at my store. Although I do have trouble with “mini” things – my head says to eat several “minis” to equal one “whole.” 🙂

  45. March 16, 2009 7:19 am

    thats a great half marathon time!!! congrats to hubby!!

    damn i didnt win the so delicious giveaway 😦

  46. March 16, 2009 8:42 am

    Oh my! I can’t believe I won and I CAN’T wait to try these out!

  47. March 16, 2009 9:07 am

    congrats to CD and the winners!!

  48. March 16, 2009 9:09 am

    Wow! Congrats to your husband. That’s an awesome time and a very cute picture of the two of you.

  49. greenbean permalink
    March 16, 2009 9:16 am

    blue eyes central! so cute!

  50. lilveggiepatch permalink
    March 16, 2009 9:57 am

    You kids are so cute! Congratulations to Chris!

    Those coconut milk “ice cream” bars look SO GOOD. I used to eat the Haagan-Daaz a couple times a week when I was younger. If only!

  51. March 16, 2009 11:52 am

    Wow…..that is an race amazing time! It would take me 1/2 a day! Ha! I am still searching for those dang ice cream bars! I have the mini coconut ice cream sandwiches and NEED to try the rest of the products. My search continues…….. Cute picture BTW…I love the dark hair 🙂

  52. March 16, 2009 12:11 pm

    SUPER CUTE PICTURE!!! Yes I must get myself some coconut ice cream…asap!

  53. March 16, 2009 1:59 pm

    You two are sooo cute! Thanks for the Starby’s tip girl!

  54. March 16, 2009 2:30 pm

    dairy DEFINITELY does not help the snotty/mucus/phlegm
    problem. and too much of it upsets my tum. i really dont
    consume that much. mostly just in the form of cottage
    cheese. i love them both far too much to cut them out.
    and in these podunk parts its hard to find alternatives!

  55. March 16, 2009 2:30 pm

    Congratulations to your hubby! Oh, and to you for being the first place water bottle girl. 🙂

  56. March 16, 2009 2:38 pm

    Cute CD!!! Those bars look delicious!!! I am on the lookout for them!!

  57. March 16, 2009 4:03 pm

    mmmmmmm, veggies and hummus.

    i love all things coconut!

    i sort of hate how CD just ran a race and looks totally normal and cute. my hair would be a hot MESS and my mascara would be running all over. boys…

  58. March 16, 2009 4:35 pm

    so jealous that you and justine got to hang out!! let me know how the rice proteins work; i never know how different proteins will change what i’m making, like the consistency and such (i dont know a thing about cooking, clearly), so i never experiment. but the one I just used was actually good! it did have a green tint to it (eek) but it didn’t taste icky at all really, especially once you add a little stevia and cinnamon. try it!

  59. March 16, 2009 4:54 pm

    Adorble picture of your two =)

    Must. Get. Those. Bars.

  60. March 16, 2009 6:55 pm

    Hi Heather! My name is Emily. I just started my first food blog @ http://curlytopbop.blogspot.com/and gave you a special shout out.

    Congragulations to your hubby for finishing the race with such a big smile! I completed my first 5k on Turkey Day and spent the next 36 hours hobbling around the house cursing the running gods.

    With Love,

    Emily

  61. Matt permalink
    March 16, 2009 8:04 pm

    Damn he is fast! I want some of that speed!

  62. March 17, 2009 9:31 am

    Those coconut almond bars look incredible!! I love love love the coconut milk frozen yogurt; definitely need to pick up some of those bars too 🙂

Leave a Reply

