Skip to content

Sweet Tooth Cure

March 11, 2009

Chocolate for breakfast anyone?

The nut butter's been replaced. :)

The nut butter's been replaced. 🙂

OK, so due to the abundance of coconut goodness currently living in my house, I decided to use 2 coconut milk products from Turtle Mountain in my breakfast this morning.  I cooked 1/2 cup oat bran with 1 cup water and a pinch of salt on the stove-top and then stirred in a container of chocolate coconut milk yogurt.  On my way to the nut butter cabinet, I made a detour straight for the freezer and grabbed a mini coconut ice-cream sandwich.  Yes, I did.  Y’all, let me tell you how amazing a half melted ice-cream sandwich tastes in your warm bowl of oats…AMAZING! This was so delicious, but I really should have saved it for a post dinner dessert  as it was too much for breakfast.  The amount of sugar hit me hard afterwards, and I knew I’d overdone the sweetness factor.

The coconut milk yogurt is good, but after eating plain Greek yogurt for so long, it tasted a bit runny and too sweet.  I think I would prefer the sweeter flavors as a special treat on their own…instead of mixed with ice-cream…at 7 AM. 🙂 However, the mini ice-cream sandwiches are pure genius, and I could eat them every hour of the day. These little 100 calorie gems (not that I’m counting :)) are soy AND Dairy free!!!  Oh, and did I mention they’re delicious?  Thanks again Turtle Mountain. My tummy is grateful!

So, this concludes day 1 of coconut product week.  Who knows what I might try tomorrow? Please join me for more exciting coconut adventures & recipes.  For an adventure of your own, don’t forget to enter my Turtle Mountain coupon giveaway by Friday, March 13.

Thanks to everyone who commented already and for all the fellow bloggers for linking back to me.  Here is some link love of my own.  So many exciting giveaways happening!  Go check them out:

  • Honeynutlo is giving away a New Orleans style care package. 
  • Missy Maintains is giving away some delicious Erin Baker’s products.
  • Check out Every Gym’s Nightmare Second Chance Giveaway.
  • Foods That Fit is giving away an incredible package of goodies to celebrate her new site:
  • Don’t Forget about Zesty’s FREE e-cookbook. 
  • In celebration of her 100th post, Food Snob is giving away some Holey Donuts.
  • You have not one, but two chances to win a Quaker All Natural Gift Bag.  I want that robe!
  1. Eating Bender 
  2. The Fitnessista 

One more bit of exciting news from the producers of my favorite granola:

Zoe’s Granola is now offering 30% off AND free shipping on all cereals and bars at their new online store.  Make sure to check out the new sampler packs.  Sweet deal!

Hope you all have a wonderful coconutty filled day. 🙂

47 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2009 1:56 pm

    No. You. Didn’t.

    I love you.

    Ice cream for breakfast. I’m hiding the screen from my girls right now! I can just hear, “Can I put ice cream in my oatmeal?!?”

  2. March 11, 2009 1:58 pm

    oh my, i almost laughed out loud at work at the site of your brekkie 🙂 thanks for making my day!

  3. March 11, 2009 2:01 pm

    oh mu gosh – ice cream for breakfast? I love that you did that 🙂

  4. March 11, 2009 2:01 pm

    I just laughed when I saw that ice cream bar hanging out in the middle of your oat bran. Too fantastical for words.

    Leading to : I officially want those mini ice cream bars now!

    Hope that you’ve recovered from your coconut-sugar-mania! 🙂

  5. March 11, 2009 2:05 pm

    Wow… I really want to win your giveaway now.

  6. March 11, 2009 2:06 pm

    **AWESTRUCK**

  7. March 11, 2009 2:09 pm

    Awesome breakfast!

  8. March 11, 2009 2:10 pm

    Genius. You are a genius.

    Now I must go try those bars! Mmm.

    I agree, the coconut yogurt very sweet but the vanilla is my favorite. I think it’s so creamy and rich! Yummy.

  9. March 11, 2009 2:12 pm

    Yum! I love ice cream sandwiches! It looks great with the oatmeal!

  10. March 11, 2009 2:24 pm

    Ha Ha! That cracks me up. I’ve been know to put together stuff like that, closely followed by the “I can’t believe she’s eating that” large eye rolls from my husband. I love it. I have 3 of those little gems in the door of my freezer right now! I totally agree they are the perfect 100 calorie snack. So worth the chocolate covered fingers 🙂

  11. March 11, 2009 2:30 pm

    Oh, you are a girl after my own heart! That is a fabulous start to the day!

  12. March 11, 2009 3:51 pm

    haha awesome bfast! Only 100 calories in those ice cream sammys?? I need to get my hands on those!

  13. Erin permalink
    March 11, 2009 4:18 pm

    I’m having chocolate for dinner, but you sure did outdo me!!

  14. March 11, 2009 4:19 pm

    I love that you just stuck the ice cream sandwich right in there! It reminds me of a whale tale(without the quite so distinctive shape)…I think I’m going to have to get myself a box of those. Can’t wait to see what breakfast is tommorrow

  15. March 11, 2009 5:01 pm

    OMGOMGOMGOMG. i saw that picture in my blog reader and didnt even need to see the words… just had to goggle at it for a moment. or five.

  16. Heather (be well & take care) permalink
    March 11, 2009 5:05 pm

    My co-worker let me try some of the chocolate coconut milk yogurt this morning and it was really good, but too sweet. This is my problem with all dairy-free yogurts. I think I have to look it as a dessert (because it would have been a great dessert!) instead of breakfast/snack.

  17. March 11, 2009 5:19 pm

    Why didn’t I think of it?! I so love coconut with chocolate! Its one of my fav combos!!! Have an awesome day 🙂

  18. March 11, 2009 5:38 pm

    Omg Heather, you seriously just blew my mind. You are a genius of ginormous proportions!!! Is there anything you can’t do with oatmeal?

  19. March 11, 2009 5:58 pm

    omg you did. and omg you’re genius.

    but you already knew that. 😉

  20. March 11, 2009 6:19 pm

    I will pay you, no joke, to be my official breakfast maker. This one looks out of this world! You should open a breakfast only restaurant. I am so serious.

  21. March 11, 2009 6:21 pm

    I love topping my chocolate oats with fresh frozen banana icecream made with 2 or 3 bananas (frozen) and cinnamon… all blended up in my vitamix… So healthy and SO delicious. I crave choc oats and banana ice cream daily!

  22. March 11, 2009 6:24 pm

    omg, that breakfast is heaven…

  23. dailydulcie permalink
    March 11, 2009 6:31 pm

    No words for that breakfast.

    DEEEEELISH!!!!

  24. March 11, 2009 7:02 pm

    delicious breakfast!!! I need to try that combo!

  25. Matt permalink
    March 11, 2009 7:26 pm

    Tomorrow’s breakfast will involve chocolate. Pancakes to the rescue!

  26. March 11, 2009 7:33 pm

    LOL- cure it, you did! Fabulous, Heather, even with NO NUTRITIONAL INFO! GO YOU!!!!

  27. March 11, 2009 7:47 pm

    I am drooling over your breakfast bowl. YUM!

  28. March 11, 2009 7:49 pm

    haha oh my gosh! That breakfast is glorious! I’m not going to lie, I would try blending my oats but the thought of having to clean out my blender after is very unappealing…

  29. Emily permalink
    March 11, 2009 7:54 pm

    Man that is good looking bowl of oats!!! I need to win your contest so I too can rock ice-cream for breakfast!

    http://eatingchalk.wordpress.com

  30. March 11, 2009 8:00 pm

    Best. Oat Bran. Topping.
    EVER!

  31. March 11, 2009 8:31 pm

    NIcole – I love your idea for chocolate oats with banana ice-cream. What’s your exact recipe and do you add anything to the frozen bananas or just blend as is? I would love some tips. Thanks 🙂

  32. March 11, 2009 9:33 pm

    Oh. MY. That looks amazing! Im glad I can count on you for drool-worthy food every single day. I might be in love with your breakfast. 🙂

    Look at all the fun stuff going in in blogland! So many great giveaways, yours included. Have a great Thursday Heather!

  33. March 12, 2009 12:28 am

    Heather!
    Chocolate oats on a whole new level! You are awesome! I bet those oats tasted AMAZING!

  34. March 12, 2009 5:04 am

    that looks so good AND for some reason I havent had an ice cream sandwich in ages!
    makes my think of my childhood 🙂

    today.
    with the toddler.

  35. March 12, 2009 6:26 am

    Mmmm – what a better way to start the day than with an ice cream sandwich?! You are right…it would definitely make a good post dinner dessert. Or post lunch dessert…if you’re into that type of thing. (Which I am). 🙂

  36. March 12, 2009 7:17 am

    Hey, did you ever find that lactose free cc?

    ~Justine

  37. March 12, 2009 7:36 am

    Post it Heather! Yes..I need to do the same as a constant reminder for myself. 🙂 As you probably know…the planning goes through phases where it just gets out of hand! Man! = me right now…oh well…will work on it! Thanks for commenting…you are great! 🙂 Have a fab day dear.

  38. March 12, 2009 8:48 am

    Justine, I did not, but I haven’t been looking for it. Are you still eating it? I figured I’d wait until dairy free month was over.

  39. March 12, 2009 8:58 am

    Hot damn, that’s my kind of oat bowl.

  40. March 12, 2009 11:18 am

    Hot damn, that’s my kind of oat bowl.
    Oops…forgot to say great post! Looking forward to your next one.

  41. Jacquelyn permalink
    March 12, 2009 3:53 pm

    I would really love to try the black lepord or the vanila fudge soy ice creams. I have tried other flavors and really enjoyed them but cant seem to find a few of the flavors. Those would be top of my list to try 🙂

  42. March 12, 2009 4:17 pm

    i am totally dying over that ice cream sandwich. love it!

  43. March 12, 2009 4:34 pm

    BRILS. I bet it was worth the sugar coma!

  44. March 12, 2009 5:52 pm

    OMG OMG OMG. I love this.

  45. March 12, 2009 5:56 pm

    wow, how did i miss this yesterday???? an ice cream sandwich swimming in oatmeal. that is insane!

  46. March 13, 2009 8:56 am

    There are no words that truly describe how amazing that breakfast looks. No words. You are a woman after my own heart, incorporating an ice cream sandwich into your oats! It reminds me of when I made peanut butter cup oats with Ghirardelli chocolate. Ohhh heaven!

    Thanks for link love, Miss Heather 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Green Acres Is The Place For Me « Heather Eats Almond Butter

Leave a Reply

