Skip to content

Frosting For Breakfast

March 3, 2009

Yoga Day 2.  Rolled out of bed at 5 AM so sore from yesterday’s class.  As always, I jumped right back into things.  Heather = all or nothing.  (Right, Jillian?)  My left hamstring was hurting…but no more than the right.  My arms.  Ugh, all those lovely Chaturangas kicked my booty.  Today, I returned to the mat with every intention of taking a break whenever my body needed it.  Thankfully, we worked a lot more on balance than strength, but I did skip out on most of Crow for a water break.  The arms just weren’t feeling it today.  Prasarita Padottanasana, or standing straddle forward bend, felt really good. This was the pose that really irritated my hamstring after I injured it.  So, good news!  The hammie is still tight, causing me to keep my legs bent in a lot of poses where I use to straighten them. But, that’s okay. They’ll be nice and straight again someday.  After a hot shower, it was time to eat!

Savory or sweet?  Sweet or savory?  What to do?  What to do? I’ll take one of each, please. 

First course: Egg white/salmon scramble.  Nothing too exciting (meaning it looked ugly, and I didn’t want to take a picture. :))

Second course: Oat bran with raw chocolate frosting & peanut butter:

Don't fear the green specks.

Don't fear the green specks.

My new favorite dessert!!!!  Y’all this was one divine bowl of chocolate topped oats. In my Vita-Mix, I combined 1/2 ripe avocado with 1 tsp of maple syrup, 1 heaping tsp of cocoa powder, and a splash of water.  I’ve never made such a small amount of raw frosting at one time as I’m usually making enough for an entire pie.  That being said, my small amount kept getting stuck in the bottom of the blender and didn’t blend fully, hence the visible avocado chunks.  Still delicious!  The stats (including my salmon scramble): 485 calories, 23 grams of fat (34%), 58 grams of carbs (38%), and 40 grams of protein (27%).  This was a very well balanced breakfast leaving me fully content.  Let’s just say there were no nut butter jars attacked an hour later. 🙂

For lunch, I made my sandwich for the Great Peanut Butter Exhibition. Since I’m entering it in the competition, I can’t share the recipe.  However, I will say that the combination of ingredients received 2 thumbs up from Chris, my favorite taste-tester. 

Do we have a winner?

Do we have a winner?

Oh, and just to let you know, my cashew milk worked perfectly in my morning mug of coffee.  So smooth and no curdling!  I would have taken a picture, but at 5 AM, I’m not the best photographer. 

Enjoy this beautiful day!

46 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2009 1:27 pm

    Oh. my. GOODNESS. I. need. that. second. course. please. thanks.

    Love your entry for the PB Exhibition!!

  2. March 3, 2009 1:35 pm

    OH my gosh. I want that sandwich. I want that recipe!!!! Gimme =)

  3. March 3, 2009 1:38 pm

    The sandwich looks gorgeous!!

  4. March 3, 2009 1:39 pm

    Now that sounds like a good yoga sesh!

  5. March 3, 2009 1:40 pm

    Keep at it with that yoga, sounds like you’re making lots of progress!

  6. Sam permalink
    March 3, 2009 1:44 pm

    Hi – I have just started reading your blog and just love it. I do have a question though – how do you calculate the nutritional info for your oat brans meals? When I look at my package of oats (Bob’s Red Mill) it says 21g of carbs for 1/3 cup. How do you arrive at your carb count. I know some of your wonderful oat combinations show a carb amount at 70……how does it get that high? Thank for the info and thanks for such a great site to visit and learn.

  7. March 3, 2009 1:53 pm

    love the idea of the raw frosting!!! i’m sort of obsessed with anything involving avocado…never would have thought to add maple syrup and chocolate to it, but i really want to try it!

  8. peanutbutterandjuli permalink
    March 3, 2009 1:53 pm

    So glad to hear about your hammy improving!

    And yummmmmmyyyyy food!

  9. March 3, 2009 2:04 pm

    OMG that looks awesome!!!

  10. March 3, 2009 2:05 pm

    I’ve heard of mixing avocado and chocolate, but I’ve never tried it. Sounds divine. If avocados are on sale today I’ll pick on up (I just used up my avocado last night in guac).

  11. March 3, 2009 2:20 pm

    Yay for healthy happy hamstring in wide legged forward bend… aaaah and yay for water breaks during crow! My crow today fell out of the sky just so ya know. 😉 Ker-plunk. 🙂

    I need to do that nut milk experiment, sweetie! Loved your post today as I do everyday. HUGS!!!!!!!!!!!!

  12. March 3, 2009 2:37 pm

    Ok.. that breakfast, that sandwich.. it all looks amazing!

    I’m glad your ham felt better today! Way to work it out!

  13. March 3, 2009 2:41 pm

    hmm, i have a ripe avocado sitting in my fridge… and this looks fantastic! salmon and eggs, too, yum. 🙂

  14. March 3, 2009 2:42 pm

    WOW! Look at those oats, what a decadent, healthy breakfast!

    Mmm and that sandwich looks great, I can’t wait to see the recipe. =)

    Enjoy your day Heather!

  15. March 3, 2009 3:07 pm

    Ahhhh….love that sore feeling. The good kind of sore, you know. You earned it! 🙂

    You are so brave for getting up so early. I used to do 5, now I don’t know how I did.

    That sandwich looks SO delicious and hearty….I can smell it now.

  16. Erin permalink
    March 3, 2009 3:37 pm

    What a delightfully varied breakfast! It sounds really good!!

  17. March 3, 2009 3:44 pm

    Good luck in the contest! It looks like a yummy sandwich!

  18. March 3, 2009 3:44 pm

    I’m so in love with the avocado frosting idea. Way to work it. 🙂

  19. eatinnyc permalink
    March 3, 2009 4:06 pm

    That sandwich seriously made me STARVINGGGG (thanks A LOT!!!) 🙂 Amazingly gorg pictures and ❤ your blog, of course!
    http://www.eatfabinnyc.wordpress.com

  20. Lainie permalink
    March 3, 2009 4:14 pm

    Hi! I left you a comment a few days ago for the crepe recipe and the peanut butter “frozen yogurt” recipe – thank you so much for posting those! Today I wanted to thank you for posting the raw chocolate frosting recipe….I went right home and made it for dessert for lunch! WOW – so good. A few questions though….do you use sweetened or unsweetened cocoa powder? I used 1/2 avocado, 1 heaping tsp UNSWEETENED cocoa powder and 1 tsp maple syrup…but it was so bitter….so i ended up adding two more tsp maple syrup (for a total of 3 tsp) and it turned out great. also, mine is the consistency of pudding – know anyway to thicken it up a bit and make it more frosting like?
    thanks again for your wonderful site. i really love your recipes – they are so unique and right up my alley.

  21. March 3, 2009 5:24 pm

    That sandwich looks SOOO good! Beautiful pictures.

  22. March 3, 2009 6:14 pm

    YUM!! Your frosting looks so good as does the sandwich.

  23. March 3, 2009 7:05 pm

    Raw chocolate frosting! Heather, Heather, Heather you continue to surprise me and make me starving and make me want to come to your house for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack!

  24. March 3, 2009 7:37 pm

    Oooh, frosting for breakfast, naughty!! Actually, too funny I had frosting on my breakfast this morning…no time to post today though *sigh*

    I’m so glad that the hamstring is doing well and that you aren’t pushing it too hard to get back to your usual yoga prowess!

  25. March 3, 2009 7:41 pm

    interesting combo for breakfast…never would have thought of that!

  26. March 3, 2009 8:14 pm

    I am sooooo buying some avocado tomorrow to make that frosting!!! ok lets see if I can remember your questions. I never know if should answer them here or on my blog. Lactose free cc is at Publix here in Hendersonville. Its pretty good but has a different texture. The curds are more light and fluffy tasting. Health food store also in Hendersonville. Theres also a good one in Goodletsville. Thanks for the info on the soy. Didnt even think about that. The dust stayed dusty. Coffee or lunch? Thought ud never ask :). Sounds great to me! Just let me know when and where?

    ~Justine

  27. March 3, 2009 8:52 pm

    That. Looks. So. Delicious. I want to recreate that sandwich! If only we knew what was in it! Oh well, I can eye it and guess. Regardless, the photo is very pretty. 🙂

  28. March 3, 2009 10:07 pm

    Sandwich looks delicious! Good luck with the contest! 🙂
    Sorry your hamstring is not behaving. I pulled my right hamstring in gymnastics when I was in high school, and it’s never really been the same since. Boo on injuries!

    I had avocado the other day on my quesadilla, and it was so great at keeping me full until dinner. Love me some monounsaturated fat!

  29. For the Love of Peanut Butter permalink
    March 3, 2009 10:22 pm

    🙂

    i can’t wait for when we meet and you can make me breakfast!

    “lets just say there were no nut butter jars attacked an hour later”—your progress is so apparent and i love these power breakfasts. they are so inspiring.

    i am hosting the pbe5 too, and received the recipe: wont say anything but it looks awesome!

    g’night love!

  30. March 3, 2009 10:46 pm

    i was thinking about trying my hand at
    making almond milk. any tips or tricks?

  31. March 3, 2009 11:23 pm

    Wow! Raw chocolate frosting?! That looks awesome. I second what VeggieGirl said about the second course 😉

    Love the look of your PB Exhibition submission! I can’t wait to go home and figure out what I’m going to submit.

  32. March 3, 2009 11:25 pm

    Until I realized there was avocado in your raw frosting I was tad confused as to what the green stuff was sticking our of the chocolate. It looks yummy!

  33. March 3, 2009 11:38 pm

    Your oat bran raw chocolate frosting peanut butter breakfast looks like holy yummy goodness from every angle! I’m a little jealous as I sit here:)

  34. March 4, 2009 12:13 am

    I’m sitting here staring at your sandwich trying to figure out what the pinkish stuff is. Ridiculous, I know.

    You should enter a sandwich with chocolate avocado frosting on it. Hello healthy fats!

    Have a good Wednesday HEAB!

  35. March 4, 2009 12:14 am

    Oh, I think its pastrami.

  36. March 4, 2009 5:30 am

    damn.
    you are so healthycreative, woman.

    and IM SO GLAD youre entering.
    posted about that today but dont imagine I will/have the time.

  37. March 4, 2009 5:41 am

    Yes Justine, you must try the frosting – so good! I can’t wait to make more today. I’m pretty flexible about meeting up – how about lunch? We could meet somewhere between Nashville and Hendersonville. Or if you’re going to be in town one day soon, perhaps we could lunch at Whole Foods? I know you love it. 🙂 Just let me know. Looking forward to it! 🙂

  38. March 4, 2009 6:40 am

    What a cool frosting 🙂 I love it! Can you really taste the avocado?
    Yay for equally distributed hamstring soreness!

  39. March 4, 2009 7:37 am

    hmmm, I thought the green flecks might be PISTACHIO! That may be good…
    The PB Sammy is boggling my mind: WHAT IS IT?! Good luck!

  40. March 4, 2009 7:52 am

    Erin, the avocado adds so much creaminess, but all you can really taste is the chocolate and maple syrup. Try it. 🙂

  41. March 4, 2009 8:04 am

    I was definitlety a little freaked out by the green bits! It sounds really good though. 😀

  42. March 4, 2009 8:24 am

    I love avocados in sweet stuff- it gives everything such a great texture

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

  43. March 4, 2009 8:51 am

    Heather, you are so creative!! I wouldn’t shy away from the green—avocado totally makes sense for the creamy/gooey/delicious factor. YUM!

  44. March 4, 2009 9:29 am

    Yes! All or nothing is correct! Glad to hear the hammie held in there for the first round of yoga! A friend of mine is calling yoga, “yogurt” and now I am referring to it as that-ha! Cute hair by the way! 🙂 Hope you are enjoying more yoga this am!

  45. March 4, 2009 12:48 pm

    Thrilled to hear that your hamstring is feeling better! Thats awesome! I love mixing savory and sweet so your breakfast looks perfecto! Have a good day!

Trackbacks

  1. No sugar; extra balls (+ laundry Qs answered) « Tales of Expansion

Leave a Reply

