Skip to content

And So March Begins

March 2, 2009

Happy March my friends.  This month holds a lot of changes and challenges for many bloggers, myelf included.  Due to some stomach issues and a nose that turns into a faucet every night, I’m going dairy & soy free this month.  My body has no problem letting me know when it is unhappy with my food choices, and I’ve battled both lactose and soy intolerances in the past.  I can do it again.  A friend recently told me that even though she has to avoid many common food groups, she never views her diet as restricted, but rather as nourishing & revitalizing.  So, here’s to the month of March.  May it be nourishing, revitalizing, and full of yoga! 🙂

That’s right, my return to the world of yoga occurred at 6 AM this morning.  My hamstring held up throughout the class with no major problems.  It’s a little stiff, but the stretching actually felt really good.  Still doesn’t feel 100%, but I think that might be because I’ve done nothing with it for 2 weeks.  So, we’ll see.  My yoga workshop at Hot Yoga Nashville meets every weekday morning from 6-7 AM, and then on Saturday afternoons for 2 hours throughout the month of March.  It’s not Bikram, but power yoga in a heated room.  This morning’s class was fast-paced and challenging.  I loved every sweaty minute of it and can’t wait for more tomorrow!

Onto Breakfast.  In honor of dairy-free month, I had to end my love affair with the protein crepes as they contained whey protein powder.  My beloved Jay Robb uses whey protein isolate which has less than 0.1 gram of lactose per tablespoon (20 grams).  So, I still may use it occasionally throughout the month…like, um, yesterday. 🙂

Today’s Breakfast is entitled Find The Eggs On This Plate:

Scrambled egg whites with veggies and homemade bread

Scrambled egg whites with veggies and homemade bread

I promise there are 2 egg whites mixed in with the broccoli. 🙂  My German spelt bread received a little love from some Smart Balance Light (I know – contains soybean oil) & peanut butter. I figured up the calories of my bread for this post…273 calories per slice?!?  Could that possibly be right?  I did use over 5 cups of flour for one loaf along with 1 cup of various seeds.  Oh well, it’s dense and delicious, and I love it.  The stats for this meal: 504 calories, 18 grams of fat (33%), 52 grams of carbs (43%), and 31 grams of protein (24%).  I was starving 1 hour later and went to town on the remains of our Trader Joe’s peanut butter.  1, 2, heck, it might have been 3 TBSPs by the time I was done scraping.  Now, that’s a breakfast!

Polly and I have decided to experiment with homemade nut milks.  In today’s jar? Cashew!

Cashew maple bliss

Cashew maple bliss

You can find the recipe I used here.  After reading this milk would make an excellent coffee creamer, I had to try it as there will be no half & half or soy creamer this month!  I had to taste-test the blended goodness, which of course led to my…

Blended Bowl of the Day:

Warm banana blended quinoa

Warm banana blended quinoa

Into the Vita-Mix went 1/2 cup warm cooked quinoa, 1/2 mashed heated banana, 1 tsp. Smart Balance Light, a splash of cashew milk, 1-2 ounces of water, and pumpkin pie spice.  Seriously, what would I do without my Vita-Mix?!?  This was heavenly, and I could have eaten about 5 more servings.

Another goal for me this month is to be in bed by 9 PM.  Not getting ready for bed. Not preparing the coffeepot for the next morning.  Not brushing my teeth or sending just one last email.  9 PM = IN THE BED WITH LIGHTS OFF.  Since I have a yoga class everyday at 6 AM, and my body does not function well without sleep, I’m aiming for at least 8 hours at night.  That being said, I must limit my computer time.  Just wanted to give everyone a heads up in case my comments slow down. I love reading all of your blogs so much, but my Google Reader is busting at the seams (exciting, especially with all the new bloggers out there!).  Please forgive me if I don’t get to comment, but know I’m doing my best to read read read.  Love you all.  Thanks for the support!

56 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    March 2, 2009 2:47 pm

    So many cool kitchen adventures. Making your own nut milk sounds very interesting. That German Bread is super thick, and oh so delicious!
    I’m glad you can get back to yoga, I’m sure it feels wonderful!

  2. March 2, 2009 2:49 pm

    Good luck going allergen free, you have such a positive outlook!!

    yay for getting back in yoga!!

  3. March 2, 2009 2:49 pm

    that cashew milk sounds awesome 🙂

    and I’ll be buying oatbran soon!

  4. March 2, 2009 2:58 pm

    Happy March, Heather!

    I know it seems like an oxymoron, but I agree with your friend– when I cut out products from my diet, it seemed like I discovered 5 new products for every 1 I gave up!

  5. March 2, 2009 2:59 pm

    Perfect eats to begin the new month!!

    Hooray for being in bed by 9PM – I’m trying to keep that goal too 🙂

  6. March 2, 2009 3:05 pm

    Do you like cream of wheat? Just wondering, because that is what the blended bowls remind me of, and the texture of cream of wheat totally grosses me out. Again, just curious because you seem to like your blended bowls so much, I feel like I must try it one day!

    Happy March, and welcome back to yoga! I’m sure it missed you 🙂

    I hear you on getting to bed early to. I aim for 9 also, but I get up at 5.

  7. March 2, 2009 3:19 pm

    wow, i’m so impressed with all your do-it-yourself foods lately. i want a vita-mix! but i need to stop moaning about that and just get more adventurous with the baby “pulse or grind” that i have …

    and your blended breakfast sounds amazing …

  8. March 2, 2009 3:25 pm

    Fabulous goals for this month Heather!

    And of course that blended bowl sounds amazing…why didn’t I ever think of quinoa, it would help me get so much more calcium for the day. Thanks for the idea

  9. March 2, 2009 3:27 pm

    I love the name for your breakfast! It’s like “Where’s Waldo?” – breakfast style.

    I love what your friend said about her diet being nourishing and revitalizing. I think with most things, after we cut them out, we find it’s not QUITE as bad as we think. (I am hoping one day this might be how I view that evil Diet Coke laced with crack). 🙂

    I’m so happy for you that you were able to do yoga! I really want to try hot yoga/bikram. I despise the cold so I’m sure it would make me very happy.

  10. March 2, 2009 4:15 pm

    LOVE the Cashew milk. How creative. You are so brave to go dairy free. I am going Meatless. That, I can live with. But dairy?? I salute you my friend.

    And yay for yoga!!

  11. March 2, 2009 4:17 pm

    hmmmm maybe I need to set a bedtime goal. The 4:30 wake up calls have gotten increasingly harder due to a later bedtime. oopsy!

    How I wish I could join you at your Hot Yoga workshop! I’m green with envy!

    I hope the dairy-free month does your body good. 🙂

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

  12. March 2, 2009 4:35 pm

    I hope you have a nourishing & revitalizing month! I love watching other people try out these things!

    Congrats on the yoga. Sounds wonderful. I am glad you were able to get it done with little problem. 😀

  13. March 2, 2009 4:41 pm

    Wow, your yoga workshop sounds incredible. I’m going to do the dairy free month with you – but my calcium chews do have some lactose and I’m still going to have them. I think that’s the only thing I’m cheating with. I’ve never tried making my own nut milk, but it sounds v. cool. I need to get a blender – I only have this mini food-processor that I bought at some point in college. It can’t even make a full batch of hummus! Maybe when we move to a bigger place I’ll get a vitamix so I can experiment more with the blended grains.

  14. March 2, 2009 4:51 pm

    I love homemade nut milks!! enjoy your month of dairy free bliss!

  15. March 2, 2009 4:52 pm

    “Nourishing and revitalizing” sounds perfect!

    I think it is wonderful to have the food and bedtime goals. I will be interested to see how it effects your overall well being. Not that I don’t love reading your always thoughtful comments, but I am definitely learning a LOT about priorities!

    Not to sound like a high school yearbook, but stay sweet Heather!

  16. March 2, 2009 4:59 pm

    Yes, your question gets its own post! My dad has actually been taking coconut oil for liver problems, so I’ve been researching it, and I want to do a good job presenting it to you guys! I’m really glad you liked the Q & A.

    Feel free to email me anytime, too!

    Yoga sounds great! I really have been meaning to do more of it…it really works a lot of muscles that straight cardio does not.

    I like the idea of making my own coffee creamer, but I think my prehistoric blender might not be able to handle that. My mom has the Marilyn Diamond cookbook, and I grew up eating a lot of those recipes!

    Love your idea of a [firm] bedtime, too. That’s something I really need to do. Blogging is just so exciting, but I need to set boundaries or it’s going to take over my life! 🙂

    Have a good one!

  17. March 2, 2009 5:03 pm

    hey heather! I am totally inspired by all of your goals set for this month. my fav is the lights off at 9pm, not even to just get the coffee ready. sounds very similar to what i do, procrastinate on bedtime, since when is that acceptable?

    keep rockin!!! and i love that u dug into the pb after breakfast and didnt try to withhold ur appetite with herbal tea. u knwo when ur hungry!!!

  18. March 2, 2009 5:25 pm

    mmmmm i love these blended grain things you do! perfect eye candy for me 🙂

    that creamy cashew milk=MMM. I def. want to try making my own. I always mess that stuff up, but I’m going to give it a whirl, see how it goes!

  19. March 2, 2009 6:10 pm

    Gina…Birthday Girl!
    I’ve never had cream of what – grossed me out as a kid too as did grits. I’m laughing as my blended grain bowls do look exactly like both. I’d probably love them now. Funny how our tastes change as we mature.

  20. peanutbutterandjuli permalink
    March 2, 2009 6:15 pm

    I hear you with the food sensitivities 🙂 I know it’s challenging to give things up, but I’m excited to see how your body reacts.

    So glad about the hamstring! I hope it continues improving. I did Power Yoga today too, and LOVED it.

  21. March 2, 2009 6:58 pm

    good luck with the dairy and soy free month!! also, getting to bed by 9 sounds like a huge challenge…i could never do that!! my bed time is around midnight on weekdays. i bet you will feel so healthy and relaxed this month!

  22. March 2, 2009 7:03 pm

    blended quinoa!!!! and that milk sounds just delightful 🙂

  23. March 2, 2009 7:16 pm

    heather, i just thought of you! i was feeling sluggish while reading your posts and thought “hmm, doing a three minute plank sounds like a really brilliant idea.” so, I tried. my first one only lasted 1 minute 45 seconds (ahahahahah) so I waited a minute and did another. still only 2 minutes! grrr. you are abnormally fit, or i am just a weakling (which is much more likely).

  24. March 2, 2009 7:23 pm

    MARCH your way toward health girlfriend!
    That is soo cool about the yoga- I hope the hammy holds up well- you soo deserve that love to your body! I LOVE powerful, hot yoga! That’s a good goal for the bedtime! Maybe that’s extra healing time for yourself, body & mind!
    Cashew milk- whoa baby! You creative lil’ gem!
    Have a great week. Totally understand about time-zapping on the internet.

  25. March 2, 2009 7:36 pm

    Cashew milk? COOL. I need to try making my own nut milk. And it looks pretty darn easy! Wooo.

    I can’t believe you’re doing a month of dairy free. That’s awesome. Sometimes I wonder how my body would fair or what kind of differences I would notice if I took a break from it but I love my cottage cheese and yogurt… I just don’t know if I could resistent them! Maybe for a week.. not a whole month though!

    I need to follow your lead in setting a deignated bed time… except I think mine would have to be more like 11 or 12 to be realistic. If only I could get to bed by 9… darn textbook reading gets in the way every time. Boo hoo. Hehe.

  26. March 2, 2009 7:50 pm

    no worries about the commenting! we all understand!

    and i love all the new things…and i think i see eggs in the broccoli. hah.

  27. March 2, 2009 8:01 pm

    Great goals girl (are you in bed now ;). I am so terrible about getting sleep. I wake up at 5:15ish every morning and never seem to be in bed before 10:30. Sigh. Good luck with the Tummy problems. You know I”m right there with ya 😉

  28. March 2, 2009 8:22 pm

    I’m so happy you and your hammy were back in the yoga mix! I have to tell YOU..i went to my local Bikram studio this morning..it’s an “official” one or whatever..and I really did NOT like it at all! In your experience- did the Bikram class not go through any flows or pose sequences?? I’ve taken a lot of yoga at a different studio, and while we used the same traditional poses at Bikram..we didn’t do the whole vinyasa flow thing at ALL..i found it so weird?? Anyway good luck with your new nourishment i’m sure you’ll find creative delish alternatives :D!!

  29. March 2, 2009 8:28 pm

    First off I am soo impressed (and jealous) that you have been good about the no gum rule. I am not doing okay with it! Good luck with the soy and no dairy month! I’m sure you will do great!

  30. Matt permalink
    March 2, 2009 8:36 pm

    That has to suck being dairy and soy free for a month! I would die! I drink soymilk and I am addicted to cheese and ice cream!

  31. March 2, 2009 8:48 pm

    I’m seriously impressed with the cashew milk. NICE! At least you’re not allergic to nuts – can you imagine? I’m sorry, perish the thought, I’ve probably traumatized you.

  32. foodsthatfit permalink
    March 2, 2009 9:05 pm

    I am joining the Meatless in March, but as soon as that is done, I will join you on your dairy free venture! I am impressed with the homemade milk, you are so cool! I am really thinking about doing this yoga thing… you have me inspired! Thanks for your great posts and I totally understand that it does take so much time to comment, I have been feeling the stress of that lately too! Have a great morning yoga session and keep on with the great inspiring posts!

  33. March 2, 2009 9:05 pm

    Happy March! Okay, first, I love your blended bowl of the day, it looks absolutely delicious! Also, I never knew you could make your own cashew milk! That is really cool and I am sure it tastes great. Yay for going back to yoga – it’s gonna be a good month for you 🙂

  34. March 2, 2009 9:37 pm

    Heather!
    Of course I will have a drink with you and Chris in the Garden when you DO get out here to Colorado…which you will! 🙂 Would absolutely love to! Love reading about all of your goals…your dedication to all of the aspects in your life. We are so much alike (In our way to go all out in everything- food, exercise, people, ect)…I just crack up every time I read what you write. 🙂

    I enjoyed some wonderful oatmeal this am with bananas and peanut butter in your honor:).

  35. March 2, 2009 9:46 pm

    I can’t believe that – 6AM!?!?!? I only wish I could get myself out of bed that early. I keep saying I want to go to bed earlier and get up in the morning earlier but it has yet to happen. I love my warm, cozy bed way too much!!! I am going to try making those crepes -they seem really easy and quick.

  36. March 3, 2009 12:05 am

    Those are some awesome goals for this month! I need to work on getting in bed earlier too. Good luck without the dairy!

    I’m glad you were able to stretch that hamstring!

  37. March 3, 2009 5:39 am

    Good luck with your soy/dairy challenge. I really hope it helps your tummy!
    I promised myself a 9pm bedtime too and I haven’t been sticking to it!! Thanks for the reminder 😉

  38. March 3, 2009 5:39 am

    P.S. And YES, you have to try No Pudge…just as soon as you can eat dairy again 🙂

  39. March 3, 2009 5:52 am

    Im so curious to follow your experiences this month!
    Thanks for doing this and posting about it.

  40. March 3, 2009 6:22 am

    cashew milk!!! sounds so delicious!!!!!!!!!!

    HAPPY TUESDAY HEATHERRRRRRRRRRRRR! 🙂

  41. March 3, 2009 7:43 am

    Foodsthatfit,
    Abbi, you should totally try yoga as it has totally changed my body. Ever since college, I would take an occasional yoga class, but I really wanted to dedicate more time to my practice this year. Once I noticed my body getting stronger and flexibility improving, I was hooked. Best of luck with meatless in March. Can’t wait for you to join me in being dairy free…but that means no Nutella. 🙂

  42. March 3, 2009 7:45 am

    Diana, you’re funny. How irrational is it that I sometimes fear I will have a child that is highly allergic to nuts. What if I can’t even keep in them in the house?!? Yes, this is how my brain works. I am crazy.

  43. March 3, 2009 7:48 am

    Caroline. So excited you at least tried Bikram. Honestly, I do not enjoy the Bikram series of postures like I do a good Vinyasa flow class. Even though my workshop takes place in heated room, the classes I am doing now are more flow and NOT the Bikram sequence. I need Down Dog & Pigeon in my life! 🙂

  44. March 3, 2009 7:49 am

    Megan. You make me laugh. Yeah, the one good thing that came out of my hamstring injury was a much stronger core since plank hold was one of the few exercises I could do! Keep it up – you’ll get to three minutes. 🙂

  45. March 3, 2009 8:01 am

    good luck going dairy and soy free this month! i hope you notice a difference.

  46. March 3, 2009 10:24 am

    Good luck to you with your challenge! I hope you feel better following the changes to your diet. 🙂

    Your homemade bread looks awesome, and I agree that it is so nice when my apartment smells like a bakery. Aaaaahhh… Cozy!

  47. Victoria permalink
    March 3, 2009 11:22 am

    Cashew milk as a coffee creamer sounds really interesting.
    http://theidleloaf.wordpress.com

  48. gina (fitnessista) permalink
    March 3, 2009 11:48 am

    happy march and hooray for getting back into yoga!
    i’m the same way about sleep- i need my 8 hours
    thats a great idea to use cashew milk instead of creamer– i’ll need to make some. i try to have dairy alternatives whenever i can so i’m excited to get some new ideas from you!
    hope you’re having a wonderful day ❤

  49. March 3, 2009 12:39 pm

    Good luck with your March goals! I love everything you eat and how you take a limitation and make your food even better from it! That “milk” sounds so nice.. 🙂

  50. March 3, 2009 12:39 pm

    You rock. I love your posts! Nourishing & revitalizing is an awesome way to look at it! I will have to start telling myself this as well =)

  51. March 3, 2009 1:17 pm

    I hope you reap the benefits of dairy free really quickly! 🙂 Please don’t apologize. Why does everyone feel compelled? You’re so wonderful and sweet Heather. Are you getting soy protein powder?

  52. March 3, 2009 1:42 pm

    Hey Erin, thanks for the encouragement. I don’t know why I feel so guilty when I can’t comment. No, no soy protein powder. No soy at all this month. 🙂 I’m bummed, but my stomach is feeling so much better, even after 2 days. I was eating A LOT of tofu.

  53. March 3, 2009 11:20 pm

    Love ya Heather, and completely understand the Google Reader dilemma. So many amazing blogs, so few hours in the day. But I think what’s more amazing is your commitment to going to bed at 9. That is WONDERFUL. I strive for midnight! I really think my body is suffering right now because of its lack of shut eye. I might need to become more Heather-like.

    I am also intrigued by your challenge for March. I have tummy troubles but have never been able to pinpoint a source, likely because I’ve never given up something long enough to see results. I fall into a routine and find it hard to get out of a rut. Perhaps this spring break, I’ll really think things over.

    Wow, what a RAMBLE. Well hey, that cashew maple bliss sounds amazing!

Trackbacks

  1. Ouch. Chocolate Will Make It All Better. « Heather Eats Almond Butter
  2. The Avocado. My New Favorite Cheese. « Heather Eats Almond Butter
  3. Confession Time « Heather Eats Almond Butter

Leave a Reply

