Skip to content

Life of Pie

February 21, 2009

I prepared a quick brekkie since I had to be at work early on this lovely Saturday morning.

Pumpkin pie a la almond butter

Pumpkin pie a la almond butter

Inspired by my girl Erin, I threw some pumpkin in a bowl (OK, so I used an entire can) with 1 scoop of Jay Robb chocolate whey protein powder.  I added 1 spoonful of almond butter and then ended up finishing off the jar.  For stat purposes, we’ll say I had 2 TBSP, but in my heart, I know it was more. 🙂

All gone :(...but I sure enjoyed every last bite!

All gone :(...but I sure enjoyed every last bite!

Breakfast was 468 calories, 20 grams of fat (37%), 46 grams of carbs (36%), and 34 grams of protein (27%).  For the most part, this was a pretty balanced meal, and it  kept me going for about 5 hours.  Hunger was knocking by the time our office closed at noon, and I was eager to get home for lunch.  Can I just say that it is so nice to fill my belly every morning with healthy and satiating breakfasts?!?  Y’all, I used eat nothing but a  protein bar, or skip breakfast all together and load up on coffee.  The fear of eating too many calories in the morning scared me to death, and I preferred to save my daily calorie allotments for lunch and dinner.  SO SILLY to starve ourselves all morning.  Now that I’m eating bigger and more satisfying meals in the morning, I’m a much happier person all day long.  I used to get so cranky waiting for the clock to strike noon just so I could eat.  Why? Why? Why? Eat my friends…eat!

Lunch...

Hummus turkey roll-ups and broccoli all with a drizzle of Country Bob's

Hummus turkey roll-ups and broccoli, all with a drizzle of Country Bob's

I’m loving the Country Bob’s as I am such a condiment kind of gal.  Reminds me of A-1 Steak Sauce, which I used to pour on everything.  The two bottles we received are going to disappear fast.

And of course there was pudding…

Apple Pie Pudding

Apple Pie Pudding

In my bowl was 1/2 block Mori-Nu firm tofu, 1 baked apple, 1 shot of maple syrup, cinnamon, vanilla, & a pinch of salt.  I opted for no protein powder in the mix.  Chris pointed out that I am using protein powders often, and I’ve decided to try and up my seafood/meat intake instead of relying on Mr. Robb so much.  Where does your protein come from?  Any thoughts/input on manufactured powders vs more natural sources? Jay Robb is great for it’s protein content, but I’ve also been using it to sweeten my puddings.  However, today I used maple syrup, a big deal for me as I always opt for calorie free sweeteners.  I never fear spoonful after spoonful of nut butter, but anything with a high sugar content causes my heart to race.  Today, I overcame this fear, and I’m so glad I did as the maple syrup added so much flavor!  I missed the texture of a cooked grain, but I was too lazy to make any today.  Some Smart Balance Light would also have made a good buttery addition, but I thought of it too late. All that being said, after topping my pudding with more cinnamon, some raisins, and peanut butter, it was one amazing bowl!   Try it please!!!!!

So, Polly and I have been discussing the serving sizes listed on almond butter jars.  A 16 oz. jar supposedly has 14 servings.  We think it should read 4 or 5. 🙂  How about you?  How many servings are in your nut butter jar?

33 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2009 2:18 pm

    4 or 5 servings. That’s great! I buy the freshly-ground stuff from work, without the label, so I don’t get fearful of how much I’m using & see the label. This is sort of a good idea. I get different sizes each time, so I don’t compete with myself, haha!
    As for protein, I use soymilk, yogurt, cottage cheese, *nut butters* in mixes & smoothies, & even things like whole grains, veggies, beans, etc. have protein in them. I use soy protein sometimes, but less these days. Hemp is an EXCELLENT source of nutrition & protein & EFAs!
    Okay. Enough. Glad you tried something new for breakie & felt great all day during your Saturday work. Eating breakfast regularly has been a HUGE step for me in feeling great & energized. It’s the most important meal of the day, as they say!

  2. February 21, 2009 2:30 pm

    I am convinced that nut butter jars (ok, ALL food packages) severely overestimate the amount of servings…

    I used to not eat large breakfasts either, and now I can’t imagine life without 400-500 calories in the AM!

  3. February 21, 2009 3:04 pm

    I can not function if I do not have a large bfast (usually around 400-600 cal). Breakfast is the best and most important meal of the day!

    Yea, those nut butter jars (and cereal boxes) overestimate the amount of servings, haha. Why do they do that??

    Have a great weekend Heather!

  4. February 21, 2009 3:08 pm

    Pumpkin Pie a la almond butter! You make it look so good!!!!

    BTW – I’m following you now on Twitter, your Twitter account looks good! Such a cool service!

    @scottmunc

  5. February 21, 2009 3:08 pm

    Servings in my nut-butter jar = 2 😉

  6. February 21, 2009 3:22 pm

    Nut butter jars are such liars! I use 1 tbsp each time and measure it and it still doesn’t come out right.

    Mmm, I still have to try that pump/protein combo. sounds luscious, especially with the AB on top!

    You totally scared me with the pudding at the end…I thought you didn’t have any today! haha Looks like another amazing combo, I can’t keep up. I seriously have them all written down, I just have to wait until I make another food plan. Then my week will be purely puddings =)

    Protein sources: Hemp, Beans, Grains, Nuts

  7. February 21, 2009 3:22 pm

    haha, i actually make my nut butter last while. but ice cream is a different story….one half gallon = about 4 servings (supposed to be 16!). without fail, if my roommate and i buy i half gallon, it is GONE within 2 days!

  8. February 21, 2009 4:06 pm

    I just finished bottle #1 of Country Bob. So sad.

    I go through about 3/4ths a jar of almond butter a week. I’ve been consistently asked, “Why the 2 tsps.?” and the answer is so I feel good about eating almond butter 3 meals a day! Of course, my teaspoons are always heaped, and there’s usually a finger lick or two from the jar. Ahh the mind games…

    If you are against dairy, other than the powder, meat, beans and soy, I don’t have much for you in the protein dept. I get most of mine from yogurt, cottage cheese and egg whites!

    Have a great Saturday girlie!

  9. February 21, 2009 4:34 pm

    haha, i really could eat an entire jar of pb in one sitting. it takes so much willpower to stop at just one spoon! love your day of pie — i strongly believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day!

  10. February 21, 2009 5:13 pm

    I’m such a huge fan of nut butters that if they’re not hidden somewhere, each jar will only contain 1-2 servings. GREAT breakfast too!

  11. Matt permalink
    February 21, 2009 5:43 pm

    I go through at least a jar week at the minimum 🙂

  12. February 21, 2009 6:43 pm

    I LOVE a big breakfast! How do people skip it? Blows my mind!

  13. February 21, 2009 7:00 pm

    I love your big breakfasts, they are making me want to pump mine up. I always try to keep mine slightly on the lower side because I’m a big snacker/grazer but seriously, if I just made them a bit heartier like yours, I probably wouldn’t even need to or want to snack as much eh? And breakfast is such an amazing meal as is… might as well make it the best it can be!

    I also love all of these puddings you’ve got going on. They look incredibly delicious and I want to eat each and every one of them.

    I use protein powders but not all that often. Most of my protein probably comes from cottage cheese and yogurt on a daily basis, and then some tuna and whatnot here and there. There’s a good chance I don’t get quite enough protein on a consistent basis but I’m working on it.

    I also need to eat more nut butters. I love em but I shy away from them because as soon as I start eating I can’t stop! I would love nothing more than just sitting down and working away at an entire jar. Yum yum.

  14. February 21, 2009 7:01 pm

    I too LOVE condiments! I couldn’t agree more that the serving size for nut butters should be 4-5. I’m totally addicted. Have a wonderful rest of the weekend! and thanks for thinking about my toe! IT’s making a speedy recovery:)
    xoxo!

  15. February 21, 2009 7:05 pm

    oh Heather, I just love you! and Veggie girl… I am WITH ya!! 😉 I cannot believe I used to measure my almond butter. sigh. We live and learn. 🙂

    Pure bliss = gigantic spoonful almond butter (equal to 3,4,5 tbsp?) and a few finger licks and of course a lick of the knife from stirring prior to giant spoonful digging in just be sure it’s mixed well. 😉 XOXO

  16. February 21, 2009 7:26 pm

    I am just learning to eat breakfast everyday and I must say, I love it! I am so used to not eating until lunch time and then I would eat everything in sight. It feels great to be fuled all day long! I have also just recently discovered my love for Peanut butter. I still havent tried almond butter but I’m sure I will love that too!

    I hope you had a great day at work! Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  17. February 21, 2009 7:28 pm

    Your breakfast sounds yummy! And I totally agree on nut butters…I’m not sure about almond butter, but I’m pretty sure peanut butter only has 3 servings per jar.

    🙂

  18. February 21, 2009 8:19 pm

    I LOVE big breakfasts 🙂 it’s the best way to start the day.

    your pudding concoctions are so interesting!

  19. February 21, 2009 8:33 pm

    what a relief to know that im not the only one who opens a jar, only to find yourself scraping the bottom 4 days later…although lately im much better – the economy is really keeping my nutbutter consumption in check!

  20. Kelly permalink
    February 21, 2009 8:39 pm

    Hi Heather,
    All of this blog reading has led me to have about five jars of nut butters in my pantry at a time. While I do measure each TBSP…I could, OF COURSE, eat waayyyy more! Ok…I could use some advice here. I am with you on the big breakfats. I am in the process of TRYING to change my horrible eating habits(which used to be eating teeny tiny meals…mostly egg whites and fruit and tons of lolly pops…really gross and I know…and then weight watchers latte bars(really good, actually)…almost ALL sugar! I am doing much better…really, I believe, thanks to these blogs. You all have taught me that it is ok to actually eat a normal meal….and to have some fat with each meal and snack. Ok, enough rambling. So, my breakfasts have been much better…..along with snack and lunch(still feeling guilt about this but it’s getting easier)….but then things are still going down hill in the evenings. I still end up chowing down on chocolate chips or whatever else I can get my paws on! I’m not exactly sure how much I should be eating….I am a good bit older than many of you bloggers…late 30’s with three kids…my metabolism is beginning to slow…despite working out alot(something fun to look forward too):) Luckily, I do not have a weight problem…although I feel disgusting pretty frequently…if that makes sense? Any ideas on how I can stop this night time nibbling? it is ruining me! Do you think it would be better to eat three bigger meals a day and ditch snacking altogether??? I am sick of thinking about this but determined to get my eating under control. Thank you so much for all of your ideas……you are truly an inspiration!

  21. Erin permalink
    February 21, 2009 9:00 pm

    Yayy pudding! I am planning more blended goodness soon.
    I am soooo with you on the bigger breakfasts. I can’t believe how little I used to eat. And a few years ago, my breakfasts were so, so tiny! I never thought that was odd at the time. So crazy. Now I have no idea how people eat such tiny brekkies!

  22. February 21, 2009 11:08 pm

    Hehe… nut butter jars LIE about their servings. I would agree – probably just 4-5. The yummier the nut butter the fewer servings there are, how odd!

  23. February 21, 2009 11:19 pm

    I get so many good ideas from reading your blog! The turkey + hummus rollup idea is fantastic. I love it!

    Amen to eating a huge, nutritious + delicious breakfast. I feel so ready to attack the day when I am properly fueled. It really does make a huge difference.

    Thanks for spreading the blogger LOVE!!!!

  24. foodsthatfit permalink
    February 21, 2009 11:49 pm

    Heather-
    I get a lot of protein from Tofu, I love to freeze it, thaw it and then add it to whatever I am making (stir fry,etc.) It has really high protein content and is a good meat alternative if you like it, I find I prefer the texture after it has been frozen and thawed. Also when I make my oats I add egg substitute (the kind without any added ingred. like onion powder.) It makes the eggs more filling and volumunous (sp). I also eat a lot of canned (fat free) refried beans. Really good with hot sauce! I need to get on the bandwagon with your puddings, they look so good!

  25. February 22, 2009 6:19 am

    Foodsthatfit, I am eating more tofu these days, and I love freezing it as well. In fact, I’ve a got a block I want to thaw and make for dinner soon! After avoiding anything containing soy for 3 years due to a soy intolerance, I find it’s not bothering me anymore…thank goodness! I use egg whites often, but I keep forgetting to put them in my oats! Thanks for the reminder. Oh, and I love refried beans – the TJ’s brand with salsa is my absolute fav! Jump on the pudding bandwagon…so good!

  26. February 22, 2009 6:30 am

    Kelly,
    Hi. Thank you so much for your kind words and for reading my blog! First off, I’m so happy that you are enjoying your new eating habits…especially a big & healthy breakfast. Do you notice a difference when you eat less sugar? I find adding fat is so important, but I think so many people (girls especially!) simply fear the name. If fats were called something else, I think we would gladly add more of them to our meals! Anyway, our bodies NEED fat to function. When the fat-free train rolled through town, don’t think I didn’t catch a ride…it did horrible things to my body. Dry skin, brittle hair…messed with my whole system. Don’t fear the fat my friend – we can’t
    live without it!

    If evenings are where you struggle, maybe you’re not eating enough throughout the day. I know adding more calories might sound scary, but if you fill your body with wholesome and healthy foods all day long, you shouldn’t want to attack the chocolate chips, etc at night. For me, 3 meals a day with an afternoon snack seems to work best. I’ve tried 5-6 smaller meals a day and 3 meals with 2-3 snacks, but I ALWAYS go back to 3 good sized meals with 1 small snack. I’m trying to be less strict with myself, and if I need more, then I eat it. You simply have to find what works best for you. Experiment and see how you feel…your body will tell you what it wants…just LISTEN my friend.

  27. February 22, 2009 6:43 am

    I am totally with you! My breakfast is HUGE now because I have to eat something that will keep me satisfied for about 5 1/2 hours. Heart healthy oat serving, here I come! I love it though….I remember the days when I would just eat a piece of toast and a yogurt and be hungry all morning. It is so much better to eat a larger meal!

  28. February 22, 2009 6:54 am

    1.

    I kid, I kid. I’m no really sure but lately, I am trying to be observant of how much I serve myself.

  29. February 22, 2009 6:55 am

    I’ve had similar questions about protein recently since I’ve started cutting down on meat. I have been using hemp protein powder in my smoothies, but that doesn’t work well if I want to try it in my oatmeal or something. I’ve been wanting to try the egg-white powder or whey. I need to experiment! I like your tofu substitution in your pudding. You can never go wrong with tofu, right? 🙂

  30. February 22, 2009 9:25 am

    That’s so interesting how the fear of too many breakfast calories really freaked you, me too! What the hell??? It’s silly to look back on, b/c I was eating the same small amount every morning, having a little snack, then eating lunch at 12, it’s not like I ever went nutso and ate everything in sight before lunch, but I felt like I had to maintain the routine…the mind is a tricky little devil i suppose 🙂 That doesn’t sound very sensical- but I’m gonna hope u get it! It sounds like everyone else completely relates too! haha yea…i’m a comment lurker 😀

  31. February 22, 2009 2:27 pm

    Your pumpkin breakfast looks awesome! I crave that consistency in my foods! And I LOVE all orange mush – pumpkin, sweet potato, etc!

  32. February 22, 2009 4:15 pm

    umm, there are not many servings in my nut butter jar 🙂 especially if i attack it with a spoon! i’ve always loved my breakfast…

    hmm, right now my protein powder is dictated by cost, so i can’t whey in (haha)

  33. February 22, 2009 9:51 pm

    walnut and almond butter? sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

