Skip to content

The Cold One

February 12, 2009

My title…in honor of you, Bender! 🙂

Yesterday I was going on and on about my love of oat bran and hot cereal in general.  If you’ve been reading, then you know I’ve developed a bit of an obsession with my heaping bowls of warm oats.  Well, guess what I ate this morning?

Cold Cereal

Cold Cereal

I christen this bowl: Ode to Lindsay.  Sweet Lindsay over at For the Love of Oats  sent me this…

Zoe's Granola

Zoe's Granola

I kept reading Lindsay’s rave reviews about Zoe’s, but I could not find any in Nashville.  She was so kind to send me a box.  Thank you Lindsay!  I dove right into it this morning and had a bowl of your favorites.  In the mix: Oikos blueberry Greek yogurt, 3/4 cup Zoe’s cinnamon raisin granola, 2 TBSP ground flax seed, and 1 spoonful of TJ’s crunchy almond butter.  Y’all must try this cereal!  It is delicious – just look at those granola chunks, and the nutritional profile is very impressive as far as granola goes.  I will definitely be talking to  my Whole Foods about stocking this one!  The stats for my breakfast: 507 calories, 20 grams of fat (33%), 61 grams of carbs (47%), and 27 grams of protein (20%).  This breakfast was pretty filling with the addition of flax seed and almond butter.  Again, fat is the key for me. The only problem with this bowl is that it ended way too soon.  Hmm, might have to re-think this whole hot cereal vs cold cereal thing! 🙂

Oops...another one down.

Oops...another one down.

OK, so between Chris and I, this is the 4th jar of nut butter we’ve finished off this week.  You’re jealous…or completely disgusted by our gluttony.  Which is it? 🙂

This one is for my fellow Nashville blogger, Justine, who requested a non-breakfast picture.  Justine, I present to you my lunch…

Egg White Mess

Egg White Mess

 

Chocolate Barley Burger

Chocolate Barley Burger

My main course consisted of one large egg white scramble with broccoli, onions, black olives, Laughing Cow Light cheese, and hummus served on a bed of spinach. For dessert, I tried once again for a Chocolate Covered Vegan creamy bowl.  Into my Vita-Mix went 1/2 cup cooked barley, 2 ounces of vanilla hemp milk, 1 tsp cocoa, and 1 packet of Stevia.  Although, it worked much better in the Vita-Mix (vs. the hand blender), I still need to add more liquid as this was a little more pasty instead of puddingy.  Still tasty, and I will keep trying!

Heather McD update: No offers on the house…yet.  I am meeting with someone about a possible job tomorrow. Exciting!  I felt my hamstring pop today while stretching.  Not good.  I immediately iced and told Chris he is to admonish me if I do any cardio (besides deep water jogging) or yoga for 2 weeks…which TOTALLY FREAKS ME OUT.  Breathe Heather, breathe.  I’m taking Mizfit’s advice – this hammie is getting completely babied until it heals!

Thank you to everyone who has asked about the job search and our house.  I love reading your sweet and thoughtful comments.  They make me happy when I start to get down…well, the Thin Mints help too. 🙂

36 Comments leave one →
  1. raspberryrunner permalink
    February 12, 2009 2:01 pm

    what a yummy veggie filled lunch! hummus on top is a nice touch 🙂

  2. February 12, 2009 2:13 pm

    I am extremely jealous of the 4th jar of AB. Jealous and IMPRESSED! Get it girl!

    Girl, you better take care of that hamstring! Good Luck!

  3. Matt permalink
    February 12, 2009 2:24 pm

    That’s alot of nut butters! I eat about a jar a week and I thought that was alot!

  4. Matt permalink
    February 12, 2009 2:25 pm

    That’s alot of nut butters to eat! I eat about a jar a week and thought that was alot!

  5. February 12, 2009 2:31 pm

    Chocolate barley burger?! I’m intrigued…

    I’m SO sorry about the hamstring debacle. I know that feeling of wanting to be active but your body is saying “nooooo!” I got stress fractures on my legs in high school and had to swim every freaking day for 3 months. Now the smell of chlorine makes me gag, haha.

    Good luck with the job prospect!

  6. February 12, 2009 2:31 pm

    Haha you know why the thin mints help? Because they’re chocolate! :o)

    And that granola looks delish. I haven’t seen it around here; will have to keep an eye out.

    Definitely keep trying with the creamy grains, because if you get the liquid right, the result is sooooo worth it!

    Good luck with the job meeting!

  7. February 12, 2009 2:35 pm

    Ooh, that nut butter looks to die for. BTW, I love that nut butters are never optional 🙂 I am becoming an addict myself.

    Heal up hammie!

  8. February 12, 2009 2:49 pm

    Someone’s been reading Twilight…

    I’m impressed with the nut butter consumption! And yes, a little jealous.

    Your egg white mess looks like one of my bowls of nasty deliciousness. Why must I put hummus or nut butter on everything???

    Good luck with the job meeting tomorrow!!!!

  9. February 12, 2009 2:56 pm

    Cold cereal!! And I am jealous of your nut butter consumption. Well, it makes me feel better about mine 🙂

    I hope you get an offer on the house soon. It must be really tough to be selling right now =/ But I’m sure something will pull through. What kind of job is it? Good luck on the interview! Maybe (because the world is just weird like this) you’ll get the job and then get an offer on the house and have to move. Things like that always happen to me, but they seem to work out in the end.

    Happy Thursday!

  10. February 12, 2009 2:58 pm

    YUM!!!!!!

  11. February 12, 2009 3:22 pm

    Keep trying for that creamy consistancy…it’s soo worth it!

    Oh no! Better stock up on more PB…unless you’ve got a hidden stash your not telling us about? 😉

  12. February 12, 2009 3:26 pm

    Yeah, I though my Peanut butter consumption was high =) I need to look for the chocolate PB, yum yum. You will be just fine with the two weeks off, and you need it! It’s good to change it up every now and again so consider it just a way to get your metabolism shaken up!

  13. February 12, 2009 4:00 pm

    i saw zoe’s the other day and was going to grab it, and for some reason did it. i have seen it a couple times on the blogs and now i really want to try it! hope they still have it at the store when i go back. 🙂

  14. February 12, 2009 4:06 pm

    Jealous, definitely.
    PLEASE follow MizFit’s advice. You know she knows it all and your ham needs you to give it love.

  15. February 12, 2009 4:35 pm

    MMM NUT BUTTER!!!!

  16. February 12, 2009 4:45 pm

    ohhhh the housing market, when will it be back to its old self? I totally came home and raved to Josh about how good oat bran is for you. I made him a big ole bowl for him today as his birthday breakfast! He was very content!

    You will make it through all this! Just keep telling yourself! I am praying you get an offer!

  17. February 12, 2009 4:45 pm

    That’s amazing you go through so much nut butter in your house! I love it! Your breakfast looks gret.. you know I love cold cereal!

    Good luck with the house AND the job! It must be a stressful time both looking for a job and trying to sell your house! I hope the job prospect works out for you!

  18. February 12, 2009 5:26 pm

    Thank you Erica!!!!

  19. February 12, 2009 5:58 pm

    I’m jealous of that nut butter and your cereal too!

  20. February 12, 2009 7:03 pm

    i am SOOOOOOOO glad you liked the zoe’s! isn’t it great? i bought a box for my parents and they are hooked now too… i just gave them a box and they said it’s almost gone haha… it’s addicting 🙂

    good luck w/ the house front… believe me i 100% know what you’re going through… its a crappy market… we took a bid that we probably wouldn’t have normally accepted but w/ the way the market it we didn’t have a choice u know… just keep the faith and hopefully someone will come through and put a bid in that is favorable for you guys… i’ll be praying something happens soon!

    happy almost friday heather 🙂

  21. cleanveggiex3 permalink
    February 12, 2009 7:22 pm

    delcious oats! holy smokes that nut butter looks to die for.
    sorry about the house 😐 it seems to be a hard time right now with the economy.

  22. February 12, 2009 7:27 pm

    Maybe you’ve posted this somewhere else, but . . . what exactly is a chocolate barley burger? I’m intrigued!

  23. February 12, 2009 7:52 pm

    Hey Meredith, my chocolate barley burger was a mistake. I meant to make chocolate barley pudding but did not add enough liquid. I thought the picture looked like a burger. Still really good though. I’m going to make another attempt tomorrow. Hoping for pudding! 🙂

  24. February 12, 2009 7:57 pm

    I really hope that the time off helps your hamstring. I was thinking of you in yoga today because one of the tendons in my knee has been hurting, and I was hoping I wouldn’t have to take more time off.

    I have never been a big cold cereal person, but sometimes I’ll get into really into a certain cereal…so yay! Plus, that granola must be awesome because my cat’s name is Zoe 😀

  25. February 12, 2009 8:07 pm

    I so gave in yesterday at Whole Foods and bought oat bran, even though I have quite the surplus of hot cereal options…ah WF will be the death of me! Well actually I will be healthy but my bank account will not! I am impressed by your nut butter consumption! It IS all about the fat as far as staying full goes, so at least you’re getting the good kind!

  26. February 12, 2009 8:44 pm

    Geeeze I have to buy more almond butter – STAT! Reading your blog always reminds me and now I miss it terribly!

    Sorry about the hammy, take care of it! You’re obviously very good at listening to your body, so I’m sure you’ll know when it’s time to get back into cardio. Hang in there!

    Thanks again for all the sweet comments. I’m truly overwhelmed with the support! 🙂

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

    Keep us posted on the job news!

  27. February 12, 2009 9:03 pm

    That flax seed looks like cereal dust 😀 I’m gonna need to jump on that. Good luck with the house and job…i have an interview tomm too, so we will send each other good vibes!!

  28. February 12, 2009 9:27 pm

    Yes, JEALOUS, not disgusted, fo’ sho! I ate oat bran this morning & thought of you. It was FABULOUS & I felt more satisfied, actually, like you felt… that extra FI-BUH!!!! Thanks for the update & non-breakfast picture!

  29. February 13, 2009 3:43 am

    mmmmmm chocolate barley burger?! what!!? such a good idea.

    sorry about your hamstring! it’s hard to be inactive, but it’ll be worth it to have it heal properly.

    good luck with the possible job girly!

  30. Erin permalink
    February 13, 2009 6:16 am

    Jealous not disgusted. I am starting to collect a plethora of nut butters myself! So good.
    I never think about cold cereals, but they are really good. Maybe with almond butter it would keep me full! Good idea.
    Hope the hammie gets better soon!

  31. February 13, 2009 8:40 am

    heather! i am going to sign up for a 10 day pass to a bikram studio in my town 🙂 im so excited! and i couldnt wait to tell u woohoo

  32. February 13, 2009 8:54 am

    Dailygoods, how exciting! Thanks for sharing the news…I can’t wait to hear what you think about bikram. Have a good (& sweat filled) weekend. 🙂

  33. February 13, 2009 9:30 am

    Thanks for the Zoe’s review! They sell that down the street from my work so now I might have to try it. I will leave it in my desk at work because you know me and cereal at home! Not a good match!

  34. February 13, 2009 10:02 am

    HAHAHA I knew even before I clicked on this post what the title was in reference to! No way it had anything to do with the weather…it could only be Edward 😉

    How sweet of Lindsay! That granola always looks tasty but I can never find it anywhere, either! Ooh, and I am most definitely jealous of your nut butter abilities!

    Mmm…chocolate barley burger! Now there’s a delicious combination – I must try that in the Vita-Mix!

    Definitely keep MizFit in mind and I wish you nothing but happy thoughts and a positive weekend! I hope good news comes your way ASAP!

  35. February 13, 2009 1:51 pm

    I definitely know what you mean about the no cardio. I am dying over here, but I think I am ready for the bike or something like that. I think it’s a mental exercise in patience and trust, ya know?

  36. February 13, 2009 8:25 pm

    i need to get me some of that pb 🙂

Leave a Reply

