Skip to content

Flying Wheat Berries

February 9, 2009

So many delicious breakfast dishes for your viewing pleasure.  I left my oat bran rut behind…for a few days anyway.  Can’t make any promises that it won’t reappear very soon. 🙂

Saturday: 

Wheat Berry Pilaf

Wheat Berry Pilaf with Almond Butter

So, this was an attempt to make one of Chocolate Covered Vegan’s dreamy creamy bowls of grains.  I made a big pot of wheat berries (so chewy and good).  I then scooped 3/4 cup of the cooked grain into a bowl & added one ounce of vanilla hemp milk.  Note to self…do not submerge hand blender into shallow bowl of wheat berries ever again, as those little suckers can really fly!  Radley, our youngest pup, apparently loves the chewy texture as well. 🙂  Next time, I’ll just dump everything in the Vita-Mix with more liquid to get that lovely pudding-like texture of Katie’s bowls.  I didn’t have time for more blending on Saturday as I has to get to work.  So, I just topped it all off with 2 spoonfuls of TJ’s crunchy raw almond butter and thoroughly enjoyed every sweet bite.  The stats: 445 calories, 21 grams of fat (40%), 53 grams of carbs (48%), and 14 grams of protein (12%).  Pretty filling but a little on the boring side.

Sunday was a throwback to my Cracker Barrel eating days.  I saw these biscuits over at Say Yes to Salad, and started dreaming about biscuits and apple butter.  I had to have some!

Eggs and Biscuits, Heather Style

Eggs and Biscuits, Heather Style

I followed Maggie’s recipe, but substituted oat flour for the whole wheat.  They were so easy and tasted wonderful, especially when slathered in Smart Balance Light, apple butter, AND almond butter.  I also had an egg white omelet with Laughing Cow Light cheese.  This was the perfect weekend breakfast, and it kept me fueled through a 65 minute trail run.  The stats: 504 calories, 18 grams of fat (31%), 59 grams of carbs (48%), and 27 grams of protein (21%).  Delicious combo, and I loved having several items on my plate.  It’s a lot about volume for me.

Monday’s question of the day…What to do with all those leftover wheat berries?

Wheat Berry Waldorf Salad and a Biscuit

Answer: Wheat Berry Waldorf Salad and a Biscuit

I know – kind of a random breakfast, but so flavorful! After drooling over Erin’s waldorf salad over at Care to Eat, I decided to combine several Internet recipes to make my own.  To 2 cups cooked wheat berries, I added 1 chopped apple, 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, 2 TBSP of dijon mustard, 2 TBSP fresh lemon juice, and 4 oz of vanilla nonfat yogurt.  I let it chill in the refrigerator and scooped out a nice little portion this morning to eat with my last biscuit.  I covered half the biscuit with 1/2 tsp of Smart Balance Light and an egg (soggy egg biscuit…yum!) and the other half received 1 tsp of almond butter with 1 tsp apple butter.  The stats: 487 calories, 22 grams of fat (39%), 57 grams of carbs (46%), and 19 grams of protein (15%). Excellent way to start the day, but I got kind of hungry around 11 AM, about 3 1/2 hours after eating.  I think knowing that I wouldn’t get to eat lunch until after 2 PM made my stomach start knocking.  So, I answered with a Clif bar. 🙂

I went to a 60 minute power yoga class this morning, and it was SO GOOD to be back.  I did not realize how much I had missed my practice.  The hamstring twinged a bit here and there, but I did do a pretty tough trail run yesterday.  So, I’m going to continue to take it easy and ease back into everything.  I might try yoga again on Wednesday or Friday and until then, I’ll be hitting the Y for some upper body and cross training.  I need my hammie in tip-top shape for my yoga workshop in March.  Can’t wait!

Look what I received in the mail today…

My Secret Cupid Gift

My Secret Cupid Gift

Sweet Monica from Mon’s Appetit sent me the most thoughtful package.  Thank you so much Moncia!  The box contained a card filled with very kind words and some local Minnesota goodies…I’m about to dip into the pretzels right now.  I’d think they’d be good with a little almond butter. 🙂  Not only did I receive some edible treats, but I also got a bar of my favorite soap ever!  Zum goat milk soaps are amazing, but I never buy them as they’re a bit pricey.  So, this was such a treat, and I also got Zum Kiss peppermint lip balm.  I’m going to go through that one fast as I have a slight lip balm addiction.  Thanks again Monica…you totally made my day.  P.S. – Love the Monica font!

It’s that time of year again…the evil ones are back…

img_1377I helped my little neighbor by selling 50 boxes of Girl Scout cookies to my friends, and all 50 boxes are now sitting in our kitchen.  Not good!

The damage done this week…

oops

All gone. Oops

Please head over to Meghann’s site for the Blogging Bake Sale.  Meghann is running a marathon with Team In Training to raise money for the Leukemia & Lymphoma society.  Quite a few bloggers have donated some wonderful baked goods.  Go check it out. Trust me, you don’t want to miss out on Heather McD’s Chocolate Peppermint Cloud cookies!

51 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2009 10:15 pm

    oo snap i need to try those wheat berries! What a fun package and cute card!

  2. February 9, 2009 10:16 pm

    I just found out how much I like wheat berries! I really like them plain drizzled with some honey – so nice and chewy. I guess I’ll have to drizzle them with brown rice syrup now that I’m trying to be macrobiotic though. Have a good night! Glad you liked the biscuits!

  3. February 9, 2009 10:17 pm

    Girl, I am just loving these breakfast creations. SO yummy! I could eat breakfast all day long. Oh, and chocolate too. It seems I have a problem!

    Congrats on finishing those Almond Butters. That’s awesome =) I am getting to the bottom of a peanut butter jar and it is a surprisingly proud feeling. Is this weird?

    Yay for Yoga! Glad you are back in action. =)

  4. February 9, 2009 10:23 pm

    I’ve always wanted to try wheatberries. Your post makes me want to go out and buy some now, but I must finish up some cereals, oats, and other grains before I get a new one.

    Delicious eats as always, Heather.. enjoy your week!

  5. February 9, 2009 10:40 pm

    You had me with the first wheat berries pic, but the second one clinched the deal. Must figure out which of those bulk baggies in my cupboard is wheat berries (always label your bulk items!).

    TJ’s raw almond butter! My daily addiction … creamy for me 🙂

  6. February 9, 2009 10:44 pm

    Haha I love the line-up of dead nut butter jars. I used to be a girl scout! I think I may have finally lost my taste for the cookies after many many years of selling/consuming them…

  7. February 9, 2009 10:48 pm

    Wheat berries are seriously my favorite meal. I’m not kidding. Growing up, my mom would always ask us what we wanted for our special birthday dinner and I’d always choose “cracked wheat”!! Also, I am making those biscuits tomorrow. Your blog always gives me cravings:)

  8. February 9, 2009 10:53 pm

    Lovin’ all those wheatberries…I never thought about eating a bowl with them as the base instead of the topping…brilliant.

    I’m dying to try the vanilla almond butter, I need to see if my Whole Foods has it.

    Yay for yoga! Glad you’re getting back into it, but even happier to hear that you are listening to your body and taking it easy as needed. Good girl. 🙂

    Girl Scout Cookies!!!! I haven’t seen any yet, but I am SUCH a sucker for the thin mints, the samoas and the lemon creams….

    Have a great week!

  9. snackface permalink
    February 9, 2009 11:10 pm

    Alright. I’ve about had it with not trying almond butter. Adding it to the to-do list, lol.
    Your breakfasts all look so delicious! Mmm biscuits!! And what a beautiful gift!
    Have a great night 🙂

  10. February 9, 2009 11:32 pm

    Hi Heather! I’ve been wanting to try breakfast wheat berries for awhile now because they look fantastic. I have definitely had my fair of hand held blender mishaps in the past!

    The biscuits look great too. I might need to make these asap.

    I love how Monica sent you local treats. I love things like that. 😀

    Heather

  11. February 10, 2009 12:17 am

    Hey McDLT,

    I’ve missed you, so glad you posted!

    Awesome wheat berries. Quinoa is out for breakfast for me, maybe wheat berries are in, perhaps????

    The waldorf looks tasty, but VANILLA yogurt and dijon mustard in the same dish? You so crazy.

    I want to go on a trail run with you. Do you have a lot of great trails by your house? I have a lot of great highways, for cars, not for running.

    Awesome package girlie! And yes, those pretzels want to be dipped. Do it, do it!!!

    Any new news on the job or house front???
    G’Night!!!

  12. FollowMyWeigh permalink
    February 10, 2009 12:59 am

    ooh vanilla almond butter! i bought barney butter today and thought of you ;D

  13. February 10, 2009 1:38 am

    I’M SO GLAD YOU’RE BACK TO YOGA. I bet it was hard being away!
    You took some inspiration from three of the best bloggers out there – nice work. WINK!
    I love the PB2 Heather! I used it in a cool “recipe” that I’m bringing as a snack today. I can’t wait to show it to you. 🙂

  14. foodsthatfit permalink
    February 10, 2009 2:43 am

    My favorite G.S. cookies are the samoas! Have you tried the Girl Scout cookie ice cream? I think Dreyer’s makes it! My husband gets so mad b/c I just pick out all the chunks from it! Love the wheat berries. I cook mine in my pressure cooker and it cuts the time by a 1/3. Glad to hear you’re back to yoga!
    Abbie

  15. February 10, 2009 5:31 am

    ahahha your blender story cracked me up 😉 I do stuff like that all the time- whoops! I have not yet tried wheatberries but really want to! HangryPants has an awesome bbq tofu, apple,wheatberries recipe! Try that!

  16. February 10, 2009 5:41 am

    i am cracking up about “the evil ones are back” 😉

  17. February 10, 2009 6:54 am

    I don’t even know where to start!!

    Wheatberries are crazy with the blender, I love what you made out of them though. The breakfast and salad look delicious. I’ll have to make that salad sometime soon.

    I have those biscuits bookmarked as well. I can’t wait to try the recipe. Yum, I love apple butter =)

    Oh NO! Get some more Vanilla AB, quick! haha

  18. February 10, 2009 7:17 am

    SOOOOO much scrumptiousness; and hooray for a package from Mon!!

    Wishing you a very happy Tuesday, dear Heather!!

  19. February 10, 2009 7:24 am

    Hoooray for secret cupid!

  20. February 10, 2009 7:42 am

    Oh no! But it was very kind of you to share the wheatberry love with your puppy ;o)

    I am intrigued by this chocolate pb I see… I’m off to google pb2 right now.

    Happy Tuesday, Heather!

  21. February 10, 2009 8:07 am

    that pb looks like frosting in the first picture 🙂 wheatberries rock!! love the waldorf salad 🙂 how did you like the chocolate pb2?? i just finished up a jar of the regular trying some granola bars with just crumbled apart… still tasty though!

  22. February 10, 2009 8:18 am

    Heather, I’m so glad you liked the package!! That’s so awesome that the peppermint soap is a favorite of yours! And dipping the pretzels in almond butter is genius!

    I need to try the naturally nutty butters. the flavors look delicious!

  23. February 10, 2009 8:22 am

    It IS that time a year and they ARE evil. Grrrr how fast February always comes!

    I am so sad I didn’t participate in the Vday exchange now that I see everyone’s great gifts! 😦

  24. February 10, 2009 8:26 am

    DANG IT! All your pictures are blocked on my computer at work, but I get the gist of them… I’ve gotta try that CCV-method of grains!

  25. February 10, 2009 8:27 am

    I think I am going to try my hand at those biscuits tonight!

  26. February 10, 2009 8:46 am

    Hey ttfn300, I love the chocolate PB2…better than the plain. I eat so much nut butter, and sometimes I just want to indulge and not eat 1000 calories in one sitting. I also love how you can control the consistency of PB2 as I like to make it with just a little water. Keep it thick and peanutty. It is great for recipes. I use the plain for peanut sauces.

  27. February 10, 2009 8:47 am

    Breakfast looks amazing! Love wheatberries!!! That is such a cute V-Day package!!! So nice!

  28. February 10, 2009 8:49 am

    Hi Sarah,
    I always hear that Portland has some amazing trails. Are they just too far from your house? My favorite trail is about 4 miles away, and I am so grateful we live close to this particular park. My body doesn’t like running on the roads. I try to do all of my miles off roads these days. I love being in the woods! No news on the job or house front, but we’ve had a couple of showings. So, we’ll see. I’ve got some people putting in a good word for me at Whole Foods and at my gym. It’s all about who ya know. Thankfully, I know lots of peeps. 🙂

  29. February 10, 2009 8:50 am

    Snackface, do it! Get some almond butter…I dare you. 🙂

  30. February 10, 2009 8:52 am

    Hey Courtney,
    I love finishing off a jar of nut butter – I feel such a sense of accomplishment too…So, no you’re not weird. I’m totally with ya!

  31. February 10, 2009 10:00 am

    Girl scout cookies!? I think my heart just skipped a beat!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

  32. February 10, 2009 10:10 am

    Umm…hello gorgeous pictures! That mound of almond butter on your breakfast is making me hungry, and I just finished my bowl of oats!

    I saw those biscuits on Maggie’s blog, too! I flagged the recipe – I better make it soon! They look so yummy 🙂

    Monica is awesome! Her posts always make me miss Minnesota. You definitely scored some great treats! I just sent my Secret Cupid package yesterday, I hope my blogger likes it!

    GIRL SCOUT COOKIES!! Ahh, I can’t wait until they’re in grocery stores. I love them so so much!

    Love the damage you did to those jars 😉 Have a great day, Heather!

  33. February 10, 2009 11:07 am

    oh those biscuits do look really good!! i love how you topped them with smart balance butter, apple butter, and almond butter! sounds like a great combo!

  34. February 10, 2009 12:10 pm

    Mon was so sweet to send you some yummy goodies. I LOVE wheat berries- chew*chew*pop! Thanks for sharing some delicious (& NEW!) breakfasts! Glad you got a lil’ yoga in, too….you’ll be back in tip-top shape soon enough!

  35. gina (fitnessista) permalink
    February 10, 2009 1:36 pm

    such a gorgeous array of tasty b-fasts 😀
    i haven’t had apple butter in YEARS– totally reminds me of my childhood. does anywhere make semi-healthy apple butter?
    i’m so glad that i’m not the only one who does serious almond butter damage 😀
    your cupid gift is amazing and i’m sooooo stoked for some girl scout cookies. it’s samoa city for me 😀
    have a great day ❤

  36. February 10, 2009 1:53 pm

    Gina – Bauman’s makes a pretty healthy apple butter!

    http://www.baumanfamily.com

    No Sugar Added

    Nutrition Facts
    Serving Size 1 tbsp. (15mL)
    Servings Per Container 16
    Amount Per Serving
    Calories 35
    % Daily Value*
    Total Fat 0g 0%
    Sodium 0mg 0%
    Total Carbohydrate 9g 3%
    Sugars 6g
    Protein 0g
    *Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet

  37. February 10, 2009 2:40 pm

    Hey Gina, I think I got my apple butter at Trader Joe’s. It’s a no sugar added variety…just apples and apple cider. I don’t know if you saw, but Dori posted a link to Bauman’s apple butter for you. It also has no added sugars: http://www.baumanfamily.com.

  38. Erin permalink
    February 10, 2009 3:22 pm

    Thanks for the comment, doing what makes me happy is definitely what I’m aiming for! I’m glad someone else gets overwhelmed by complex meals. I think I’ve finally come to terms with the fact that I like simple meals, and lots of ingredients scare me.
    I made pumpkin ravioli once and was almost in tears by the end of the evening! It’s funny in retrospect though.

  39. February 10, 2009 5:33 pm

    Your Cupid gift is so cute!!! I wish I could have participated…maybe next time.

    Lots of wheatberries!! I made them once, they’re yummy, I wonder why I still have almost the whole bag in the pantry still…hm.

  40. seeleelive permalink
    February 10, 2009 6:34 pm

    Dang, girl!! I LOVE your experimental b-fasts!

    Where do you find Naturally Nutty? And how does it compare to other Peanut Butters/Almond Butters? I must try 🙂

    i like the damage you did-the GOOD kind of course!

    ps, how is the night snacking going? progress? i have been doing extra well with filling up my tum at the slighest bit of hunger before bed,and the initial anxiety really pays off. however, i did have a slip 2 nights ago.

  41. cleanveggiex3 permalink
    February 10, 2009 7:05 pm

    im jealous of your nut butter stash!
    i ❤ girlscout cookies – those are my two favorite flavors!

  42. February 10, 2009 7:23 pm

    Hi Heather-
    Love the Almond butter, a bit on the pricey side but worth it, right? ANd boy, those TRIPPLE dipped biscuits! wow! 😀

  43. February 10, 2009 9:35 pm

    I love the breakfast bonanza!!! Fun b’fast foods are very exciting to me, haha. Loving the biscuits. Glad I have a southern daddy!

  44. February 10, 2009 10:02 pm

    Lovely Package and GREAT eats~

  45. February 10, 2009 10:35 pm

    Heather, why does your food look so darn good? And tasty? I seriously need to start trying new grains! Esp. wheat berries! Sheesh!!!

    And i adore your 3 lined up empty almond butter jars. That is hilar!!

    HAPPY WEDNESDAY! 🙂

    P.S. thank you for always taking the time to write something thoughtful on my blog. i really look forward to them, and they ALAWYS manage to put a smile on my fave or make me more thoughtful. Big big big thanks! 🙂

  46. February 11, 2009 12:06 am

    All your breakfasts look amazing! Way to get creative with the wheatberries!

    So how many of those 50 boxes of cookies get to STAY at your house? My husband ordered some this year and I’m afraid to see the total number of boxes!

    By the way.. any news on a job?

  47. February 11, 2009 6:51 am

    Hey Longweigh, no news on the job front as of yet, but I talked with two friends who are on various committees at my Y, and they said they would talk to the Director about me. So, that was some good news. I’m going to really concentrate on the job search today – do some follow-up and maybe a few more apps. Fun fun. How is your search going?

    As far as the cookies go, we only ordered 4 boxes for ourselves, and the Thin Mints keep calling to me from the freezer. 🙂

  48. February 11, 2009 6:54 am

    Hey Lee, I ordered Naturally Nutty from http://www.naturallynutty.com. It’s really creamy and smooth, and the oil doesn’t separate. I love that it contains flax and hemp seeds. It’s my favorite flavored nut butter – a little on the sweet side.

    The evening snacking…not so good. I am SO stubborn at night! Please keep asking me as I’m working on it. 🙂

  49. February 11, 2009 8:39 am

    I’ve been dying to try Katie’s blended wheatberries—yum!

  50. February 11, 2009 8:44 am

    Thanks for the kind words Heather! I am so excited to be in Austin!…I’ll have to check out the Hula Hut! Do you know where it is at all? IT…yes i have done the massage therapy. I think the next step after a bit more rest is some ART. I’ve had ART before, but just not on the IT. What are your thoughts? Again- I love your website. So…do you keep track of all your protein/fat/carb intake everyday? Is it close to the same everyday?

  51. February 11, 2009 10:45 am

    Hey Jillian! You will have so much fun in Austin. Chris has done the half down there once, and I’ve run it twice. I hope the weather cooperates. Both years I was there, it was FREEZING, but still a great time! I’m not sure where the Hula Hut is, but I remember we had to drive out of downtown to get there. Here is a link to the restaurant: http://www.hulahut.com/. It’s a really fun restaurant, and they have great food!

    I think some ART might be just the thing you need. I don’t know any details, but it’s sounds like you’re getting some major inflammation when you run. Sounds like you need a lot of ice and plenty of rest for now. I don’t mean to rain on your parade, but I don’t know if 13.1 miles would be the best thing for you know. Just take it easy and perhaps take an ice bath afterwards at your hotel.

    I do not keep track of all my protein/fats/carbs everyday, although I do estimate calories…cause I’m a girl, ya know? I was in a major breakfast rut and decided to do a little experiment. Every morning, I eat something new. I then figure out the nutritional profile and discuss whether it kept me satiated all morning or not. I’m trying to find the perfect balance for a filling breakfast. It’s been fun, and I’ve come up with some interesting AM meals for sure!

    Again, have a wonderful trip. I can’t wait to read all about it when you return!

Leave a Reply

