Skip to content

Ahh, Gay Paris…

January 29, 2009

Look kids, Big Ben…Name that movie 🙂  

I went with a European theme this morning…

French Toast

French Toast

I made Lee’s (For the Love of Peanut Butter) Pumpkin Glazed French Toast.  I bookmarked this recipe over the holidays hoping to make it someday.  Seriously, I cannot remember the last time I made French toast, thinking such a decadent plate would never come in under 500 calories…but it did…and it was Mm Mm good!  It’s true, I’ve been avoiding pancakes and toast for years!  Why why why?  Because of my Breakfast Experiment, I’m recreating many dishes from my past…but with a healthy twist.  Why I was eating the same thing every morning, day after day, I have no idea.  Experiment people.  There are a world of breakfast options out there available for your dining pleasure!

I followed Lee’s recipe exactly.  Thank you Lee – so delicious!  After my toast was done, I mixed a tsp. of maple syrup with 1 large spoonful of Naturally Nutty Chocolate Butter Toffee Peanut Butter as my topping.  After the picture, I mixed everything together…even the cottage cheese and orange.  Flavor Explosion in my mouth!  The stats: 495 calories, 11 grams of fat (19%), 68 grams of carbs (51%), and 37 grams of protein (30%).  Breakfast was at 8 AM, and the hunger pains kicked in around 11.  I was hoping this meal would last a little longer – I think it needed more fat.  Next time, I might add another TBSP of peanut butter.  There was no time for a snack as I wanted to go to a Bikram yoga class at noon. 🙂 

Hooray for yoga being back in my like.  Boo for my too tight hamstring.  I took it pretty easy in class, keeping my left leg bent when straightening it felt like too much.  Even so, I continued to notice my poses getting stronger along with improvements in my balance.  So exciting!  I really felt the hamstring tug during Dandayamana Bibhaktapada Paschimottanasana.  Got that?  OK, how about standing leg stretching pose?  I really want my head to touch the floor in this pose…not so much yet.  However, I’ll get there soon as I’ve decided to drop my gym membership and join a yoga studio!!!!!  Thank you so much your encouraging comments in helping me make this decision.  I’m not sure when it will happen as I need to take some more time off from yoga and let this hamstring heal.  Soon I hope.  I”ll keep you posted.

I challenge each and every one of you to try something different for breakfast this week…perhaps an entirely new meal…or maybe an old favorite with some healthy modifications.  Get creative – I can’t wait to hear all of your ideas! Then I’ll copy them. 🙂

36 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2009 8:30 pm

    Love Lee’s French toast; and HELL YES for your yoga decision!!!! 🙂

  2. January 29, 2009 8:32 pm

    that looks awesome Heather!! And yoga sounds fun!! I wish I could take it regularly, but I really have no time! And I dont have much motivation to do at home vids!

    HAPPY FRIDAY!!!

  3. January 29, 2009 8:33 pm

    I’m making french toast tomorrow!

  4. January 29, 2009 8:34 pm

    I am so happy for you! You have just made a healthy, wonderful decision! Congrats!

    And by the way, breakfast looks DELISH!

  5. AutumnTao permalink
    January 29, 2009 8:50 pm

    … Parliament.” Nat’l Lampoons European Vaca! Classic.

  6. January 29, 2009 8:52 pm

    I like making french toast with low-carb wraps – you can make sooo much french toast for not that many calories 🙂 And they cook faster since they’re thinner.

  7. January 29, 2009 8:52 pm

    Mmm, the french toast sounds so amazing!

    YAY for Yoga! =P

  8. January 29, 2009 9:09 pm

    Thank you soo much for the comment on my page!! I FEEL THOSE HEADACHES you speak of… no one has brought me chocolate yet, boo! Maybe some AB would make me a happier girl! And I’m bound to get to the bottom of my cycle. What has helped you get it back, at least?
    I love the way yoga makes me feel: strong, confident, sweaty 🙂 I think it’s such a different, more “natural” way to get a workout, mind, body & soul. Enjoy your weekend! Decadent breakie, indeed!

  9. January 30, 2009 12:22 am

    Good for you doing what you love and moving to a yoga studio! Yay!

    I am so impressed with all your breakfasts this week. They all look so delicious and this is another one I am going to have to make one of these days!

  10. January 30, 2009 12:30 am

    Oh! And its European Vacation! I love all those movies.

  11. January 30, 2009 1:31 am

    That may be your best breakfast of the week!!! But you know I love the oats.

    I am excited for you and your new yoga adventures! I will live vicariously through you!

    Erin and I were talking PB2 tonight, and your name came up…we both GUSHED about how much we LOOOOOOVE YOU! Were your ears burning?

  12. January 30, 2009 5:52 am

    mmm I haven’t had french toast in forever! I’m a lame-o with breakfast mostly due to time. I want to get something in me that is healthy and quick!

    Glad I am not the only one who hated that brand of beans!! I was soooo dissapointed 😦 Sounds like you have some great weekend plans- enjoy it!

  13. January 30, 2009 6:25 am

    MMMM French toasty goodness!!! I’ll have to try that this weekend 🙂

  14. January 30, 2009 7:03 am

    I have been dying to make that recipe! Sadly I don’t think I will be able to until the end of the month because of an insanely busy weekend February!

  15. January 30, 2009 7:41 am

    Hoooooray for your decision to join a yoga studio!!!!

    French toast looks awesome!

  16. Jill Mongene permalink
    January 30, 2009 8:14 am

    Yum…I printed out the recipe and am making this…this weekend. I make french toast for Joe on the weekends…I am SURE he is going to love it.

    PS Status update on the Almond Butter love – I saw Joe even helped finish off our first jar of crunchy I bought at Krogers a few weeks ago…we are 100% converts now. Thanks again for convincing me to have AB another try!!

  17. January 30, 2009 8:37 am

    That french toast looks amazing! I may have to venture out and try to make it this weekend!!

  18. January 30, 2009 9:11 am

    Heather doll! I really wanted to text you this morning, are you into that?

    If not, I completely understand, but I’d love a number exchange-not trying to be creepy!

    You’re words really calmed me down. I read your comment before I fell asleep last night and read it again first thing this morning. You are RIGHT ON, we cannot do everything at once. I need to eliminate stressors in order to be genuine and true to myself-overloading is not necessary!

    You really helped me baby doll- I wanted to thank you BIG TIME! Your simple words are angelic to me! I really thank you for that!

    On a lighter note, how good is that french toast?
    Cottage cheese sounds like such a good mixture, I wish I had thought of that-i actually really like c.c. mixed with nut butters-like Sammie’s messes, are we crazy?!!?

    Sending you love on this casual friday 🙂

  19. Erin permalink
    January 30, 2009 9:29 am

    I’m impressed with your breakfast variety. I am definitely very habitual with that meal, but maybe I will try at least one new breakfast next week!
    And yay for more yoga!

  20. JillyB permalink
    January 30, 2009 9:45 am

    Way to tie Chevy Chase into healthy eating! CONGRATS on deciding to make the move to a yoga studio! That’s a future goal of mine. Can’t wait to read about your experience and the changes you see in your fitness!

    On another note, the Charlotte gang received our Barney Butter shipment the other day, and we’re lovin’ it! Have a super weekend.

  21. January 30, 2009 9:50 am

    yayy! so glad you are joining the yoga studio 🙂 i have a feeling youre going to be veryyy happy with your decision! and i’m lovin that breakfast, i made pumpkin french toast the other day and it was soo good!!!

  22. January 30, 2009 10:42 am

    The French Toast looks great! I agree, why not have special breakfasts more often! For me, it’s usually a weekend treat to have pancakes or french toast.

    Congrats on joining the yoga studio. You are going to love it!

  23. January 30, 2009 10:58 am

    Oh my goodness! I must make that French toast, thank you!

  24. January 30, 2009 11:06 am

    I love experimenting too! and I LOVE breakfast foods…in fact, I seem to eat breakfast food for all my meals!

  25. January 30, 2009 11:51 am

    Haha, my yoga instructor always jokes when we do that pose that he says the name just because its fun. I’m glad yoga is back in your life!!

  26. January 30, 2009 12:10 pm

    Oof, I just read so many of your breakfast posts all in a row and now I want breakfast again, not lunch! Way to go – I am all about changing things up regularly, and I will gladly steal your ideas (with due credit of course).

    Ok, I will not leave a comment on your blog for at least a couple hours – sorry, but I just found it and am addicted, so I guess that’s a compliment. 🙂

  27. January 30, 2009 12:11 pm

    PS I love TJ’s raw crunch almond butter and use it ALL the time.

    So I lied about not commenting for a couple hours…

  28. foodsthatfit permalink
    January 30, 2009 2:04 pm

    I love your blood oranges! I just bought a whole bag at Trader Joe’s. I’m excited for you with the yoga membership. I bet you’ll be so glad you did it.

  29. January 30, 2009 2:17 pm

    Speaking of changing up breakfast – I tried your egg custard oatmeal with almond butter and protein powder this morning and it was AWESOME. I’m still full and it’s 6 hours later!! Keep up the great breakfast experiments!

  30. January 30, 2009 2:24 pm

    lovvvvvvve the breakfast! i wish i liked pumpkin!

  31. January 30, 2009 3:29 pm

    will you please come cook me breakfast every morning? I have no money and i wake up for work at 3:45am- but Ill let you take the bed. deal?

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

  32. January 30, 2009 4:18 pm

    Kelly, I would love to cook you breakfast…3:45, huh? That’s workable. You’re in Seattle right? Next time, I’m in town, I’ll let you know. We could do a trade: Pumpkin French toast in exchange for an upper body training session. Sound good? 🙂

  33. January 30, 2009 4:33 pm

    JillyB, So glad you guys ordered the Barney Butter. I was holding out hoping our Fresh Market would start carrying it, but no such luck. 😦 I’m bummed I missed out on the free shipping deal.

  34. January 30, 2009 5:19 pm

    THat looks amazing!
    I’m up to the challenge!

  35. January 30, 2009 9:03 pm

    yeah that’s definately an amazing dish, it’s on my list… 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Let the Healing Begin « Banana Cabana

Leave a Reply

