Skip to content

Pancakes Anyone?

January 21, 2009
tags: ,

Bikram…finally.  So, after a week at Hot Yoga Nashville, I have taken only 2 Bikram classes, and the rest have been power yoga.  Bikram is so different from the type of yoga I’m used to, and after Sunday morning’s class I wasn’t quite sure what I thought about it.  This morning’s class was 60 minutes of Bikram, and I really enjoyed the sequence of standing postures.  Although with the shorter classes, there is no time for mat work at the end. Therefore, I think I prefer the 90 minute class.  I find that some days, I have much better balance than others, but I try not to let this frustrate me.  Just breathe, right?  I had a really hard time with Bow Pose this morning…it would not stick.  But, then we got to Tree, and it felt so perfect.  Only one day left of my week-long Hot Yoga pass…sadness. 😦

After a shower, it was time for breakfast.

Check out those carob chips just starting to melt.  Is your mouth watering?  If not, you have problems.

Check out those wonderful carob chips just starting to melt. Is your mouth watering? If not, you have problems.

I made one big protein pancake.  In my Vita-Mix, I combined 1/4 cup rolled oats, 1/4 cup cottage cheese, 1 egg white, and a 1/2 scoop Jay Robb chocolate whey protein powder.  I then poured the batter in a skillet sprayed with cooking oil.  I usually have to cook one or two pancakes before I get it right (not burnt, cooked all the way through, etc), but I only had one chance this morning to get it right, or I would have to make more batter.  I must say, it turned out almost perfect, a little on the dry side…maybe more egg whites next time or a splash of hemp milk?  The toppings definitely made up for the dryness…1 TBSP of smooth Barney Butter (crunchy is so much better!), 1 TBSP carob chips and about 2 TBSP of whole milk strained yogurt.  This plate of amazingness contained 416 calories, 17 grams of fat (36%), 33 grams of carbs (31%), and 35 grams of protein (36%).  It was the perfect balance of nutrients and kept me going right up until lunch…which I also feel the need to share with you.

I had no clients until this afternoon and spent the morning at home.  If I have the time, I like to prepare a wholesome lunch for Chris and I to share.  We try and eat lunch together at home everyday, but usually just throw together a salad or leftovers if we’re limited on time.  I knew I’d be working late tonight and there would be no time to cook dinner.  So, for lunch I decided to tackle my first recipe from Eat, Drink & Be Vegan.  I made the Cocoa Coconut Chile, but substituted red lentils for the beans.  This recipe was so easy, and lentils cook really fast.  I caught up on blogs and 25 minutes later, I had a beautiful pot of fiber/protein packed chili.  Inspired by Erin’s vegan chili cheese fries, I served the chili atop butternut squash fries and wilted spinach topped off with some whole milk strained yogurt.

img_1241Upon the first bite, my taste buds started freaking out.  This recipe is an amazing blend of flavors – coconut, cocoa, cinnamon, lime, etc.  So delicious y’all, and I bet it will taste even better tomorrow!   Definitely worthy of a mid-meal close-up shot…

)

Look Sarah, no ketchup required! 🙂

Lovely day of eats for sure!  OK, gotta go watch some commerical free Lost…Thank goodness for DVR!  Have a good night!

35 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2009 7:53 pm

    YES, PLEASE!! 😀

    Hell yes for LOST tonight!!

  2. January 21, 2009 7:56 pm

    ooh ooh, me me *raises hand wildly* i’m gonna guess another egg white would do the trick with the pancake. i do something w/o the protein powder (but i like that idea), and i’d guess that would dry it out. yummy salad, too!

  3. January 21, 2009 8:00 pm

    Umm yeah, my mouth is definitely watering (good thing I’m about to go eat some chocolate).

  4. January 21, 2009 8:03 pm

    I ❤ Pancakes!

    The lunch looks great. I love the idea of the chili on the butternut squash fries 🙂

  5. January 21, 2009 8:35 pm

    roar! you need more carbs in that pancake! i’m all about the carbs…

    i have a beast oatmeal pancake recipe…

    -3/4 cup oatmeal
    -4 egg whites (or two eggs)
    -1 T flax
    -1 t cinnamon
    -splash of milk
    -1 t baking powder

    mix together in a bowl and then basically cook in a pan. really easy. i top it with bananas, berries, syrup, and peanut butter! mmm…

  6. January 21, 2009 8:37 pm

    Yum, pancakes and chili cheese fries? Mmm-mm!

    Melty carob chips and BB… ugh, of course my mouth is watering!

    Enjoy LOST! 🙂

  7. January 21, 2009 9:28 pm

    WHOA WHOA ff to the end: NO NEED for the K??? Wow that I need to try 😀 Yummy breakfast and great yoga! It’s funny someday’s i dread the long classes then other days I like them..

  8. January 21, 2009 9:32 pm

    Pancakes! WOW! YUM!!

  9. gina (fitnessista) permalink
    January 21, 2009 9:34 pm

    cocoa coconut chili? i may be in love
    the carob chips look incredible ontop of tha pancake.. i definitely need to try that
    enjoy the last day of your yoga class!
    have a wonderful night!

  10. January 21, 2009 9:58 pm

    Cocoa Coconut Chile, YOGA, perfect day!

  11. January 21, 2009 11:03 pm

    Hey Matt, thanks for the recipe. I’ll give it a try!

  12. January 21, 2009 11:06 pm

    I went out to lunch with a co-worker the other day and she just started getting into Bikram and ADORES it. She was seriously trying to sell me on it all through lunch. I think it’s working! She even asked for more classes for Christmas, and has given up running for a while, so I guess there must be something to it, eh?

    My mouth is definitely watering! Those pancakes look divine.

    Yay Lost!! I have mine DVR’ed and ready for me as soon as I finish the last few episodes of season four 🙂

  13. January 21, 2009 11:13 pm

    wow, that looks like a fantastic pancake, I’m going to have to to try it out. Thanks!

  14. January 21, 2009 11:17 pm

    Just breathe baby!

    I read this today and thought of you right away: http://workout-then-cook.blogspot.com/2009/01/more-avocados-muffins.html

  15. January 21, 2009 11:21 pm

    Whatttt, no ketchup!??!?

    I have actually never taken a Bikram class. I really should, I’m such a yoga addict.

  16. January 21, 2009 11:56 pm

    That pancake looks fabulous! I really need to try carob chips, I think I would like them!

    I think I need to get in on the Lost following. I have never seen a single episode, but I hear so many people love it!

  17. January 22, 2009 12:14 am

    That pancake has me DROOOOOOOLING. I just had to slurp all my slobber back into my mouth. And now I have to go get a snack.

    That chili sounds so good! I may have to pick up that cookbook. It was a beautiful bowl. But, hey, I just had an idea, do you know what might have made those chili fries better? No hear me out, I know it sounds crazy…what about some ketchup? I’m just sayin…

  18. January 22, 2009 2:15 am

    Whoa mama! This looks really good (drools). You come up with some great food ideas! Yesterday’s looked extra tasty as well.

  19. seeleelive permalink
    January 22, 2009 8:44 am

    woooowww that PANCAKE looks so good it must be illegal—

    i have saliva all over my shirt now, heather, THANKS!! hehehe, love you girlfriend. Have a BEAUTIFUL THURSDAY! Catch up with you later!

  20. January 22, 2009 8:55 am

    My mouth IS watering! One thing: can you make them for me?!

  21. Jill permalink
    January 22, 2009 9:46 am

    Me…not a big pancake fan. But, I am going to try the recipe posted in the comments here. I’ll let you know about that. Once in a while, I’ll fix a buckwheat pancake…but I just am not too crazy about the things.

    Oh, you ought to try out http://www.kaliyugayoga.com sometime. It’s a great little studio in the ‘hood. Now, I don’t think they have Bikram but they do give discounts to athletes (!) and have a variety of classes. I love it more than the Hot Yoga place you’re going to right now. (But watch out for Thursday night classes – Amy is a killer).

  22. January 22, 2009 10:04 am

    No ketchup required?! Wow! That’s funny. Pancakes look so good right now. Why are we going to a restaurant on Sunday? You could cook these for me and I can learn!!

  23. January 22, 2009 10:23 am

    Wow those pancakes look amazing! I love carob chips so much! They are just so hard for me to find! Yumm!

    http://www.missymaintains.blogspot.com

  24. January 22, 2009 11:27 am

    Yes, I am druling over the pancake!!!

  25. January 22, 2009 1:36 pm

    That pancake looks like the best thing ever! I just got my Barney Butter and tasted the crunchy, and it is wonderful!

  26. January 22, 2009 1:58 pm

    The Long Weigh, I highly recommend you purchase a bag of carob chips, and rent Season 1 of Lost. But beware, both are highly addictive!

  27. January 22, 2009 1:59 pm

    Dori, so glad you like your Barney Butter. Crunchy is the best! How ’bout those almond chunks?!?

  28. January 22, 2009 2:44 pm

    That looks so fabulous. This book is definitely next on my list, but…for now I’m still holding myself over with all the cookbooks I got for Christmas.

    I’m about to go watch commercial free LOST now. I love DVR, I wouldn’t watch any TV if we didn’t have it, since I go to bed at like, 9, now.

  29. January 22, 2009 4:56 pm

    I’m experimenting with new foods and more cooking as I try to eat more whole foods… so I wonder how does protein powder fit in to that kind of eating? do you ever taste it? I used it wayyy in the paste and things always had a weird after taste.

  30. January 22, 2009 5:26 pm

    Another freakin’ amazing winner recipe from ED&BeV!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    The carob chips – I can’t even deal girl.

  31. January 22, 2009 5:42 pm

    RunToFinish, I really like Jay Robb protein powder as it contains no artificial ingredients and is sweetened with stevia. I use the whey, but the company also makes soy and egg white protein powders. Like you, I do not like most protein powders as they taste like fake chemicals. I use Jay Robb in a lot of different dishes ranging from yogurt and smoothies to even baked goods. I’ve never thought it had a weird after taste. You can find Jay Robb in most health food stores, and even Kroger, our local grocer carries it. They sell sample packs. I would recommend trying one of those before buying a canister. My favorite flavors are vanilla, chocolate, and strawberry. The Tropical Dreamsicle, and Pina Colada…not so good. Hope this info helps!

  32. January 22, 2009 7:05 pm

    carob chip pancakes? uuuuuuuuuuuuuh delicious?? i love making one big fat pancake instead of a bunch of teeny tiny ones. i also like adding a little bit of baking powder (for some rising action), and ground flaxseed (for a little nutty-ness?).

  33. January 22, 2009 9:57 pm

    How good does your breakfast look? I need to get some carob chips this weekend! I plan to make pumpkin chocolate chip muffins for Joshs bro who LOVES the pumpkin! Did you love LOST? I did!

  34. January 23, 2009 10:55 pm

    Mmmmmm….your breakfast looks amazing! I love pancakes, have to have some version of them at least once a week…I’ll definitely have to try experimenting with your healthy version!

  35. January 23, 2009 11:36 pm

    Oh goodness, yes! I’ll take some of those pancakes. I’d love them for lunch, dinner and dessert as well! The best part about it is that you’ve given it a healthier twist. That’s what I love best: great food that can be healthy too. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

