Skip to content

Breakfast, Bikram, and Barbeque

January 18, 2009
tags:

How’s that title for use of alliteration? 🙂

Good afternoon my friends…so much to share with everyone today.  I hope all of you have enjoyed your weekend thus far!  I’ve enjoyed mine immensely with some good activity and some great eats.  Following is a brief recap.

Although I’ve been attending classes at Hot Yoga Nashville for several days now, yesterday was my first official Bikram class.  I  kept showing up for power yoga, and so I made sure the Saturday morning class was Bikram…and Bikram it was!  Sweat dripped from every inch of me during all 26 postures…awesome!  The instructor’s sweet spirit and kind words had a huge impact on me.  Her enthusiasm for yoga and her students was evident throughout the entire practice.  A teacher’s attitude totally makes or breaks the class for me  – anyone else feel this way?  I’ve had a few bad yoga instructors in the past.  Maybe they’d simply had a bad day or something, but I need to feel the love, ya know? 

The class was 90 minutes, and the first hour concentrated on standing postures – Eagle, Bow, Triangle, Tree, etc.  The last half hour was stretching and some ab/back work on the floor.  It was quite different from the type of yoga I’m used to, and I have to admit, I really missed Downward Dog, Pigeon & Child’s Pose.  However, I will say it was a great workout as I was completely wiped out after class.  All I could think about was taking a nap, but I never got around to it.  Last night, I slept 10 hours!

This morning, I attended another 90 minute power yoga class.  Lots of sweating & lots of Chaturangas!  I LOVED it.  What a great start to my day.  I feel totally rejuvenated after so much sleep and a great yoga class.  Tomorrow, I’m attending an early morning power yoga class, and then I will try Bikram again on Tuesday.  I’m so loving my week of Hot Yoga.  I don’t want it to end.

Along with my Hot Yoga adventure this week, I’ve decided to experiment a bit with breakfast.  Lately, I’ve been eating this…

 

)

Egg white omelet with Laughing Cow Light cheese, cottage cheese with cereal & Barney Butter, and half & half with a little coffee 🙂

According to Fitday.com, my breakfast contained 485 calories, 18 grams of fat (32%), 40 grams of carbs (32%), and 42 grams of protein (36%).  I tend to do better with a breakfast higher in protein and fat.  Carbs alone don’t do it for me.  If I eat a bowl of cereal, I’m hungry 30 minutes later.  Since I usually workout in the morning before seeing clients, I need a lot of fuel…a breakfast that will keep me going until lunch.  Often, I don’t have time for a morning snack.  The meal pictured above seems to do the trick, but I keep seeing so many wonderful bowls of oats, pancakes, waffles, etc. on other blogs.  So, instead of trying all new dinners, this is going to be the week of all new morning meals for me.  Please stay tuned for my AM adventures as I promise some interesting combos and of course, lots of coffee.  I’ve already done the No Coffee Experiment.  Yeah…didn’t like that one so much. 🙂

How about you?  What is your breakfast of choice these days?  

I’ll leave you with pictures of lunch.  My post-yoga meal…delicious! 🙂  

BBQ/Hummus wrap with tempeh and steamed broccoli on the side...with Annie's ketchup

BBQ/Hummus wrap with tempeh and steamed broccoli on the side...covered with Annie's ketchup

I had to take a picture of the lovely salad Chris made for himself.  Isn’t he so healthy…and so cute?  Love him!

Bib lettuce and veggies topped with bleu cheese crumbles and a wild salmon burger

Bibb lettuce and veggies topped with bleu cheese crumbles, sun dried tomatoes, and a wild salmon burger

Have a wonderful Sunday afternoon/evening.  Go Eagles! 🙂

29 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2009 3:36 pm

    Delish!!

  2. January 18, 2009 3:37 pm

    I don’t think I’ve met a (vegan) breakfast food I didn’t like. I could (and do) eat breakfast foods all day long :o).

  3. January 18, 2009 3:45 pm

    Well, Hello, My Bloggin’ Friend!! I just perused your blog for the first time, and you have me so stinkin hungry. I want to eat the screen on my laptop. And I love your hot HOT YOGA photo. Dang, girl. Bring it on! I’m glad I have another way to keep in touch. Do you have a preference on what you’d like to be called on my blog page? I’ll let you pick.

  4. January 18, 2009 3:58 pm

    You’re on a yoga roll! I’m still trying to psych myself up to try a 20-minute download. About breakfast, I’m with you on the carbs alone not cutting it. I love love love my oats, so I usually add eggs (see the crockpot oats and custard oatmeal recipes on my site), yogurt, and sometimes nuts (not to mention tons of fruit) to boost the fat/protein and give them some more staying power. I’m looking forward to reading about your breakfast creativity this week!

  5. January 18, 2009 4:47 pm

    I’m so impressed with your yoga week! I love hearing about everyone’s yoga experiences, it just makes me want to do it more!

    I need to join in on trying new breakfast foods. I’m a sucker for sugary cereal, so I really need to try new things. Oats and other whole grains for sure, and if cereal just needs to happen, it needs to be better for me! I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with!

  6. January 18, 2009 4:55 pm

    Yay for yoga and yay for our houses smelling like ass right now!!!

    I’m excited to see how your oats experiment goes. I have such sad, hungry, munchie mornings without mine.

    No coffee?! No thanks. I got the shakes just thinking about it.

    It’s funny how we rub off on the significant others with the healthy eats. Sometimes. Mine just ate a Costco dog for lunch. Ew.

    Thanks, as always, for your thoughtful comments on my blog, Heather, you are my sunshine!

  7. January 18, 2009 5:11 pm

    breakfast of choice? anything with oatmeal in it. warms me up on a cold winter morning!

  8. blueskyworld permalink
    January 18, 2009 5:31 pm

    love how we both have LOVE for yoga! go yogis!

  9. January 18, 2009 6:08 pm

    i usually have oatmeal with some eggs on the side, i love my morning oats! weekends are for pancakes though…

  10. January 18, 2009 6:10 pm

    alliteration is always awesome. Ha- see what I did there?

    Im off to make brocolli now. Cause i saw yours and now i want some.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

  11. January 18, 2009 7:01 pm

    yay for tempeh!

  12. January 18, 2009 8:30 pm

    oh breakfast, how i love thee. if i could eat it 3x a day i’d be one happy camper. i need protein with some carbs if i want it to keep me for any length of time. This week is some muffins from the freezer with eggs i’ll probably make up each day. I do like the quiche option as that reheats well!

  13. January 18, 2009 10:43 pm

    I totally agree that your yoga instructor’s attitude totally makes a difference! I’m in love with vinyasa classes lately, but am curious to try out some bikram…maybe I’ll get around to it one of these days.

    My favorite breakfasts always include nut butter, and lately it has accompanied bowls of oats, ezekiel muffins and this morning, crepes!!!

  14. January 19, 2009 5:43 am

    *sigh*
    this english major adores alliteration.

    and bikram.
    if only it were shorter (uh, the bikram 🙂 not your titlepost)

  15. January 19, 2009 7:54 am

    Ha. Funny about the Bikram instructor, every time I have gone it has totally been bootcamp style!

  16. seeleelive permalink
    January 19, 2009 8:59 am

    love your pictures, posts, paragraphs. ALLITERATION day today…INAUGORATION DAY TOMORROW! Wow im crazy. sorry its the english lover in me! anyways..
    i am still hooked on oats, bt the last 2 days while at jeffs lax house i couldnt eat oats so i had white bagels (probably 4 carb exchanges) with hugee amounts of nut butter on top-which kept me full for about 3.5 hours?? i still find that protein & fat makes all the difference. a bagel alone may have been less in calories, but smothering on that barney butter and dark chocolate PB made it taste better, go down smoother and of course, kept me satisfied mind body & soul :-).
    i think its cool how when we pay attention to our bodies and what it needs….we find out more about our own bodies! I mean..how many 18 year old girls can say they know they are more satisfied when they add more healthy fat and lean proteins to their meals?? its awesome!!! 🙂
    i have found that adding things like cottage cheese to lunch and an extra slice of chicken at dinner keep me satisfied longer. and i alwayssss try to add a protein to all my snakcks-either a bar with 9g of protein or more, greek yogurt, cottage cheese, laughing cow, pb, ab, or anything of that sort. i am not a celemntine only girl–i like a big bowl of peanut butter with some clementine inside 😉

    love ya heather, have a beautiful MLK day!

  17. January 19, 2009 9:10 am

    Glad you enjoyed your week of Hot Yoga. You’ve inspired me. I tried to go on Saturday, but I had the wrong time! Ugh. But I think I’m going tonight. I could have used a Hot Yoga class last night since I didn’t have heat! Brrrr…..

    Ketchup on broccoli, though? Hmmmm. Well, maybe I should try it before I say anything. 🙂 Of course, all of your food looks fabulous (as always).

  18. January 19, 2009 9:57 am

    Hi! I just caught up with your blog and it look like you’ve been having a sweaty good time at Bikram! Yay!

  19. January 19, 2009 12:34 pm

    Have you ever sweat so much in your life? It’s ridiculous, right!!!! I am glad you had a nice teacher. That always helps.

    Also, you should try Caitlin’s burgers. They are really easy to make, but give yourself awhile because they take some time to bake. I really like ’em crispy on the outside.

    Heather

  20. newmusiclibrary permalink
    January 19, 2009 12:39 pm

    No comments on the Peanut Butter scare? I figured you’d have a full spread on the benefits of switching to Almond Butter (which I just did by the way, luckily the day before the PB recall).

    I eat some form of cereal every morning with frozen blueberries. I buy the blueberries in bulk frozen but sometimes worry that they haven’t been pre-washed before being frozen. Sometimes they say “prewashed” but sometimes they don’t. Really depends on where I happen to shop. Is it standard for companies to prewash all frozen fruits? Whats the danger of eating unwashed fruit anyway-toxins from pesticides building up in your system?

    -Scott

  21. Jill permalink
    January 19, 2009 1:09 pm

    First, I must tell you I gave almond butter a second chance in my life and I too…now LOVE it. I will be ordering Barney online soon now too.

    Second, Yoga – I love Hot Yoga…but some instructors can be devils. E Nash has one over here…and she is out to kill her students. I quit going because I almost passed out. No kidding. There are other instructors at that place though…thankfully!

    And breakfast – another thank you there. I have actually been trying some of the things you eat – cottage cheese, cereal and PB. Not too bad…so bring on the week long breakfasts!!

    PS Love that Strawberry Stride mug. I should use mine too…but too afraid of breaking it. Us non-CD type runners have to relish in our infrequent winnings…ha ha.

  22. January 19, 2009 1:41 pm

    Hey Heather,
    Sorry if my post is confusing; the “Help for Omnivores” & “A Day in the Life” links are ones I’ve already added, so if you click on them in the post, it’ll take you to those posts :o).

  23. January 19, 2009 2:52 pm

    Aww, you’re so sweet, Heather :o). Thanks for all the nice comments.

    -Katie (who just finished eating some maple peanut butter straight up hehe)

  24. January 19, 2009 4:38 pm

    Ohh, breakfast fun!! I think I will mostly be having muffins for breakfast this week. I tend to prefer a high fat/protein breakfast also, but muffins are what I have, and I also don’t like a ton of food when I am getting up at 4:30 either. Ugh, this week is going to be a rude awakening, I haven’t woken up this early on a regular basis in over 6 years.

  25. January 19, 2009 5:03 pm

    keep drinking that coffee…i tried giving it up for lent once a couple years ago and it was very hard! what a good looking breakfast!

  26. January 19, 2009 7:40 pm

    So bummed the Eagles lost 😦 Why do they always blow it???

    YES, really loved the hot yoga. So glad you wrote about it, I probably would have never tried it. I am going to try to go one time per month (since its so expensive)!

    Broccoli? You ate broccoli? So unlike you 😉 and me… 😉

  27. January 21, 2009 10:28 pm

    I’ve just tried Bikram youga too – in New Zealand, but I’ve decided it’s not for me. Too early in the morning (class starts at 6 a.m) plus I prefer a teacher who demonstrates and checks people’s postures carefully rather than one who stands in front of the class and talks.

  28. January 21, 2009 11:02 pm

    Hey Ruth, yeah those 6 AM classes can be tough. Sometimes, that’s the only time I can fit them into my day, but I always have a harder time with some of the postures that early in the morning. My body just isn’t ready. It’s a great way to start the day though. I’m like you – I find it very helpful when the teachers walk around and help the students. I love when they adjust me – my hips are always off!

Trackbacks

  1. Barley Pudding Attempt Round 2 « Heather Eats Almond Butter

Leave a Reply

