Skip to content

Give Me Veggies!

August 23, 2010

So, yesterday, Chris and I decided to take another day trip. We definitely packed a lot in this weekend and enjoyed visiting some smaller towns around northern Michigan. Let’s see, our first stop was Boyne City. We picked up sandwiches from the Lake Street Market and ate them down by the harbor.

IMG_5734.JPG IMG_5735.JPG

I had a whole wheat wrap with avocado, bacon, lettuce, tomato, and way toooo much mayo. In my opinion, when avocado is involved, mayonnaise is so not necessary. Oh well, the lovely views made up for it. :)

We then drove through Petoskey, and our next stop was Harbor Springs where we celebrated all that is Michigan with…I’ll give you one guess…

IMG_5737.JPG IMG_5741.JPG

Almond Joy ice-cream from Yummies, the cutest little ice-cream shop ever. Amazing by the way!

Next up was Charlevoix, and by the time we arrived, all I wanted to do was sit down by the water. So, that’s exactly what we did.

IMG_5742.JPG

Me and my crazy I just took down my ponytail hair. :)

On our way home, we made one last stop to check out Torch Lake, Michigan’s longest inland lake. Look how beautiful…

IMG_5744.JPG

Honestly, I could have stayed there for hours, but my stomach was rumbling for some CD & Heather food. I’ve so enjoyed our little day trips here in Michigan, but I can only take so many sandwiches-on-the-go, and I totally overdid the ice-cream this weekend. By the time we got home, all I wanted was a big plate of veggies and NOTHING sweet. So, while Chris walked the dogs, I chopped and chopped. We ended up with a big pot of veggie stir-fry. My Paleo lovin husband was in charge of cooking, and so there was butter, bacon, and beef involved. ‘Twas very tasty and very filling, and in very un-HEABlike fashion, I skipped my post-dinner dessert. Usually I eat some oatmeal + nut butter or a baked sweet potato before going to bed, but my body did not want anything sweet. So, I listened. :)

IMG_5748.JPG

I enter my 3rd trimester this week. Crazy, huh? To all the mamas and mamas-to-be out there, have you read anything about avoiding food allergies in your babies? I’ve heard that if you avoid certain foods during your last few months of pregnancy (wheat, peanuts, etc.), then your baby is less likely to be allergic to them in the future. Thoughts? Please share!

Again, my blog is undergoing some changes, and I’m switching servers. So, if HEAB goes down over the next few days, it will be back online soon. Also, if my posts stop showing up in Google Reader, please resubscribe as I would be very sad to lose any of you!

120 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 7:14 am

    Ahhhh Boyne City is where we go every year! It’s where my dad and grandparents grew up. I just missed you by 2 weeks. :)

  2. August 23, 2010 7:23 am

    Something tells me you won’t lose any readers HEAB.

    First- what’s in that ice cream? Cookie pieces?! Yum.

    Love your stir-fry. I can definitely eat too many. And I can never decide what else to have with it at times, so end up having chicken, eggs, and ham or something ALL together lol. With Spaghetti sauce and cheese on top ;)

    I’ve never heard anything about the avoiding allergens thing…but, I wouldn’t get too hung up on it. Honestly, I think the baby responds more to any stress your going to place on it…and if your “restricting” or not following what you want, then it’ll “know”. Just go with the flow. Life is too short to worry about the “what-if’s” or “should-I’s”.

  3. August 23, 2010 7:23 am

    Jessica, Bummer! Such a cute little town. :)

  4. August 23, 2010 7:24 am

    Eatmovelove, Chunks of plain chocolate – not sure if it was milk or dark. Whatever it was, so good!

  5. thedailyoatmeal permalink
    August 23, 2010 7:28 am

    Isn’t it funny that if we really listen to our bodies, we aren’t actually craving what we think we might? Of course, I’m not sure there is ever enough ice cream– maybe I should move to Michigan!

    Your veggies look tasty and colorful. I always roast my brussel sprouts, but it looks like you often stir fry them. Any good tips? What other veggies seem to pair best doing that?

  6. Allison permalink
    August 23, 2010 7:28 am

    I personally have no allergies, seasonal or food. I don’t even know that it’s pollen season until I notice all the yellow on my car. My husband, on the other hand, is an allergic mess so I did everything I could think of to help my kids avoid the same fate. I took probiotics the whole time I was pregnant and breastfed each of them until they were three, avoided certain foods and so on . . . AND of my three kids, one of them is still an allergic mess just like her dad. I think to a certain extent genetics are genetics and there’s not much you can do.

  7. August 23, 2010 7:33 am

    TheDailyOatmeal, I was always a roasting girl, but stir fries are quicker. I wrote a post detailing my method: http://heathereatsalmondbutter.com/2010/02/03/whats-in-that-bowl/. Enjoy. :)

  8. August 23, 2010 7:34 am

    Allison, Good to know – thanks!

  9. August 23, 2010 7:35 am

    I hope your blog changes go well — and you won’t lose me as a reader thats for sure!

    I totally agree with you about not needing mayo if avocado is involved — avocado is nature’s mayo :)

  10. August 23, 2010 7:39 am

    I adore your I-just-took-down-my-ponytail hair:-).

  11. August 23, 2010 7:51 am

    Okay, I wish my hair looked that good after a pony tail. If that looks bad, I’d hate for you to see my hair. Ha! I can’t get over how blue the water is in Michigan. I had no idea. So beautiful!!!!

  12. August 23, 2010 7:53 am

    I agree with you on the avocado-mayonnaise front. I can’t even really imagine them tasting good together. Anyhoo-it looks like you had a fun time in your adventures!!

  13. August 23, 2010 7:53 am

    your dinner looks phenom! almond joy ice cream? yum!

  14. August 23, 2010 7:57 am

    Thanks Couchpotatoathlete, and yes, the avocado is definitely “nature’s mayo”. I love that! :)

  15. August 23, 2010 7:58 am

    Haha – thanks Sarah. It always looks so big!

  16. Scott in Ohio permalink
    August 23, 2010 8:02 am

    Mmmm…veggies! :-)

    Are you sticking with WordPress?

    I get your posts via email. Just wondering if I need to do anything.

    Congratulations on making it to the last trimester.

    I’ve been doing quite a bit of reading on allergies lately. Nothing conclusive but it seems like a good idea to try and eat a variety of different foods. In other words, don’t have a 3-egg scramble 5 days a week for 3 months like I did.

    Just keep listening to what your body tells you and little HEABlet will be fine! ;-)

  17. August 23, 2010 8:05 am

    Very sound advice Scott – thank you! No, I’m switching to BlueHost, but I will find out about the email subscriptions. Hopefully, you’ll still be receiving a daily dose of HEAB via your inbox. :)

  18. August 23, 2010 8:06 am

    Yay for the third trimester! I can’t believe you are on the downhill side of this! Then you get a pretty little girl! I hope today id beautiful for you two!

  19. August 23, 2010 8:15 am

    as some one that has struggled with food allergies, i can attest to the fact that ANYTHING you can do to decrease the risk of your child developing allergies is worth the time and effort. a few months avoiding favorite foods versus a life time of worrying about a life threatening reaction to something? seems like an easy choice to me. i was just watching something about organics too, and found out that 50% of the pesticides you’ll be exposed to in your entire life are consumed in the first 5 years. how crazy is that?

    anything you do will be great! that baby is lucky to have such a proactive momma :)

  20. August 23, 2010 8:17 am

    Your day trips look so beautiful & relaxing! I’m glad you’ve enjoyed them. I totally know what you mean though about missing ‘your food.’ I’m far from being a pregnancy-expert but I’ve never heard of food allergies/the 3rd trimester. If you find out anything, let us know!

  21. Joy permalink
    August 23, 2010 8:19 am

    I am delurking to comment on your question re: avoiding food allergies. My son did develop allergies to peanuts and almonds (which he has since outgrown!). What we learned is that probiotics do help.

    There was a study done (reported in Lancet) where they took 2 groups of moms with family histories of allergies, half got probiotics (in particular lactosvacillious rhamnosis — I am SURE I spelled that wrong!) and for the moms who took that during their last trimester and through the first 6 months of their baby’s life there was a very low incidence of allergies compared to the moms who did not take the probiotic.

    We also learned that nut proteins pass through the breast milk in a complete form so if you are eating nuts your baby is as well. While you should of course consult with your pediatrician, if I had another child I would have taken the probiotics for the last trimester and continued through out the time I nursed and would have avoided all nuts while nursing and probably while pregnant (they have not done studies to see if the nut protein passes through the placenta).

    I wish you and your baby the best.

    PS. I LOVE your blog and have gotten great ideas through it.

  22. August 23, 2010 8:34 am

    There’s no way you’d lose me as a reader! No need to worry about that!

  23. August 23, 2010 8:45 am

    I’m 36 weeks 2 days but never heard about this allergy thing. I hope I don’t mess anything up, at this point I just want her to come out!

  24. Claire permalink
    August 23, 2010 8:59 am

    I used to avoid avocado until I started reading your blog…Thank you!! Agreed.there is no need for mayo with avocado.Of course,I don’t like mayo anyway.hehe:-)cc

  25. August 23, 2010 9:02 am

    What a fun day! I love that y’all are taking advantage of your time together before the HEABlet arrives. Congrats on entering your last trimester. Can’t believe it seems like yesterday you announced you were pregnant! :)

  26. August 23, 2010 9:06 am

    hmm, i’m not so sure about hte truth of the statement about allergies.. there are sooo many pregnancy myths and rumors out there, i suppose itd be best to ask your personal doctor!

    you look more and more stunning with every post!! so excited for you

  27. August 23, 2010 9:06 am

    Hi Heather, I have been reading your blog for a few months but this is my first time commenting! I actually started my own blog and you have been part of that inspiration. I have 6 month old twins and read some about allergies while I was pregnant. One thing I read was that if you are prone to allergies then your children are more likely to be so you should consider avoiding certain foods. But I also read that the only things that pass to your baby during pregnancy are things that go into your bloodstream (such as alcohol). I ate lots of nut butter while pregnant and breastfeeding and still eat it around the babies now and neither have had any issues. The only thing allergy related we are dealing with is milk based formula. My son is not able to digest milk protein since I stopped breast feeding but they think he will grow out of it. I hope this helps and congratulations on your pregnancy! You look awesome!

  28. August 23, 2010 9:09 am

    Your just-took-down-my-ponytail hair looks great! Tousled hair is in style now, right? :)

    I know what you mean about the veggies–if I’ve eaten a lot of heavy or sweet food during the day, come dinner time all I want is a giant plate of veggies and some type of whole grain.

  29. August 23, 2010 9:27 am

    I’m the exact same way! Recently I went to Chicago, and while it was wonderful to try all the yummy food there, I was ready for salad when I got home :-) And I still can’t get over how gorgeous Michigan’s lakes are! Y’all are livin’ it up.

  30. Melanie permalink
    August 23, 2010 9:33 am

    I’m so glad to see you are enjoying my home state so much. The Michigan Tourism Board should be paying you royalities for all the good press you are giving the state!

    I think you are seeing more of the state in one month than I have hit in the last 3 years! Thanks for reminding me of the good things about Michigan :)

  31. August 23, 2010 9:36 am

    You guys take the BEST trips! Exploring little towns and all they have to offer. The Almond Joy ice-cream looks just awesome. Ice cream= summer at its best. Can’t wait to see your bloggy changes

  32. August 23, 2010 9:43 am

    Butter, Bacon and Beef – its like the trifecta of flavor right there. I bet you don’t need anything else to make that stir fry taste amazing.

    I don’t know anything about babies, so I’m no help. :D

  33. August 23, 2010 10:13 am

    Ohmygoodness – how have I never heard of Almond Joy ice cream before? I want!! And don’t you love pregnancy hair? Yours looks luscious!! (I miss mine. boo.)

  34. August 23, 2010 10:44 am

    Almond joy ice cream? Yes please! ;) didn’t realize Lake Michigan was so gorgeous!

  35. August 23, 2010 10:49 am

    Its funny how our bodies crave healthy eats after indulgences. I’m the same way… If I eat too much sweets throughout the day I crave fresh flavorful veggies.

  36. August 23, 2010 10:50 am

    Listening to your body…hm. I always thought I knew what that meant, but I have realized quite recently that I was listening to what I was telling myself and not my body- if that makes sense. I love sweet things but my body cant process sugars very well and I always thought that by giving into my cravings that I was listening to my body, but after really sitting down and taking the time to distinguish between cravings for the flavour and cravings for the nutrients, I have finally realized what that means. Yupie for intuitive eating!
    :)

    Happy 3rd Trimester! (I wonder if Hallmark makes any cards for such an occasion?)

  37. August 23, 2010 11:01 am

    Thanks Ellen, You’re right – any steps I can take to avoid food allergies in the baby would be worth it. Thanks for your advice. :)

  38. August 23, 2010 11:02 am

    Leianna, No worries, I’m sure she will come just perfect! :)

  39. August 23, 2010 11:02 am

    Thanks Nicole! :)

  40. August 23, 2010 11:06 am

    Joy, Thanks so much for delurking and for all the helpful advice. I have a bottle of probiotics in the fridge…in Nashville, and I am so BAD about taking them. However, when I get home, I’m going to make sure to get my daily dose and try and avoid possible allergens, and make an effort to eat a larger variety of foods as I tend to eat the same things over and over…hello almond butter. :) Thanks for reading HEAB!

  41. August 23, 2010 11:07 am

    Claire, Always happy to spread the avocado love. Just ate half of one with my lunch. So yummy, and no mayo included! :)

  42. Vicky permalink
    August 23, 2010 11:08 am

    My sister was hypoglycemic with her pregnancy and ate a peanut butter toast breakfast all throughout her pregnancy with my nephew. He’s deathly allergic to peanuts. When she was pregnant with her second child, her son’s allergist advised her to not have any nuts/nut butter. Her second child doesn’t have the peanut allergy. From alot of stuff that her and I have read, there seems to be a correlation with some mother’s and children but I’m not sure anything has been proven. I stayed away from nuts while pregnant because of what my sister and her son had been through.

  43. August 23, 2010 11:09 am

    Justine, Glad to hear you are learning to listen…I think I’ll always be a work in progress, but I’m working on it! Re. the Hallmark card, I wouldn’t be surprised. :)

  44. August 23, 2010 11:10 am

    Charlotte, You can have some of my hair…it’s out of control!! However, I think yours is perfect as is. Love your curls. :)

  45. August 23, 2010 11:11 am

    Katie, There was a lot of mustard involved as well…duh.

  46. August 23, 2010 11:12 am

    Melanie, I know – I was joking with Chris that I should be kickbacks! You really do have a beautiful home state. :)

  47. Vicky permalink
    August 23, 2010 11:13 am

    I wanted to add – food allergies have never ran in my family, or my sister’s husband’s family.

  48. August 23, 2010 11:13 am

    Thanks S…my hair feels really “big” these days. Glad to know it’s in fashion. :)

  49. August 23, 2010 11:14 am

    You have the BEST hair!! I have thought that since I started reading your blog! Aaaah, maybe in my next life I will get HEAB hair :D

    Yum to plates o’ veggies and beef!

  50. August 23, 2010 11:17 am

    Ashandlewplus2, Thanks so much for reading, and so cool you started your own blog. I promise to stop by soon and say “hello”. Thanks for your advice. The only food allergies/intolerances I have are dairy and soy. Seriously, I would be so sad if the HEABlet was allergic to nuts, and so I’m thinking of cutting back, but it would be really hard to give them up completely!

  51. August 23, 2010 11:18 am

    Vicky, Wow, thanks! Good to know.

  52. August 23, 2010 11:19 am

    Thanks Marisa. :)

  53. August 23, 2010 11:20 am

    The pic of you and CD in the water ankle high…if you told me you were in St. John or Barbados, I’d believe you! It looks spectacular!

    Regarding the allergies and info…I was GF, nearly vegan, and very soy-light during my pregnancy. Skylar, thank god, has ZERO food allergies whereas I have tons. As you know I am also a huge believer in nursing, breastmilk, and nursing for a biological normative lengths (i.e. years, not months or weeks). So in conjunction, I think all those things helped.

    Are there women who dine on vats of yogurt, tons of white bread and wheat gluten and eat soy and peanuts like they’re going out of style while pregnant and have babies/kids with zero issues? Sure. But, living with food allergies is such a royal PITA that anything!! I could and can do to minimize the risk, I am all for it.

    If allergies are about a load on the immune system that it cannot process for whatever reason, I am all for doing what I could to lessen that load, i.e. reducing/omitting my consumption of certain foods while pregnant and/or nursing. And that’s a whole other topic…the issue of nursing and allergens. As a lactation educator I could write a novel on it all but no sense crossing any bridges before necessary.

    Just carry on and keep enjoying your awesome trip and all will be fine :)

    And thanks for the email…just what I was hoping to hear! Can’t wait as it sounds just as good as I had hoped!

    xoxo
    :)

  54. August 23, 2010 11:28 am

    Thanks for the advice Averie! Might as well do what I can to avoid allergies in the HEABlet. Seriously, I would be beyond sad if she was allergic to peanuts and or nuts. :(

  55. Tracey permalink
    August 23, 2010 11:34 am

    Random question… how to you sautee/cook you brussel sprouts for maximum yumminess. let me know what you find out about the allergies. i have heard to minimize peanut intake to decrease that risk, but often that is genetic. I have also read that eating nonorganic dairy products (i know you don’t really eat dairy) can cause skin issues such as ecxema (spelling?). :) tracey

  56. August 23, 2010 11:41 am

    Always such a pain moving servers and doing blog changes, but the end result is always worth it too. I felt the same way after my vacation a few weeks ago. I came home craving veggies.

  57. BBx2 - Mandy & jR permalink
    August 23, 2010 11:49 am

    3rd trimester already? WOW! It has flown by!

    I didn’t avoid anything in the last trimester food-wise…I had not heard that before to help with allergies! Although, that is something to consider next time around if we get lucky enough to have another! While I was nursing Maddie, I had to give up peanut butter and milk. She had horrible tummy issues the first year!

    If it works for you, I’d love to know!

    Your “just took my hair out of the pony tail look” is beautiful, btw :)

    I’ve heard of the Paleo diet… but haven’t tried it myself. I am interested, though!

  58. August 23, 2010 11:50 am

    that veggie stir fry looks amazing! and so does that lake! I need a vacation! haha! take care and congrats on everything!

  59. Jill permalink
    August 23, 2010 12:10 pm

    You know, I still am not sure if I like avocados (gasp!) I know, I know, it seems like everyone else loves them. I always thought they were too slimy when I was younger, but all of your avocado-including meals are making me think I should try again.

    Michigan looks so beautiful! I guess I never thought that it was such a pretty state. You’re lucky that you can enjoy a month there :-)

  60. August 23, 2010 12:17 pm

    I love your posts!! :) Let me know if you end up near Kalamazoo on your way home :)

    As for the allergies thing, I heard the opposite (just goes to show how much info is out there) — that kids whose moms strayed from nuts ended up allergic.

  61. August 23, 2010 12:18 pm

    Happy Third Trimester! :) I love your posts!! :) Let me know if you end up near Kalamazoo on your way home :)

    As for the allergies thing, I heard the opposite (just goes to show how much info is out there) — that kids whose moms strayed from nuts ended up allergic. So I’ve been eating nut butters even though I’ve not craved them (just eating less than before). Might need to ask my OB about this one — he hasn’t said anything yet.

  62. August 23, 2010 12:21 pm

    Torch Lake looks beautiful! I wonder why I’ve never heard of it before. Also, I cannot resist ice cream if coconut is involved!

  63. Pearl Lee permalink
    August 23, 2010 12:26 pm

    big bowl of veggies = delish!

  64. Vanessa permalink
    August 23, 2010 12:39 pm

    I think allergies are more related to genetics. I ate nut butters, cheeses, and seafood while pregnant, and did not change my eating habits after my son was born. I nursed him until he was a year old, and didn’t start solid food (not even rice cereal) until he was about 7 months. He does not have any allergies, and he eats like a champ!!

  65. August 23, 2010 1:24 pm

    You can NEVER overdo it on the ice cream;)
    Sometimes the “hair just down out of pony tail” look is the best…i often actually PLAN that as my hairstyle for the day…… maybe that’s a bit weird! xx

  66. August 23, 2010 1:25 pm

    I think food allergies are a crapshoot – out of all my friends that have babies, only one has a baby that has food allergies – and he is allergic to EVERYTHING…wheat, soy, dairy, nuts, and chocolate. My poor friend – since she’s still breastfeeding, she has no freedom with her food!

  67. August 23, 2010 1:27 pm

    I am so looking forward to our vacation in two weeks, but I know my body is going to be SCREAMING for veggies besides iceberg lettuce “dinner salads” with a few carrot shreds, one cucumber slice and one cherry tomato. :(

    Did you see Gena’s post about blog crushes? I admitted you were mine. ;)

  68. Darcie permalink
    August 23, 2010 1:31 pm

    I think allergies are more of a genetic crapshoot than anything. My mom didn’t restrict herself on anything during her pregnancies, and all of my siblings and I are completely allergy-free even though my dad is lactose intolerant.

  69. Lauren permalink
    August 23, 2010 1:37 pm

    From everything I have read, there is no conclusive evidence that avoiding certain foods means your child is less likely to develop an allergy. In fact, there are studies out there that show just the opposite – that if you avoid peanut butter (for ex.), then your child is actually MORE likely to develop a peanut allergy. With no clear research one way or the other, my opinion is, eat what you want!! BTW – I am pregnant as well, with my 2nd little girl, and due on the same day as you – Nov 18th! A friend of mine turned me on to your blog and I try and check in every now and then to see how your pregnancy is going. :) Good luck with everything!

  70. August 23, 2010 1:45 pm

    Totally agree with the avocados, no need for anything else. (especially mayo, which for me has no use/need at all, I just plain can’t eat the stuff…)
    What a good looking ice cream you got, and the shop does look really cute!
    As always you and CD look as happy as could be, and your hair is gorgeous!!
    ( On a side note: I stopped by TJ’s yesterday and got my almond butter, their plain roasted AB is the best, I am one happy girl today!!)
    Ana

  71. August 23, 2010 1:49 pm

    My sister avoided the 7 most common allergy categories while she was pregnant and I think she’d do it again in a heartbeat. Her first has a severe tree nut allergy (she didn’t monitor her eating habits that time around) and her second didn’t seem to get it (just a sensitivity to peanuts, but nothing severe). People have very strong feelings about the topic, but I always say better safe than sorry. If it could help, why not?

  72. August 23, 2010 1:50 pm

    Oh yes, and on the subject of avoiding foods I actually believe the contrary…. the more you are exposed to a variety of foods not only the chances of allergies decrease but the probability your child will like that food will actually increase!
    I have read in more than one aticle/place that the foods the mom was mostly exposed (craved, ate the most) during pregnancy are usually the foods that the kids like the most (and not only for infancy).
    I ate lots of chocolate ice cream, cheese (many grilled cheese sandwiches!), and green grapes when I was pregnant and my son just absolutely love those foods.
    I love tomatoes and my mom always says that she ate tons of tomatoes when she was pregnant of my, it was the only food she craved.
    Not sure if this holds true, but I do believe in that to some extent.
    I ate a varied diet and always exposed my son to all foods since he started eating (since the baby food phase) and he eats about everything.
    Just keep eating what you like and what your body craves, don’t deprive yourself because that stress will certainly pass to your baby.
    Happy mom = happy baby/child/husband/family! (believe me!)
    Ana

  73. August 23, 2010 2:10 pm

    love love love N. MI!!! I’ve been there a few times and actually my grandpa, dad + brother all went to camp called Hayowents, on Torch Lake. I think it’s rated #2 most scenic lake with National Geographic. The sunsets there are OUT of this world!! Harbor springs is adorable…it’s such an awesome vacation spot that so many people don’t know about. Very jealous of your getaway ;)

  74. August 23, 2010 2:28 pm

    Hey HEAB!! I can’t believe you’re already entering your 3rd trimester!! WOW!! :) I talked with my aunt (who has recently had 3 babies and is reeeeeally into nutrition and health) and she said that she didn’t avoid any food, but she did eat a lot of yogurt and kefir to get in that good bacteria. She said that as long as you eat healthy and get in lots of eggs and yogurt, everything should be fine. I trust her since she’s had 3 healthy babies with no food allergies.

  75. August 23, 2010 2:29 pm

    Oh wait, sorry, I know you do the dairy free thing, so I’m sure you could find alternative sources of those probiotics. Sorry, can’t believe I forgot about that!!

  76. August 23, 2010 2:38 pm

    That wrap sounds amazing!! And totally agree- no mayo’s needed when avocado’s in there. Oh, and your hair looks very full and super thick in that photo..pretty! Not crazy :)

  77. August 23, 2010 2:59 pm

    Happy Third Trimester!! :)

    Once again, your ice cream adventures look quite delicious. But I know the feeling of hitting the sweets quota! Veggies are the perfect salvation ;)

  78. August 23, 2010 3:13 pm

    Happy third trimester–you are almost there! While I don’t know anything about what to eat during your pregnancy to avoid allergies-I did read a really interesting chapter in the back of my Vive Le Vegan cookbook (Dreena Burton wrote it) about when to introduce babies to certain foods called the Food Introduction Schedule. It apparently helps avoid not just allergies but general digestive problems. Even though I am not planning on starting a family for another few years, I thought it was very interesting, and I plan on referencing it when the time finally comes.

  79. August 23, 2010 3:37 pm

    Happy ‘smell the barn’. You go girl. You are almost there. The best is SO yet to come. And btw – I didn’t avoid anything. I never heard that. I am not sure if that is true – but I firmly believe that if you are healthy and chill – that is the best ‘prevention’ for the HEABlet. xoxo

  80. Kristin permalink
    August 23, 2010 3:47 pm

    Hi Heather -
    I found your blog about a month ago, and it is a daily must for me now!! I didn’t think there was anyone who loved nut butters as much as me, but well – the name of your blog says it all!
    Congrats on your pregnancy – such an exciting time! My son, Aubrey will turn one on Sept 3rd – this year has gone by in a blink.
    Re: allergies…The best thing you can do to help minimize any allergies developing is to breastfeed. Well, it’s the best thing you can do for your babe, period. Also, delaying solids is a big help, too. There is some new literature surrounding this that I found when pregnant. The lining in your babes intestines is not fully formed until 6 months, yet it is quite common in our culture to start giving rice cereal at 4 months. Both the AAP and the WHO recommend exclusive breastfeeding until 6 months, however you will run across pediatricians who will encourage parents to start rice cereal at 4 months. Aubrey remains exclusively breastfeed at a year – the last couple of weeks he has started showing interest in solids. He has tried several different fruits and berries with no issues. Based on all the research I did, I really believe if you breastfeed your babe 6 months plus, and don’t rush the solids, you will not have any issues with allergies. Also, I didn’t avoid anything during my pregnancy – Well, I am vegan so didn’t consume animal products :) But I didn’t cut out any nuts or nut butters, etc. I also think probiotics are SO important, and agree with the previous comments that you should take them. I had a GT Raw Kombucha drink once a day throughout my pregnancy.
    Good luck and enjoy this time!! Oh, on a random note, do not spend tons of $$$$ on diaper rash creams – I use coconut oil and it does the job, plus you can good that you are putting something natural and pure on your babe’s bum. Works great as sunscreen, too!
    Best, Kristin

  81. August 23, 2010 4:46 pm

    Totally agree re: mayo/avocado. Avocado provides plenty of creaminess in my opinion.
    I can also relate to post-ponytail-release-hair. Seth always says it looks like a lion’s mane–it’s that crazy-lookin’.

  82. Marie permalink
    August 23, 2010 5:22 pm

    LOL, it’s funny you should mention your hair because when I saw the picture, I thought how gorgeous your hair looks all the time! My hair is SO thin! I was so spoiled when I was pregnant with twins as it was so thick and beautiful but I didn’t get to enjoy it during that time and before I knew it, it was gone. :(

  83. August 23, 2010 5:28 pm

    I think I need to go to Michigan!
    About allergies, do what you feel is best, because there is so much conflicting information.
    I’ve read that if you abstain they won’t get allergies. I’ve read if you introduce allergens to them early they won’t get allergies, I’ve read that if you hold out until they’re 1 or later then they won’t get allergies.
    I think it comes down to genetics and how many toxins they’ve been introduced to while you were pregnant and when they’re teeny. (this is my opinion)
    My toddler has some cow’s milk issues, but they’re mild, but I say it’s genetic becasue my husband has some of the same issues and so does my brother. My son (7 mos) might be heading the same way. My daughter (2.5 years) eats all nuts and shellfish, but can’t eat too many blueberries but I have issues with night shade fruits too.
    So I think do what you feel is important.
    Find out what the signs of a true allergy is (hives!) and go forth and eat nut butters.
    ALSO I’ve read time and time again when it comes to pet allergies, children who are around pets generally have no allergies to them.

    oh I just bought some chocolate peanut butter that you were talking about (OMG!!! yumm!) and some chocolate almond butter. Life is good!

  84. August 23, 2010 5:42 pm

    I agree, I think your hair looks great :)

    I have heard both arguments on eating certain foods. The one that says not eating the foods will help the baby from developing allergies, and the one that says if you say away the baby won’t be exposed to them and WILL develop allergies.

    I think if you’re someone prone to intolerances/allergies, maybe stay away. That’s what I would suggest if you were my client, otherwise, do what you think is right for your baby.

    Congrats on making it to the third tri! :D

    xo
    Kris

  85. August 23, 2010 6:05 pm

    Laura, Not weird, but did make me laugh. My hair doesn’t quite work that way. I wish it did!

  86. August 23, 2010 6:05 pm

    Thanks Kris – good advice!

  87. August 23, 2010 6:07 pm

    Thanks for the advice Dea, and enjoy those chocolate nut butters…hives free! ;)

  88. August 23, 2010 6:11 pm

    Kristin, Yes, I’m definitely planning to breast feed, and I don’t plan on introducing solids until after 6 months at least. I was a bit nervous about everything working out, but one of my friends just said, “Heather, you make it work”. I guess if women didn’t make it work 100′s of years ago, their babies starved. It’s going to work!

    Love the idea of coconut oil on the bum. I’ve got a friend who makes an all natural ointment that I actually use as lip balm, but the coconut oil would be even cheaper…only problem might be keeping my dogs from trying to lick the HEABlet’s butt all day. ;) Thanks for your honest opinion, and yes, will definitely get back into taking my daily probiotic when I get back home to Nashville. Oh, and thanks for reading HEAB. :)

  89. August 23, 2010 6:12 pm

    Thanks Erica. :)

  90. August 23, 2010 6:15 pm

    Thanks Meghan. Good to know. You should add Super Baby Foodto your list when you’re ready to start a family. Although I haven’t read it yet, it comes highly recommended when it comes to introducing solid foods to your baby. Includes all kinds of great recipes for baby foods as well.

  91. August 23, 2010 6:17 pm

    Em, Thanks for the advice. Getting back on my probiotic as soon as I get back to Nashville, and planning on enjoying some goat’s milk yogurt as well as my body and belly love that stuff! :)

  92. August 23, 2010 6:19 pm

    Thanks Ana! :)

  93. August 23, 2010 6:19 pm

    Ashley, I agree with National Geographic. Torch Lake was stunning, and I hope to go back and spend some more time there. I want to swim all day in that beautiful water!

  94. August 23, 2010 6:21 pm

    Lauren, No way, how fun. Thanks for reading and many congrats on your 2nd little girl. :) Also, thanks for the allergy advice – so much conflicting info out there these days! However, I really like the idea of eating what I want.

  95. August 23, 2010 6:25 pm

    Andrea, A nut allergy – honestly, that is one of my biggest fears. I can just see myself hiding almond butter my bedroom closet…

  96. August 23, 2010 6:36 pm

    Hey Tracey, I wrote a blog post all about my stir-fry method: http://heathereatsalmondbutter.com/2010/02/03/whats-in-that-bowl/. Enjoy! And regarding the food allergies, kind of confused now more than ever after reading through today’s comments. Will be sharing more in tomorrow’s post. Hope you have a good night!

  97. August 23, 2010 6:36 pm

    Thanks Vanessa, Good to know!

  98. August 23, 2010 6:37 pm

    Emily, Oh gosh, you would have loved that ice-cream then! It was coconut ice-cream with shredded coconut. So much coconutty goodness!

  99. August 23, 2010 6:39 pm

    Jill, When I get home, we’re going to Las Paletas, and you can try a bite of my avocado popsicle…I think that might be the way to win you over to some avocado lovin! :)

  100. August 23, 2010 6:43 pm

    Lissa, So much conflicting info out there regarding the allergies!

    Apparently, Chris and I are no where near Kalamazoo, and we don’t go by it on our way home either. So bummed as I would LOVE to meet you and, and FoodDance sounds amazing. Please order the “Tempeh of Doom” in honor of me next time you go. Sounds amazing! Hopefully we can meet up next year as I’m pretty sure we’ll be returning to Michigan. :)

  101. August 23, 2010 6:49 pm

    Heather! Congrats on entering the 3rd trimester! This last part will go by so fast, and before you know it you’re little one will out and growing like a weed! I look at my daughter (who’s eight months now), and am shocked at how time flies when you have a kid! It’s crazy! You look absolutely fantastic!

  102. August 23, 2010 6:51 pm

    Thanks Amber. :)

  103. August 23, 2010 6:52 pm

    Mama Pea, Really?!? Oh gosh, so flattered. Off to check out Gena’s post. :) Where are you going on your vacation? Still kind of bummed we didn’t make it to Bend, but it would have been way too long of a drive. However, hoping to get up there for at least a week next spring.

  104. August 23, 2010 6:53 pm

    I can’t believe how crystal blue the lake water is… beautiful!!

  105. August 23, 2010 7:25 pm

    Not exactly what you asked, Heather, but a gluten-free friend mentioned on his blog that his wife was advised to avoid gluten in her third trimester for the health of the baby. He said he hadn’t found the citation and I haven’t either, but wanted to share what her doctor advised: http://noglutennoproblem.blogspot.com/2010/08/physical-challenge-week-12.html

    Shirley

  106. Kim permalink
    August 23, 2010 8:22 pm

    Well, you know ALL the food allergies and sensitivities over here….I have spent WELL over $400 in the past 3 days restocking the house with all of our “special” food now that school has started. I avoided everything I am allergic to and sensitive to and Bella still got everything I have ( and then some as I do not need an EPI pen). Did I mention she was also a preemie? No, I did not breastfeed and honestly do not feel it would have done anything. I think we are all unique and regardless of how hard we try to be the “best” parent there is no perfect answer. Even without breastfeeding and all the food allergies/ sensitivities Bella is doing just fine, she skipped a grade in school and is still way ahead. Do what you feel is right for you and your child. That mamma instinct is there for a reason. Once you learn to trust it, life is easy! :) Kim

  107. Amy permalink
    August 23, 2010 9:27 pm

    I don’t know about abstaining from eating things in your third trimester, but if you are sensitive to dairy you may want to think about abstaining from eating dairy products when you are nursing.

    Two of the three of my babies got tummy aches when I ate dairy when I was nursing, so I needed to give up dairy products at least for the first few months of nursing. When they got a little older, the dairy I ate didn’t bother them any more because they had outgrown their extreme sensitivity to dairy. It is the milk protein in the milk that some babies are allergic to for awhile because almost all infants have the lactase to process the lactose in the milk – they are drinking MILK, so they have to be able to. Since you are used to avoiding dairy, it wouldn’t be hard for you to avoid it.

    Reading your blog has really helped me in my avoidance of dairy! I discovered non-dairy ice cream through reading your blog, which was a lifesaver for me a couple months ago while nursing my third when I was seriously CRAVING ice cream! =)

  108. annecalista permalink
    August 23, 2010 9:29 pm

    Interesting about the food allergies, I’ve never heard that. I wish I could give you some advice, but I’m nowhere near being ready to have a baby :-)
    Your hair looks gorgeous in that photo!

  109. August 23, 2010 9:31 pm

    Not sure if that’s true but I ate peanut butter ‘every’ single morning on a bagel and then again for lunch….and sometimes for dinner :) both my girls are huge peanut butter lovers (thankfully!). I would just continue to eat what your body is telling you to….if anything the babe might be allergic to ice cream!

  110. Amy permalink
    August 23, 2010 9:34 pm

    PS. I LOVE your blog! You’ve given me some many wonderful ideas! I can’t hardly go a day without a big plate of veggies, with or without eggs scrambled in, or fruit/veggie filled smoothie to quench my sweet tooth!

  111. August 24, 2010 6:30 am

    Thanks Shirley – very interesting.

  112. August 24, 2010 6:31 am

    Thanks Kim. :)

  113. August 24, 2010 6:32 am

    Michelle, Thanks for the comment…and yep, the HEABlet has definitely had her share of ice-cream over the past month! ;)

  114. August 24, 2010 6:33 am

    Amy, Thanks for the advice and thanks for reading HEAB. Always happy to spread the love of non-dairy ice-cream and big plates of veggies. :)

  115. August 24, 2010 2:22 pm

    I didn’t avoid any foods during my pregnancy, but my daughter was allergic to strawberries the first year of her life. She couldn’t even get near them because her skin would turn super red. I finally linked it when I would eat strawberries and while breastfeeding her mouth would turn red and she would try her best not to breastfeed those days. After she turned a year I decided to try giving her one and now it’s one of her favorite fruits along with blueberries.
    I also didn’t wait the suggested time to introduce nut butters to her. She loves almond and peanut butters. I found so much conflicting information about allergies that I just went with what I thought was safe for my child. Everything that I thought she might be allergic to I introduced to her slowly and waited for reactions and only once a week.

    I guess I am lucky that Ruari really doesn’t have allergies to many foods, but I am raising her a vegetarian bordering on vegan so she doesn’t eat eggs and hardly any dairy, so I don’t even know if she might be allergic to those.

  116. ered permalink
    August 24, 2010 4:13 pm

    Hi Heather!
    I’m a little late to the party here but I’ll just tell you my personal experience. For some reason food allergies for the baby never made it onto my long list of things to worry about (although if it had I’d have 30 books to recommend to you and some staunch opinions) but I’ll tell you that I’ve heard if allergies don’t run in the family (which they don’t really in mine) it’s not too much of a concern. I just ate what I wanted while pregnant…though now that I think about it I do remember thinking I shouldn’t eat too many peanuts but it didn’t matter because I never wanted them…and continue to do the same while nursing. It makes sense to me that the tastes get through to the little one before birth and then while nursing so they get used to as much a variety as the mama is willing to give them. For that reason I also ate some things I wouldn’t usually eat as much of (red, red meat) and noticed when the baby seemed to enjoy particular foods (he had a special dance every time I had chicken).
    However, I will say what you probably have heard a million times: try not to worry. It’ll all be alright.

  117. August 24, 2010 5:25 pm

    Thanks Sandra – good to know!

  118. August 24, 2010 5:26 pm

    Thanks Ered…loved the part about the chicken dance. :)

  119. shannon permalink
    August 25, 2010 1:46 am

    oh i love that part of michigan – chalevoix and petosky are so beautiful. ( sorry about city spelling) you should also go to mackinaw island beautiful and there are some neat places across the brige at st ignes. My inlaws( i think i may have said this before ) have a house on drummond island which is about 45 min northeast once you get over the bridge. so beautiful

  120. August 25, 2010 6:16 am

    Shannon, Yes, we keep hearing good things about Mackinaw – it’s on our list, and if we don’t make it there this year, we’ll definitely be back next summer! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 195 other followers

